• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 320

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  2. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I love this album and the fact that Britney actually put some effort into it. In the Zone is, in my opinion, her magnum opus, although most people prefer Blackout over it. My favourite tracks are Toxic and Touch of My Hand!
  3. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    One of Britney's most amazing albums. the tracks are amazing with great vocals, beats, and lyrics. standouts include Me Against The Music, I Got That (Boom Boom), Breathe On Me, Toxic,and Outrageous. There could have been at least another ballad.... but hey? It's mostly dance so it's all good!
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A Major Comeback From Britney! Another Amazing Album! Toxic, Shadow, And Everytime Are Timeless!
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Easily one of Britney Spears' best albums. (JK It is her best!) With the taste of your lips I'm on a ride, you're toxic I'm slippin' under...THE LEGENDARY MISS BRITNEY SPEARS
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is her best album, Breathe On Me is the best song in her career. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    She turned sexy for this. In a good way. She wrote 8 of the 12 standard edition tracks, like "Brave New Girl" - in my opinion the best track on it. The only bad thing about "In the Zone" is the vocals that sometimes get lazy, like in "Breathe on Me" and "Early Mornin'". Should've been more powerful IMHO.
  8. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  9. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    her best album so far, this is an amazing pop album with elements of Hip Hop and R&B. toxic is definitely the song of the decade, 'me against the music' with MADONNA is such a great song and everytime is one of the most beautiful ballads i've ever heard. 'the hook up' makes u wanna dance like never before, it's magical!!!
  10. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    Uma palavra para definir esse álbum> samba, Britney misturou vários estilos: Pop, Urban, Dance e muitos outros fazendo com que ele seja um dos melhores de sua carreira. Todas as músicas tem potencial para single, e o que dizer de Toxic? Música perfeita um grande sucesso realmente, todos os singles que o álbum teve foram ótimos. Todas as músicas são, impossível não gostar.
  11. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Channeling Madonna's Erotica, In The Zone is sexy, sleek, and unapologetic. Its sound is a complete departure from 2001's Britney. Although to some it might come across as an overly sexualized attempt to shred her girl next door image, the album is actually her most personal to date, with almost every song being written or co-written by the pop princess herself. Its ground breakingChanneling Madonna's Erotica, In The Zone is sexy, sleek, and unapologetic. Its sound is a complete departure from 2001's Britney. Although to some it might come across as an overly sexualized attempt to shred her girl next door image, the album is actually her most personal to date, with almost every song being written or co-written by the pop princess herself. Its ground breaking production help differentiate it from that of other albums of the time. In conclusion In The Zone is the perfect pop album. Expand
  12. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    In The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que fogeIn The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que foge totalmente do conceito do álbum. É um ótimo álbum, e nenhuma música é chata, todas tem seu brilho. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.
  2. 67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  3. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.