In My Own Words

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
In My Own Words Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 22-year-old writer of songs for the likes of Mary J. Blige steps into the spotlight with his debut as an R&B artist.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Pencil Ne-Yo in as R&B rookie of the year--and don’t be surprised if no one trumps him before 2006 is gone.
  2. Although it's firmly in the commercial-R&B camp, it's got much more energy than those slickly produced records, and at times, the record's production verges on dirty.
  3. Admittedly, Ne-Yo’s lyric-writing is hardly the stuff of legends... However, his robust man-child voice tempers the redundancy of heartache and makes the album a plausible listen.
  4. Billboard
    70
    Though, at times, the lyrics are a bit too sentimental ("Time") and production is spotty, "In My Own Words" should have listeners clinging to Ne-Yo's every word. [4 Mar 2006]
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Confident if slightly underwhelming. [3 Mar 2006, p.100]
  6. While tracks like "So Sick" and "Stay" hit a few sweet neosoul spots, this perfectly pleasant disc is lacking that roundhouse kick that floors you.
  7. In My Own Words might pale next to Legend's stellar debut, but, even at its Robert Kelly worst, it's not hateable.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. rosea
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    i think this album is the bomb i love it and i realy want to recieve all the info about neyo i just love him
  2. Dee
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    i love this cd...its the best one that i have bought in a while... the last cd that i loved this much was usher..since then, this is the best i love this cd...its the best one that i have bought in a while... the last cd that i loved this much was usher..since then, this is the best one yet... i listen to it all day Expand
  3. DestineyFLYE
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Neyo you are so cute and funny i whant to see you in real life. i live in AmariloTexas and i love your music,i love makinglove to you, thats Neyo you are so cute and funny i whant to see you in real life. i live in AmariloTexas and i love your music,i love makinglove to you, thats the best one ever. i'm 10years old and i'm voting for you Expand
  4. MariaW
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    I love#10 sexy love and #13! I love the whole album
  5. Jan 7, 2016
    10
    One of the best R&B albums in history. The album is full of masterpieces and very good songs, like "So Sick", a perfect R&B song, one of theOne of the best R&B albums in history. The album is full of masterpieces and very good songs, like "So Sick", a perfect R&B song, one of the best R&B songs ever made, "Sexy Love" the best song on the album a slowjam hip hop soul, that makes me think how it's beautiful every time i listen it, others songs very good are "Stay", a song that has a differently underground style, "Time" a beautiful R&B song with a legendary sound, "When You're Mad" a sweet and chilling song, and all the others songs are really good. Surely everyone who likes the R&B will love this album Expand
  6. CherokeeP
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    If I could give this CD a higher grade I would. NeYo is not only creative in his writing but he delivers an album free of all the extra If I could give this CD a higher grade I would. NeYo is not only creative in his writing but he delivers an album free of all the extra bullshit found in so many other albums in all genre's of music. His vocals are crazy and the music is timeless. A lot of singers are surrounded by hype and cannot back it up. NEYO can!!!! Better than John Legend's album wHere every song sounds the same. YOU DID YOUR THANG NEYO. I LOVE YOUR ALBUM. Collapse
  7. SamD
    Mar 20, 2006
    0
    yeah, this was horrid. i've seriouly never heard a more mediocre album in my life. there is nothing unique about it, and the songs, yeah, this was horrid. i've seriouly never heard a more mediocre album in my life. there is nothing unique about it, and the songs, since it's rap, drive me out of my mind. what happened to rap, it used to stand for something, now, it's just fluff, bad fluff. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews