• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Intoxication Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The dance-hall artist returns with his latest album, including one song with Akon.

Top Track

What's Love
Akon and Shaggy, ooh yeah Love ain't got nothin' to do with it Come on now Me waan fi leave you long time Nuff man a search for your sign She say... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. With Intoxication, Shaggy has once again found that perfect balance of slick and streetwise, and added career-defining single number three as the cherry on top.
  2. The slick Shaggy sex formula is intact, plus he steps off the well-worn with booming first single 'Church Heathen,' already scorching JA parties with its keen indictment of religious hypocrisy, and 'All About Love,' featuring his raw, ragged, utterly compelling singing voice. 'Body a Shake' comes harder than before.
  3. Shaggy uses Intoxication to once again show that while he and his crew can crank out solid pop, they can match it with cuts that genuinely rock the dancehall.
  4. From 'Intoxication' (a tale of sexual regret) to 'Church Heathen' (about hypocrisy in the church), the lyrics are more stimulating than your typical dancehall fare, and the beats are elegant and catchy.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    His best tune is an amigo-free one--the spare, glitchy title track. Gotta give the old dog credit for new tricks. [30 Nov 2007, p.133]
  6. High points are overshadowed by the abundance of filler on Intoxication.
  7. His intentions sound pure, but Shaggy's musical moonshine will leave all but the biggest fans with a heavy hangover.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. JoeyG.
    Apr 2, 2008
    Excellent mix and tunes are very catchy.
  2. PACMusic
    Dec 24, 2007
    The next album from the tongueless wonder. Shaggy, born
  3. Mikey
    Jan 11, 2008
    Good Reggae Album.