How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb

by U2
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 381 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 381

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZackD
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    I will offer my thoughts: If, by chance, you gave this album a 0 or a 1, I read your review. I am astonished by how so many people could miss the point. I don't know where so many of you got this crap about "selling out" and being in it for the money. If U2 wanted to sell out, they would certainly be making a lot more than they are right now. Do you realize that they didn't I will offer my thoughts: If, by chance, you gave this album a 0 or a 1, I read your review. I am astonished by how so many people could miss the point. I don't know where so many of you got this crap about "selling out" and being in it for the money. If U2 wanted to sell out, they would certainly be making a lot more than they are right now. Do you realize that they didn't accept money for the iPod spot? Performances at awards ceremonies don't mean you are a sellout. If this album was produced for the sheer goal of making more money for the members of U2, they wouldn't have spend 5 years crafting it. They could release crappy albums every year and a half if they wanted and they'd make more money. Instead they put time and effort into what I believe stands as one of their greatest achievements. No, maybe not a Joshua Tree or an Achtung Baby, but certainly third on my list. Its track listing begins by painting a scene of fear and helplessness. The singer finds himself in this dizzying place called vertigo, scared, alone. He is captivated by a cross around a girl's neck. Tracks 2, 3, and 4 show hope for the miracle science we do not have yet, meditation over dead loved ones, and pleading for peace in a world gone wrong, respectively. The album soon begins to find the positive aspects of life in love, family, contentedness, and, finally, God. While the beginning presents this problem, this "atomic bomb," representative of the worst of humanity's fears, the end of the album presents the solution: love. One must kneel before love and they will find comfort and hope. The music itself is perhaps not sonically as revolutionary a departure from the previous album as most U2 fans are used to, admittedly. But this doesn't take the album down at all. I simply think it is on the same sonic plane without repeating the same sounds. Overall, my favorite album of 2004/2005 easily. Expand
  2. jamesc
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    some of the reviewers on this site obviously have it in for u2. granted, on first listen i was less than impressed, but a the few songs that caught my attention drew me back and after a few listens i now regard this album only behind the joshua tree and achtung baby. i think u2 are so huge that people write these bad reviews just to upset fans of the band. look at eminem, he is in the some of the reviewers on this site obviously have it in for u2. granted, on first listen i was less than impressed, but a the few songs that caught my attention drew me back and after a few listens i now regard this album only behind the joshua tree and achtung baby. i think u2 are so huge that people write these bad reviews just to upset fans of the band. look at eminem, he is in the same boat, no matter what he does, he will get slaughtered by the non fans in the same way. also, u2 spent ten years of 90s trying out a new sound which was sounding great, but they got hammered then too by the same people who now accuse them of playing it safe and saying that everything up to 98 was great, find the sense in that. the bottom line is, if ya wanna hear an hour of brilliant rock songs performed the way only u2 can, buy this album, if you are a bullshit cynic, ignore it. Expand
  3. MaxG
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Awesome album. A must buy for any U2 fan.
  4. tylerk
    Jun 24, 2008
    4
    Marginal. U2 used to have a distinct sound. This blends nicely with the proliferation of mediocrity on the radio. Possibly the weakest lyrics on any U2 record, "I'll give you everything that you want..except the thing that you want" Everything after zooropa has been marginal at best.
  5. AristonB
    Sep 21, 2009
    3
    The worst album of U2. They could tour without this crap. Maybe 3 songs worth listening. New low.
  6. ElevanI
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    U2 always record good albums. Atomic Bomb is a great rock´n roll album. BEST OF 2004.
  7. FabianoS.
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    Good album.
  8. JonnyF
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    Brilliant album but not as gd as ATYCLB, Achtung Baby or the Joshua tree. however still a great piece of work.
  9. AlecF
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    Just another U2 album. Of course, that mean's it's amazing. The ethereal, catchy melodies are really great in basically every song. Reviewers are judging the album not by how it sounds but as fans of U2's old stuff. Forget the band's identity and prior music and just focus on each track, and you'll see what I mean. Also, I disagree that the album ends badly. Just another U2 album. Of course, that mean's it's amazing. The ethereal, catchy melodies are really great in basically every song. Reviewers are judging the album not by how it sounds but as fans of U2's old stuff. Forget the band's identity and prior music and just focus on each track, and you'll see what I mean. Also, I disagree that the album ends badly. Original of the Species, the second to last track, is one of my favorite U2 songs. So, in all I think this is a completely brilliant album when you listen to it as music, not as U2 songs. Expand
  10. TheDude
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Great songs and melodies right throughout.
  11. JalexD
    Feb 15, 2009
    10
    A stellar collection of songs, even if it doesn't gel as nicely as nearly all their other albums. Still it stands as a peak for one of the world's greatest artists ever, as well as being the best album of 2004.
  12. Sylvain
    Jan 1, 2005
    9
    Strangely, I was disappointed at first, but grew to love this album after several listens. U2 is the most astonishingly consistent group in the world, and they have done it again with a collection of beautiful and moving songs. Buy it.
  13. Dani
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    Instant classic without really weak songs. City of Blinding Lights, Original of The Species, Miracle Drug...amazing songs.
  14. FHay
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    This mistake is extremely boring and meaningless. Bono is extremely annoying here, unlistenable. This album is the perfect example of how... can save a music lover fromwasting money on over-rated trash. This sellout U2 doesn't deserve the colossal amount of hype it has been getting. Anyone who would call "Sometimes You Can't Make It" a 'deep song' has absolutely no This mistake is extremely boring and meaningless. Bono is extremely annoying here, unlistenable. This album is the perfect example of how... can save a music lover fromwasting money on over-rated trash. This sellout U2 doesn't deserve the colossal amount of hype it has been getting. Anyone who would call "Sometimes You Can't Make It" a 'deep song' has absolutely no credibility to judge music... it's probably the most cliché U2 song ever, possibly tied with "One Step Closer" and "Crumbs For Your Table". What horrible pick for a band's second single!. If you want to listen to a brilliant song related to a father's death, listen to Pink Floyd "When The Tigers Broke Free" instead. Video Clip is even worse and more cliché, with all those silly shots at the Opera theatre. They've somehow menaced their way onto the charts and remained, selling their faceless wan. They music sounds so plastic, unimpressive, worthless and commercial that gives me urge to go to the first restroom out there, really. Incredibly unoriginal and predictable, this is the worst U2 album, and the most overhyped as well. All songs sound too similar ( by the way, the whole same ATYCLB sound ). Not even decent songwriting, this soup is just low quality pap for the bucks. U2 have become no more than a mainstream music corporation. I can't believe these are the same men whom used to take white flags to their early concerts. Yet some stupid fans say this half-worked Ipod product is a 'return to their roots'. I bet you young Bono would hate this sellout faceless Ipod man. Expand
  15. zainr
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    great
  16. CesarE
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    At the same level than Joshua and Achtung, U2 has crafted an true classic for the ages. You NEED to have this album.
  17. LorenzO
    Dec 3, 2004
    8
    It's pretty damn good. Some truly affecting moments, a lot of good solid stuff and not a lot of filler. Works for me.
  18. Johno
    Feb 18, 2005
    8
    After getting over the initial thrill/disappointment I have returned to this album and found it as good as Achtung Baby, but not as good as Joshua Tree. That Ricardo bloke really wants to shag Bono, doesn't he?
  19. SidK
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    A senseless attempt to 'Return to their roots' or some other nonsense. No creativity, no soul, there´s absolutely nothing original here.
  20. Chris
    Feb 24, 2005
    1
    This crap is the final stage of their gradual metamorphosis from one of the greatest and most original living bands on earth to sellout men with a deep, gargled, throaty croon that makes them sound like one of those old pros on the Vegas circuit who refuse to quit, merely altering tehir act to accommodate their gradual disintegration. So, another frustratingly inconsistent effort from one This crap is the final stage of their gradual metamorphosis from one of the greatest and most original living bands on earth to sellout men with a deep, gargled, throaty croon that makes them sound like one of those old pros on the Vegas circuit who refuse to quit, merely altering tehir act to accommodate their gradual disintegration. So, another frustratingly inconsistent effort from one of pop's most frustratingly inconsistent artists - former great 80's and 90's band. No change there, then. Expand
  21. Michael
    Feb 24, 2005
    2
    If the lyrics and feel of the album don't thoroughly depress you, its ploddingly slow pace and lack of any spark whatsoever will bore you to tears. Absolutely nothing here rises to its only half-arsed pseudo-melodicism and -accessability. Every little Edge guitar snippet is so obviously studied, canned and played by rote, so seemingly devoid of any feeling, it's painful. If you If the lyrics and feel of the album don't thoroughly depress you, its ploddingly slow pace and lack of any spark whatsoever will bore you to tears. Absolutely nothing here rises to its only half-arsed pseudo-melodicism and -accessability. Every little Edge guitar snippet is so obviously studied, canned and played by rote, so seemingly devoid of any feeling, it's painful. If you want to hear the sound of a once-great band growing old right before your ears, and accepting it, this is the dull disc for you. Expect the old dated jangle-pop tunesmiths of ATYCLB to return with this album. Spare, empty, trite. Like an overhyped bad action movie as Matrix, U2 2000 are all machines and no relevancy at all. Expand
  22. cj
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    U2's best album ever. This is an absolute masterpiece.
  23. ErikA
    May 2, 2005
    1
    Bad album. Don´t belive the hype. Buy The Jooshua three instead.
  24. AdamE
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Listen to more music folks. Jeezus.
  25. Don´tLookNow
    Jul 21, 2005
    1
    Here is what happens when a good band writes a bad record. Marketing takes over music. It happens to the best of them. Let's hope that this is a blip in the system and not the new trend. The Rolling Stones have done marketing over music for years. People sadly think they are the greatest rock band in the world. In reality the Stones are just one band from a long gone era doing Here is what happens when a good band writes a bad record. Marketing takes over music. It happens to the best of them. Let's hope that this is a blip in the system and not the new trend. The Rolling Stones have done marketing over music for years. People sadly think they are the greatest rock band in the world. In reality the Stones are just one band from a long gone era doing greatest hits shows and tricking record labels into giving them large sums of money for the new turds they call albums. U2 can very eaisly fall into that trap. Look no further than the IPOD commercial that turned Bono into iBONO... Better luck next time guys. Expand
  26. RodrigoM
    Jul 3, 2005
    4
    Half of the songs sound like U2 repeating the same song over and over. Plus the production just doesn't help the record which falls short on almost every aspect. There's still a few songs that stand over mediocrity, but they're not enough to save this album from being one of the worst U2 releases.
  27. FredericoO
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    very good U2 album! city of blinding lights is the best song of the all record
  28. Carloscarlos
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    Perfect. The best album since Achtung Baby (1991). The sound of the guitar in Miracle Drug, Sometimes You Can't Make... or in Original Of The Species is wonderful and lyrical. Not bad songs, only pure music.
  29. Pignoah
    Jan 9, 2008
    1
    Mundane, repetitive, pretentious and phony musical trash.
  30. KellyD
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    Vertigo was not a good single to represent this album... thank goodness, I could not stand 10 Vertigo style songs. Instead we got heart and soul and passion, just what I expect from them. Won't be able to say for a while whether this is one of their best... have to hear the songs live first, then I'll know.
  31. Matt
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    This album should be loved by all U2 fans. It is the essence of U2.
  32. SamuelS
    Dec 1, 2004
    4
    Wow. U2 is my favorite band in the world and I can't believe how disappointed I am with the quality of this album in just having it the first week. Maybe it will grow on me, but some of the lyrics just sound like Bono and the Edge aren't trying anymore. "I'll give you everything that you want, except the thing that you want"? C'mon. It just sounds like they're Wow. U2 is my favorite band in the world and I can't believe how disappointed I am with the quality of this album in just having it the first week. Maybe it will grow on me, but some of the lyrics just sound like Bono and the Edge aren't trying anymore. "I'll give you everything that you want, except the thing that you want"? C'mon. It just sounds like they're reaching for contradiction to add to their mystique. It just seems that all of these songs are leftovers from the last album that weren't good enough. This album doesn't rock nearly as hard as Bono hyped it up to. Oh, well. I just hope we don't have to wait another four years for a new album that can hopefully redeem this one. Oh, and I totally think "Yahweh" is THE weakest song they've ever released on an album. Profoundly boring. Expand
  33. joeyd
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    A true masterpiece, Bono sounds young, powerful and refreshed. This album takes a step back to classic U2 and at the same time takes a step forward. Is louder and harder than their last album. It is All that u cant leave behind done right and done much better. One of their best albums although it takes multiple listens to grow on you but any U2 fan will agree all U2 albums take time to A true masterpiece, Bono sounds young, powerful and refreshed. This album takes a step back to classic U2 and at the same time takes a step forward. Is louder and harder than their last album. It is All that u cant leave behind done right and done much better. One of their best albums although it takes multiple listens to grow on you but any U2 fan will agree all U2 albums take time to grow. an impressive album and is up there with actung baby Expand
  34. ChrisM
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    I was dissapointed a little the first couple listens - but this CD just grows and grows. 9.5 would be my actual rating. Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own is right up there with Bad, One, Streets as one of their best.
  35. ShabarO
    Dec 7, 2004
    8
    Considering that it is the first offering since 2000, it is suffering from having to come with great expectations. The first listen leaves an impalatable taste in the mouth, but after a few listen it actually grows quite fast. No doubt that the band is more mature (hopefully), no doubt Bono is no longer criticizing capitalism but is a Director at Elevation Partners (a US$2 bln private Considering that it is the first offering since 2000, it is suffering from having to come with great expectations. The first listen leaves an impalatable taste in the mouth, but after a few listen it actually grows quite fast. No doubt that the band is more mature (hopefully), no doubt Bono is no longer criticizing capitalism but is a Director at Elevation Partners (a US$2 bln private equity fund). Growing up does teach lessons, and these lessons are in here. Still refreshing. Free Aung Sang Su Shii ! Expand
  36. TomB
    Oct 1, 2005
    9
    While not their best work, it certainly ranks up there in releases in 2004 outshining most bands half their age in a youth oriented industry
  37. JohnW
    Jan 12, 2005
    9
    one of their top three albums..... filled with emotion and magic
  38. tasostasos
    Jan 25, 2005
    9
    one of the best u2`s alboum
  39. JohnS
    Jan 2, 2005
    9
    One of the best I have ever heard some great songs on this, and the bonus track fast cars is b rillant, one of U2s best.
  40. tramwaj
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    brilliant album containing all the best from u2
  41. matthewr
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    i loved it thought it was one of their best. they are really in their prime
  42. asdf
    Feb 20, 2005
    8
    adfg
  43. RingoT
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    Bono should stay out of the studio and stick with his politician buddies. That seems to be his priority now instead of the music. The other three should retire to thier families. It would be a full circle if they were to start with producer Steve Lillwhite(BOY) and END with him as well(HOW TO DISMANTLE AN ATOMIC BOMB). But no, they are going to destroy thier legacy like the Rolling Stones Bono should stay out of the studio and stick with his politician buddies. That seems to be his priority now instead of the music. The other three should retire to thier families. It would be a full circle if they were to start with producer Steve Lillwhite(BOY) and END with him as well(HOW TO DISMANTLE AN ATOMIC BOMB). But no, they are going to destroy thier legacy like the Rolling Stones did and continue to release products..er, albums as excuses to tour. They are a money-making machine now. The 00's has been U2's worst decade by far. Expand
  44. TheRefugee
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    Kick me out of the cult. To be a true-blue, diehard member of a rock band's cult following there are certain unspoken rules. Perhaps the most sacred of which is to maintain that even the band's worst album is still a great piece of music. "I just don't like it as much as the other ones," you may safely admit to other fans, who either nod or politely defend the work in Kick me out of the cult. To be a true-blue, diehard member of a rock band's cult following there are certain unspoken rules. Perhaps the most sacred of which is to maintain that even the band's worst album is still a great piece of music. "I just don't like it as much as the other ones," you may safely admit to other fans, who either nod or politely defend the work in question. But objectivity in rock cults is unheard of. That's why cults dwindle. Let's review this new (NEW?) U2 album: Cheaply sentimental, a glibly sanguine bit of pap from a band that once explored places that hadn't already been squeezed dry of meaning. And it gets worse. After an outdated empty rock number 'Vertigo', there's the terrific badness of a 'With Or Without You' rip off called 'Miracle Drug'. Then, a spectacularly inept attempt at traditionally uplifting ballad 'Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own'. At this moment, it's clear U2 are just repeating themselves. 'Love and Peace Or Else' is an even more lackluster song. 'City Of Blinding Lights' is the only one decent melody, but it isn't the new 'Where The Streets Have No Name', nowhere near to be honest. 'All Because Of You' is like a bunch of 60 years old members of a dated band trying to remain young by playing their well known rock formula. The "B-side" of the album offers no weighty numbers. If you want to listen to 5 filler songs, try this. Those "B-side" songs bland, lacking musical and lyrical hooks. U2 just overcompensate for their gradual decrepitude by trying too hard, swinging for the fences and singing for Grammy, Super Bowl, etc. U2 love to perform at any main TV show. What a difference!. That proves their pathetic double standard, by the way, it's true: U2 are sellouts. While Bono cry for help for the poor Africa, he appears at any sellout event to promote any new U2 stuff. U2 are dead. Expand
  45. InTheNameOfLove
    Feb 24, 2005
    2
    Well... what I can say after reading all these commentaries. My personal opinion, indeed. I do not want to speak of the wonderful career of U2, only about the new album. 11 nice done songs with a big commercial interest are here. The A side of the disc is far better that the B side , which is singsong and boring. There are interesting songs like City Of Blinding Lights, but there are Well... what I can say after reading all these commentaries. My personal opinion, indeed. I do not want to speak of the wonderful career of U2, only about the new album. 11 nice done songs with a big commercial interest are here. The A side of the disc is far better that the B side , which is singsong and boring. There are interesting songs like City Of Blinding Lights, but there are horrible ones like One Step Closer, Yahweh (Bono in his lowest level as a singer), Original Of Species and Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own. The Edge uses the same guitars all the time, Larry almost is unnecessary in this album, as well Adam. It is a simple, short disc, designed to sell. I don't feel the album, that's all. After 49 minutes I'm the same person, worried about the same things and trying to listen to better albums. This album won't change me at all, unlike previous U2 albums like Pop, Acthung Baby or Joshua Tree. Expand
  46. Andy
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    Grosely overhyped even by 'critics' as Rolling Stone, NME, Billboard, etc. This is the worst U2 album ever.
  47. GeorgeN
    Feb 24, 2005
    1
    U2 should just retire. How can I possibly like this album when here we have 11 songs and there's really only one truly good one: 'City Of Blinding Lights'?. This soup is pathetic. The only amazing thing about this trash is that Bono can stand or sit up there with his Yamaha synth and his annoying rough strained voice and entertain all with this totally sweet mess boring U2 should just retire. How can I possibly like this album when here we have 11 songs and there's really only one truly good one: 'City Of Blinding Lights'?. This soup is pathetic. The only amazing thing about this trash is that Bono can stand or sit up there with his Yamaha synth and his annoying rough strained voice and entertain all with this totally sweet mess boring sedative. The songs are evidence of a rich men whom are over-the-hill, sitting on their cash, spending their empty lives aloof behind dark glasses, cover magazines (As Rolling Stone and Time), fast cars, posh reunions and drinks. Any REAL U2 fan should not accept this awful mediocrity. Enough said. There is no hungry passion anymore. Ironic because U2's newer songs certainly have provided passion for some people, like ones such as Celine Dion fans would "die" for but PLEASE... No deliberate attempt at making music to think about anymore. Their egos are just too damn big Expand
  48. AMusicFan
    Feb 24, 2005
    0
    Sticking to an insignificant music statement. Simply put, HTDAAB is the most disappointing record of U2's strong, lengthy career. It suffers from Bono's weathered voice and many moments of their weakest writing ever. A lot of that has to do with Lillywhite's astonishingly uninspired production. However the sad truth is that this is an album dominated by filler tracks- all Sticking to an insignificant music statement. Simply put, HTDAAB is the most disappointing record of U2's strong, lengthy career. It suffers from Bono's weathered voice and many moments of their weakest writing ever. A lot of that has to do with Lillywhite's astonishingly uninspired production. However the sad truth is that this is an album dominated by filler tracks- all that 'A Man And A Woman', 'Original Of The Species', 'One Step Closer', 'Love And Peace Or Else', 'Yahweh', etc - and shows a band in need of a new wind. What does HTDAAB have to distinguish itself? Nothing at all. It's U2 by numbers. Each track seems to blend into the nest with nothing to grab the attention. The band sounds tired, the tunes have run out, the zest is gone. Even the packaging looks boring. I got hooked on U2 far before they became the corporate/money machine they are now. Listen to their incredibly under appreciated albums Zooropa and Pop instead. Rest In Peace U2, please Expand
  49. HDeCanto
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    I haven't read any other reviews before writing this, so as not to be influenced by them one way or the other, so I'm sorry if this doesn't settle any pros or cons below. Pros- very artistic in a spare, raw sort of way, back to the roots of pop/rock and their 80's sounds, some nice images, very good interpretations of lyrics, great bass work, and lead guitar invention, I haven't read any other reviews before writing this, so as not to be influenced by them one way or the other, so I'm sorry if this doesn't settle any pros or cons below. Pros- very artistic in a spare, raw sort of way, back to the roots of pop/rock and their 80's sounds, some nice images, very good interpretations of lyrics, great bass work, and lead guitar invention, nice to hear less mixing than on most polished singles these days. It feels as though it is an experimental album from a band who has done just about everything and are finally playing around and trying the ideas they've had for years but were never able to do earlier. It's also nice to hear that bono sing sweetly tonally and emotionally as a younger artist would, but also struggle abit on some of the more vocally demanding songs. Cons- it is at first not an easy album for non musicians (not just people who call themselves such)to listen to, after the extremely poetic and commercial (although catchy and grammy winning) last album, I wasn't sure what to expect. It took a few listens for me to appreciate the stripped down sound and the knowing uses of cliches throughout. I can't say that many of the songs will become classics. However, blinding lights, all because of you and love and peace or else have serious potential. I think it's an album that doesn't try to make you like it or identify with it's emotions. You either get it or you don't. Expand
  50. luvVermont
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Love this cd, love U2. Very catchy and I never get bored of it.
  51. Mathprof
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Super Album ! A very good album form u2 ... This is the best of U2 ? Not sure .... The best are The Joshua Tree .... But Dismantle an atomic Bomb receive 5 stars form me .... and i think this is what u2 deserve !!! 1000 bravo !
  52. JonH
    Feb 2, 2005
    6
    I was going to write a big paragraph about why i think this is just a so-so album but then i read Andrew's review, and he pretty much said everything I wanted to say.
  53. AllanF
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Not a bad track on this album. One of their top 3 or 4 best albums ever....need to hear some or all these songs livewhich sometimes give their music even more life, and more ever lasting and soulful. Well done !
  54. TaylorB
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    Just listen to the cd and you'll understand.
  55. HugheO
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    This is the most sentimental and symbolic album U2 I have ever heard. And trust me, I've heard many. Yahweh is much more than just a slow crap - it is deep enough to make you think. Sometimes You Can't Make It on Your Own is just a tear gas. These are the songs that shook the reputation of the punky-shmunky-nonsense band. Listen and ye shall understand.
  56. arielb
    Feb 8, 2005
    2
    I cant believe critics and fans alike are still buying the old rehash sound of this album.....Cmon guys...apart from 'Vertigo" it really sounds like a tweek songs from old u2 albums...every songs sounds familiar...they're given to much credit for nothing. I felt bad for buying the cd.
  57. sergiom
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    Good, but not the best
  58. MACHUSK
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    essential!
  59. Alisabeth
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    grabs the soul...
  60. harryv
    Mar 8, 2005
    7
    When I first heard this album my initial rating would of been around 1 or 2 - nothing stood out like some of U2's previous work. I have loved this band and hated this band throughout their 25 year plus career and with every release they have left me with at least a couple of real gems per album. From "Boy" came "Out Of Control" and "An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart" - from "October" they When I first heard this album my initial rating would of been around 1 or 2 - nothing stood out like some of U2's previous work. I have loved this band and hated this band throughout their 25 year plus career and with every release they have left me with at least a couple of real gems per album. From "Boy" came "Out Of Control" and "An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart" - from "October" they gave me "Tomorrow" " I Threw A Brick Through A Window" and "Stranger In A Strange Land". Then came "War" with more than a few gems and "Unforgettable Fire" with "Bad" "Unforgettable Fire" "Elvis Presley And America" and "Wire". Falling from the leaves of "The Josua Tree" were classics like "Bullet The Blue Sky" "Exit" and "Running To Stand Still". I'll gladly forget "Rattle And Hum" save "Heartland". 1991 brought a new U2 with "Acthung Baby" which gave us "The Fly" "Until The End Of The World""One" and one of U2's most beautiful moments "Love Is Blindness". Most people either laughed at or ignored 1997's "Pop" and still manage to forget brilliant moments such as "Gone" "Please" and "Wake Up Dead Man". In 2000 "Beautiful Day" was a perfectly constructed hook filled single that would be a permanent concert favorite until this band finally gives in and retires. Whew...enough about that sordid past now let's look at "How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb"- I'm afraid I'm beginning to like this album, really I'm not kidding. Like I said when I first heard it nothing stood out with any gemlike quality as in U2's past efforts but that just may be the difficult secret to this album. Being a half-fan of these guys I kept throwing it on once a week or so and everytime I did I somehow enjoyed it more - "Vertigo" still bothers me and always will as does "All Because Of You" and "Yahweh" but the rest of the songs I catch myself humming in my head and actually not rolling my eyes and trying to forget it. This album is full of hooks - not all of them bad. I hate to admit it but I am beginning to really enjoy most of this release. Despite the lack of truly great U2 gems of the past "How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb" with it's hooks and all may very well surprise you if you give it half a chance. Or not. Expand
  61. thewanderer
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    without any doubt their best album!
  62. cesarp
    May 12, 2005
    10
    In the Top three of U2 albums, better than All that you can´t leave behind. Don´t believe to U2 haters !, they feel so sad because U2 greatness !
  63. JosephR
    May 17, 2005
    10
    Maybe not bold, but beautiful. A U2 albums for middle age. A kick in the night, aiming to shake up a dirty world, full of heartbreak as we await the dawn.
  64. ThomasR
    May 2, 2005
    2
    a bad record
  65. vande
    Jun 21, 2005
    5
    it is not good to see that U2 is getting more and more and more a pop band, thye had to do more interesting things, I think listeners deserve this
  66. BrianM
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Seriously great record.
  67. RobertB.
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    What an album, what a band.
  68. JacobL
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    Best of 2004
  69. vaggelisp
    Feb 25, 2006
    9
    a classic u2 masterpiece!!!!
  70. DavidW
    Mar 1, 2006
    8
    Legends...of faith, hope, and love. Grace. Maybe not as "cool" as the use to be, but still have more soul in their big toes than a million other band combined. Good songs from an unforgettable fire.
  71. MattO
    Apr 7, 2007
    4
    I got this album expecting that I would love it, just as I loved All That You Can't Leave Behind. Of course, I hadn't yet heard "Vertigo," which is, in all honesty, a good lead-on to such a disappointment. I found each of the hits, aside from "Sometimes..." to be annoying. Bono screaming, "Oh, you look so beautiful tonight!" really angers me. Do lyrics mean nothing to this man? I got this album expecting that I would love it, just as I loved All That You Can't Leave Behind. Of course, I hadn't yet heard "Vertigo," which is, in all honesty, a good lead-on to such a disappointment. I found each of the hits, aside from "Sometimes..." to be annoying. Bono screaming, "Oh, you look so beautiful tonight!" really angers me. Do lyrics mean nothing to this man? And, of course, he redeems himself on other songs. But, half of the album angers me, one-fourth of the remaining half disappoints me, and the rest just makes me want to put on a different CD. If they wanted to redefine their sound, they should have picked a better time in their career to do so. They shouldn't have changed what already sounded good. Expand
  72. GeorgeC.
    Feb 7, 2008
    0
    Totally irrelevant. U2 hasn't made a good record since War. If these guys aren't careful... in 5 years they're going to end up opening for Hinder or Nickelback on a tour of gay biker bars... in Bulgaria.
  73. DermottF
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    What U2 have against them these days is if the album isn't better than Achtung Baby, then its crap. That's the standard they have set for themselves. This really isn't a bad album. But it isn't a great one either, U2 can do better. It opens with the fantastic Vertigo and even better Miracle Drug where Edge's guitar work is a touch of genius. There are other great What U2 have against them these days is if the album isn't better than Achtung Baby, then its crap. That's the standard they have set for themselves. This really isn't a bad album. But it isn't a great one either, U2 can do better. It opens with the fantastic Vertigo and even better Miracle Drug where Edge's guitar work is a touch of genius. There are other great songs such as 'Sometimes You Cant Make It On Your Own' and 'Original of the Species'. But it hasn't got that magic and deep feel that the Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby had. Its definitely one to have in your collection though. Expand
  74. AndreeF
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Parts of this album make me feel like melted butter inside.
  75. JFlynn
    Nov 21, 2004
    9
    Every track is great. What more do you want? Why can't great songs be enough? U2 is still the best band there is going.
  76. MichaelS
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    As Magnificent as any of their previous genius!
  77. AshM
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    Pure Class!
  78. Ol
    Nov 22, 2004
    8
    A good solid album showcasing all their melodic strengths but never reaching the weird majesty of their ninties work. Definitely worth getting.
  79. ElvisdPB
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    The best U2 since Achtung Baby!
  80. SimonP
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    Forget the fact that this is U2 sounding like U2. This is an album of great songs with not a duff track among them. Their best album since Achtung baby.
  81. marcoc
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    Certainly their best album since their only masterpiece Achtung Baby. However it has three or four songs that are just too weak. They're playing it a bit too safe. What made Achtung Baby so great was that it was dark and sexy, it had music that you could groove to. Vertigo, Sometime You Can't Make On Your Own, Love And Peace Or Else, City Of Blinding Lights, A Man And A Woman Certainly their best album since their only masterpiece Achtung Baby. However it has three or four songs that are just too weak. They're playing it a bit too safe. What made Achtung Baby so great was that it was dark and sexy, it had music that you could groove to. Vertigo, Sometime You Can't Make On Your Own, Love And Peace Or Else, City Of Blinding Lights, A Man And A Woman and Yahweh are all fantastic songs, however the album is tarnished by tracks such as All Because of You, Miracle Drug and Origin of the Species. Still the best band in world, but just about. Expand
  82. Santiago
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    De nada sirve la critica especializada, cuando no tienen idea de la musica. Todos dicen que Pop, fue el pero album, y sin duda fue uno de los mejores. Este, es el otro grande junto a Joshua y Atchung.
  83. RickB
    Nov 23, 2004
    8
    Better than 2000's All That You Can't Leave Behind and possibly their best album since Actung Baby. This band does not get old, only better. I do believe that they are the greatest band since the Beatles and quite possibly in due time may have much more influence than the Fab Four from Liverpool.
  84. Steve
    Nov 23, 2004
    3
    the moments of past charm are lost. a predictably inconsistant cd that has become U2's trademark. difficult to listen to from start to finish.
  85. AbuF
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    Solid album from guys who rarely let us down and we are the better for it.
  86. markf
    Nov 24, 2004
    8
    This is a solid album, but almost redundant. I also liked Sonic Youth's album this year, and I don't think this is any better. I do like "Vertigo" a lot [I'm one of the crazies who never heard it before yesterday (Nov. 24)], and I also like some of the quieter songs in the second half. I actually think it's an easy-to-listen-to album that all my friends and family will This is a solid album, but almost redundant. I also liked Sonic Youth's album this year, and I don't think this is any better. I do like "Vertigo" a lot [I'm one of the crazies who never heard it before yesterday (Nov. 24)], and I also like some of the quieter songs in the second half. I actually think it's an easy-to-listen-to album that all my friends and family will enjoy. There's just no way it's in the class of "War" or "Achtung, Baby." Those are my faves. You can take my comments with a grain of salt though, since I heard songs from "The Joshua Tree" on the radio ten times a day when it came out, and I don't really care if I ever hear them again, except for "In God's Country." My fave U2 song is "Desire", so now you REALLY know what a heretic I am. Still this new album is plenty decent. Expand
  87. MikeC
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    Fantastic, perfect U2 execution. Wonderful listening - had me enthralled from the first listen and it hasn't stopped spinning in my CD player since.
  88. KoenD
    Nov 25, 2004
    5
    Iy's so good to see at least some people giving this CD a lower score. It's not that I think it is bad, it is just that this is not vintage U2. U2 had their great moments with achtung baby, but over the last few years they have definitely lost it. Come on people, don't go along ith the hype and rate this CD for what it really is: another mediocre U2 album
  89. SuperGuy
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    I'm sure that different people will have different views on this new U2 album...but to me it's fantastic, and to me it's amazing...of course it's not 'Joshua' or another 'Baby'... but it fits quite nicely as the 'Bomb'. "Sometimes..." is truly epic, and "Man/Woman" is thrilling. This album took my depression away just long enough to I'm sure that different people will have different views on this new U2 album...but to me it's fantastic, and to me it's amazing...of course it's not 'Joshua' or another 'Baby'... but it fits quite nicely as the 'Bomb'. "Sometimes..." is truly epic, and "Man/Woman" is thrilling. This album took my depression away just long enough to realize that I truly was 'stuck in a moment' and for me that's enough. Beautiful and astonishing. Expand
  90. chris2004
    Dec 17, 2004
    4
    I'm sorry, folks. BORING!! I'm really disappointed, cos I expected something special (...with all that reviews saying "Joshua Tree returns"). 3-4 good tracks (say All Because Of You, Love And Peace Or Else) and that's all. The rest's just rubbish. This is absolutely no match to Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby.
  91. JayB
    Dec 4, 2004
    9
    It's superb, has the 'feel' of the Joshua Tree which is the greatest album ever IMO. This CD rocks. "Fast Cars" is my favourite, irony & humour. Long live the boys of Lypton Village!
  92. DjSmith
    Dec 7, 2004
    9
    Great CD,right up there with Achutung Baby and The Joshua Tree.Grows with repeated listens.
  93. joe
    Dec 7, 2004
    7
    H2DAAB will affirm whatever you feel about U2, love, hate or indifferent. The album's really centered around the Edge, who uses all his guitar tricks, so that'll be comforting, even exhilarating to fans. I also think most of the songs sound similar. Except for Vertigo, they're pretty much midtempo, inoffensive rock songs with the same crescendos and guitar tricks. Love and H2DAAB will affirm whatever you feel about U2, love, hate or indifferent. The album's really centered around the Edge, who uses all his guitar tricks, so that'll be comforting, even exhilarating to fans. I also think most of the songs sound similar. Except for Vertigo, they're pretty much midtempo, inoffensive rock songs with the same crescendos and guitar tricks. Love and Peace or Else comes closest to really rocking out and Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own is heartfelt. But nothing's great. The albums pleasant. That's the most I got out of it. Expand
  94. SamD
    Oct 11, 2005
    8
    one of the better albums of 2004 nowhere near best. top 50 spot, like maybe 29. sometimes you cant make on your own overrated, miracle drug, yahweh and love and peace or else severely underrated
  95. bobg
    Jan 1, 2005
    7
    Quality album, but lacks something you'd expect from U2. Nevertheless, well worth the purchase. You will find at least 2-3 songs that you will enjoy! Regardless, U2's weaker albums still rank high, relative to their peers.
  96. AlanD.
    Jan 13, 2005
    6
    there's something we have to face in that bono is a sub-par lyricist. he's written the same stuff over and over again that we (or at least I) can no longer believe that he still means it and/or has better materiel in him. when "the edge" pulls out the same crap, it's not a lack of ideas, it's "vinage U2". the straight fact is that this record is boring. dull. this is there's something we have to face in that bono is a sub-par lyricist. he's written the same stuff over and over again that we (or at least I) can no longer believe that he still means it and/or has better materiel in him. when "the edge" pulls out the same crap, it's not a lack of ideas, it's "vinage U2". the straight fact is that this record is boring. dull. this is trying to find the gem in utter mediocre dad rock when any judgement past mediocre would be lying to yourself. the people who like this album and the previous one are those that would shun "stuck in a moment" and a majority of ATYCLB as worthless if it came from any other band. this isn't, however, the disaster that was ATYCLB, but it's hopelessly average. when U2 dont rock out, they have little to say that isn't tired as hell. i still can't get through the entire album in one go. Expand
  97. Davidofthehood
    Jan 23, 2005
    9
    this is U2 at its core -- remarkably they never lost their roots so much as they have reconfirmed them. Many years and worldly experiences later -- they have honed their craft, but they remain a deeply committed, spiritual, anthem-ready, rock band.
  98. Andrew
    Jan 27, 2005
    6
    If a lesser group had released an album like this, it would have earned n 8 or a 9. But if you've developed an signature sound, made 2 all-time classic albums, several solid LPs, at least a dozen great singles, and even gone through an underrated experimental period...let's just say you get held to higher standards. The record won't disappoint people who are hungry for new If a lesser group had released an album like this, it would have earned n 8 or a 9. But if you've developed an signature sound, made 2 all-time classic albums, several solid LPs, at least a dozen great singles, and even gone through an underrated experimental period...let's just say you get held to higher standards. The record won't disappoint people who are hungry for new U2 music, but it won't be the Album of the Year for anyone but the hardest of hardcore U2 fans. The record's got some good tracks, and it's not as tentative or over-produced as 'All That You Can't Leave Behind', but it's still pretty conservative and bland. Most of the record is midtempo stuff that doesn't sound very much like 'Vertigo', so don't expect to have your socks rocked off, either. Once the novelty of listening to "The New U2 Record" wears off, you're not going to be playing this one a lot. Expand
  99. timh
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    U2 ROCKS!!!!!!
  100. raVen
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    (9.5) - U2 purists (many of them among this album's detractors) have long since chosen their two -and only two- points of worship. In so doing, they have necessarily eliminated the possibility that a third masterpiece may come along. Their reviews of new U2 releases are thus ridiculously diffused by statements suggesting that the band is merely immitating its own former greatness. (9.5) - U2 purists (many of them among this album's detractors) have long since chosen their two -and only two- points of worship. In so doing, they have necessarily eliminated the possibility that a third masterpiece may come along. Their reviews of new U2 releases are thus ridiculously diffused by statements suggesting that the band is merely immitating its own former greatness. But greatness does not have such a half-life. It either continues or doesn't. And it certainly isn't immitated. This is a great album. You would be hard pressed to find a better group of rock songs than the first six on this CD. The self-defeating adoration of "early work" purists would say otherwise. And that's a shame, because I think this may be that third masterpiece they've waited for but won't accept. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. This time, Steve Lillywhite and the other producers assembled simply construct a U2 album in miniature, mixing in the Edge's processed-guitar trademark whenever you fear they're straying into unforgivable un-U2ness. That's just not enough.
  2. This is grandiose music from grandiose men, sweatlessly confident in the execution of their duties.
  3. While the rest of the album fails to live up to the breadth of “City” and “Crumbs,” and while it takes serious missteps on the shockingly bad “Man and a Woman” and “Yahweh,” this is, by and large, an album to be thankful for, regardless of your demographic.