• Record Label: Victory
  • Release Date: Feb 28, 2006
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 15 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. someonespecial
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    It seems to me that people rating this album either like it, or are just mad that the emo kids are stealing their girlfriends and want to give emo a bad name. I fall under under the first category, someone who loves this album, is an emo kid, and probably stole your girlfriend. Don't be mad because youre not in touch with yourself. Everyone tells me "don't cry emo kid", but It seems to me that people rating this album either like it, or are just mad that the emo kids are stealing their girlfriends and want to give emo a bad name. I fall under under the first category, someone who loves this album, is an emo kid, and probably stole your girlfriend. Don't be mad because youre not in touch with yourself. Everyone tells me "don't cry emo kid", but you're the ones who shouldn't (or perhaps should) cry. Don't blame Hawthorne Heights, only love. Collapse
  2. Shawna-
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    most Hawthorne Heights fans would be happy tehy finally got this album out. But we were all listening to Panic! at the disco music. nothing against them. The album art is amazing. but Ten because I adore them.
  3. timv
    Mar 6, 2006
    9
    while not going far from the same sound of their first album, they make sure to keep old fans listening. a few out of place screams and dull songs is the only thing that kept this from being a 10. for the most part it is a great listen if you are a fan of their first album.
  4. Tom
    May 12, 2006
    0
    awful, awful band. this is what passes for emo these days? listen to sunny day real estate and rites of spring instead.
  5. AnthonyV
    May 2, 2006
    0
    In 1980, metal killed disco. In 1991, grunge killed metal. In 1997, nu-metal killed grunge. In 2005, emo threw such a massive hissyfit that nu-metal had no choice but to give it a bottle and tell it to go sit in a corner and shut up for Pete's sake. It's still crying. And no matter how much Lexapro we feed it, no matter how many Suicide Girls correspond with it, and no matter In 1980, metal killed disco. In 1991, grunge killed metal. In 1997, nu-metal killed grunge. In 2005, emo threw such a massive hissyfit that nu-metal had no choice but to give it a bottle and tell it to go sit in a corner and shut up for Pete's sake. It's still crying. And no matter how much Lexapro we feed it, no matter how many Suicide Girls correspond with it, and no matter how much clothing from Hollister and Hot Topic we buy for it, it JUST. WON'T. SHUT. UP. Bands like Atreyu and Hawthorne Heights wouldn't be so bad if they were instrumental. Their downfall is that their lyrics are nothing more than overblown MySpace/LiveJournal poetry that is either sung with the most annoying, most nasal phrasing possible or shouted as if the lead singer was a toddler throwing a tantrum and demanding a meal. For the uninitiated, hopefully this gives you reason enough to avoid bands like Hawthorne Heights like a flu pandemic no matter how cool you want to be. Bands like this will most likely define the 2000's the way grunge defined the 90's, psychedelia defined the 60's, and hippiedom defined the 70's. Pile on 9/11 and the Bush Presidency and this will be the one decade we will ALL want to forget - but we won't, and it will most likely be stuck in our heads as we sit in the 2010's wondering just why on God's green Earth boys refused to grow into men and instead became "bois" like Casey Calvert. Expand
  6. LouisK
    Mar 11, 2006
    0
    Stupid music for stupid people. played by stupid musicians signed to a stupid label aired on a stupid channel. Thanks MTV. Thanks Victory Records. Thanks Hawthorne Heights.
  7. DevinB
    Mar 13, 2006
    0
    Amazingly bland, generic, dishonest music for preteens lacking in critical thinking skills. Painfully uninteresting trash. Interesting that another reviewer would reference Panic! At the Disco, another faceless band writing worthless cookie-cutter songs while butchering the "dance-punk" aesthetic. I suppose when garbage appeals, it appeals!
  8. Matt
    Mar 7, 2006
    2
    They are a bad punk/pop band who thinks they can rock hard.
  9. ashleew
    May 25, 2006
    10
    i giv hh a ten b cuz i luv them and i hate n e 1 who haz any thing 2 say bout them. THEIR ALBUM WAS THE BEST AND THEIR MY FAV BAND 4 EVA!!!!
  10. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    3
    Painfully lackluster and self-absorbed. What emo album isn't, though?
  11. emh
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    I luv this album sooooooo much my favorite album! the silence in black and white is amazing to. Hawthorne heights are the best band ever!!! my favorite song off this album is dead in the water, and this is who we are. i think this band is realy different from others and i just think they are the BEST BAND EVER oh and they were amazing when the played t the UK Leeds festival to :D
  12. BobbyK
    Dec 21, 2006
    2
    A pretty bad CD...comes off as overly repetitive and sugary punk-pop mixed with post-grunge. And this isn't emo guys; neither are New Found Glory or Simple Plan. For some pioneers of the emo genre you can listen to groups like Rites of Spring, Sunny Day Real Estate, Moss Icon, Embrace, and Mineral.
  13. WilsonN
    Mar 27, 2006
    2
    I was dissapointed in this album, as were most of my friends that bought it. All of the things that made the last album good, just didn't come out here, all the songs are too repetative. The lyrics also suffer from repetition and are bland. hopefully this band can get out of this slump of bad songwriting (or "cd" writing i guess).
  14. MengY
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Giving Negative reviews and not listening to the genre is funny, and my next question is, why would you evenreview something that you dont even listen 2, thats like a crackhead reviewing a cops words when he dont like cops... lmao Anyways , This album is good i dont get why people give this group a hard time, maybe you people are jealous because you cant do what they do, and let them be Giving Negative reviews and not listening to the genre is funny, and my next question is, why would you evenreview something that you dont even listen 2, thats like a crackhead reviewing a cops words when he dont like cops... lmao Anyways , This album is good i dont get why people give this group a hard time, maybe you people are jealous because you cant do what they do, and let them be they went gold, can you lol Expand
  15. rickys
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    i love hawthorne heights they are great DON'T talk bad bout them
  16. DrewB
    Mar 6, 2006
    0
    the most bland bullshit emo crap of the year so far. could this seriously get anymore genaric? their 3 guitar thing they have is so dolt, it sounds like 1 moron in a hole trying to imatate every other crap band on the planet.
  17. DavidH
    Mar 6, 2006
    2
    In order to have 3 guitarists in a band and implement them nicely, they all have to actually do something different and unique. They all three play basically the same bland, repetitive, drop d chords and it's pathetic. This is some of the most generic and untalented music you will ever hear. I am ashamed they are from Ohio, because they are giving the state a bad name.
  18. KaylaB
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    Hawthorne Heights roxx my soxxx they deserve this 10 star rating u guys the have them under 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 or 9 u were wrong they r a billion out of 10. :)
  19. Neal(BV)R
    Apr 17, 2006
    6
    This album was not up to the standard that 'The Silence in Black and White', their debut album, set. I won't go around and tell people that this album deserves a 10/10, because it doesn't. However, I do give this CD the credit it deserves. I would rather wait another year for an extrodinary album. But this will do. I could easily listen to these songs. Listen to the This album was not up to the standard that 'The Silence in Black and White', their debut album, set. I won't go around and tell people that this album deserves a 10/10, because it doesn't. However, I do give this CD the credit it deserves. I would rather wait another year for an extrodinary album. But this will do. I could easily listen to these songs. Listen to the song 'Decembers' on the album and you will see how Hawthorne Heights can mix pop and emo with a pinch of rock music. It reminds me of the Beach Boys and the Rolling Stones, with Nirvana's lyrics. Perfect combinations in some songs. But at least 30% of the songs are misses. At the very least. That's about 4 songs. And that's being generous. For most albums, 4 songs is nothing. But this album only has 13 songs, so that would be about 1/4 of the album. In reality, about 5 or 6 songs were misses. But even the misses have nice beats. The small amount of bulls-eye songs disappointed me. But those few bulls-eye songs were ecellent songs. I have mixed feelings on the album. I would recommend that you buy only the songs you like online, because unless you are a HH enthusiast, this album is only 1/2 worth the money. That said, it still met its goal of entertaining the buyer. But on the other hand, it still had a lot of misses. I could go on all day listing pros and cons. But I'l just simplify it and tell you that the album fully deserved the 6. If I was being generous, I would've given it a 7. But I think that personally I would buy the album, but I'm a music collecter. But I will always have miked feelings on the album. Expand
  20. mimon
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    good good
  21. matts
    Apr 8, 2006
    0
    this is a terrible excuse for music. do yourself a favor and listen to better music anything else would be better no even better, check out two albums glassjaw's worship and tribute and weezer's pinkerton hh is terrible and if you want real music in your emo genre than take a look at those two aforementioned albums. need more recent- how about say anything? most underrated stuff this is a terrible excuse for music. do yourself a favor and listen to better music anything else would be better no even better, check out two albums glassjaw's worship and tribute and weezer's pinkerton hh is terrible and if you want real music in your emo genre than take a look at those two aforementioned albums. need more recent- how about say anything? most underrated stuff to come out. but anything except this crap and the crap that's on victory records. Expand
  22. hannahr
    May 2, 2006
    10
    this album rockz!!
  23. ColbyS
    May 28, 2006
    0
    The single off of this takes it up the @$$ bigtime, and if that's the best they have off the CD, there isn't much hope for them. Of course, don't take it from me too seriously, because I hate emo. Take it from Alternative Press up there. After all, they SOLD THEIR ISSUE WITH HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS ON THE COVER, so it's not like they HAD to say nice things about them.
  24. patw
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    this is my favorite album it kicks ass!!
  25. ms
    Mar 14, 2006
    8
    The overwhelmingly negative reviews are a little surprising, considering that these people don't even like the music form that this album is apperently apart of. For one, your reviews are just out of your hatred for a genre and for the corporate machine. Let me first clear out of the way that emo has been around for quite sometime and not all of it is bad. Second, Victory Records is The overwhelmingly negative reviews are a little surprising, considering that these people don't even like the music form that this album is apperently apart of. For one, your reviews are just out of your hatred for a genre and for the corporate machine. Let me first clear out of the way that emo has been around for quite sometime and not all of it is bad. Second, Victory Records is an independent label that is as against the corporate machine as you are and they release many commendable records. I was quite enthralled with the latest installment to the discography of Hawthorne Heights. To tell the truth I was actually very impressed with their efforts and their enthuseism which seems more authentic than the usual crying of bands such as Hoobastank, YellowCard, Good Charolette, and Fall Out Boy. They have an intensity about them that makes them seem a bit more believable than their peers. As for the musical complexity...you must remember that emo stems out of punk. I'm not saying that it is punk but it's roots are firm in the musical roar of Fugazi and other legends of the alt punk scene. You can't blame a genre for sounding the way it sounds...if you don't like it, don't listen to Hawthorne Heights. No one should listen to these reviews...at all. I'm not saying say only good things...but please just be honest and don't just fail an album without any real reason other than labels...thank you. Expand
  26. DanW
    Mar 16, 2006
    4
    Now come on... I know this album isn't good at all, but cut them some slack; if you don't normally listen to a band or a certain genre of music, why rate it? I personally have seen them in concert three times, and while they belong to a terrible record label, make terrible music, and appeal to mass preteen and teenage audiences, they are fun to younger crowds. The most fun Now come on... I know this album isn't good at all, but cut them some slack; if you don't normally listen to a band or a certain genre of music, why rate it? I personally have seen them in concert three times, and while they belong to a terrible record label, make terrible music, and appeal to mass preteen and teenage audiences, they are fun to younger crowds. The most fun I've ever had is acting like a fool, jumping around, and crowd surfing to terrible screamo and emo music, and this happens to be my favorite bad band to see live. The album is much more dull than their older album and is very jumbled. It seems as though they have changed their direction; "Silence in Black and White" focused a lot on soft verses and screamo choruses, while these album takes a more mellow stance with few songs that I would want to jump around to. Overall, the band is not appealing to those that are fans of music moreover the emo/screamo scene. Expand
  27. DustinP
    Apr 26, 2006
    4
    Good sounding album great prodcution the 3 guitars sound huge, the drums are full and the bass is smooth. Great production value with lackluster songs. Listen to the singles and thats it.
  28. aleciaa
    May 16, 2006
    10
    i loved the album "If Only Your Were Lonely" it actually was better than their first album in my eyes!i hope they plan on making another one!
  29. KrisM
    Jul 26, 2006
    0
    What can I say? They suck! All screaming, horrible lyrics... Need I say more?
  30. Sep 19, 2010
    7
    Great mix of clean, unclean vocals and raw emotion. Not as amazing as their first album 'Silence in Black and White'. This one seems a bit more cleaned up by the studio. This is the last album before the death of their unclean vocalist Casey Calvert making this creation even more special. Hawthorne Heights continues to hit the deep emotions everyone hides deep inside. No one wants to beGreat mix of clean, unclean vocals and raw emotion. Not as amazing as their first album 'Silence in Black and White'. This one seems a bit more cleaned up by the studio. This is the last album before the death of their unclean vocalist Casey Calvert making this creation even more special. Hawthorne Heights continues to hit the deep emotions everyone hides deep inside. No one wants to be lonely and Hawthorne shows you that you are not alone. Great album, just played with a little too much in the studio for me. Expand
  31. May 31, 2011
    7
    If Only You Were Lonely is a stylistic improvement over the band's preceding album, The Silence In Black And White. But despite some powerful melodies and even more powerful lyrics, some of the songs lose their taste, quick. Its standout tracks are "Saying Sorry", the perfect teen-emo ballad, and "Dead In The Water", one of the album's hardest and darker tracks.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Unsurprisingly, repetition sinks If Only You Were Lonely.
  2. The outfit's three-axe attack coupled with the distinctive pipes of J.T. Woodruff find Hawthorne Heights able to go where peers like Fall Out Boy just can't.
  3. Lonely will buy Hawthorne Heights a few more minutes beyond the 15 they've already received. Here's to hoping they'll use that time to think outside of the box a little more when they write LP3. [Mar 2006, p.119]