• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 322

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  2. anniee
    Nov 18, 2003
    9
    This is the album that 'Britney" should have been. This is a leap for Britney, and it's a leap in the right direction. It's hard to label this album as one particular type of music, but it's impulsiveness is sure to lease an enormaous fan base. Some of the more techno beats you've been hearing about belong to Breathe on Me and Touch of My hand. Showdown is by far This is the album that 'Britney" should have been. This is a leap for Britney, and it's a leap in the right direction. It's hard to label this album as one particular type of music, but it's impulsiveness is sure to lease an enormaous fan base. Some of the more techno beats you've been hearing about belong to Breathe on Me and Touch of My hand. Showdown is by far one of the best songs Britney could possibly have mastered, mixing her usual sulty-whispering voice, with an incredible hook and melody, not to mention the power in her vocals. Which leads me to mention the catchiest track, Toxic. For ONCE, Britney takes a powerful stance on er position as the force behind the album. I hear she won't release it as a single, which is the wrong choice. It's a powerful song. Te less intresting songs, I'm sorry to say, are the ballads, Everytime and Shadow. While Everytime is linked to that ex of hers, most of us would like to move past that, and the song isn't all that intresting, though a bit haunting, which is something new. Shadow has a certain Kelly Clarkson feel, which isn't usual Britney either. Brave New Girl is very New-Pop with a nice rythem. Two more let downs are Outrageous and The hook Up. They're just, well, boring. Expand
  3. Jake
    Nov 23, 2003
    9
    With overtreated misogynistic pap by such overrated "bands" as Wilco, Flaming Lips, and Radiohead, it's nice to see a poweful, prominent woman figure put out wonderfully convoluted yet catchy tunes! Go Britney!
  4. angelrc
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    wow amazing
  5. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I love this album and the fact that Britney actually put some effort into it. In the Zone is, in my opinion, her magnum opus, although most people prefer Blackout over it. My favourite tracks are Toxic and Touch of My Hand!
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    One of Britney's most amazing albums. the tracks are amazing with great vocals, beats, and lyrics. standouts include Me Against The Music, I Got That (Boom Boom), Breathe On Me, Toxic,and Outrageous. There could have been at least another ballad.... but hey? It's mostly dance so it's all good!
  7. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A Major Comeback From Britney! Another Amazing Album! Toxic, Shadow, And Everytime Are Timeless!
  8. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Easily one of Britney Spears' best albums. (JK It is her best!) With the taste of your lips I'm on a ride, you're toxic I'm slippin' under...THE LEGENDARY MISS BRITNEY SPEARS
  9. marial
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    amazing album
  10. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is her best album, Breathe On Me is the best song in her career. Expand
  11. DaniloL
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    this album is fantastic ! the best yet.
  12. JoeJ
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    with a sexually charged album ending with a vulnerable and soft ballad, Everytime, Spears might be more talented and sensible than we thought. This is the first thing to better things for her.
  13. pikatos
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    I shall vote her for ten points as her music is fantabulous and the way she blends her music is worth listening guess what will be her next album that will rock the whole world.
  14. MandyK
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Awesome
  15. JackKife
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Woo hoo Go Britney. She won her first grammy for Toxic. Just shows you that Britney is a true artist and likes to experiment with different sounds.
  16. WaltM
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    This CD is AWESOME and it's best Britney's EVER done. I love every single song and I recomend it to everyone.
  17. angel
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    This album is the best album that she has let out.. she has grown up and it is about time that people see that and leave her alone when she try's to grrow up.. nobody ever complained about Christina Aguilera trying to be ghetto!
  18. Chomin_
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    In the zone is the best Cd of Britney Spears!!!!
  19. twinie
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    every1 says how they hate Britney an ya no if christina bought out this album evry1 would b sayin how it was da best album but cos it's britney som1 has 2 complain!!!! Im nearly 13 and thought i was growing out of her music but this album proved me wrong!!! COM ON PEEPS GO OUT BYE THIS ALBUM U WONT B DISAPPOINTED!!!
  20. RebeccaH
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    I have always enjoyed Britney's music, however I didn't become a huge fan until I listen to her last CD (britney). So, after much anticipation for her new ablum I was first in line to purchase In the Zone. As I listened to Britney I was far from dissapointed, each and every song is very unique and entertaining, quite different from her pervious albums. In the Zone proves how far I have always enjoyed Britney's music, however I didn't become a huge fan until I listen to her last CD (britney). So, after much anticipation for her new ablum I was first in line to purchase In the Zone. As I listened to Britney I was far from dissapointed, each and every song is very unique and entertaining, quite different from her pervious albums. In the Zone proves how far Brintey has come and grown in her career and I hope to her much more from her in the future. Expand
  21. felipea
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    I love it! All songs are great, Britney shows she's NOT a girl anymore.
  22. RobertM
    Jul 30, 2004
    9
    Many potential singles, "Breathe On Me", and "Touch of My Hand" are gr8!
  23. adrianod
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    In the year of 2003 Britney returned to the music scene from her wild year of antics with the infamous MTV kiss with Madonna. In November 2003 Britney released her stunning Cd ?In The Zone?. Britney released her best album yet. She transformed herself from a sexy young teenager to a provocative young woman. In the Zone takes listeners though a journey of different styles of music. From In the year of 2003 Britney returned to the music scene from her wild year of antics with the infamous MTV kiss with Madonna. In November 2003 Britney released her stunning Cd ?In The Zone?. Britney released her best album yet. She transformed herself from a sexy young teenager to a provocative young woman. In the Zone takes listeners though a journey of different styles of music. From Hard hitting dance tracks, to dirty ghetto Hip Hop to viby trance tracks to beautiful peaceful ballads. This album shows Britney at her best. This album made critics label her ?The New Madonna?. Me Against The Music ? This is the lead single from the album. It is the infamous duet featuring Madonna. It is a hard hitting club dance track any is very different from what is on the radios these days. The track is just about being in a club and being oblivious to everyone and freestyling. I couldn?t think of a better way for a come back song. Britney could have released a typical R&B track for her return, but she wanted to be unique. She has definetly succeeded. This is my 2nd Favourite track on the album and one of my favourite songs of all time. 10/10 (I Got That) Boom Boom ? This track is an Up-tempo Hip Hop track perfect for the clubs. The track has also has an Indian vibe to it. This track features the Ying Yang Twins, which gives the track a dirty ghetto, feel to it. This song is my 3rd Favourite song on the album, and is one of the best Hip Hop songs I have ever heard. 10/10 Showdown ? The famous UK producers Bloodshy & Avant produced this track. It is a great sexy dance track which features Britney whispering ?I don?t wanna be a tease. Would you undo my zipper please? This track is done very well. Again very unique. 9/10 Breathe On Me ? This song is very club-savvy orientated and is one of the most sensual tracks on the album. The song has a HOT beat and is reminiscent to Kylie?s Can?t Get You Out Of My Head. This track describes the intensity of a relationship so hot that they don?t even need to touch, just breathe. This is my Favourite track on the album and one of my favourite songs of all time. I can automatically see this song go #1 in Europe if it is released. 10/10 Early Mornin ? The second this track commences you will automatically know that it is Moby produced. This track is very sexy and has a trance feel to it. The song is very vibey and is about the next morning after a big night out. 8.5/10 Toxic ? This is the second single from the album which is produced by Bloodshy & Avant. The song is HOT and fits Britney perfectly. The track is a hard hitting dance track which could easily be used as the theme song to Alias or the next bond movie.This is the track responsible for rising her album sales all around the world. Critics are describing it the best song Britney has released since I?m A Slave For You. I love this track so much because of its uniqueness. 10/10 Outrageous ? This is a typical R&B penned track. The second the song commences you will automatically realise it is R Kelly produced. This song is again perfect for the clubs and has an Indian vibe to it. The chorus is very catchy. 10/10 Touch Of My Hard ?This is the most sensual song on the album. This song is a beautiful dance ballad reminiscent to Madonna?s The Power Of Goodbye & Janet?s That?s The Way Love Goes. This song is an ode to masturbation. The song is Britney?s most mature song to date and has a sexy vibe to it. This is definitely a stand out track on the album. 10/10. The Hook-Up ? Redzone, the famous team behind the Britney/Madonna duet, produced this track. This song has an R&B reggae feel to it and is fairly uptempo. This Is what we call a filler track and one of the less memorable on the album. 5/10 Shadow ? This track is a beautiful ballad produced by The Matrix. This is very reminiscent to Avril?s I?m With You. This track shows Britney?s vocals at its best. I personally think this is her best ballad since Don?t Let Me Be The Last To Know. 10/10 Brave New Girl ? This song brings back the days Britney was innocent. In every album she has to bring out the stupidness in her. She has done exactly that in this track. This track is very pop driven and could be used as the theme song to Legally Blonde. I personally think it is The worst song on the album and one of the worst songs I have ever heard. 1/10 The only reason I give it a 1 is because it is Britney. Every Time ? This song is very peaceful and pleasant. It tells the story of heartbreak. The track features a beautiful harmony and goes well with the mood of the sound. She sings in lower key although it fits the song perfectly. Again another brilliant ballad from Britney. 10/10 Me Against The Music (Remix) ? This is remix to the First Single. The song was remixed by Peter Rishi and an Indian vibe has been added to it. The song is still very clubby and is probably one of the best remixes I have ever heard. 10/10 The Answer ? This is the Australian bonus track and is produced by P Diddy. The song has an R&B mid tempo flow to it. I really liked this song, but I was disappointed at the same time. When I heard the idea of Britney & P Diddy working together I was expecting an up tempo R&B track, although it was completely the opposite. 9/10 Don?t Hang Up ? This is another Australian bonus track. The song is mid tempo and again has an R&B pop flow to it.This song is about Phone Sex. This song was produced by the same team behind Brave New Girl. I personally don?t like this song and think she should never work with Brian & Josh again. 3/10. ALL IN ALL I LOVE THIS CD AND I DON?T THINK IT COULD HAVE GOTTEN ANY BETTER. THIS ALBUM IS VERY UNQIUE AND IS BRITNEY?S BEST ALBUM SO FAR. OVERALL I GIVE IT A 10/10 Expand
  24. nicholass
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The Best Album of all time. With every album that she dose it just gets better and better, this album is aimed more at an older generation however it has songs that will make every person on the earth tap their feet to, Toxic britney 6 number one in the uk was by far the best song of 2004 and the video was noumber one in MTV Top 100 videos of 2004, Me Against the Music was britney's The Best Album of all time. With every album that she dose it just gets better and better, this album is aimed more at an older generation however it has songs that will make every person on the earth tap their feet to, Toxic britney 6 number one in the uk was by far the best song of 2004 and the video was noumber one in MTV Top 100 videos of 2004, Me Against the Music was britney's chance to sing along side the worlds other queen of pop Madonna, The song reached noumber 2 the uk single chart, i will just say noy that every song that britney has done since the Album Britney has reached 7 or more in the uk singles chart. Everytime was the most talk about video ever made by an artist this was because of the nature of the video , people saw britney in a bath going under with blood on her hands after a disagement with boyfriend, the song Also reached nomber 1 in the uk chart, So to end This A must have album for any pop dance fan a song for all can be found on this album *******************not enough stars to rate this album. Expand
  25. marial
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    amazing album
  26. JasonL
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    This is Britney's best album. She is an incredible artist. Britney is a true performer and she doesn't bash other female artists like she's better than them. Britney is talented, real, beautiful, and humble. She is also giving. This album is amazing.
  27. MauriceT
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney really delievered with this fantastic pop/ballads/techno/trance/rnb/reggae album!
  28. MikeC
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Sweet album. Britney is the queen of pop.
  29. justint
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Flawless album. Everytime is a beautiful well sung track and well written by Britney.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.
  2. 67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  3. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.