• Record Label: La Face
  • Release Date: Aug 22, 2006
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 89
  2. Negative: 5 out of 89

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2016
    6
    Outkast have a fantastic back catalogue of innvoative hip hop; Speakerboxxx/The Love Below proved that Andre 3000 and Big Boi could be fantastic on their own, too. However, Idlewild, their first "together" album since Stankonia, strangely falls short of the brilliance of their first four albums. Aside from a couple good tracks, most of the album feels like a relatively soulless imitationOutkast have a fantastic back catalogue of innvoative hip hop; Speakerboxxx/The Love Below proved that Andre 3000 and Big Boi could be fantastic on their own, too. However, Idlewild, their first "together" album since Stankonia, strangely falls short of the brilliance of their first four albums. Aside from a couple good tracks, most of the album feels like a relatively soulless imitation of Outkast. It seems more pretentious than creative Expand
  2. ChadM
    Sep 1, 2006
    3
    There is nothing new or inventive on this album, there sound seems to be getting old, while at the same time, straying from what made them who they are. I know they are expiramental and trying to do something special but they just seem to miss the boat with this one.
  3. MiguelS
    Sep 8, 2006
    4
    Sorry, y'all, but this album is a major disappointment. Anyone who thinks "Mighty O" is a good soul/pop song needs to RUN out and buy some Motown. See what you're missing!
  4. ChrisW
    Sep 23, 2006
    1
    Outkast is just adding to the demise of Hip-Hop. Please somebody... make Hip-Hop return!!!!!
  5. KmanS
    Oct 21, 2006
    1
    By far the worst hip hop album ive heard this year. Extremly disappointed. There is nothing much more to say.
  6. TomasK.
    Aug 25, 2006
    0
    Outkast sucks
  7. Ryanss
    Jul 26, 2007
    3
    Every Outkast album is extremely original and innovative and pushes the boundaries of where pop and hip hop music blend and this could have been a great opportunity to update sounds from music's past and make them hip again but they failed on this record. I was so disappointed by this record that I couldn't even listen to it twice... The lyrics were alright in most of the songs Every Outkast album is extremely original and innovative and pushes the boundaries of where pop and hip hop music blend and this could have been a great opportunity to update sounds from music's past and make them hip again but they failed on this record. I was so disappointed by this record that I couldn't even listen to it twice... The lyrics were alright in most of the songs but the production seemed like it was lacking that huge sound that has run through their last few albums. Its hard to explain but that was one of the things that i noticed when i was trying to understand what went wrong. They have recently had a guest appearance in UGK song and it really worked so I hope that is a sign of improvement... oh and another thing... why is it that hip hop artists rely so much on skits or in this case parts of the movie... It is usually interesting the first time you listen but gets old so fast. I think a lot of hip hop albums would be more timeless without the skits. just my opinion though... Expand
  8. Nov 21, 2010
    5
    After the sheer brilliance of Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, this album was a colossal disappointment. Aside from the soulful hooks provided on the song 'Morris Brown', this album is largely forgettable.
  9. MahjeedM
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    This album is exceptionally diverse; it simply transcends what we know as musical genres and fuses all of them to create a funky amalgamation of good shit. Standout tracks include "In Your "Dreams," "PJ and Rooster," "N2U," "The Train, and "Hollywood Devorce." These are not the only good songs on the album however, for just about all of them are worth your listen. Please pick up this This album is exceptionally diverse; it simply transcends what we know as musical genres and fuses all of them to create a funky amalgamation of good shit. Standout tracks include "In Your "Dreams," "PJ and Rooster," "N2U," "The Train, and "Hollywood Devorce." These are not the only good songs on the album however, for just about all of them are worth your listen. Please pick up this album at stores and your ears shall thank you later. Expand
  10. haywoodjiblomiey
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    People who dont like this album have no ears. If they dont enjoy the sweet, sweet songs that this group has produced, that just means their minds arent developed enough to fully appreciate the smooth sounds of Idlewild.
  11. Mars88
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Hip hop is dead, and if anythjing, these guys are bringing it back, and making it alot more original than anyone else in hip hop (besides danger mouse)! keep going guys!
  12. Rob
    Aug 17, 2006
    7
    The production on this album is good and on some songs it's even great, but Andre 3000's lack of rapping and his average singing brings down the album quite a bit. Pretty much all of Big Boi's tracks are dope and this album deserves a listen based off that alone and there are about 3 or 4 good songs from Andre so overall this album is completely worth it in terms of as The production on this album is good and on some songs it's even great, but Andre 3000's lack of rapping and his average singing brings down the album quite a bit. Pretty much all of Big Boi's tracks are dope and this album deserves a listen based off that alone and there are about 3 or 4 good songs from Andre so overall this album is completely worth it in terms of as purchase, The few tracks that Andre and Big Boi are on together are great and really make you wish the entire album was like that. ANdre's songs a good lyrically, but it just his singing voice that really brings down this album, plain and simple he does not have a strong singing voice and at some parts it ventures into the area of being bad. Andre stick to rapping... Expand
  13. nate
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    this album is a breath of fresh air into a comatose rap game.
  14. NeilG
    Aug 28, 2006
    6
    Another indulgent outing badly in need of some strict editing. Andre 3000s contribution is inferior to Big Boi's (just like the last record !) but the media hype is in full flow and won't acknowledge this fact. This record feels like an endurance test and as such is entirely unsatisfying. Buy the Rhymefest record instead it is vastly superior or anything by Blackalicious !
  15. TwanA
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    nobody else can do it like them.
  16. jays
    Aug 31, 2006
    7
    this is the first time that i've been truly let down by an outkast album. more 'graffiti bridge' than 'purple rain'. the roots' 'game theory' is VASTLY superior
  17. CB
    Sep 2, 2006
    6
    blah
  18. [Anonymous]
    Sep 4, 2006
    6
    What this is not that good. There 5 other albums are all at least 8.5's and this one is a 6. A average album that had a lot of misshaps
  19. MattyW
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    this album is class. highly original. My fave tracks are: the train, peaches, N2U, Bugg Face. My favourite track of all though is "call the law" as it is so different to everything.
  20. joshs
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    This album is the best thing outkast has produced thus far. It shows a side to 3000 and big boi that puts them in a much more mature light. I love every track on the lp.
  21. Erik
    Aug 18, 2006
    8
    Aaron, FYI: This is Outkast's 6th album, not their 4th.
  22. Spongeee
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    OutKast just keeps pushing the limit...this isnt even a rap, its a rag time, soul, blues fest that happens to feature rapping. From the first album, none have been similar, and this follows suit. I only wish Dre and Big were on more song together, but even then, you can tell that this is an OutKast album...they need each other.
  23. RobS
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    This album is in a class all by itself. You have to be very creative to pull this one off. If you listen to the music it's well organized and it fits the movie which is why it probably took so long to release. I actually like both concepts of Dre and Big Boi. Dre has stepped up his game in the production arena and Big Boi is laying down the lyrics what a combo. I would like to hear This album is in a class all by itself. You have to be very creative to pull this one off. If you listen to the music it's well organized and it fits the movie which is why it probably took so long to release. I actually like both concepts of Dre and Big Boi. Dre has stepped up his game in the production arena and Big Boi is laying down the lyrics what a combo. I would like to hear Dre spit more he leaves you wanting more. I I can't wait until their next album. Expand
  24. beastee
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    This review is simple. Idlewild is a solid album. Put it on your iPod, delete the pointless filler interludes, and you have a ragtime rap hybrid that has moments of greatness.
  25. Afroman
    Aug 24, 2006
    9
    Greating album
  26. asfasasfasf
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    not as good as the other albums but is too low and needs to be higher.
  27. JosephA
    Aug 28, 2006
    8
    It took a minute for me to feel it, but it kept drawing me back and it grows on you. I love it now, plus after seeing the movie (which the album isnt really the soundtrack to) it seems more cohesive, where as before it seemed a little directionless. Movie and album recommended.
  28. GaborA
    Aug 28, 2006
    4
    Despite certain reviews Outkast is not "expanding the boudries of rap." Perhaps they're expanding the boundries of pop, thus becoming pop artists. Its unfortunate that the more Andre tries to become artistic and unique the more he becomes just an entertainment pop act. Outkast used to let their lyrics define them. Now that their verses are pretty much gone they have to relly on Despite certain reviews Outkast is not "expanding the boudries of rap." Perhaps they're expanding the boundries of pop, thus becoming pop artists. Its unfortunate that the more Andre tries to become artistic and unique the more he becomes just an entertainment pop act. Outkast used to let their lyrics define them. Now that their verses are pretty much gone they have to relly on antics and "being different" to gain an edge. Big Boi still spits it raw sometimes and Andre hits a unique key every now and then but its so little that it just frustrates more than anything reminding you how much potential they still have and how amazing they used to be back when you went to grab their new album and it had an explicit content sticker on it and six 12 year old girls werent in front of you in line holding the same album. After Speackerboxx/The Suck Below i had my fingers crossed for three years. I guess I cant uncross them just yet. Expand
  29. MichaelC
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    Definatly better than Speakerboxxx/Love Below. This is a very solid album, with not much filler at all, it takes some repeated listens to see its true brilliance, thats why it's score isn't up there with Stankonia or Speakerboxx/Love Below, most of these critics are judging it upon first listen, and thats not really far. I'll agree, it's not there best, by a longshot, Definatly better than Speakerboxxx/Love Below. This is a very solid album, with not much filler at all, it takes some repeated listens to see its true brilliance, thats why it's score isn't up there with Stankonia or Speakerboxx/Love Below, most of these critics are judging it upon first listen, and thats not really far. I'll agree, it's not there best, by a longshot, but it does stands its own against anything released this year. I am not in the least bit let down. Outkast is always trying something new, and this album shows that. Expand
  30. richardj
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    This is the album of the year! If anything can better this prove it to me. I have been waiting for this all year and I´m not disappointed atall! The interludes are pointless though,(damn De La Soul 3 feet and rising for starting that off) but it actually has alot of diversity and it is musically A +, to be honest i feel it has relevance in many forms (i can´t wait to wacth the This is the album of the year! If anything can better this prove it to me. I have been waiting for this all year and I´m not disappointed atall! The interludes are pointless though,(damn De La Soul 3 feet and rising for starting that off) but it actually has alot of diversity and it is musically A +, to be honest i feel it has relevance in many forms (i can´t wait to wacth the movie but won´t be in Britain till October legally!) to me this is better then speakerbox and the love below because it´s a solid unit! May not sell well though becasue of it´s diveristy and will be in competetion with a lot of music albums being released soon but if you have money for one album this year buy this you won´t be dispapointed! Please listen to this album before agreeing to reviews form some magazines as i feel they clearly didnñt listen to the album in full! Billboards/Rollingstones are examples of crap reviews! Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Rolling Stone
    80
    Their weirdest music yet. [24 Aug 2006, p.89]
  2. Ambitious but flawed, at turns stunning, maddening and confusing, Idlewild is a curate's egg - but the good parts are implausibly delicious.
  3. OutKast have stretched rap's boundaries to the breaking point before, but this time their experiments come across as gimmicky or strained.