Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    20
    The album is just full of songs that don’t hit and seemingly don’t even try.
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    20
    Entirely meritless. [Apr 2013, p.104]
  3. Jun 12, 2013
    70
    As real big-bucks contenders, Kodaline aren’t quite there yet. But as a debut, In A Perfect World manages to find its feet with ease.
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    60
    All told, there's a lot of bodice-ripping emotion to take in, and it's this, rather than the lack of original ideas, that makes In a Perfect World hard to take in large doses.
  5. 70
    With time, greater individuality will come. Right now, this is an accomplished and emotive statement of intent, cinematic in scope and able to raise goose bumps at will.
  6. Jun 12, 2013
    80
    Kodaline illustrate all the ingredients for greatness, with many a swooning chorus to invoke a thousand festival lighters held aloft.
  7. Jun 12, 2013
    30
    This is boy band material dressed up in an indie band’s clothes.
  8. 60
    Kodaline offer a musical barometer of bankable current rock trends, but display scant originality on this debut album.
  9. Jun 17, 2013
    40
    For all their stadium uplift and notionally anthemic choruses, they never deliver a hook or melodic sucker punch that really floors you.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    Whilst nearly every track is listenable and inoffensive, maybe that is the problem. All is mellow, bland and radio friendly here. Hardly fresh or unique. Blah. Full Review »
  2. Feb 6, 2014
    7
    Genre: Alternative
    Kodaline's debut release seems to have come in for a lot of criticism in the press but there are far, far worse albums in
    the charts at present. Admittedly it doesn't do anything particularly new and a few of the songs are a little bland but, thanks to songs such as High Hopes and All I Want, it offers a great piece of easy listening to sit back and chill out to. Full Review »
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Kodaline's heartwrenching debut album is absolutely fantastic, and is my favorite of 2013 (so far, that is. Arcade Fire's new album is still yet to come out). The Irish four-piece initially grabbed my attention last year with "All I Want," and their first album did not disappoint. Every song on the record is amazing in its own right, none more so than "High Hopes" which I have been unable to stop listening to for the past few days. This album is a bit like if Keane, early Coldplay, Bon Iver, and early Radiohead came together and had a musical baby, with sorrowful, heartfelt lyrics, layered and non-synthetic music, and anthemic choruses (in spite of what some deaf critics claim). Honestly, the only thing I don't like about the record is that it remains unavailable stateside until october. Fortunately, Grooveshark contains the album, and International orders are a thing. I highly recommend the album, and it still boggles my mind that the critics can hate it so much. WARNING: tissues may be required when listening to this after a rough day. It's that good. Full Review »