• Record Label: Victory
  • Release Date: Feb 28, 2006
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 15 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tom
    May 12, 2006
    0
    awful, awful band. this is what passes for emo these days? listen to sunny day real estate and rites of spring instead.
  2. AnthonyV
    May 2, 2006
    0
    In 1980, metal killed disco. In 1991, grunge killed metal. In 1997, nu-metal killed grunge. In 2005, emo threw such a massive hissyfit that nu-metal had no choice but to give it a bottle and tell it to go sit in a corner and shut up for Pete's sake. It's still crying. And no matter how much Lexapro we feed it, no matter how many Suicide Girls correspond with it, and no matter In 1980, metal killed disco. In 1991, grunge killed metal. In 1997, nu-metal killed grunge. In 2005, emo threw such a massive hissyfit that nu-metal had no choice but to give it a bottle and tell it to go sit in a corner and shut up for Pete's sake. It's still crying. And no matter how much Lexapro we feed it, no matter how many Suicide Girls correspond with it, and no matter how much clothing from Hollister and Hot Topic we buy for it, it JUST. WON'T. SHUT. UP. Bands like Atreyu and Hawthorne Heights wouldn't be so bad if they were instrumental. Their downfall is that their lyrics are nothing more than overblown MySpace/LiveJournal poetry that is either sung with the most annoying, most nasal phrasing possible or shouted as if the lead singer was a toddler throwing a tantrum and demanding a meal. For the uninitiated, hopefully this gives you reason enough to avoid bands like Hawthorne Heights like a flu pandemic no matter how cool you want to be. Bands like this will most likely define the 2000's the way grunge defined the 90's, psychedelia defined the 60's, and hippiedom defined the 70's. Pile on 9/11 and the Bush Presidency and this will be the one decade we will ALL want to forget - but we won't, and it will most likely be stuck in our heads as we sit in the 2010's wondering just why on God's green Earth boys refused to grow into men and instead became "bois" like Casey Calvert. Expand
  3. LouisK
    Mar 11, 2006
    0
    Stupid music for stupid people. played by stupid musicians signed to a stupid label aired on a stupid channel. Thanks MTV. Thanks Victory Records. Thanks Hawthorne Heights.
  4. DevinB
    Mar 13, 2006
    0
    Amazingly bland, generic, dishonest music for preteens lacking in critical thinking skills. Painfully uninteresting trash. Interesting that another reviewer would reference Panic! At the Disco, another faceless band writing worthless cookie-cutter songs while butchering the "dance-punk" aesthetic. I suppose when garbage appeals, it appeals!
  5. Matt
    Mar 7, 2006
    2
    They are a bad punk/pop band who thinks they can rock hard.
  6. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    3
    Painfully lackluster and self-absorbed. What emo album isn't, though?
  7. BobbyK
    Dec 21, 2006
    2
    A pretty bad CD...comes off as overly repetitive and sugary punk-pop mixed with post-grunge. And this isn't emo guys; neither are New Found Glory or Simple Plan. For some pioneers of the emo genre you can listen to groups like Rites of Spring, Sunny Day Real Estate, Moss Icon, Embrace, and Mineral.
  8. WilsonN
    Mar 27, 2006
    2
    I was dissapointed in this album, as were most of my friends that bought it. All of the things that made the last album good, just didn't come out here, all the songs are too repetative. The lyrics also suffer from repetition and are bland. hopefully this band can get out of this slump of bad songwriting (or "cd" writing i guess).
  9. DrewB
    Mar 6, 2006
    0
    the most bland bullshit emo crap of the year so far. could this seriously get anymore genaric? their 3 guitar thing they have is so dolt, it sounds like 1 moron in a hole trying to imatate every other crap band on the planet.
  10. DavidH
    Mar 6, 2006
    2
    In order to have 3 guitarists in a band and implement them nicely, they all have to actually do something different and unique. They all three play basically the same bland, repetitive, drop d chords and it's pathetic. This is some of the most generic and untalented music you will ever hear. I am ashamed they are from Ohio, because they are giving the state a bad name.
  11. matts
    Apr 8, 2006
    0
    this is a terrible excuse for music. do yourself a favor and listen to better music anything else would be better no even better, check out two albums glassjaw's worship and tribute and weezer's pinkerton hh is terrible and if you want real music in your emo genre than take a look at those two aforementioned albums. need more recent- how about say anything? most underrated stuff this is a terrible excuse for music. do yourself a favor and listen to better music anything else would be better no even better, check out two albums glassjaw's worship and tribute and weezer's pinkerton hh is terrible and if you want real music in your emo genre than take a look at those two aforementioned albums. need more recent- how about say anything? most underrated stuff to come out. but anything except this crap and the crap that's on victory records. Collapse
  12. ColbyS
    May 28, 2006
    0
    The single off of this takes it up the @$$ bigtime, and if that's the best they have off the CD, there isn't much hope for them. Of course, don't take it from me too seriously, because I hate emo. Take it from Alternative Press up there. After all, they SOLD THEIR ISSUE WITH HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS ON THE COVER, so it's not like they HAD to say nice things about them.
  13. KrisM
    Jul 26, 2006
    0
    What can I say? They suck! All screaming, horrible lyrics... Need I say more?
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Unsurprisingly, repetition sinks If Only You Were Lonely.
  2. The outfit's three-axe attack coupled with the distinctive pipes of J.T. Woodruff find Hawthorne Heights able to go where peers like Fall Out Boy just can't.
  3. Lonely will buy Hawthorne Heights a few more minutes beyond the 15 they've already received. Here's to hoping they'll use that time to think outside of the box a little more when they write LP3. [Mar 2006, p.119]