In The Zone

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 514 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 514

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  2. foofurrbean
    Jan 6, 2004
    8
    Totally not a Britney fan but received CD as a pink elephant gift at a Christmas party. Listened to it and was suprised. While she is not endowed with the voice of some of her peers, she managed to put out an album that is fun and different. If someone else's name was on the album I probably would have bought it myself. True, it's not great art but who cares? If I wanted great Totally not a Britney fan but received CD as a pink elephant gift at a Christmas party. Listened to it and was suprised. While she is not endowed with the voice of some of her peers, she managed to put out an album that is fun and different. If someone else's name was on the album I probably would have bought it myself. True, it's not great art but who cares? If I wanted great art I'd listen to Beethoven but if I want to actually enjoy myself I may just listen to this CD, Expand
  3. MikeH
    Jun 18, 2005
    7
    The last official track of this album, 'Everytime' with it's music box melody and Spears' whispy delivery has to be one of the most beautiful ballads ever composed, which was surprisingly mostly written by Britney herself. This is (at least to my knowledge) a big first step for Britney, as she's been mocked for being anything but an actual artist by other The last official track of this album, 'Everytime' with it's music box melody and Spears' whispy delivery has to be one of the most beautiful ballads ever composed, which was surprisingly mostly written by Britney herself. This is (at least to my knowledge) a big first step for Britney, as she's been mocked for being anything but an actual artist by other musicians in the industry. 'In the Zone' is a declaration; she completely sheds her bubblegum pop image and sings of random sexual encounters, late night clubbing, and masturbation. Standouts on this album are the sexy 'Breathe On Me', 'Toxic', and the Madonna duet 'Me Against the Music'. This coming from someone who thought they would never consider having a Britney Spears album in their collection, it says something about the disc. Half the addiction is the amazing production work. Without it, 'In the Zone' would probably fail to impress half as much, as the lyrics are not inventive or thought provoking enough to merit a seond look. But whatever it's flaws, 'In The Zone' is really very good, and though she's not even close to being Bjork or Garbage (Think 'beautifulgarbage' here), Britney's closer to being considered an actual artist. Expand
  4. anniee
    Nov 18, 2003
    9
    This is the album that 'Britney" should have been. This is a leap for Britney, and it's a leap in the right direction. It's hard to label this album as one particular type of music, but it's impulsiveness is sure to lease an enormaous fan base. Some of the more techno beats you've been hearing about belong to Breathe on Me and Touch of My hand. Showdown is by far This is the album that 'Britney" should have been. This is a leap for Britney, and it's a leap in the right direction. It's hard to label this album as one particular type of music, but it's impulsiveness is sure to lease an enormaous fan base. Some of the more techno beats you've been hearing about belong to Breathe on Me and Touch of My hand. Showdown is by far one of the best songs Britney could possibly have mastered, mixing her usual sulty-whispering voice, with an incredible hook and melody, not to mention the power in her vocals. Which leads me to mention the catchiest track, Toxic. For ONCE, Britney takes a powerful stance on er position as the force behind the album. I hear she won't release it as a single, which is the wrong choice. It's a powerful song. Te less intresting songs, I'm sorry to say, are the ballads, Everytime and Shadow. While Everytime is linked to that ex of hers, most of us would like to move past that, and the song isn't all that intresting, though a bit haunting, which is something new. Shadow has a certain Kelly Clarkson feel, which isn't usual Britney either. Brave New Girl is very New-Pop with a nice rythem. Two more let downs are Outrageous and The hook Up. They're just, well, boring. Expand
  5. Jake
    Nov 23, 2003
    9
    With overtreated misogynistic pap by such overrated "bands" as Wilco, Flaming Lips, and Radiohead, it's nice to see a poweful, prominent woman figure put out wonderfully convoluted yet catchy tunes! Go Britney!
  6. angelrc
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    wow amazing
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I love this album and the fact that Britney actually put some effort into it. In the Zone is, in my opinion, her magnum opus, although most people prefer Blackout over it. My favourite tracks are Toxic and Touch of My Hand!
  8. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    One of Britney's most amazing albums. the tracks are amazing with great vocals, beats, and lyrics. standouts include Me Against The Music, I Got That (Boom Boom), Breathe On Me, Toxic,and Outrageous. There could have been at least another ballad.... but hey? It's mostly dance so it's all good!
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A Major Comeback From Britney! Another Amazing Album! Toxic, Shadow, And Everytime Are Timeless!
  10. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Easily one of Britney Spears' best albums. (JK It is her best!) With the taste of your lips I'm on a ride, you're toxic I'm slippin' under...THE LEGENDARY MISS BRITNEY SPEARS
  11. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    In The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que fogeIn The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que foge totalmente do conceito do álbum. É um ótimo álbum, e nenhuma música é chata, todas tem seu brilho. Expand
  12. marial
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    amazing album
  13. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Disgusting!! Crude awful and gross. Britney and One More, were flirty and fun, this is just dead and off-putting
    Not even any really nice melodies. Like some idiots playing with a computer program with a bunch cheap effects.
    The best song is hold it against me, were a fine chorus barely survives an onslaught of special effects.
    Dead, gross, dumb.
  14. lizb
    Jan 20, 2004
    2
    This cd falls flat in my opinion. There are some good beats, "breathe on me" and "toxic" but the vocals are incredibly weak and processed. The moaning and "sexy talking" is so overdone in this album its ridiculous. This is supposed to be a "grown up" album, but instead it sounds more like the work of a rebellious teen. "Hey look at me I wrote a song about masterbation" Is that supposed to This cd falls flat in my opinion. There are some good beats, "breathe on me" and "toxic" but the vocals are incredibly weak and processed. The moaning and "sexy talking" is so overdone in this album its ridiculous. This is supposed to be a "grown up" album, but instead it sounds more like the work of a rebellious teen. "Hey look at me I wrote a song about masterbation" Is that supposed to be cutting edge? There is no substance or heart to this album. Even the attempt at the ballad is weak. When will aritists understand that the sluttier they become, the less and less intriguing they are. Sex sells but in this case, its definately not selling her new album. Expand
  15. annp
    Mar 3, 2004
    0
    It sucks just like the rest of her cds
  16. PaulaS
    Nov 20, 2003
    3
    Britney Spears is a Wanna-Be-Madonna-and we all know there is only one Madonna. She couldn't sell the album on her own-so that's why she had Madonna on it. She can't even explain her songs to the public-like on Diane Sawyer-touch of my hand-give me a break. She doesn't really have a good voice either.
  17. moejoe
    Jan 30, 2004
    3
    The ballads are horrible. Best song, by far, is Toxic--cool arangement, and her breathy singing actually complements the song. Otherwise, there are some weak attempts to snag some of Madonna's 'Erotica' and 'Ray of Light' mojo. She sounds unconvincing, through and through. But, you can dance to it....
  18. rosalieg
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    how is that slut gonna say anything about christina when she's such a big fat slut that nobody likes .Christina is just being herself not some wanna be madona bitch crack whore
  19. Razzyou'llneverknow
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    You suck britney!!!!! Arggghhh kill the bitch!
  20. richardk
    Feb 25, 2004
    0
    u suk britney! dont buy this cd. ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. shes such a bad singer
  21. vixi
    Aug 11, 2004
    2
    There are 2 good songs on this album and they are Toxic and Everytime. The rest are tired after one listen.
  22. opeth(wreath)
    Jan 26, 2005
    0
    Its stupid why would you even listen to an arist that doesnt write her own songs, you must be retarded to like this.
  23. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    She Sucks so badly and with such commetment that I give her -10. What the hell she thinks???? She is selling music or trying to get people notice that she is a girl too by exhibiting her body!!!!!!!!!!!
  24. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2003
    4
    Disappointing. Tends to the atonal, when she should be sticking to her hook-heavy hits.
  25. OCuculiza
    Mar 13, 2004
    3
    If You like Hilary Duff, then this is the album you have to buy, because it was made by her teacher. Britney takes the teen pop too far to get her albums even worse than Duff´s. "Toxic" makes the album worth a little more, but that´s it.
  26. MelissaO
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    she 's A rip-off aritst
  27. JohnnyB
    Nov 17, 2003
    0
    Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's filthy rich, take some vocal lessons or learn to play an instrument. Please do something cause this same shit is getting old.
  28. KenC
    Nov 18, 2003
    0
    Pure ass.
  29. EthanH
    Nov 19, 2003
    0
    I loved her three previous albums, but this is one of the worst cd's I have ever heard. This album doesn't even deserve a zero rating, more like a -2.
  30. hollys
    Nov 22, 2003
    5
    It was a dissapointment; however I do like Toxic.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.
  2. Spin
    67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  3. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.