• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
I-Empire Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sophomore album for the group led by the former singer/guitarist of Blink-182 and Box Car Racer, Tom DeLonge.

Top Track

Everythings Magic
And do you ever feel like you're alone? And do you ever wish to be unknown? I can say I have I can say I have And do you ever feel things here aren't... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. I-Empire is a sweeping conceptual piece with a message as big as its sound and just a bit more enigmatic.
  2. For all its cathartic lyrics, I-Empire is actually packed with dazzling, fast-moving songs, like 'Everything's Magic' and 'Sirens,' that bring together U2's widescreen guitar flights with tuneful, straightforward punk melodies.
  3. 'Magic' isn't the sole highlight: 'Sirens,' an earnest new-wave throwback, may even encourage DeLonge's sternest critics to sing along.
  4. Spin
    50
    I-Empire still makes you wonder what constituency DeLonge hopes to attract with such an anti-fun platform. [Dec 2007, p.112]
  5. Alternative Press
    50
    Between the bloated song lengths and repetitive arrangements, What Angels & Airwaves really need for LP3 is an editor. [Dec 2007, p.184]
  6. Tom DeLonge does have talent, and maybe one day he'll make an album that deserves all his self-proclaimed hype. This, however, isn't it.
  7. 30
    This album, the second from Angels and Airwaves, is thick with U2-aping major-chord bluster and well-meaning meaninglessness.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 47
  2. Negative: 7 out of 47
  1. OmriE
    May 10, 2008
    10
    You can sence this albums marks the true nature of angels, The epicness and overall effects make this band sound unique.
  2. JosephC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing! This music makes we want to go out and make a difference... and I'm lazy! Buy this album, it's great and way better than Amazing! This music makes we want to go out and make a difference... and I'm lazy! Buy this album, it's great and way better than the first one. Expand
  3. upielL.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    The Great album... awesome...
  4. MikeS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    Nice improvement over WDNTW. Some cringe worthy lyrics, and songs do drag a little bit. But Tom, Dave, Matt, and Atom did a heck of a job Nice improvement over WDNTW. Some cringe worthy lyrics, and songs do drag a little bit. But Tom, Dave, Matt, and Atom did a heck of a job overall on I-Empire. Expand
  5. TWS2
    May 19, 2008
    9
    I was shocked by how appealing this album is. Derivative, pretentious, overlong: yes. Ambitious, cohesive and HOOKY AS HELL - YES, YES, YES. I was shocked by how appealing this album is. Derivative, pretentious, overlong: yes. Ambitious, cohesive and HOOKY AS HELL - YES, YES, YES. I'm playing it all the time. If there was still such a thing as pop radio, this album would be all over it. It's more than a guilty pleasure -- it's guilty bliss !! Expand
  6. JustF.
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    Aww, this deserves a higher score than it got. When I first heard "We Don't Need to Whisper," I thought to myself, "Wow, holy crap, Tom Aww, this deserves a higher score than it got. When I first heard "We Don't Need to Whisper," I thought to myself, "Wow, holy crap, Tom is an idiot." All the songs sounded the same to me, it felt all ambient and it felt like he was singing the same melodies in each song. Then I listened to "I-Empire," and thought to myself, "Tom, good job." This album was a definite improvement, there was still some ambiance, but overall, I liked it. I finally got to hear a melodic Tom voice in "Lifeline" and some Box Car Racer-esque riffs in "Secret Crowds." And finishing it all off during the end of "Heaven" with the beginning riff to "Valkyrie Missile" (the first song on "We Don't Need to Whisper") just made me grin. Good stuff. Expand
  7. JohnC
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    Nothing can save this album from being a horrible mess of a work. Overwrought with ideas and themes without any coherence, Tom DeLonge should Nothing can save this album from being a horrible mess of a work. Overwrought with ideas and themes without any coherence, Tom DeLonge should have stayed out of the music scene after the fall of Blink-182. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews