If Only You Were Lonely - Hawthorne Heights
If Only You Were Lonely Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The big-selling indie emo band from Dayton, Ohio returns with a second album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. The outfit's three-axe attack coupled with the distinctive pipes of J.T. Woodruff find Hawthorne Heights able to go where peers like Fall Out Boy just can't.
  2. Lonely will buy Hawthorne Heights a few more minutes beyond the 15 they've already received. Here's to hoping they'll use that time to think outside of the box a little more when they write LP3. [Mar 2006, p.119]
  3. Surprisingly banal, bland, and--most importantly--hook deficient. [3 Mar 2006, p.99]
  4. 50
    Hawthorne Heights shun nuance altogether. Quiet equals depth; loud equals catharsis. And never the twain shall meet. [Mar 2006, p.94]
  5. 50
    Woodruff is never anything but coweringly passive, a trait about as appealing as it is annoying. [Apr 2006, p.112]
  6. Guitarist Casey Calvert reprises his role as the group's designated screamer, but his vocal thrashings are featured less prominently here, relegated mainly to solos near the end of songs. Surprisingly, this ends up being a bad thing, because while the screaming is grating at times, it provides one of the principal elements of the band's sound.
  7. Too many of the songs feel flat, despite the stormy guitars and stormier lyrics. [27 Feb 2006]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 13 out of 31
  1. mimon
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    good good
  2. ashleew
    May 25, 2006
    10
    i giv hh a ten b cuz i luv them and i hate n e 1 who haz any thing 2 say bout them. THEIR ALBUM WAS THE BEST AND THEIR MY FAV BAND 4 EVA!!!!
  3. someonespecial
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    It seems to me that people rating this album either like it, or are just mad that the emo kids are stealing their girlfriends and want to give emo a bad name. I fall under under the first category, someone who loves this album, is an emo kid, and probably stole your girlfriend. Don't be mad because youre not in touch with yourself. Everyone tells me "don't cry emo kid", but you're the ones who shouldn't (or perhaps should) cry. Don't blame Hawthorne Heights, only love. Expand
  4. Neal(BV)R
    Apr 17, 2006
    6
    This album was not up to the standard that 'The Silence in Black and White', their debut album, set. I won't go around and tell people that this album deserves a 10/10, because it doesn't. However, I do give this CD the credit it deserves. I would rather wait another year for an extrodinary album. But this will do. I could easily listen to these songs. Listen to the song 'Decembers' on the album and you will see how Hawthorne Heights can mix pop and emo with a pinch of rock music. It reminds me of the Beach Boys and the Rolling Stones, with Nirvana's lyrics. Perfect combinations in some songs. But at least 30% of the songs are misses. At the very least. That's about 4 songs. And that's being generous. For most albums, 4 songs is nothing. But this album only has 13 songs, so that would be about 1/4 of the album. In reality, about 5 or 6 songs were misses. But even the misses have nice beats. The small amount of bulls-eye songs disappointed me. But those few bulls-eye songs were ecellent songs. I have mixed feelings on the album. I would recommend that you buy only the songs you like online, because unless you are a HH enthusiast, this album is only 1/2 worth the money. That said, it still met its goal of entertaining the buyer. But on the other hand, it still had a lot of misses. I could go on all day listing pros and cons. But I'l just simplify it and tell you that the album fully deserved the 6. If I was being generous, I would've given it a 7. But I think that personally I would buy the album, but I'm a music collecter. But I will always have miked feelings on the album. Collapse
  5. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    3
    Painfully lackluster and self-absorbed. What emo album isn't, though?
  6. Matt
    Mar 7, 2006
    2
    They are a bad punk/pop band who thinks they can rock hard.
  7. DrewB
    Mar 6, 2006
    0
    the most bland bullshit emo crap of the year so far. could this seriously get anymore genaric? their 3 guitar thing they have is so dolt, it sounds like 1 moron in a hole trying to imatate every other crap band on the planet. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews