• Record Label: Banchory
  • Release Date: Jul 3, 2012

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    No one's asking Jackson to bare his soul. Still, there's a surface-y, writing-exercise quality to many of these songs. (I Can't Get No) Stevie Jackson doesn't really give us much Stevie Jackson, just some clever jottings and puns and tunes he's scratched out in a notebook.
  2. Under The Radar
    Aug 22, 2012
    The album works its minimal beats and retrograde high to near perfection, perhaps only because of it had the ultimate incubation period. [Aug/Sep 2012, p.118]
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    If anything, it's not that Jackson doesn't try hard to impress, but that he tries too hard to on the record.
  4. Jun 15, 2012
    These 12 songs feel like whimsical larks, and Jackson's considerable charm should be able to put them over just fine in a live setting. But the record can also be too whimsical for its own good, and for most listeners, Jackson's Belle and Sebastian songs will be enough.
  5. Jun 15, 2012
    If you like 'The Wrong Girl' or 'I'm Not Living In The Real World', you'll find plenty to enjoy here. If you tend to shuffle past the B&S that isn't pure Stuart Murdoch, you'll just find your punnery tolerance levels severely tested.
  6. 40
    At the end of the day, I Can't Get No (Stevie Jackson) proves that Jackson is a perfectly capable guitarist for the band he plays in, who has the ability to whip a song now and again for a long player. Writing a whole album's worth of material? Not so much.

There are no user reviews yet.