Idlewild - Outkast
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Idlewild is certainly a spectacle, and an occasionally entertaining and enlightening one at that, but it translates into an elaborate diversion when compared to what this duo has done in the past.
  2. Initially, it’s thrilling in the way that any spectacle is. You admire the creative largesse, and there’s no doubt a strong 12-song album here. But at 79 minutes, exhaustion sets in by the midway mark, and the whole of the album takes on the feeling of someone trying to cap a broken water main.
  3. 80
    Stylish and substantial, it's a deft masterpastiche that dissolves history for its own entertainment. [Oct 2006, p.114]
  4. Idlewild is a dazzling album. [Oct 2006, p.124]
  5. 90
    Every time you think you've got Idlewild figured out, it zips off in a totally unexpected new direction. [Oct 2006, p.97]
  6. Their weirdest music yet. [24 Aug 2006, p.89]
  7. In any other hands this would have been a total disaster, but yes, things are never quite that simple with these two.
  8. There are still enough surprises... that make even this comparatively subpar OutKast album a reason to celebrate. [#15]
  9. It'd be easier to overlook the bum tracks if Idlewild boasted a knockout single like "Hey Ya!" or felt more cohesive, but the disc's shifts from upbeat pop to moody blues to noodly experimentation are downright whiplash-inducing.
  10. With Idlewild you get a sumptuous surface that constantly excites, but reveals its secret charms with repeated listenings.
  11. 60
    Idlewild grasps for a distinctive sound, departing almost entirely from rap per se. [Sep 2006, p.99]
  12. Ambitious but flawed, at turns stunning, maddening and confusing, Idlewild is a curate's egg - but the good parts are implausibly delicious.
  13. OutKast have stretched rap's boundaries to the breaking point before, but this time their experiments come across as gimmicky or strained.
  14. Their well-honed flamboyance has finally given way to full-blown pretension, the lyrics that used to be an afterthought hidden behind a painfully contrived yet musically unimpressive ragtimey veneer of muted trumpets, shoo-bop, shoo-wahs and happily jingling vaudeville pianas.
  15. It's an interesting failure, as OutKast are probably incapable of making boring music, but a failure nonetheless.
  16. An awkward, uneven record that comes over like something they made in a week instead of something that was continually pushed back for more than a year.
  17. 70
    The two halves of OutKast seem less collaborative than ever.
  18. Deft, flawed, entertaining, thrilling, and disappointing, often at the same time.
  19. Film-specific songs like "Make No Sense at All" and "Call the Law" fall flat out of context.
  20. OutKast’s brains and playfulness sparkle throughout "Idlewild."... But despite the new, jazzy trappings "Idlewild" is more superficial than OutKast’s older albums.
  21. Imperfect and absurdly oversized it may be, but only OutKast could have pulled off a crazy creative coup like "Idlewild".
  22. Idlewild fails in the same places as Speakerboxxx/The Love Below: both feature some stunningly flat crooning and poor pop revisions straight from the mind, body, and soul of Andre Benjamin.
  23. "Idlewild" leaves the ears longing for something. Coherence, basically. There's no sustaining mood, no clear message, only Benjamin and Patton's efforts to outdo whatever they came up with last.
  24. 60
    This duo can only be measured against themselves and for the first time, it don't measure up. [Sep 2006, p.139]
  25. The 'Idlewild' experience is mostly regrettable and one that will leave you feeling cheated.
  26. 100
    Idlewild is a more down-tempo affair than its genre-splitting predecessor, but it wins points with stone-cold psychedelic soul classics such as "Mighty O," "Peaches" and "Hollywood Divorce."
  27. "Idlewild" seems to prove they're two seperate artists even more than the last double album did.
  28. The most frustrating aspect of Idlewild is its lack of energy.
  29. Entertaining and surprisingly consistent.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Jan 1, 2012
    4
    This album is classy and i thought i was going to enjoy it. But i barely did. Even though it had class. It just made me miss the Outkast fromThis album is classy and i thought i was going to enjoy it. But i barely did. Even though it had class. It just made me miss the Outkast from "ATLiens", "Aquemini", "Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik", & Stankonia, Dont get me wrong i did like "Speakerboxx/The Love below but not as much as the other classics Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2010
    5
    After the sheer brilliance of Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, this album was a colossal disappointment. Aside from the soulful hooks provided onAfter the sheer brilliance of Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, this album was a colossal disappointment. Aside from the soulful hooks provided on the song 'Morris Brown', this album is largely forgettable. Full Review »
  3. Ryanss
    Jul 26, 2007
    3
    Every Outkast album is extremely original and innovative and pushes the boundaries of where pop and hip hop music blend and this could have Every Outkast album is extremely original and innovative and pushes the boundaries of where pop and hip hop music blend and this could have been a great opportunity to update sounds from music's past and make them hip again but they failed on this record. I was so disappointed by this record that I couldn't even listen to it twice... The lyrics were alright in most of the songs but the production seemed like it was lacking that huge sound that has run through their last few albums. Its hard to explain but that was one of the things that i noticed when i was trying to understand what went wrong. They have recently had a guest appearance in UGK song and it really worked so I hope that is a sign of improvement... oh and another thing... why is it that hip hop artists rely so much on skits or in this case parts of the movie... It is usually interesting the first time you listen but gets old so fast. I think a lot of hip hop albums would be more timeless without the skits. just my opinion though... Full Review »