Hypermagic Mountain

  • Record Label: Load
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2005
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 99
  2. Negative: 30 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    I love this album. It's amazing. It's a really heavy album, so maybe that's why so many people don't like it. It's incredibly dense for an album consisting of only a bass guitar and drums. A lot of people just see it as just noise, and it pretty much is, but it is perfectly crafted noise. It's standout songs are 2 Morro Morro Land, Captain Caveman, Magic Mountain, Dead Cowboy, and BizarroI love this album. It's amazing. It's a really heavy album, so maybe that's why so many people don't like it. It's incredibly dense for an album consisting of only a bass guitar and drums. A lot of people just see it as just noise, and it pretty much is, but it is perfectly crafted noise. It's standout songs are 2 Morro Morro Land, Captain Caveman, Magic Mountain, Dead Cowboy, and Bizarro Zarro Land. Expand
  2. AllanX
    May 5, 2007
    10
    In order to truly appreciate the madness that is Lightning Bolt, one must utilize a proper set of speakers rather than the puny headphones all those naysayers are using. You see, this stuff is pure sonic weaponry. The thrill of listening to it could be considered similar to other tests of one's fortitude, such as consuming hot chili, or imbibing vast amounts of strong liquor. In order to truly appreciate the madness that is Lightning Bolt, one must utilize a proper set of speakers rather than the puny headphones all those naysayers are using. You see, this stuff is pure sonic weaponry. The thrill of listening to it could be considered similar to other tests of one's fortitude, such as consuming hot chili, or imbibing vast amounts of strong liquor. Hypermagic Mountain should come with a warning on the cover about the proximity of pets and small children to whatever device is comissioned to... "emit"... this stuff. Don't like your neighbors? Perhaps a well-placed bolt of lightning will scare 'em away, if you know what I mean. Put it on your stereo, turn the speakers towards your resident enemies, and blast away! Expand
  3. JasonB
    Apr 5, 2007
    8
    It's appeal is far from universal, and its not a record I'm compelled to constantly listen to. That said, this album is worth hearing for fans left-field music who can actually stomach a bit of dissonance and noise (as opposed to the weak-kneed, limp-wristed, mincing pansy fairies claiming this is "just noise" or "not music").
  4. AndyH
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    Brilliant, mesmerizing, and almost does justice to their live show.
  5. SeanP.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    I've seen polarized views, but this is definitely the apex of what i've seen. 5.6 overall customer rating, pockmarked with 0s, 1s, 9s, and 10s. Haha, and as it should be, because this is absolutely a love-it-or-hate-it work of art. You're either on its wave-length, or you're denounce it as trash halfway through the first song. I'm the former, and i will not be I've seen polarized views, but this is definitely the apex of what i've seen. 5.6 overall customer rating, pockmarked with 0s, 1s, 9s, and 10s. Haha, and as it should be, because this is absolutely a love-it-or-hate-it work of art. You're either on its wave-length, or you're denounce it as trash halfway through the first song. I'm the former, and i will not be able to live without owning this music. My girlfriend is the latter. So be it. Lightning Bolt has accomplished its mission. A cult they remain. And boy am i glad to be in that cult. Collapse
  6. GiantPanda
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    awesome!
  7. MattD
    Dec 19, 2006
    0
    Proof that hipsters will buy into anything.
  8. JesusChrist
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    This album is the shit. I suspect that people listening to it in the complacent settings of their own home with muffled stereos feebly blasting away may not be astute enough to get the gist of what lighting bolt is all about... you have to see them live at least once THEN listen to this stuff, which is secondary to their live act really. But I'm giving it 10 anyways cause no This album is the shit. I suspect that people listening to it in the complacent settings of their own home with muffled stereos feebly blasting away may not be astute enough to get the gist of what lighting bolt is all about... you have to see them live at least once THEN listen to this stuff, which is secondary to their live act really. But I'm giving it 10 anyways cause no recording will ever do justice to the noise these guys make. Expand
  9. JamesO
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    self-indulgent? pretentious? these terms have never stopped music listeners before. whether it be pete townshend claiming the who to be the only band that matters or robert plant stuffing his crotch. it's obvious this album is sending people to the 10's and the 0's and that is definitely what it is trying to do. love it or hate it, you cannot deny this album is completely self-indulgent? pretentious? these terms have never stopped music listeners before. whether it be pete townshend claiming the who to be the only band that matters or robert plant stuffing his crotch. it's obvious this album is sending people to the 10's and the 0's and that is definitely what it is trying to do. love it or hate it, you cannot deny this album is completely original and originality is something that should be valued. Expand
  10. chrisg
    Oct 26, 2006
    0
    Are ya freakin' kiddin me? A TOP 10 Album of the year? This sounds like the aborted love-child of Marilyn Manson and an Al Quaeda beheading...
  11. LoganK
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Such polarized views! Lightning Bolt puts out amazing albums and even more amazing live shows.
  12. luke
    Aug 13, 2006
    1
    what the !@#$%^^$@@$!##@%#%@!!????
  13. JeremyK
    Aug 11, 2006
    5
    I'm scared....Honestly...I will give them a respetful nod to originality, energy, and musicianship...At the same time, I admire a well-done avant-garde listen...Maybe I'll track it a few more times.
  14. DavidT
    Jun 8, 2006
    0
    You can easily get the same effect without leaving your own home! Place a large metallic receptacle (bucket or cooking pot) over your head and bang with a large mallet repeatedly. For best results turn on every appliance in your house and leave running whilst doing this. Voila! A droning, masochistic waste of time!
  15. adams
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    shocking. who are all these chodes who love boredom and hate fun? why are they listening to this record?
  16. pepevision
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Ridiculously complex art-metal that comes highly recommended for fans of Black Dice, Wolf Eyes and extremes in general. Old-timers like me can recall Japan's frantic duo Ruins (the only real Lightning Bolt precedent that I can name), but this is even more enjoyable. Although the sounds are extreme, the sense of playfulness (sample trackname: "Captain Caveman") and exploration makes Ridiculously complex art-metal that comes highly recommended for fans of Black Dice, Wolf Eyes and extremes in general. Old-timers like me can recall Japan's frantic duo Ruins (the only real Lightning Bolt precedent that I can name), but this is even more enjoyable. Although the sounds are extreme, the sense of playfulness (sample trackname: "Captain Caveman") and exploration makes this a fantastic listen. Expand
  17. GarethM
    Jun 1, 2006
    0
    Shocking. This isn't music.
  18. FredD
    May 31, 2006
    0
    Really bad album.
  19. JodyK
    May 26, 2006
    0
    Really, really bad album.
  20. PhilBrontly
    May 25, 2006
    0
    What a waste of time.
  21. AngelaM
    May 23, 2006
    1
    I don't know what happened to the various reviewers and online critics, but this is the worst album I have ever heard. I think those who are rating this album highly are doing so in a pathetic attempt to differentiate themselves in an admittedly stagnant world
  22. WilsonP
    May 22, 2006
    0
    Sounds like twelve year olds making noise in their basement.
  23. JackT
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Spectacular !!!! breathtaking!!!
  24. DeanF
    May 17, 2006
    0
    A great example of the sounds on the periphery, and what a sorry state music as a whole is in.
  25. CaseyP
    May 15, 2006
    9
    It's obvious why so many people wouldn't like this, but I love it. Dead Cowboy for example is one of the best songs I've heard in a very long time.
  26. AKaplan
    May 3, 2006
    9
    people dont know what pretentious means, obviously, because this isnt it.
  27. RyanK
    Apr 24, 2006
    0
    People who rate this album highly are pretentious posers. Listen to this album to hear the sound of a band disappearing up its own ass.
  28. funkink
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    relentless. I'd never listen to anything else, that is, of course, if i can sew my ears back on and scoop my spattered skull from the wall behind me.
  29. bolisj
    Apr 16, 2006
    1
    I guess this forum gets mostly polarised posts from 'reviewers', but I was quite intrigued to find so many bad reviews for a record that rated so highly among the music press...so I thought I should check it out for myself. Well, it's true: this is an almost totally self-indulgent, pretentious, cacophonic mess. If you think firing a shotgun full of paint pellets onto a I guess this forum gets mostly polarised posts from 'reviewers', but I was quite intrigued to find so many bad reviews for a record that rated so highly among the music press...so I thought I should check it out for myself. Well, it's true: this is an almost totally self-indulgent, pretentious, cacophonic mess. If you think firing a shotgun full of paint pellets onto a canvas is art, you might dig this to Expand
  30. StephenK
    Apr 11, 2006
    0
    I've listened to this album many times in different settings, moods and seasons. I've searched long and hard for depth and the appeal that these guys seem to have and found nothing. A pretentious band for conceited listeners. Pathetic.
  31. MikeC
    Mar 7, 2006
    8
    I'd be lying if I said that this album is a ten, but it's a hell of a record. I mean I understand why some people wouldn't like it, it takes a good listen to hear how these two guys were able to do all this with just drums and bass. I find it to be a shame that some people don't bother to give it a good listen. Like all good music it takes a while to fully understand. I'd be lying if I said that this album is a ten, but it's a hell of a record. I mean I understand why some people wouldn't like it, it takes a good listen to hear how these two guys were able to do all this with just drums and bass. I find it to be a shame that some people don't bother to give it a good listen. Like all good music it takes a while to fully understand. Amazing album. Expand
  32. TheRealAlfonsodeBong
    Feb 28, 2006
    1
    The recorded sound of a transit van decanting band and instruments onto the motorway at high speed. An true experiment in musical endurance.
  33. FredR
    Feb 8, 2006
    0
    Thought this would an eye-opening album. Tame riffs over drums which have been pushed into the backround wrapped in whining distorted vocals. A mediocre and unimaginitive album.
  34. true
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    it's happening. my ears have lost all elasticity. every other album i own is a pile of second-rate joan-baez-influenced pussy-footing around the point. "But what is the point?" i hear you ask, you poor innocent. DERH! DERH-DERH-DERH- D-D-D-DERH! (that's from track four). makes death from above seem like your little sister's casey-casem mix tape. oh no...
  35. [Anonymous]
    Feb 5, 2006
    1
    I wouldn't even call this music, it's just noise, and not a good noise either.
  36. MichaelM
    Jan 20, 2006
    0
    A pretentious barrage of noise, and badly mastered. I'm amazed by people jumping on the bandwagon claiming this will expand your mind, all it really does is give you perspective on how bad an over-hyped album can be.
  37. MarkS
    Jan 16, 2006
    2
    This isn't music, it's noise. And it's "indie" for a reason.
  38. adils
    Jan 16, 2006
    9
    This is a very courageous band. They are bound only by their own imagination, in an industry full of pretentiousness. This will obviously not appeal to everyone, but you must give them an applause even if you don't like the album. My only issue is I wish the mix given more way to drums. But that's my personal preference. The guitar tones are absolutely fantastic as are the This is a very courageous band. They are bound only by their own imagination, in an industry full of pretentiousness. This will obviously not appeal to everyone, but you must give them an applause even if you don't like the album. My only issue is I wish the mix given more way to drums. But that's my personal preference. The guitar tones are absolutely fantastic as are the "compositions." A must buy for anyone sick of hearing the same old same old ugly boring music. Explore this and expand your mind. Expand
  39. T.Speaker
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    I have never felt more panegyrical about a record in my entire lifetime. I recently played it through again and couldn't resist popping a boner. The day I walk into a room and find a woman volitionally blasting a Lightning Bolt record, I will abnegate chastity and make sweet love to her right on top of her boombox (hopefully the CD won't skip, or we'll have to stop). No one I have never felt more panegyrical about a record in my entire lifetime. I recently played it through again and couldn't resist popping a boner. The day I walk into a room and find a woman volitionally blasting a Lightning Bolt record, I will abnegate chastity and make sweet love to her right on top of her boombox (hopefully the CD won't skip, or we'll have to stop). No one can trump the simultaenously abrasive and piercing masculinity of this infamous bass and drums duo. The booboisie attack its lack of "hooks and melody," but if you can't find those, you're not hearing right. 2Morro Morro Land opens the record, proclaiming Lightning Bolt's boisterous, assiduous mastery, shock-and-awing us to impossible degrees. Dead Cowboy, both a tirade railing against Bush and a supple braggadocio, is the album's paragon, atrophying and dessicating-----eight minutes in length, its multiple climaxes provide endless satisfaction. Only Infinity Farm allows any time for breath, but the suitably titled closer No Rest for the Obsessed arrives before we know it, finishing open-endedly and rendering us obsequious. Even with less than one-hundred words, Hypermagic Mountain is infinitely replayable, and one of 2005's only perfectly rated records-----none of Metacritic's reviews gave it anything below a 70. It is a shimmering, astounding masterpiece. Expand
  40. PatrickB.
    Jan 11, 2006
    9
    oh, hell yes. standouts include "mohawk windmill" and "dead cowboy."
  41. FletcherB
    Jan 5, 2006
    8
    louder, louder louder less wild and dramatic, but stunning the drums on "dead cowboy" will kill the unprepared. be prepared.
  42. FredK
    Dec 28, 2005
    0
    Having bought this album and listened to it repeatedly, I can confidently say that initially it sounds like a convoluted mess, and eventually one realises that there is no real complexity behind the music. Simply a self indulgent waste of talent, time and money.
  43. PetterA
    Dec 20, 2005
    0
    I can also play every instrument at the same time in no order. This isn´t music, this is noice.
  44. rb
    Dec 13, 2005
    9
    A "0" and a "1". Right. As if those reviewers have actually bought and heard this record. In any case if they did actually buy it they have both shown them to be entirely incapable of opening their ears to new sounds. I suggest they stick with MOR bands like Nickelback... This is a clever and imaginative record.
  45. SeanT
    Dec 11, 2005
    9
    more metal riffs on this one. louder sound. absolutely essential.
  46. AndrewC
    Dec 9, 2005
    1
    Wow....i often wonder whether these reviewers aren't just looking for something totally out of the ordinary to which they will commend. And of course most listeners, after checking their fav mag review, will follow in suit to say that, as d palm has commented, "this is really messed up. .... I like it." Its all noise to me....
  47. Ben
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    One word: Wow..!
  48. JohnK
    Dec 6, 2005
    0
    Utterly ridiculous.
  49. dpalm
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    i just have to say, what the hell is going on. this is really messed up. .... I like it.
  50. Nick
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    Not Wonderful Rainbow but still not like anything else. Takes listening not hearing you low score giving fools.
  51. BrianB
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    This album is amazing. It takes the best parts of Ride the Skies and Wonderful Rainbow, blends them together and shoves them down your ear canal. To call this noise is to do it a grave injustice: there are some serious songs here, these guys know exactly what they are doing. Of course, if you were not down with the Bolt before, this album isn't going to change your opinion.
  52. ChrisH
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    It's like god was getting really pissed off and frustrated and he sent a flood to wipe us out for being so shit, but that didn't quite scratch him where he itched, so he picked up his bass and tore the fuck out of it and Lightning Bolt found the tape.
  53. timmyw
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Hypermagic Mountain takes what Lightning Bolt laid down with Wonderful Rainbow and plays with it, like its thier prey. A great fucking album.
  54. KMapMaples
    Nov 7, 2005
    8
    This music has more sheer, raw power behind it than just about anything I have heard since, well...Raw Power (Iggy & the Stooges, you sorry uninitated sap).
  55. Matt
    Nov 5, 2005
    3
    I give it 3 points because this music has its place in the music world. But I don't hear the melody, and it grates on me a lot. Might have been a bit better with stronger vocals.
  56. AdamX
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Where are the hooks and the melody?! Lightning Bolt's music is more or less solely comprised of hooks, riffs and melody! It might not be in the same casual format you're used to, but you're clearly not listening hard enough. Just because it is drums and a bass guitar cranked up to 11 doesn't make it devoid of merit. It's pop music, just very loud and utterly Where are the hooks and the melody?! Lightning Bolt's music is more or less solely comprised of hooks, riffs and melody! It might not be in the same casual format you're used to, but you're clearly not listening hard enough. Just because it is drums and a bass guitar cranked up to 11 doesn't make it devoid of merit. It's pop music, just very loud and utterly inspiring pop music! Expand
  57. jims
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    Ahhhh, pussies, all of you! You might not like them, but Lightning Bolt are not noise .They're about as structured and as melodic as it gets. They're a rock band, and I mean that in the best, and most intense way possible. They take really conventional elements like riffs and melody and blast them into the stratosphere. A lot of people label Lightning Bolt as noise, but Merbow Ahhhh, pussies, all of you! You might not like them, but Lightning Bolt are not noise .They're about as structured and as melodic as it gets. They're a rock band, and I mean that in the best, and most intense way possible. They take really conventional elements like riffs and melody and blast them into the stratosphere. A lot of people label Lightning Bolt as noise, but Merbow is noise, even something more structed like Wolf Eyes is a lot more noisy than the Bolt. What I always liked about LIghtning Bolt is how much they rock. Wonderful Rainbow was actually dissapointing because it seemed to tone down everything that I liked about Ride the Skies so much. This album perfects it. There's still a child like exuberence on some of the tracks, but most of this record points to the direction of earth searing rock and roll. The bass tone is thicker and has more depth, and the drums are destructive. Despite appealing to the art crowd and scensters, this music is purely visercal and goes right for the heart, with no intellectualizing needed. It's abrasive, but in the most melodic and uplifting way possible. Expand
  58. CanadianPhilosopher
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Absolute garbage. Unlistenable. A waste of bandwidth.
  59. aland
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    you're playing the wrong game if you're looking for "hooks and melody." pl-ease. cry me a sufjan.
  60. JonnY
    Nov 1, 2005
    7
    Great music! But only for 5 minutes, then you get a headache.
  61. sroberts
    Oct 31, 2005
    9
    youll either really like the production or hate it. L bolt excel as a live band so raw production is a good idea
  62. ToniC.
    Oct 31, 2005
    0
    it's not music. it's just noise.
  63. ptowns
    Oct 30, 2005
    2
    no thanks, just nothing there i liked
  64. MarkR
    Oct 30, 2005
    1
    Intense is not the same as good. Where are the hooks and the melody that u can return too?
  65. DrGoob
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    When I first got this album, I thought it was the worst, most unlistenable noise I had ever heard. I couldn't even listen to it the whole way through. Since I try to give everything a chance before I decide to hate it, the next day I came back to it, even though I dreaded having to listen to something so crap again. And it was awesome . I spent the next hour alternately rocking out When I first got this album, I thought it was the worst, most unlistenable noise I had ever heard. I couldn't even listen to it the whole way through. Since I try to give everything a chance before I decide to hate it, the next day I came back to it, even though I dreaded having to listen to something so crap again. And it was awesome . I spent the next hour alternately rocking out to the dense, sweaty riffs and beats and laughing my arse off at the sheer crazyness of it. So make sure you give this album a chance, and it will reward you well. It's also awesomely good for annoying uptight neighbours and roommates. The only downside is that your friends and family will think you've gone insane the first time they hear it. Expand
  66. RH
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    One for the ages, and nothing out there comes close. It out-arts art, out-noises noise, out metals-metal and out-rocks rock. A classic record!!!
  67. WX
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    Balls-out perfection and madness. Lightning Bolt captures what
  68. DanielC
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Not a perfect 10. Amazing album, though. It's relentless; it will pummel you into the ground and will leave you wanting more.
  69. md7md7
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    A bloody F@#$ing Trip. Great Heights and on and on and on. It lasted an hour it felt like 10 minutes. Really Nice. It appeals in both ways: difficul and experimental opposed by simplicity and appealness of their sound.
  70. RonJeremy
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Anyone who doesn't enjoy this album has a small penis.
  71. jubjubpoooop
    Oct 25, 2005
    0
    hated it!
  72. TensionHeader
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    I think Neil Young would enjoy this. Kaboom. It's huge.
  73. tomh
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    9.5 really. You hear about music with passion and heart in it. This music is only passion and heart. These are two guys who simply love to make an ungodly racket, and it kicks insane amounts of ass. Uninitiated listeners will have to spend a few hours picking up the pieces of their skull after the first listen. Wonderful Rainbow was better, but if you liked that, get this album, lazy whore.
  74. KurtCobain
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    This album is as close to an ass raping as I want to experience. Rocks the hizzouse.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. This is a great record, if it is a record.
  2. At its most chaotic, Hypermagic Mountain could tear open a wormhole into Comets on Fire's Blue Cathedral.
  3. Essentially, the Brians don't really need to innovate that much anymore and instead are just fine-tuning their craft in glorious ways.