Infinite Arms

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 18, 2010
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 61
  2. Negative: 6 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NavyBeanBean
    May 31, 2010
    6
    A few good songs. But lyrically bizarre and feels like he wrote it in a rush. Too many instances where it feels like they just said, "we'll do a little arrangement, just sing what comes to you." The Bartles and James song is ridiculous.
  2. DavidD
    May 18, 2010
    6
    Definitely not anything close to there best. Actually a little disappointing--had been waiting for this album for quite some time.
  3. NateT
    May 24, 2010
    6
    Not too impressed...digressed from first 2 albums.
  4. MaggieH.
    May 31, 2010
    6
    With much anticipation for the 3rd album, I find myself a bit dissappointed. Lacks the emotion and fervor that songs off the first and even second album had. I'm hoping it's one of those albums if u listen to long enough ull love, but so far it's not looking that way....shame really.
  5. LanceZ.
    May 23, 2010
    6
    Very underwhelming. Change in overall tempo from the previous two albums could doom Band of Horses.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    6
    Bring mainstream rock, pyschedelic pop, and folk together, "Infinite Arms" would be the end result with no sparkle or anything else that would keep the album alive. It's kind of like, "I've heard this way too many times before".
  7. ALL242
    May 26, 2010
    5
    This would be a great album, if I hadn't already heard the potential they should have reached that was on the other albums. I have no idea what they were trying to achieve by writing songs that have such mundane lyrics. In "Factory" we get to hear about someone eating Now and Laters out of a Hotel vending machine. Listen to the album enough and you'll realize that is not the This would be a great album, if I hadn't already heard the potential they should have reached that was on the other albums. I have no idea what they were trying to achieve by writing songs that have such mundane lyrics. In "Factory" we get to hear about someone eating Now and Laters out of a Hotel vending machine. Listen to the album enough and you'll realize that is not the only instance of bad writing. The only good songs are "Long Way Home", "Laredo", and "Compliments". It's too bad this album wasn't better. However, the previous 2 albums were a really hard act to follow. Expand
  8. percyt
    May 27, 2010
    5
    Very underwhelming. the best thing this band could do is cancel the tour, get back in the studio and start again. so disappointing, i had waited ages for this.
  9. marcob
    May 28, 2010
    5
    No heart, no ideas, the biggest delusion of the year.
  10. Aug 20, 2010
    5
    Definitely disappointing. We might have hoped this was their epic but instead it's just bland. Not one slow building masterpiece like we've come to expect from BoH. Put it this way - the single, Laredo, really is the standout song.
  11. Dec 3, 2010
    4
    really bad compared to the first two. this is overproduced and the tracks are shallow and the lyricshas no depth. Also the band has changed. Back to basics please.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. At its best, Arms is a pleasant album, one that sounds good on the surface or as background music. For most bands, that's perfectly acceptable. But for a group like Band Of Horses--whose ambitions have always intersected with being meaningful and transcendent, too--somehow just being acceptable makes Arms fall short.
  2. Fans of the band, and those with a rustling liking for a certain kind of beard-here-now Americana, will devour this like a bottle of the Bartles & Jaymes wine cooler referenced on the last track.
  3. Their third album Infinite Arms glows with that familiar sound, a sound born with an American heart.