In Defense Of The Genre

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 13, 2007
    1
    Some people don't know the difference between good music and bad music THIS is bad music.
  2. EricC.
    Nov 29, 2007
    4
    Honestly, what am I missing with these guys? I've listened to both discs twice, and I can't find anything that separates them from other generic emo bands (I know they hate the word "emo", but really, it's what they are). They are a level above other emo bands, maturity-wise. Some of the lyrics really surprised me, in a good way. But the music doesn't elevate them, and Honestly, what am I missing with these guys? I've listened to both discs twice, and I can't find anything that separates them from other generic emo bands (I know they hate the word "emo", but really, it's what they are). They are a level above other emo bands, maturity-wise. Some of the lyrics really surprised me, in a good way. But the music doesn't elevate them, and just comes across as run-of-the-mill and too familiar. I wanted to like Say Anything, but I'll probably end up giving this album to a friend. So seriously, if I really am missing something, tell me (I'm not being a sarcastic jerk). Otherwise, I'll have to shrug this band off, and never hear them again. I won't call them overrated. Acclaim isn't easy to come by. But I am confused as to what everyone else sees in them. Expand
  3. Say"no"
    Dec 12, 2007
    3
    Overrated and utterly silly (see cover art). Bemis comes off as a pretentious teenager who just can't seem to shed his 16-year old angst. Let's move forward and no longer defend this genre. Or just grow up.
  4. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    An astounding album of catching tunes and amazing lyrics. Say Anything's follow up to ...Is a real boy is a masterpiece thats a crowning achievement in music.
  5. JoshN
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    Many wondered where Say Anything would go after the critically acclaimed ...Is A Real Boy. With this definitive answer, Say Anything has silenced the naysayers. This album is amazing, and so cohesive that it's almost mind boggling. Ridiculously catchy, and the lyrics are just near insanity (pun intended). Very very enjoyable, and an album you all must buy.
  6. SteveS.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    This record is truly amazing. The guest list is extraordinary. Chris Conley on the title track and Hayley Williams on ''The Church Channel" are my favorites. Max Bemis did his name well with this.
  7. CourtneyM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    8
    It was ok, some of the songs are amazing and some of the songs are just ok. i just started listening to them recently but their cd before this was much better. but i love the song baby girl I'm a blur.
  8. daniell.
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    Some amazing songs but then there are some ones that i dont think are too strong but i guess i cant like every song on a 2 disc set, the backing vocals are what makes this kenny vasoli, max bemis, and hailey of paramore on the same song is just too great to be true max is a great song writer but there are like 6 songs that seem too forced so it gets an eight from me but max is just Some amazing songs but then there are some ones that i dont think are too strong but i guess i cant like every song on a 2 disc set, the backing vocals are what makes this kenny vasoli, max bemis, and hailey of paramore on the same song is just too great to be true max is a great song writer but there are like 6 songs that seem too forced so it gets an eight from me but max is just incredible even tough this cd isn't his best, ps eric c has no idea what he is talking about do you play an instrument or write music this is soooo different from the average emo band and in defense of the genre is saying how they like the emo genre what is music without emotion..... its not music thats for sure. Expand
  9. GhavinD.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This album is typical Say Anything, inventive and pushing the envelope. The lyrics have that delightfully twisted edge that's characterizes Bemis's work and the sound is refreshing, though it does depart from ...Is A Real Boy a lot. But instead of alienating fans of their other work, the new sound draws in even more fans while refreshing the pallets of their hardcore fans. (Even This album is typical Say Anything, inventive and pushing the envelope. The lyrics have that delightfully twisted edge that's characterizes Bemis's work and the sound is refreshing, though it does depart from ...Is A Real Boy a lot. But instead of alienating fans of their other work, the new sound draws in even more fans while refreshing the pallets of their hardcore fans. (Even if they may whine since Baby, Im a Blur is computer generated). Expand
  10. MarkP.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Max Bemis is God!!! Anyone who says different should die.
  11. BenV.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Another nearly perfect album.
  12. KaylaP
    May 26, 2008
    10
    This CD is epic, Say Anything never ceases to amaze me. Everything they do is solid.
  13. HunterG.
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    Say anything is defiantly one of the greatest bands of its generation. Lead singer, Max bemis, is truly one of the best songwriters of all time.
  14. DustinP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    This CD is butterscotch sound.
  15. WilliamJ.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    This is a great album. Someone will like at least one song on this album. They have a every wide range pallet and it shows to the fullest. This is one of Max Bemis's best work and he should be congratulated for it.
  16. MaryJane
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    First off if you don't think this cd is great then you dont know what your missing. And second off you have to be in a certain state of mind to understand any of the lyrics on the cd. and third your all really gay this is one of their best fucking cds ever.
  17. ACDCritic
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    Excellent CD. Lots of unnecessary tracks but enough great tracks there (around 17 out of 27) to be fully recommended anyway. It's really an epic and fantastic album and a great evolution for the band.
  18. MicheleH
    Dec 16, 2007
    8
    This cd will make you feel like you're going insane right alongside Max.
  19. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    This album would be easily a 9 and maybe even a 10 if the band had decided to make this a single-disc LP. The number of unnecessary tracks included could create a decent b-sides album.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Bemis may be seeking to defend the emo genre, but his album instead illustrates the difference between run-of-the-mill emo--which, indeed, comprises most of the genre's output--and the imaginative, skillful tunes that flourish here. The only major downside is the album's length.
  2. Unexpected as they are, Defense's sonic twists almost always work, justifying the album's 89-minute run time.
  3. When Bemis is on--shuffling between a touching Latinate melody and an ace, bloodletting chorus on 'Hangover Song,' delivering the sugar-rush pop of 'Shiksa (Girlfriend)'--his songs are tuneful and invigorating.