In The Absence Of Truth

  • Record Label: Ipecac
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2006
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChampiodiPi
    Jul 14, 2009
    1
    Formulaic, tired, trite, boring, soulless, stargazing pretentious tommyrot. Unnecessary, redundant. Isis flog a dead horse which committed suicide after their only slightly less awful début Oceanic and this is BEFORE their God awful vocalist is brought to trial.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jan 29, 2007
    5
    This album is weak, and anyone who believes otherwise is fooling themselves. Isis lack direction and focus on this album, the riffs are lazy and they just sound plain bored. Some new ideas are needed for their next release, there is only so much tribal drumming i can take. Best Track 'Holy Tears'
  3. JimW
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Awesome. These guys are making some unbelievable music. While I rate Panopticon highly, this is the album I was looking for after Oceanic. I'm already looking forward to what they do next!
  4. John
    Mar 30, 2007
    8
    I actually prefer this over "oceanic". "in the absence of truth" is more atmospheric; the soundscapes are deeper and darker and the songs seem to shift at appropriate timings instead of repeating the same things over and over again like their earlier stuff (not that they don't still, but less so). i found "panopticon" to be rather boring by the end. with this go i feel energetic all I actually prefer this over "oceanic". "in the absence of truth" is more atmospheric; the soundscapes are deeper and darker and the songs seem to shift at appropriate timings instead of repeating the same things over and over again like their earlier stuff (not that they don't still, but less so). i found "panopticon" to be rather boring by the end. with this go i feel energetic all the way through. i could easily listen from start to finish, and it feels alot more ambient if you're more into the post-rock aspect of isis than their status as a metal outfit like i am. Expand
  5. Devyn
    Apr 12, 2007
    9
    this album has a great mellow vibe to it and a amazing climax effect in almost every song. This is one of their best albums in my opinion.
  6. Adam
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    astonishing from start to finish my favorite band since radiohead and sigur ros words do no justice with this release my best album of 2006 and maybe since 2004s panopticon.
  7. EricC
    Aug 25, 2008
    7
    The album advances and reveals itself at a slower-than-sludge pace, making it one of those rare metal albums that seeks to reward patience. It has it's share of satisfying moments, but rarely ventures in to breath-taking territory. It's an impressive album, but it could have been more.
  8. ToddW
    Dec 11, 2006
    7
    This album sounds like a cross between Interpol and Mastodon played at 16. Aaron Turner's guitar is gorgeous in spots, as are some of his vocals, but his angry, demonic caterwauling sometimes gets in the way of his playing, to say nothing of Aaron Harris's melodic drumming. As a result, the music wears thin in spots. Still, with all this band has going for it, including their This album sounds like a cross between Interpol and Mastodon played at 16. Aaron Turner's guitar is gorgeous in spots, as are some of his vocals, but his angry, demonic caterwauling sometimes gets in the way of his playing, to say nothing of Aaron Harris's melodic drumming. As a result, the music wears thin in spots. Still, with all this band has going for it, including their striking soundscapes, they aren't too far from discovering the truth that they have a masterpiece in their near future. Expand
  9. VinceH
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Brilliant music. The 2 most common criticisms I've read of this album is that "Isis is doing the same thing over and over" or the album is "boring". These couldn't be further from the truth. Granted, it takes a certain kind of listener to get into Isis (not to be a dick, but come on...instrumental music requires different ears than a 3 minute pop song). The melodies are better Brilliant music. The 2 most common criticisms I've read of this album is that "Isis is doing the same thing over and over" or the album is "boring". These couldn't be further from the truth. Granted, it takes a certain kind of listener to get into Isis (not to be a dick, but come on...instrumental music requires different ears than a 3 minute pop song). The melodies are better (something Isis has been getting better at with each release) than ever, the production is great (not too shiny and sparkly, but not crappy like their first stuff either). In this genre of music (in which there are lots of talented bands), Isis consistently is the best and this album proves no different. If you like this, I also recommend Jesu if you haven't heard of them. They are opening for Isis on their upcoming tour and will be huge soon. Expand
  10. JamesS
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    A Masterpiece
  11. Sommy
    Dec 21, 2006
    4
    I've never read Q Magazine, but if the simple clarity illustrated by its review of this album is more than just a mere fluke, color me hooked. Isis was once a band with great creative promise, and since their magnum opus, Oceanic, they have squandered that creative promise for with the hopes of recreating that album. Newsflash -- Oceanic was great when it was called Oceanic, less so I've never read Q Magazine, but if the simple clarity illustrated by its review of this album is more than just a mere fluke, color me hooked. Isis was once a band with great creative promise, and since their magnum opus, Oceanic, they have squandered that creative promise for with the hopes of recreating that album. Newsflash -- Oceanic was great when it was called Oceanic, less so when it was called Panopticon, and redundant by the time it was rereleased as In the Absence of Truth. If you're looking for more of the same from Isis, you won't be disappointed, but if you are easily frustrated by creative stasis, steer clear -- you've heard this one already. Expand
  12. E.Gomez
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Mood altering ambient prog-metal. Isis is godlike intrepid sublime.
  13. 36_Thoughtless
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Damnit, this is a great album, and I've no idea where some of these reviewers get their ideas.
  14. TylerA
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    An absolute step forward for Isis. Their most dynamic and polished album yet. My favorite aspect of the CD is the unrestrained (finally!) drumming by Aaron. Breathtaking.
  15. Oct 14, 2015
    10
    If you don't like this album, you have no taste in music. And this is AFTER their incredible vocalist is brought to trial. Seriously, this album is the bridge between perceiving **** "screamo" and actual talent.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. In the Absence of Truth is as solidly explosive and as adventuresome as Panopticon, but their elemental control over the music is greater, therefore creating a more even production.
  2. Alternative Press
    80
    It's certainly a leap further into the ethereal weirdness that defined 2004's shoegaze- and electronics-inspired Panopticon. [Nov 2006, p.192]
  3. Billboard
    80
    The dynamics and musicianship of songs like "Not in Rivers, but in Drops," "1000 Shards" and "Holy Tears" reveal a band at the top of its game. [4 Nov 2006]