• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 88
  2. Negative: 12 out of 88

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KaiT.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    it more focused and less indulgant than WDNTW, but im still waiting for an AVA album that will blow me away. this is a good step forward tho
  2. OmriE
    May 10, 2008
    10
    You can sence this albums marks the true nature of angels, The epicness and overall effects make this band sound unique.
  3. LiamS.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    Excellent album, much improved from "We Don't Need To Whisper", beautifully written music
  4. MitchB.
    Dec 9, 2007
    1
    crap. i quite liked the first album but this is unfortunately shit. and by shit i mean very big shit
  5. TuomasK.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Best album I have ever heard.Ignore the critics and get ready for the thrill of your life.So many good songs.Thank God for Tom Delonge.
  6. NateH.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    This album is great. While We Don't Need to Whisper was a fan that really only big DeLonge fans could love (Which I did), I-Empire is a step forward, declaring itselfa decent album if you give it a chance, which is the main problem with AVA haters. They don't care what it sounds like, they just wish blink was back. Wel it's not coming back. Sorry, we'd all love it, but This album is great. While We Don't Need to Whisper was a fan that really only big DeLonge fans could love (Which I did), I-Empire is a step forward, declaring itselfa decent album if you give it a chance, which is the main problem with AVA haters. They don't care what it sounds like, they just wish blink was back. Wel it's not coming back. Sorry, we'd all love it, but it's just not. I-Empire is a masterpiece, the best work of Tom's career. Reading most of the reviews, it doesn't seem like everyone agrees with me, but then again I don't expect them to. I-Empire is amazing, a truly astounding piece of music. Collapse
  7. RetroS
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time! Something Delonge can truly be proud of!
  8. SamK.
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Tom Delonge is hardly the musical god he thinks he is. This is not a revolution, it's pure revulsion.
  9. SuleimanM
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    I've never given something a ten, but here we go. I love every song on the album, period. Delonge, you've out done yourself. Anyone can hate it, I won't, I love it. Highly recommend it. Bravo AVA, bravo.
  10. bradleyW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    I was very impressed with this cd. Good album.
  11. ZacharyM.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    It is what it is, and you have to take it for what it is. If you were a fan on blink in high school or jr. high and you still have a place in your heart for its former members, by all means, you should listen to these songs. Sure, it isn't groundbreaking, sure it's a bit derivative...but at the end of the day, you have to take into account what you are listening to - it's It is what it is, and you have to take it for what it is. If you were a fan on blink in high school or jr. high and you still have a place in your heart for its former members, by all means, you should listen to these songs. Sure, it isn't groundbreaking, sure it's a bit derivative...but at the end of the day, you have to take into account what you are listening to - it's Tom Delonge for chrissake. We all know he doesn't take himself all that seriously, and all the hype is just part of the fun. It's no Radiohead, it's no Okkervil River...it just is what it is, and it has to be listened to and reviewed in that context. Expand
  12. HaleeW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    I can't decide which is better -- I-Empire or We Don't Need To Whisper. I do believe the songs are more deep and personalized on the new album, however. it's definitely worth the listen.
  13. JasonK.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Some people cannot see past Delonges awkward image he has created for himself through his comments, and emulation of Bono. Once you get past that, you realise the music is itself has been taken to a new level never reached before by other artists.
  14. TylerM.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    A great and well thought out album. Don't believe the "professional" critics, they are living in a world where music like this "shouldn't" be heard. The CD is very personal and is music you have to really search inside yourself for to really feel the sound. I urge anyone who actually enjoys music that is popular of the time to buy this album, totally worth the money. It A great and well thought out album. Don't believe the "professional" critics, they are living in a world where music like this "shouldn't" be heard. The CD is very personal and is music you have to really search inside yourself for to really feel the sound. I urge anyone who actually enjoys music that is popular of the time to buy this album, totally worth the money. It isn't 80s like people say and it isn't "U2", it's Angels and Airwaves. Expand
  15. ChrisW.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    A complete Masterpiece! (again!) I really was never into Blink 182... but thank god that this is nothing like it! Great songs... great sound... amazing feeling after you listen to it.
  16. SamB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Sweeping epic tracks that carry an equally large and important message. Epic is only one word that can describe such a fantastic album.
  17. MicheleH
    Dec 13, 2007
    8
    Once you get used to DeLonge's misfitting vocals, the songs are simply amazing. Don't miss "Call to Arms" or "Everything's Magic."
  18. Ernestoc.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    My vote is n9 cuz i think this work can't be better than wdntw...However it shows to the world what kinda musician t.delonge is
  19. TWS2
    May 19, 2008
    9
    I was shocked by how appealing this album is. Derivative, pretentious, overlong: yes. Ambitious, cohesive and HOOKY AS HELL - YES, YES, YES. I'm playing it all the time. If there was still such a thing as pop radio, this album would be all over it. It's more than a guilty pleasure -- it's guilty bliss !!
  20. PedroM.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    To all AvA haters: prepare to eat your words! I-Empire is by far THE BEST album this year if not of all time. Don't believe me? Well get the album and hear for yourselfs. Best songs: Call to Arms, Secret Crowds, Love Like Rockets, S.O.B./True Love, HELL THE WHOLE ALBUM IS AMAZING!!!! A MAJOR improvment following We Don't Need to Whisper both in lyric and sound. A perfect album To all AvA haters: prepare to eat your words! I-Empire is by far THE BEST album this year if not of all time. Don't believe me? Well get the album and hear for yourselfs. Best songs: Call to Arms, Secret Crowds, Love Like Rockets, S.O.B./True Love, HELL THE WHOLE ALBUM IS AMAZING!!!! A MAJOR improvment following We Don't Need to Whisper both in lyric and sound. A perfect album in every sense. Face people, Blink is over. Do I want them back as much as you do? OF COURSE I DO!!! But I don't go sobbing in the bathroom all day wishing ans pointlessly waiting for a blink reunion. Get a grip you guys. AvA is now. So deal with it!!! Expand
  21. BobDole
    Nov 14, 2007
    1
    Just as horrendous as the last Angels album, a major disappointment. Tom is right to think that a mature record can sound good, he is wrong however to think that this should be achieved with U2esque songs, this is not Tom's native style, and it clearly is shown with every forced repetitive song. Boxcar Racer and the last Blink album showed that Tom could create great mature sounding Just as horrendous as the last Angels album, a major disappointment. Tom is right to think that a mature record can sound good, he is wrong however to think that this should be achieved with U2esque songs, this is not Tom's native style, and it clearly is shown with every forced repetitive song. Boxcar Racer and the last Blink album showed that Tom could create great mature sounding music, as long as he knew what style to do it in, and moreso if he had a counterpart like Mark Hoppus to help with his direction. Expand
  22. JohnC
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    Nothing can save this album from being a horrible mess of a work. Overwrought with ideas and themes without any coherence, Tom DeLonge should have stayed out of the music scene after the fall of Blink-182.
  23. BigT
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Great album.
  24. Taylors.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The best album ever! and by the best band ever! Tom Delonge is the most talented person alive!
  25. masterson
    Nov 7, 2007
    4
    They havent improve very much... sad for tom.
  26. DavidS.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Most badass album I've heard in my entire life!
  27. JustF.
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    Aww, this deserves a higher score than it got. When I first heard "We Don't Need to Whisper," I thought to myself, "Wow, holy crap, Tom is an idiot." All the songs sounded the same to me, it felt all ambient and it felt like he was singing the same melodies in each song. Then I listened to "I-Empire," and thought to myself, "Tom, good job." This album was a definite improvement, Aww, this deserves a higher score than it got. When I first heard "We Don't Need to Whisper," I thought to myself, "Wow, holy crap, Tom is an idiot." All the songs sounded the same to me, it felt all ambient and it felt like he was singing the same melodies in each song. Then I listened to "I-Empire," and thought to myself, "Tom, good job." This album was a definite improvement, there was still some ambiance, but overall, I liked it. I finally got to hear a melodic Tom voice in "Lifeline" and some Box Car Racer-esque riffs in "Secret Crowds." And finishing it all off during the end of "Heaven" with the beginning riff to "Valkyrie Missile" (the first song on "We Don't Need to Whisper") just made me grin. Good stuff. Expand
  28. MikeS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    Nice improvement over WDNTW. Some cringe worthy lyrics, and songs do drag a little bit. But Tom, Dave, Matt, and Atom did a heck of a job overall on I-Empire.
  29. LukeD.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    It's a big up from "We Don't Need To Whisper"; Tom Delonge works in more pop/punk sounds, refines the original AVA sound, and generally this is a nice, well rounded album with some songs that will actually make you want to put them on 'repeat' for a while.
  30. JC
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    i really like it's atmospheric spacy sound.. great to relax too.
  31. JamesA.
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    I have to say that my first time around I was dissapointed. After another two times through, I have come to like the album. These songs are definatley catchy, and although at times the lyrics are downright cheesy, its hard to not get chills during certain parts of the album. The tracks are solid enough to satisfy someone looking for some great pop-rock music, and for AvA fans it should be I have to say that my first time around I was dissapointed. After another two times through, I have come to like the album. These songs are definatley catchy, and although at times the lyrics are downright cheesy, its hard to not get chills during certain parts of the album. The tracks are solid enough to satisfy someone looking for some great pop-rock music, and for AvA fans it should be more than enough to entertain until future (and hopefully even better) releases. Expand
  32. JakeM
    Dec 19, 2007
    6
    Better than their first album but they still have a lot of work to do if they want to be a good rock/punk/pop/whatever band.
  33. RichR.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    I think Blink 182, especially on their last few albums, were about the best American band out there. Great songs and superb musicianship are the reasons. This new band is great, too, but a lot different. I miss some of the humor of Blink, but I think Tom is a fantastic writer and guitar player. He's earnest and honest, and anyone with those qualities is going to take a lot of crap in I think Blink 182, especially on their last few albums, were about the best American band out there. Great songs and superb musicianship are the reasons. This new band is great, too, but a lot different. I miss some of the humor of Blink, but I think Tom is a fantastic writer and guitar player. He's earnest and honest, and anyone with those qualities is going to take a lot of crap in our cynical age. So far, it seems like he can take it, and I'm glad. Expand
  34. upielL.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    The Great album... awesome...
  35. MarkF.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    I cannot understand the mixed reviews for this album, but I guess this is why music is so personal. I absolutely love this. It's the first album out of over 1600 that I've collected over 40 years where every track rates 5/5 in my book. I think it's amazing and uplifting.
  36. TobiasC.
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    terrible, self-indulgent, ego-maniacal wanking
  37. MR*DRILLER
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    Simply one of the best albums I've heard in ages. Kinda liked the first album - bur this one blows it away! Melodic, great song structures... love the guitar sound. A great album that makes you feel GOOD when you listen to it! I'm really looking forward to album number 3! Keep knocking out the tunes guys!
  38. PunkrockSuperstar
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    This is a big step up from their debut. As Anthemic, spacey, catchy as the first album, only this time they add a lyrical positivity, and upbeat feel to proceedings.
  39. RedLightMikeyW
    Nov 11, 2007
    3
    An album that will a few listens just sounds the same, the guitar work is the same, some of the lyrics are rubbish like "in the hallway like a scarecrow" (Sirens) and two instrumentals and one being a half of a song released earlier in the year the album comes far from great. Best Songs: Call to Arms, Lifeline and Sirens (even though sometimes cringible lyrics). Also look at their An album that will a few listens just sounds the same, the guitar work is the same, some of the lyrics are rubbish like "in the hallway like a scarecrow" (Sirens) and two instrumentals and one being a half of a song released earlier in the year the album comes far from great. Best Songs: Call to Arms, Lifeline and Sirens (even though sometimes cringible lyrics). Also look at their previous album which is a bit better. Expand
  40. SpencerC
    Nov 11, 2007
    7
    This album creates a large conflict for me. For one, I can't stand DeLonge's nasal, whining singing. His voice just does not fit with the music his band makes. On the other hand, that music is awesome. Epic, emotional, and artistic. Sometimes it gets repetetive, but after a few listens I have been able to acclimate to DeLonge's vocals to appreciate the music. I don't This album creates a large conflict for me. For one, I can't stand DeLonge's nasal, whining singing. His voice just does not fit with the music his band makes. On the other hand, that music is awesome. Epic, emotional, and artistic. Sometimes it gets repetetive, but after a few listens I have been able to acclimate to DeLonge's vocals to appreciate the music. I don't really mind the length of the songs. Actually, one of my favorite parts of the record is The Star of Bethlehem and the intro to True Love. Altogether, it's 4 minutes of instrumentals, but the sweeping, spacey sound just sucks you in. Overall, I like this CD a lot better than the little bit I heard of AVA's previous album, but there is still quite a bit of room for improvement. Expand
  41. JosephC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing! This music makes we want to go out and make a difference... and I'm lazy! Buy this album, it's great and way better than the first one.
  42. DavidW.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    its the best album in the last 18 months
  43. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Some hardcore punks might be disappointed but I honestly like the sound and its message, it really speaks to me and has meaning though I wish that the sound hadn't influenced the sound of the new Blink 182 album some much.
  44. May 5, 2012
    10
    AWESOME! Their best album. Call To Arms, Rite of Spring, Secret Crowds, AW MAN they're ALL great songs! Tom sounds so awesome on this. Of course the rest of the band does too, but Tom's voice is like......awesomely different than on WDNTW.
  45. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    Beautifully written and mind-blowing wonderful. The album is actually very simply made. Long songs, not much lyrics and this magical feeling that regrettably so many bands can give us. AVA is one of them and made another great album, a bit away from being perfect but really, really good! Wonderful and inspiring songs with the unique voice of Tom DeLonge make this album so good. I couldn'tBeautifully written and mind-blowing wonderful. The album is actually very simply made. Long songs, not much lyrics and this magical feeling that regrettably so many bands can give us. AVA is one of them and made another great album, a bit away from being perfect but really, really good! Wonderful and inspiring songs with the unique voice of Tom DeLonge make this album so good. I couldn't say it's better than WDNTW but it's definitely not worse - it's also a fantastic album that gives me chills everytime I hear it :) Expand
  46. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    Tom DeLonge is a defining artist to this centuries punk culture. A touching soothing album leaving you in oar with his voice and surprisingly catchy electronic tunes. An effort which isn't perfection but elements such as Secret Crowds or Everything's Magic proves that sometimes simplicity in music can create the greatest of songs.
  47. ChuckyD.
    Jan 27, 2008
    0
    Please, somebody make him stop.
  48. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    What I really love about Angels And Airwaves and hate about Blink 182 is that it just isn't simple guitar riffs and Tom Delonge whining about random stuff, it has a harmonic message to the listener and can really bring out the emotion in a person.

    Call To Arms (9.25) is the lead track on this album and has good guitar builds and gives the listener a motivational feeling. I feel this
    What I really love about Angels And Airwaves and hate about Blink 182 is that it just isn't simple guitar riffs and Tom Delonge whining about random stuff, it has a harmonic message to the listener and can really bring out the emotion in a person.

    Call To Arms (9.25) is the lead track on this album and has good guitar builds and gives the listener a motivational feeling. I feel this song is about love and telling the person listening to keep trying when you are struggling. The chorus hook is really appealing and the near ending of the song is very beautiful when he sings about how he feels his loves heart along with the change in the guitar riff.

    Everything's Magic (8) adds a element of unity I feel to the album with the clapping like an audience is getting involved with the music with Tom trying to connect with the audience by saying that he has struggled in his life and to try and stay positive. I feel a main message in this song is that life is just a wild ride and you need to just go with it and be the best person you can be and how your life is shaped by the choices you make.

    Breathe (8.5) This song slows down the tempo of the album and is obviously a love song. While the lyrics are simple, they are powerful when Tom states 'I'll love you, until the end of time.' I think the great use of calm electronica is incorporated well in this song to make it stand out much more than just some song that was made in the 1970's. My favorite part of the song is when the looping of the same message is changed at the end as well as the instrumentals.

    Love Like Rockets (8.5) This track changes has good instrumentals and good lyrics and I feel it really picks up when Tom starts singing about 'the stars in your eyes, light up the sky' as well as the riff right before hand and after. That all I really have to say.

    Sirens (8) This song has a good lyrics and interesting use of vocals with the whole 'la da dat da' thing. My favorite part of this song is when the whole pitch of the song changes and how Tom states how he left his first love go. The minor pickup of the guitar at the end of the song made me like the song a little better before it was over.

    Secret Crowds (9.25) This song really has great riffs in the beginning and a great message right the lyrics kick in. It promotes a Utopian society that everyone gets along in. Tom then starts to sing like he's talking to people he cares about and the instrumental gets alot better and goes into a great chorus hook. The whole message of making the world better and using religious overtones gives the track a positive flair. The song then goes into a more minimalist state and Tom states something that he feels is important. The song ends with the hook with great instrumentals.

    Star Of Bethlehem/True Love (9) I am putting both of these tracks into one section because I feel personally that Star Of Bethlehem is a build for True Love. True Love is one of my favorite tracks on the album because of the awesome instrumentals and powerful lyrics and how Angels and Airwaves is able to build the song very well for the listener along with the message of love.

    Lifeline (9) This track has always been a powerful one to me, it slows the album down from the last song and really talks about people desires for dreams. It really connects with the bands name I feel and the idea of prayer in all religious faiths. I kind of reminds of Breathe earlier in the album but is a more complex and dynamic of what Tom is singing about in Breathe (less obvious). I also really like how Angels and Airwaves pick up the tempo later in the song.

    Jumping Rooftops/Rite Of Spring (9.25) I am combining these two tracks as well because Jumping Rooftops kind of refreshes your brain from the last track before Rite Of Spring hits. When I listen to Rite Of Spring, it really is a synopsis to certain points of my life. The most powerful line to me in this song is 'If I had a chance for another try, I wouldn't change a thing it's made me all who I am inside. And if I could thank God that I am here and that I am alive.' I correlate this line to my suicide attempt in 2012 with a knife to my throat. The instrumentals are powerful and some of the lines remind me of the Boys Of Summer when they talk about people changing. Also, Angels And Airwaves does a great job building the end like usual.

    Heaven (9.25) I think this track on the album does the best job at showing of the ability of Angels And Airwaves to use positive melodic instrumentals. I think that's why they saved it for the end. The beginning of the song is very powerful when the guitar riffs hit. What really makes this song stand out to me is the amazing ending where Angels And Airwaves makes amazing instrumental work even better.
    Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. I-Empire is an easier record to like than "We Don't Need to Whisper," as it marks a very small, very tentative progression toward DeLonge realizing that he can expand his sonic and emotional horizons without abandoning the pop songcraft that remains his greatest strength
  2. I-Empire is a sweeping conceptual piece with a message as big as its sound and just a bit more enigmatic.
  3. Tom DeLonge does have talent, and maybe one day he'll make an album that deserves all his self-proclaimed hype. This, however, isn't it.