Hotel California

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Apr 9, 2013
User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 38
  2. Negative: 16 out of 38
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This album is terrible. Pure garbage is what you will hear once you hear the 1st track..........................................................................................................................................................
  2. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    absolutely horrendous!!!!! how did this thing even make it to the shelves? the lyrics are all the same thing,... trying to self indulge in riches and stupiditiy
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    4
    The reason of Tyga's success is unknown. After his porn site has been blocked and after the painful release of Lil Wayne's album, Tyga releases this poor and inconclusive work. Hotel California is the worst example of a stupid, repetitive and boring album.
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Repetetive, unoriginal crap. Someone needs to explain to me how it is Tyga has managed to find fame. He made one radio hit, and is seemingly a one hit wonder.
  5. Jul 4, 2015
    0
    I can only listen to Dope ft. Rick Ross, the only track that I can listen. This album is a garbage and feel it not from Tyga. Careless World is great club banger album, this just type of garbage and I can't hear the whole album, except for Dope.
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    2
    Just dreadful. His debut album, Careless World: Rise of the Last King, was not that bad, but this album, on the other hand, was destined to be tossed into recycling bins everywhere. At least it was a step up, albeit a small one, from Lil Wayne's new album.
  7. May 1, 2013
    4
    there's nothin much to say but this album is pureeeeeee garbage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  8. Apr 19, 2014
    5
    This album was average at best it sounds way to commercial to me nowhere as good as Careless World. Not many songs I get into on this album Switch Lanes and Dad Letters are the only songs I like. The production and features keep this from being a terrible album even his lyrics are bad and immature.
  9. Mar 26, 2015
    5
    5.5/10................................................................................................................................................
  10. Apr 25, 2015
    4
    One of the weakest hip hop releases of 2013. To be honest, I think this was worse than Lil Wayne's I Am Not a Human Being II. This album is nothing but a collection of songs with decent (but repetitive) production, weak lyricism and little originality. There are a few songs on here that he tries to be lyrical, but even these songs aren't that great. To be honest, some of the features hereOne of the weakest hip hop releases of 2013. To be honest, I think this was worse than Lil Wayne's I Am Not a Human Being II. This album is nothing but a collection of songs with decent (but repetitive) production, weak lyricism and little originality. There are a few songs on here that he tries to be lyrical, but even these songs aren't that great. To be honest, some of the features here save this album from being a complete disaster. Future provides a decent hook on "Show You", Tyga and Game switch lanes on "Switch Lanes", and 2Pac (who was, unfortunately, left out of the album due to clearance issues)'s leftover verses from his pre-death songs were combined here to make one of the best verses on the whole album, but what really ruins this album is Tyga's very few attempts to be original and his very uncreative lyrics. I have respect for Tyga as a rapper, I understand where he wants to go with his life, but if he keeps on making weak albums like this his career's going to go downhill (which it already has started doing). The only Tyga album released on YMCMB that was even a bit worth listening to was Careless World: Rise of the Last King. I didn't even like Fan of a Fan: The Album with Chris Brown that much, but it was a little bit better. Now, because of Tyga's extremely weak recent efforts, I'm not expecting much from The Gold Album: 18th Dynasty. Grade: C-. Highlights: "Dope", "Switch Lanes", "Palm Trees" (fantastic closer with an outstanding beat and decent lyrics). Worst songs: Just about everything else. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    50
    On the one hand, the album does very little of what Tyga’s best at and even when it does, Hotel California makes the strange move of bowing to Tyga’s biting prowess rather than original, ratchet works. On the other, everything here is done perfectly well and enjoyably; unless you’re focused on Tyga’s bars, taking him purely as a presence on some nice beats is not excruciating.
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    50
    Hotel California fails to deliver on any of the hype it had leading up to its release.
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    30
    Hotel California is inexcusable. It may be the least creative major-label rap album in recent memory.