Home

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 493 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2014
    10
    I love the Dixie Chicks! My all time favorite song is Landslide, I never liked the Stevie Nicks version of Landslide it was too slow and dull but Dixie Chicks remade Landslide into a hit, this song is so addicting and I love everything about the Dixie Chicks version of Landslide, great guitar work, great vocals, and it's an upbeat catchy song that never gets old. I haven't listened to anyI love the Dixie Chicks! My all time favorite song is Landslide, I never liked the Stevie Nicks version of Landslide it was too slow and dull but Dixie Chicks remade Landslide into a hit, this song is so addicting and I love everything about the Dixie Chicks version of Landslide, great guitar work, great vocals, and it's an upbeat catchy song that never gets old. I haven't listened to any of the songs on the album yet besides Landslide because it's so addicting to listen to.

    I highly recommend this album.
    Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Ask Entertainment Weekly or CMT this is one of the GREATEST COUNTRY albums ever made. With the genre of Country being invaded by large pop influences this album easily goes down as one that is purely true to the original Bluegrass roots of Country, this album is incredible.
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    What is wrong with people? THIS ALBUM IS GREAT! "Godspeed (Sweet Dreams)" is my favorite on the album and my favorite Dixie Chicks song ever. Excellent record
  4. PersonP
    Apr 11, 2003
    1
    She turned from a Catholic school girl...to a full out sex machine. Cripes.
  5. RyanT.
    Mar 19, 2003
    0
    This is Nas best album since his debut Illmatic. There is some filler for example "Smokin". But overall this is Nas most introspective and consistent album since his debut.
  6. Editor'sNote:
    Oct 26, 2002
    10
    YEE HAW!!
  7. DavidH
    Oct 3, 2002
    4
    FLY was fun "Some Days You Gotta Dance", sassy "Sin Wagon", emotional "Heartbreak Town, A Cold Day In July", and beautiful "Cowboy Take Me Away", but HOME is mostly just boring. With the exception of the moving "Travelin' Soldier", there's little here to get excited about. The Chicks need to lighten up a bit.
  8. FredK.
    Sep 21, 2002
    10
    Utter perfection. I am so glad the chicks refused to follow in so many other 'country' artists by going pop. Each song is a masterpiece, perfectly put together and executed..their IMMENSE talent is to be admired. Faith, Shania, etc have NOTHING on these girls. THose two coast on their looks, while the Dixie Chicks brilliantly play their own instruments and produce and write.... Utter perfection. I am so glad the chicks refused to follow in so many other 'country' artists by going pop. Each song is a masterpiece, perfectly put together and executed..their IMMENSE talent is to be admired. Faith, Shania, etc have NOTHING on these girls. THose two coast on their looks, while the Dixie Chicks brilliantly play their own instruments and produce and write.... I just can';t say enough good things about this disc. BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR so far..that should cover it.. Expand
  9. CorinneC.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    The best bluegrass ahs sounded since O Brother.
  10. ChrisB.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    These Chicks Have Flown The Coup. This CD is amazing!
  11. JimC.
    Sep 3, 2002
    10
    I absolutely enjoyed this CD
  12. PigGirl
    Sep 2, 2002
    10
    I love this CD
  13. TerrilynF
    Aug 30, 2002
    8
    The new sound is terrific! I loved the instrumental song. However, after awhile they all started to sound the same.
  14. Matt
    Aug 30, 2002
    10
    Definitely one of the best albums in my large collection!
  15. JaniceT.
    Aug 29, 2002
    5
    Because of yopur rude comment to Toby that was just self pity im goin to say that about your music its just so stupid and rude
  16. ChadMc
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    They are THE reason I started listening to country, and this disc, their latest, solidifies their genius.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. They are incapable of shaping a song, teasing out tension, friction or emotional swoop; they're happy to just play it.
  2. Although Home isn't entirely successful, it doesn't get out-and-out boring until the second half, laden with generic songs about believing in love and needing more of it, plus a lullaby that sounds like Don Henley's "The End of the Innocence."
  3. Blender
    80
    An album that continues their mission of yanking bluegrass into the modern era. [#9, p.149]