Horrorscope

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 25, 2000
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    Not my favorite album by Eve 6, but still a very commendable effort with a couple of duds but mostly with fine songs that have great repeatable quality.
  2. CynthiaB.
    Oct 4, 2001
    10
    I'm in love with Max Collins look-alikes
  3. DenisL.
    May 21, 2002
    9
    This is a splendid collection of songs that makes you want to head-bang your head off. It's an almost perfect blend of pop, punk and rock. Listening to this can only make you feel better!
  4. kevinm
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    The best band ever to grace the name of rock and roll
  5. Mark
    Feb 27, 2005
    3
    Utterly dull and predictable. Could have been churned out by any number of modern 'rock' bands (I use the word 'rock' loosely as to place Eve 6 in the same genre as a band like Led Zeppelin is a cardinal sin). Faceless, without character and lacking any real defining sound, it's so obviously and unashamedly commercially orientated, which is presumably why Utterly dull and predictable. Could have been churned out by any number of modern 'rock' bands (I use the word 'rock' loosely as to place Eve 6 in the same genre as a band like Led Zeppelin is a cardinal sin). Faceless, without character and lacking any real defining sound, it's so obviously and unashamedly commercially orientated, which is presumably why it's so repetitive. Expand
  6. ChrisC...squared,Iguess
    Jun 25, 2005
    8
    I used to think that Eve 6 was a good band, and still do. True, they are not earthshattering innovators but have mastered the Top 40 hook and work well within their paramenters. Horrorscope is still their best album, and Max Collins is one of the most phenomenal lyricists out there. Few can twist out a clever turn of phrase ("got screwed by the horse he rode in on; riding high on his I used to think that Eve 6 was a good band, and still do. True, they are not earthshattering innovators but have mastered the Top 40 hook and work well within their paramenters. Horrorscope is still their best album, and Max Collins is one of the most phenomenal lyricists out there. Few can twist out a clever turn of phrase ("got screwed by the horse he rode in on; riding high on his whims had only gotten him down") like he can without it sounding forced. No on will be talking about them in 20 years, but that doesn't mean they are without their strengths. Expand
  7. CantellM
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    love this cd so much i bought 2, one for my house and the other for my car. this cd can get anyone pumped.
  8. ChrisC
    Apr 25, 2005
    6
    Okay, I'll be honest. I used to think Eve 6 was a really good band. Now that I've been exposed to *actual* good music, I realize they're untalented and are really, really bad at writing lyrics. But I've got to give them credit for enriching my naive deluded teenage ears, and having a few nice melodies and catchy songs.
  9. daveb
    Jun 14, 2005
    8
    I like the album. It's not gonna win any grammy's or insure eve 6 a place in the rock n roll hall of fame. However, the songs are almost all catchy and a couple are very good. Don't we all like a popcorn movie once in a while? This is a popcorn album. Not everyone can be radiohead or u2 as not every movie is citizen kane or lord of the rings. Go buy the album, you I like the album. It's not gonna win any grammy's or insure eve 6 a place in the rock n roll hall of fame. However, the songs are almost all catchy and a couple are very good. Don't we all like a popcorn movie once in a while? This is a popcorn album. Not everyone can be radiohead or u2 as not every movie is citizen kane or lord of the rings. Go buy the album, you won't be disappointed unless your one of this righteous poser, who pretend unless it's high art it's not worthy of their time. Good toe tappin tunes! Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. If you fish around a bit, you'll find several good ideas here, some of which may have worked better in different hands.
  2. It's another conventional rock record, thrashing guitar hooks and throbbing bass lines are in place, but frontman Max Collins has lyrically improved.
  3. It's an almost perfectly consistent follow-up to the band's successful 1998 debut - perhaps a tad too consistent.