I-Empire

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 91
  2. Negative: 12 out of 91

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KaiT.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    it more focused and less indulgant than WDNTW, but im still waiting for an AVA album that will blow me away. this is a good step forward tho
  2. OmriE
    May 10, 2008
    10
    You can sence this albums marks the true nature of angels, The epicness and overall effects make this band sound unique.
  3. LiamS.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    Excellent album, much improved from "We Don't Need To Whisper", beautifully written music
  4. MitchB.
    Dec 9, 2007
    1
    crap. i quite liked the first album but this is unfortunately shit. and by shit i mean very big shit
  5. TuomasK.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Best album I have ever heard.Ignore the critics and get ready for the thrill of your life.So many good songs.Thank God for Tom Delonge.
  6. NateH.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    This album is great. While We Don't Need to Whisper was a fan that really only big DeLonge fans could love (Which I did), I-Empire is a step forward, declaring itselfa decent album if you give it a chance, which is the main problem with AVA haters. They don't care what it sounds like, they just wish blink was back. Wel it's not coming back. Sorry, we'd all love it, but This album is great. While We Don't Need to Whisper was a fan that really only big DeLonge fans could love (Which I did), I-Empire is a step forward, declaring itselfa decent album if you give it a chance, which is the main problem with AVA haters. They don't care what it sounds like, they just wish blink was back. Wel it's not coming back. Sorry, we'd all love it, but it's just not. I-Empire is a masterpiece, the best work of Tom's career. Reading most of the reviews, it doesn't seem like everyone agrees with me, but then again I don't expect them to. I-Empire is amazing, a truly astounding piece of music. Expand
  7. RetroS
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time! Something Delonge can truly be proud of!
  8. SamK.
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Tom Delonge is hardly the musical god he thinks he is. This is not a revolution, it's pure revulsion.
  9. SuleimanM
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    I've never given something a ten, but here we go. I love every song on the album, period. Delonge, you've out done yourself. Anyone can hate it, I won't, I love it. Highly recommend it. Bravo AVA, bravo.
  10. bradleyW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    I was very impressed with this cd. Good album.
  11. ZacharyM.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    It is what it is, and you have to take it for what it is. If you were a fan on blink in high school or jr. high and you still have a place in your heart for its former members, by all means, you should listen to these songs. Sure, it isn't groundbreaking, sure it's a bit derivative...but at the end of the day, you have to take into account what you are listening to - it's It is what it is, and you have to take it for what it is. If you were a fan on blink in high school or jr. high and you still have a place in your heart for its former members, by all means, you should listen to these songs. Sure, it isn't groundbreaking, sure it's a bit derivative...but at the end of the day, you have to take into account what you are listening to - it's Tom Delonge for chrissake. We all know he doesn't take himself all that seriously, and all the hype is just part of the fun. It's no Radiohead, it's no Okkervil River...it just is what it is, and it has to be listened to and reviewed in that context. Expand
  12. HaleeW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    I can't decide which is better -- I-Empire or We Don't Need To Whisper. I do believe the songs are more deep and personalized on the new album, however. it's definitely worth the listen.
  13. JasonK.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Some people cannot see past Delonges awkward image he has created for himself through his comments, and emulation of Bono. Once you get past that, you realise the music is itself has been taken to a new level never reached before by other artists.
  14. TylerM.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    A great and well thought out album. Don't believe the "professional" critics, they are living in a world where music like this "shouldn't" be heard. The CD is very personal and is music you have to really search inside yourself for to really feel the sound. I urge anyone who actually enjoys music that is popular of the time to buy this album, totally worth the money. It A great and well thought out album. Don't believe the "professional" critics, they are living in a world where music like this "shouldn't" be heard. The CD is very personal and is music you have to really search inside yourself for to really feel the sound. I urge anyone who actually enjoys music that is popular of the time to buy this album, totally worth the money. It isn't 80s like people say and it isn't "U2", it's Angels and Airwaves. Expand
  15. ChrisW.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    A complete Masterpiece! (again!) I really was never into Blink 182... but thank god that this is nothing like it! Great songs... great sound... amazing feeling after you listen to it.
  16. SamB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Sweeping epic tracks that carry an equally large and important message. Epic is only one word that can describe such a fantastic album.
  17. MicheleH
    Dec 13, 2007
    8
    Once you get used to DeLonge's misfitting vocals, the songs are simply amazing. Don't miss "Call to Arms" or "Everything's Magic."
  18. Ernestoc.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    My vote is n9 cuz i think this work can't be better than wdntw...However it shows to the world what kinda musician t.delonge is
  19. TWS2
    May 19, 2008
    9
    I was shocked by how appealing this album is. Derivative, pretentious, overlong: yes. Ambitious, cohesive and HOOKY AS HELL - YES, YES, YES. I'm playing it all the time. If there was still such a thing as pop radio, this album would be all over it. It's more than a guilty pleasure -- it's guilty bliss !!
  20. PedroM.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    To all AvA haters: prepare to eat your words! I-Empire is by far THE BEST album this year if not of all time. Don't believe me? Well get the album and hear for yourselfs. Best songs: Call to Arms, Secret Crowds, Love Like Rockets, S.O.B./True Love, HELL THE WHOLE ALBUM IS AMAZING!!!! A MAJOR improvment following We Don't Need to Whisper both in lyric and sound. A perfect album To all AvA haters: prepare to eat your words! I-Empire is by far THE BEST album this year if not of all time. Don't believe me? Well get the album and hear for yourselfs. Best songs: Call to Arms, Secret Crowds, Love Like Rockets, S.O.B./True Love, HELL THE WHOLE ALBUM IS AMAZING!!!! A MAJOR improvment following We Don't Need to Whisper both in lyric and sound. A perfect album in every sense. Face people, Blink is over. Do I want them back as much as you do? OF COURSE I DO!!! But I don't go sobbing in the bathroom all day wishing ans pointlessly waiting for a blink reunion. Get a grip you guys. AvA is now. So deal with it!!! Expand
  21. BobDole
    Nov 14, 2007
    1
    Just as horrendous as the last Angels album, a major disappointment. Tom is right to think that a mature record can sound good, he is wrong however to think that this should be achieved with U2esque songs, this is not Tom's native style, and it clearly is shown with every forced repetitive song. Boxcar Racer and the last Blink album showed that Tom could create great mature sounding Just as horrendous as the last Angels album, a major disappointment. Tom is right to think that a mature record can sound good, he is wrong however to think that this should be achieved with U2esque songs, this is not Tom's native style, and it clearly is shown with every forced repetitive song. Boxcar Racer and the last Blink album showed that Tom could create great mature sounding music, as long as he knew what style to do it in, and moreso if he had a counterpart like Mark Hoppus to help with his direction. Expand
  22. JohnC
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    Nothing can save this album from being a horrible mess of a work. Overwrought with ideas and themes without any coherence, Tom DeLonge should have stayed out of the music scene after the fall of Blink-182.
  23. BigT
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Great album.
  24. Taylors.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The best album ever! and by the best band ever! Tom Delonge is the most talented person alive!
  25. masterson
    Nov 7, 2007
    4
    They havent improve very much... sad for tom.
  26. DavidS.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Most badass album I've heard in my entire life!
  27. JustF.
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    Aww, this deserves a higher score than it got. When I first heard "We Don't Need to Whisper," I thought to myself, "Wow, holy crap, Tom is an idiot." All the songs sounded the same to me, it felt all ambient and it felt like he was singing the same melodies in each song. Then I listened to "I-Empire," and thought to myself, "Tom, good job." This album was a definite improvement, Aww, this deserves a higher score than it got. When I first heard "We Don't Need to Whisper," I thought to myself, "Wow, holy crap, Tom is an idiot." All the songs sounded the same to me, it felt all ambient and it felt like he was singing the same melodies in each song. Then I listened to "I-Empire," and thought to myself, "Tom, good job." This album was a definite improvement, there was still some ambiance, but overall, I liked it. I finally got to hear a melodic Tom voice in "Lifeline" and some Box Car Racer-esque riffs in "Secret Crowds." And finishing it all off during the end of "Heaven" with the beginning riff to "Valkyrie Missile" (the first song on "We Don't Need to Whisper") just made me grin. Good stuff. Expand
  28. MikeS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    Nice improvement over WDNTW. Some cringe worthy lyrics, and songs do drag a little bit. But Tom, Dave, Matt, and Atom did a heck of a job overall on I-Empire.
  29. LukeD.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    It's a big up from "We Don't Need To Whisper"; Tom Delonge works in more pop/punk sounds, refines the original AVA sound, and generally this is a nice, well rounded album with some songs that will actually make you want to put them on 'repeat' for a while.
  30. JC
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    i really like it's atmospheric spacy sound.. great to relax too.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. I-Empire is an easier record to like than "We Don't Need to Whisper," as it marks a very small, very tentative progression toward DeLonge realizing that he can expand his sonic and emotional horizons without abandoning the pop songcraft that remains his greatest strength
  2. I-Empire is a sweeping conceptual piece with a message as big as its sound and just a bit more enigmatic.
  3. Tom DeLonge does have talent, and maybe one day he'll make an album that deserves all his self-proclaimed hype. This, however, isn't it.