I Am Not a Human Being II Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 2 Chainz, Drake, Future, Soulja Boy, and Trina are some of the guests on the 10th full-length studio release for the New Orleans rapper.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. His posse cuts are finally showing some savor too, albeit not on the vestigial guns 'n' violence ones.
  2. 67
    Lil Wayne still has his curveball, but on I Am a Human Being II his MVP status is behind him.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    You're better off soaking in the good choices here and resigning yourself to enduring the bad ones.
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    40
    I Am Not a Human Being II is a poor effort for sure, but more startling might be the fact that it’s over five years now since Wayne was anything near his peak and he shows no signs of reversing the slump.
  5. The Wire
    Apr 24, 2013
    40
    There is no shortage of bad ideas on the second installment.... But this ugliness is anchored by a series of largely curatorial successes. [May 2013, p.68]
  6. 40
    The beats are so simple that they’re a nonfactor, and there aren’t very many funny lines--which was Wayne’s most redeeming quality in the past.
  7. 25
    The music isn’t as good as it was, sure, but what’s truly maddening is his apparent indifference to his own decline.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 34
  2. Negative: 21 out of 34
  1. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    This album is almost perfect it has just the right beats that match the flow form Wayne. Although it is quite obscene or vulgar I still thikThis album is almost perfect it has just the right beats that match the flow form Wayne. Although it is quite obscene or vulgar I still thik that the production of the album is well placed and consistent Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Why are Weezy fans so hard to please? This is a solid, but not stellar, album.

    I have a theory about all the negative reviews I have read
    Why are Weezy fans so hard to please? This is a solid, but not stellar, album.

    I have a theory about all the negative reviews I have read here: "Tha Carter III" was legendary, and it makes almost everything else Lil' Wayne does look like crap in comparison. The thing is, Wayne really has seemed to head toward more hit-friendly and therefore glossier production since he released that classic. The other thing is, for anyone who thinks his lyrical skill has been AWOL in his last few efforts, please try to remember that he started a track on TCIII with: "I'm drinking this hot tea, me!"

    Maybe his fans are jaded because the singles here stand out too much from the other tracks (I really thought the most amazing aspect of Tha Carter III was how the album tracks were, for the most part, better than the singles)...still, there is plenty to enjoy in between the songs they thought would be hits. He samples Jamie Lidell, for instance, to very good effect in "Back to You." He cribs a Green Day lyric on "Hot Revolver." People who write him off as past his prime really seem to overlook his efforts to stretch out musically. Not everything on the album works, but...who cares? Some of the failures are interesting, and all of them are listenable.

    Maybe he should just title everything he releases from now on "Not Tha Carter III." That way nobody's hopes will be dashed when he doesn't return to a form that he's moved on from.
    Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    I guess I am positive on this. Whilst it is better than Tha Carter 4, it has the same problems, those being that it feels more like a YoungI guess I am positive on this. Whilst it is better than Tha Carter 4, it has the same problems, those being that it feels more like a Young Money compilation, and though there isn't as much singing, it's annoying as heck. The stand out awesome tracks are IANAHB, Gunwalk, Rich as F***, B****** Love Me, and God Bless Amerika. The only awful tracks are Trigger Finger and Wowzers. Lil Wayne has to step it up for his next album but for now, this was a decent sequel to a decent album. So about that Carter 5? Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2015
    3
    A very disappointing album from Wayne with just his crafty one hit punch lines and production that sound the same it just was not impressive.A very disappointing album from Wayne with just his crafty one hit punch lines and production that sound the same it just was not impressive. One of his worst albums besides Rebirth. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2017
    2
    The first few lines are a foreshadowing of the rest of the album. He honestly sounds like a sex crazed maniac. No matter what beat or what theThe first few lines are a foreshadowing of the rest of the album. He honestly sounds like a sex crazed maniac. No matter what beat or what the song is about it comes back to d*ck in a p*ssy or p*ssy on a tongue, etc. The intro piano is so beautiful and the only thing he literally rapped about was violence and sex. I think he sat down and tried to make the most vulgar rap album ever. The best songs are mostly when he isn't rapping about sex on this album which is almost never. I'll lastly note how it's hilarious to me how Curtains sounds like an exact copy of No Worries!

    Highlights: God Bless America, Romance
    Meh: Love Me, My Homies Still, Lay it Down, No Worries
    Trash: THE REST OF THE ALBUM
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    1
    Lil Wayne has never been the most well liked or respected rapper around and outwith his Carter albums, not much of a critic favourite either.Lil Wayne has never been the most well liked or respected rapper around and outwith his Carter albums, not much of a critic favourite either. So I was pretty shocked that this got so much as a mixed critical reception. This is such a bloated album with absolutely no substance. The opening track, IAMAHB, would have been amazing if it weren't for the awful lyrics. In fact, most solid beats are ruined by horrible lyrics. Every song is either bland or disgusting. The only good ones are Days And Days, Gunwalk and God Bless Amerika. If this really is his second last album, he's not on the right track to round off his career with a classic. Expand
  7. May 13, 2013
    0
    The JKRolling dude who called TCIII a classic needs to get got. The first lines of the album basically explain how ass it is, "I'm in a cribThe JKRolling dude who called TCIII a classic needs to get got. The first lines of the album basically explain how ass it is, "I'm in a crib but nekkid she said my dick could be the next black president". If that doesn't convince you of how bad it is try this: 2 Chainz actually had the best verse on the entire album. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews