Iowa

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 177

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Slipknot's follow-up to their massively successful debut album does not disappoint. This is their darkest work, and it shows. Some say the very numerous expletives are unneeded and lose effect, but they just can't see that the words help convey the dark and disturbing sound that Slipknot aims to bring to their sophomore effort.
  2. TonyW
    Sep 10, 2009
    8
    Slipknot is no stranger to either ends of the ratiing spectrum. A lot of people will rate them 0-2, because they either don't like metal or don't think their metal enough. A lot of other people, most of the former think are 14-15 year old kids like myself, will put them in the 8-10 rating, simply because it's Slipknot, and Slipknot is the most badass thing they've ever Slipknot is no stranger to either ends of the ratiing spectrum. A lot of people will rate them 0-2, because they either don't like metal or don't think their metal enough. A lot of other people, most of the former think are 14-15 year old kids like myself, will put them in the 8-10 rating, simply because it's Slipknot, and Slipknot is the most badass thing they've ever seen (sarcasm intended). Ultimately, it doesn't matter. All nine members of Slipknot don't give a shit whether or not you like their music or not, which I guess is fair enough, considering they've fluctuated between styles enough to have even thier most hardcore fans hate them. The other thing to remember is that music a subjective matter. One's favourite band might by one's hated band. Hell, even google has their own opinion on who the worst band in the world is. Those who think that Slipknot aren't heavy enough, or that Slipknot is too heavy are entitled to thier opinion, and this is something that even Maggots need to realise. Arguing isn't going to get anyone anywhere, and it certainly isn't going to make any kind of music any better. That being said, Iowa gets an 8 from me, simply because the lyrics intelligently cover themes from misanthropy to the music industry, thier sound is deep and layered, and is one of, if not the heaviest album they've released to date. Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    best ,heaviest , craziest **** ive ever heard. i todaly dig this crazy, horror nu-metal genre. i like their first album too i got them all .
    but too sad they arent a nu-metal band anymore
    the two first albums by slipknot where aggressive and dark and more of a teenager anger you know as you get older you sort of get tired of that
  4. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Woah! Head banging magic here! If you're feeling a bit angry or need a good head bang this is the album for you. Disasterpiece is awesome along with **** and The Heretic Anthem :D Best songs on there!
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    I love this album. This album has the perfect tone of intelligently placed lyrics which includes words I've never even heard of, and every song in the album is really good, especially Heretic Anthem and I Am Hated. Overall, I give it a 10/10 for the sheer genius, the hard work, and the beautiful tone of the music.
  6. ClintH
    Jun 1, 2005
    6
    The worst of the 3 cd's, but it does get better after playing it through a couple of times. Except for the songs that just plain suck. Like 2 on the entire album so it isn't to bad.
  7. NikB
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    This album is the most brutal album to ever reach number 1!
  8. JeffA
    May 13, 2008
    9
    This is one of the most brutal albums ever created in the nu-metal scene. If you look underneath all the brutality and the seemingly unorganized noise, you'll notice that songs like "Heretic Anthem" and "Metabolic" need the skill required by some of the best guitarists ever. I doubt even classics bands like Iron Maiden and Metallica could play this fast in their prime. Though some This is one of the most brutal albums ever created in the nu-metal scene. If you look underneath all the brutality and the seemingly unorganized noise, you'll notice that songs like "Heretic Anthem" and "Metabolic" need the skill required by some of the best guitarists ever. I doubt even classics bands like Iron Maiden and Metallica could play this fast in their prime. Though some parts of this album didn't really mix in, over all is a collection of heavy songs getting progressively a little less heavy but much more darker and meaningful. From the first actual song, People = Shit (which is basically a big fuck you to conformists and critcs alike and that your petty judging can get on anyone's nerves) is a perfect example are controlled chaos. Through the whole song it seems like it's going to go all to pieces but it all manages to work out and become a Slipknot classic. The next song to catch my attention was Everything Ends. This is a very emotional song and shows how the lyrical writer for this song (either Corey Taylor or Nathaniel "Joey" Jordison, since they both write the lyrics for the band) has had a hardship that made them feel like everything is a lie. In some cases, I myself can connect to this song. Next comes Heretic Anthem, which though not lyrically deep, is more focused on the skill to actually the song. Double bass drumming and James' guitar playing stick out in this song. I am Hated is one of my favorite on this album. This song goes back to their nu-metal roots, rapping and rocking equally, keeping a perfectly balanced harmony (harmony is a bit ironic but it works). Finally Iowa. This behemoth of a song (timed in at 15:05 minutes) drags on the first few listens but after getting used to it, it's haunting and it has become my personal favorite. What really intrigues me about this song though is that Corey Taylor showed up for the recording of this song naked, bleeding, and drunk which makes the success of the recording that much more appreciable. Expand
  9. SeanZ
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    whoever voted below a 6 on this shouldn't have even voted, they are just trying to downgrade an amazingly written album by the knots. 10/10 for me!! rock on and keep playing hard dudes! ''
  10. johnh
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    awsome thats all u just gotta listen
  11. AlexA
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Great album. Second heaviest album by Slipknot, All Hope is Gone being the most heavy. Though this album is a masterpiece, though not single heavy like all the other albums. This is an album you have to listen straight through to fully enjoy it, except for People= Shit, Disasterpiece, and My plague can be listened to as singles. It's hard to explain. I'm not saying the other Great album. Second heaviest album by Slipknot, All Hope is Gone being the most heavy. Though this album is a masterpiece, though not single heavy like all the other albums. This is an album you have to listen straight through to fully enjoy it, except for People= Shit, Disasterpiece, and My plague can be listened to as singles. It's hard to explain. I'm not saying the other songs are bad, I giving it a perfect score, they are all good. This is more technical then the first album, and like all the others has the brilliant real and true vocals of the greatest vocalist of all time Corey Taylor. Expand
  12. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    There's a rage to this album that you're not going to find anywhere else. It captures the essence of the out of place feeling teenager who's mad at the world. So obviously it's perfect for anyone who wants to scare their parents, but upon closer observation you'll realize it's something much more than that. It takes the sadness, anger, and hurt that we ALL feel inside and puts them intoThere's a rage to this album that you're not going to find anywhere else. It captures the essence of the out of place feeling teenager who's mad at the world. So obviously it's perfect for anyone who wants to scare their parents, but upon closer observation you'll realize it's something much more than that. It takes the sadness, anger, and hurt that we ALL feel inside and puts them into words infused with an aggressive sound. That's truly impressive. Expand
  13. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Slipknot's IOWA is by far the best metal record of all time because no matter what else I listen to the very second I hear "people=s***" my interests in other music is facemelted and headbanged away.
  14. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    This album is a masterpiece, DJ, Percussion, Sampling heavy downtuned guitars and a vocalist that shifts between Melodic singing to rapping to screaming to growling.
  15. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Arguably one of the most brutal heavy metal albums out there, mainly because the band did not just paint this as a ridiculous attempt to make as much noise as possible or simulating monster growls. The brutality is also contrasted by melodies and singing throughout the album. Not as creative as their self-title album or Vol.3, but definitely a good album to listen to.
  16. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    An amazing metal album, with all the brutality of Slipknot. Only the choirs of "My Plague" is a bitter sweet. But the sounds in "Iowa" is awesome!!! BEST METAL ALBUM EVER!
  17. brendanh
    Jul 28, 2005
    1
    Its just loud noise and screaming
  18. FA
    Feb 8, 2002
    0
    All songs are similar.
  19. joeyo
    Dec 9, 2003
    1
    i had more fun pulling a tape worm out of my ass!!
  20. mrstabby
    Dec 5, 2004
    3
    slipknot are an acquired taste, some songs for example left behind, everything ends and my plague are very well put together but the rest just sounds like theyve just screamed and added some shit guitar and drums and screamed a bit, these ARE NOT songs, these are almost unlistenable. I love my plague but DO NOT buy this album
  21. CK
    Feb 20, 2007
    2
    I admit i use to like Slipknot when i was first getting into metal. I use to think that it was heavy and all that stuff do to the fact that i had not heard other metal bands. Ounce i heard some other metal i soon relized that this music was shit and i couldent belive that i had been listening to it. I reccommend that if you like this album to go out and listen to some more superiour I admit i use to like Slipknot when i was first getting into metal. I use to think that it was heavy and all that stuff do to the fact that i had not heard other metal bands. Ounce i heard some other metal i soon relized that this music was shit and i couldent belive that i had been listening to it. I reccommend that if you like this album to go out and listen to some more superiour music, trust me you'll be glad when you find something better than this peice of garbage. Expand
  22. AS
    Oct 22, 2001
    0
    just because this cheap excuse for a metal band put patheticly excessive blood and guts into a 66 minute album (all of which could have easily fit into 45) doesn't mean that it makes up for the complete lack of musical talent, or horribly written lyrics. this album has broguht the title of being "metal" down to an ultimate low.
  23. hillyhilly
    Jul 19, 2003
    0
    this album is crap ! what can I say, it is total shite ! LIMP BIZKIT ,now thats a proper band !
  24. JimmyP
    Nov 1, 2006
    2
    You people that are saying "fuck the critics, they don't know shit" are idiots! If they didn't know what they were talking about then why have they not been fired and replaced by people that know what they're talking about?! Anyway, yeah this band does suck in terms of musicianship, lyricism, originality, etc. Anyone that knows anything about music or plays a musical You people that are saying "fuck the critics, they don't know shit" are idiots! If they didn't know what they were talking about then why have they not been fired and replaced by people that know what they're talking about?! Anyway, yeah this band does suck in terms of musicianship, lyricism, originality, etc. Anyone that knows anything about music or plays a musical instrument knows that, and yes that does include the band members themselves, they know this is total crap but they also know that all the idiotic white high schoolers that know nothing about music will eat it up. You're all clones. Expand
  25. BobbyK
    Dec 20, 2006
    3
    Awful...I'll take a Converge album over this stuff any day. They're much more intense, and they're so much better than Slipknot. This CD by Slipknot is just overdubbed nu-metal guitars and has little creativity.
  26. MarcusD
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    What can I say, anything coming from Slipknot will be horrid........... I just hope they relize this music is only there to make Goths/Poths feel better about nothing!
  27. julz
    Feb 23, 2007
    0
    if ur are older then 12 like gimmicky nu-metal and crappy sellouts this is perfect for you
  28. SpiralOut
    Mar 16, 2007
    0
    They seriously need to move past the attempted shock factor and lose the gimmicky masks. It's not metal, I would say it's not even good nu-metal but no nu-metal is good. When listening for musicianship all I find is a strewn concept of what real metal is and too much attention aimed at below average and totally immature lyrics. 14 and 15 year old kids seem to take to this band They seriously need to move past the attempted shock factor and lose the gimmicky masks. It's not metal, I would say it's not even good nu-metal but no nu-metal is good. When listening for musicianship all I find is a strewn concept of what real metal is and too much attention aimed at below average and totally immature lyrics. 14 and 15 year old kids seem to take to this band at an alarming rate... that's probably because the band themselves seem to be on the same maturity level as most of their pre-pubescent fanbase. Expand
  29. JacobGetalife
    Dec 18, 2006
    0
    OH MY GOD! Who wants to be yelled at through a CD? Of course none of you people. Metal heads????? pfffffffff meat heads is more like it!
  30. Dec 13, 2012
    4
    Probably one of their best albums, but still very bad. They can't make real music, or better, real metal. Totally disappointing band with 8 members. 8 MEMBERS! Half of them are useless.
  31. Mar 15, 2013
    6
    Iowa is generally good, but is the worst album of Slipknot.
    Why? because it is too noisy little bit formal and exepcional.
    It has good songs and good use of the instruments and grunts, but in the end went wide, nothing compared to his previous work, hopefully to give us something better later.
  32. Oct 27, 2013
    0
    This album seriously sucks bad. The self titled debut album was refreshing, new and exciting. IOWA however is formulated, forced and a little embarrassing. Overproduced garbage.
  33. Jay13
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    i think this album has just opened a door for all other Death-Thrash bands out there but they all must exept one thing, and that is, They will all be in SlipKnoT's shadow. 10/10 for me.
  34. ryanf
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    this is the coolest cd ever! it is so heavy i love james root and mick thomson
  35. NathanT.
    Oct 10, 2001
    10
    Well I thought that Slipknot couldn't possibly get any harder bu they Have! This album is a physic assault on all senses and is a true masterpiece of thrash and nu-metal!! PEOPLE = SHIT!
  36. NathanT.
    Oct 10, 2001
    10
    Well I thought that Slipknot couldn't possibly get any harder bu they Have! This album is a physic assault on all senses and is a true masterpiece of thrash and nu-metal!! PEOPLE = SHIT!
  37. mikebez
    Oct 30, 2001
    10
    the rage in 8's voice is so fucking motivating.
  38. RafaelC.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    I like this nuclear-powered band, excellent sound and great vocals.
  39. AnthonyC.
    Oct 8, 2001
    10
    This album is better than the first, it's faster, louder, and harder than their first.
  40. AshleyL.
    Sep 23, 2001
    10
    this album is awesome i dont own it yet but i listen to a friend of mines and it totally rocks i wate intill i get it.
  41. edm
    Jul 5, 2005
    8
    starts off with all the best intentions (People=Sh*t, My Plague, Everything Ends, Heretic Anthem) but from there it is all the same and however great the title track may be when they start it singing, it sounds boring the rest of the time. good, but unsustainably
  42. LewisG
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    OMG how can you all just log to hear and give 0-4 bad votes...You may have never even have head the album..it rocks..so so 9.0 Live..Vol.3 sublimina verses and also SlipKnoT..you have not lived till you have heard MFKR!!!..witch i also give a 10..all there Albums get a 10!..screw you disbeleivers and go to hell P.s. I love you all (non gay way) :D
  43. SamanthaN.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Iowa is the best album by slipknot! i love it
  44. TomP.
    Oct 20, 2001
    10
    SLIPKNOT IOWA is the greatest hardest thrashing death metal band cd ever!! It's great! I know all the parents and people are concerned about their vocals, but that doesn't mean that we are gonna start worshipping satan or kill someone. If you think your kid can't handle the responsibilty of listening to a type of music then don't let them listen to it. But for those SLIPKNOT IOWA is the greatest hardest thrashing death metal band cd ever!! It's great! I know all the parents and people are concerned about their vocals, but that doesn't mean that we are gonna start worshipping satan or kill someone. If you think your kid can't handle the responsibilty of listening to a type of music then don't let them listen to it. But for those who can this cd is AWSOME!! Expand
  45. [Anonymous]
    Oct 7, 2001
    10
    awesome awesome awesome
  46. JustinP
    Mar 21, 2003
    10
    The only people who don't like this album are people who still listen to "Iron Maiden", or "Judas Priest". The future is here, and at the forefront is Slipknot, Korn, Mudvayne, Tool, Pulse Ultra, Marilyn Manson, American Head Charge, Disturbed, PH8, 30 seconds to Mars, System of a Down, etc. This album is one of the most incredible pieces of metal ever created. The fact that this The only people who don't like this album are people who still listen to "Iron Maiden", or "Judas Priest". The future is here, and at the forefront is Slipknot, Korn, Mudvayne, Tool, Pulse Ultra, Marilyn Manson, American Head Charge, Disturbed, PH8, 30 seconds to Mars, System of a Down, etc. This album is one of the most incredible pieces of metal ever created. The fact that this band has been together this long and maintained their energy after going out night after night and blowing everyone away is simply astounding. The future is here. Expand
  47. SlipknotD-Cipler
    Sep 11, 2003
    10
    I LOVE IT. AND FUCKING LIMP FAGGOTZ BISCUITS R POZERZ, especially this fagass Fred Durst. He should be dead by now... Fucking cunt is not even a true artist.
  48. RobT.
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    this is the only band that will ever kick ozzy's crackheaded, pot smoking, braindead self!!!!!!this album fuckin rocks!!!!1
  49. Gregnothing
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    well i must say i have been a maggot for a long time i still remember when i first borrowed their first slipknot cd from my friend took it home and put it in my cd player listened to it and thought it was shit but then it grew on me and ever since i have realized that they siong about real shit its all this shit we can go through in life its not just noise whoever disses corey for the well i must say i have been a maggot for a long time i still remember when i first borrowed their first slipknot cd from my friend took it home and put it in my cd player listened to it and thought it was shit but then it grew on me and ever since i have realized that they siong about real shit its all this shit we can go through in life its not just noise whoever disses corey for the shit he sings about needs some help because i respect his views as for iowa there couldnt be a better album by them that album came out as a hit and will always be a hit to me and im strongly looking forward to their new album coming out on july 25th or 26th and looking forward to their new single pulse of the maggot on the 30th of this month Expand
  50. bumbiers
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    I love this!! that's all I can say!!
  51. Pulse_of_the_Maggot
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    This album is a great improvement over there first, I would rate there first CD an 8.5 only cus I thought there was alittle to much screaming in it, but it was still good, and Iowa was an improvemnet on this, there are many songs on this CD where you can hear the lyrics, and judging by the song Pulse of the maggots, the new CD will be fucking awsome
  52. wahyu
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    This is great album, fuck the critics!!!
  53. CoreyT
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    I Agree with Wahyu, Fuck the Critics, THey dont what the Hell they r talkin bout, except the ones that gave it a pretty good review, and atelast said it was good...but all the others r a bunch of stupid shitheads
  54. iKnoEiKnoE
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Slipknots self titled album is raw and heavy. Iowa is darker and has a deeper sound with a more i hate u attitude. Espcially everything ends in my opinion. For all those who criticize slipknot negatively and label them them as nu metal F*** U. there different. they sound different. they sound way F***ing better. if u actually listen to the songs other than the ones ur told about u mite Slipknots self titled album is raw and heavy. Iowa is darker and has a deeper sound with a more i hate u attitude. Espcially everything ends in my opinion. For all those who criticize slipknot negatively and label them them as nu metal F*** U. there different. they sound different. they sound way F***ing better. if u actually listen to the songs other than the ones ur told about u mite actually think differently. 9/10 cuz this album has songs that relate to these jerkoffs who gave this album 0-6. remember !people=shit! Expand
  55. Andrew
    Oct 11, 2001
    10
    Great
  56. metalwan
    Oct 21, 2001
    10
    awesome,great and interesting music.yeahhhh i like it.
  57. LenoreD.
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    Why this album may not be the greatest in the world... It should never be rated under 6. As for you people that rate it lower than that, you're a bunch of corporate little bitches, and suckers of satan's cock. And you know what, the music you listen to SUCKS. Grow up and hear Bill Hicks out.
  58. slipknotmaggot
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    this is the best album out there and its beats all thoseemo punk bands and limp bizkit crap
  59. alexl
    May 17, 2003
    10
    I've been a maggot for about 2 years now, and I am still one and I will be one for a long time. People just don't understand Slipknot. "Slipknot sucks!", "It's noise". It used to be a problem to other people, and also myself. But now I really don't care about what other people say about Slipknot, or any other metal, deathmetal, grindcore, etc... band. I love this CD, I've been a maggot for about 2 years now, and I am still one and I will be one for a long time. People just don't understand Slipknot. "Slipknot sucks!", "It's noise". It used to be a problem to other people, and also myself. But now I really don't care about what other people say about Slipknot, or any other metal, deathmetal, grindcore, etc... band. I love this CD, because it's real lyrics and it takes out my anger when I listen to it. Ofcourse you can't forget the main reason why it's good...cause it's just so fucking good!!! Only maggots know where I'm comming from with this rating. I give this CD a 10, just like their other CD's! Expand
  60. billdid
    May 16, 2005
    0
    wow this album is so awesome, i couldn't stop headbanging for so long! and then i realized the same enjoyment came from the static on the tv! thanks slipknot!
  61. MalK
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    I am a true maggot and any one who isn't, is simply scare of whats better than them. This isn't my fav Knot album, but it is soo much better than any forced feed shit that anyone else listens to. Pull your head out of your ass and realise what something GOOD sounds like.
  62. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    I dont no why this album is so low! everybody says its slipknots best album yet, they give it a 3!!!.....but anyway this is probably slipknots beast album..... Its Very Heavy and its really dark!
  63. Jul 27, 2016
    8
    If you liked the heaviest sides of Slipknot on their self-titled debut, Iowa will be your new favourite album.

    Like the 1999 debut, Iowa opens in incredible fashion with People = **** one of the band's best songs to date. And, again like the self-titled album, it doesn't let up even slightly until halfway through the album: Disasterpiece, My Plague, Everything Ends, The Heretic Anthem
    If you liked the heaviest sides of Slipknot on their self-titled debut, Iowa will be your new favourite album.

    Like the 1999 debut, Iowa opens in incredible fashion with People = **** one of the band's best songs to date. And, again like the self-titled album, it doesn't let up even slightly until halfway through the album: Disasterpiece, My Plague, Everything Ends, The Heretic Anthem and Left Behind are all stone cold classics in modern metal music.

    There are very few low points on this record, although you may find yourself forgetting a few of the later titles, but once you go back and listen to them you will remember how brilliant they are. If they were released on any other record, they would be the best songs on it.

    Iowa is one of the most important albums of the modern era. It blew a hole through metal and rock music which left a lasting impression on the mainstream, too. With this release, Slipknot cemented themselves as the most important band in the world at the time, and it still more than holds up today.
    Expand
  64. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    (I'm going to keep this review short, because this album is flawless)

    The second album by Slipknot is also one of their best albums. The mix of brutal metal and dark lyrics is perfect. From "Iowa", one of the darkest songs I've ever heard, to "People = Sh*t" where the band is very heavy and brutal. Every song is packed with amazing metal. I can understand that not everyone like Slipknot
    (I'm going to keep this review short, because this album is flawless)

    The second album by Slipknot is also one of their best albums. The mix of brutal metal and dark lyrics is perfect. From "Iowa", one of the darkest songs I've ever heard, to "People = Sh*t" where the band is very heavy and brutal. Every song is packed with amazing metal. I can understand that not everyone like Slipknot (after all, they wear masks and have very dark lyrics), but if you can appreciate their music style and great heavy metal/alternative metal, I highly recommend this album.

    Best song - "Left Behind"
    Worst song (less likeable) - "Skin Ticket"
    Expand
  65. Sep 9, 2015
    10
    This is the best follow up album ever written. **** is absolutely brutal and the title track has the most painful, burning passion I've ever heard in a Slipknot song. Definitely the best Slipknot album in my book.
  66. Jul 19, 2016
    8
    Many people will often refer to the "sophomore slump"... when a band manages to release a stunning debut and ultimately has to follow its success. While I wouldn't consider Iowa a slump per se, it is not as good as the eponymous debut. Iowa is my third favorite record by Slipknot and I always felt that it lacked a certain energy and charisma that drenched the first album. I felt like CoreyMany people will often refer to the "sophomore slump"... when a band manages to release a stunning debut and ultimately has to follow its success. While I wouldn't consider Iowa a slump per se, it is not as good as the eponymous debut. Iowa is my third favorite record by Slipknot and I always felt that it lacked a certain energy and charisma that drenched the first album. I felt like Corey and the rest of the band were screaming for a reason as oppose to screaming simply for the sake of screaming. Some people may vehemently disagree with me but I still sense a lack of sincerity with Iowa while comparing it to their debut album. That has always been my biggest gripe, not onto what I enjoyed.

    The lyrics are fantastic, Corey may use a certain four letter word that we all know and love a few too many times; but he makes up for it with a plethora of words that I had to look up. Thanks to album I now know what progeny is. I would have thought that word would have shown up on the SAT, but no...it was in a Slipknot record. Corey's use of metaphors and analogies continue to paint a picture of a dark and tortured soul that was present in the first album. Few vocalist can rival the pure unadulterated rage that flows through his teeth. When you hear this record you can really understand how Slipknot was the poster child for every pissed off teen that was overlooked by everyone and everything.

    From a musical standpoint the band did get more technical, power cords and chugs are plentiful along with the signature percussive onslaught that helped to make Slipknots trademark sound. I enjoyed Jordisons double bass work though it seemed sluggish at times and not as creative as the work displayed in the first album. Jim Root and Mick Thomson continue to blend their sounds well and as I had mentioned earlier are able to create some memorable riffs that are indeed more technical. The tones are dark and eerie and will make the hair on the back of your neck stand straight. The album is taut from beginning to end and that can really be attributed to the guitar work of Jim and Mick.

    The album is riddled with scratching and sampling but you have to pay very close attention or you might miss it. These instances are subtle but they make for great ear candy. Clown and Chris continue to scream and destroy while adding to the overall cathartic tone of the record.

    Iowa still stands the test of time, it's more angry and brutal than the majority of the records being released today. Solid musicianship and excellent lyrics allow the band to pick up where they left off, but it still lacks the youthful spirit that made their debut a masterpiece.
    Expand
  67. Feb 2, 2017
    6
    Slackly crafted, it misses the Slipknot NU-Metal perfection we've seen in their debut album Slipknot or in their newer album All Hope Is Gone, they've failed to deliver emotion like in The Gray Chapter or bring something new to the table like in Vol.3. Iowa is their heaviest album but it feels like it doesn't deserve it weight.
  68. Jan 12, 2016
    9
    Iowa by Slipknot. A german review.
    Das 3. Album der Maskenmänner versprüht alles was man erwartet: Dunkelheit, Schnelligkeit, Härte und Krankheit. Slipknot eben.
    Insgesamt: 9/10
  69. Jan 23, 2016
    9
    My favourite slipknot album. seems to convey the common theme of not wanting to become apart of common member of society. for example, in new abortion "zeros and ones are everything, execute me". the shape "seperate, i've lost my only way". and the title track iowa, "I take your second digit with me... love...
    You are my first". second digit meaning the digit that makes you yourself and
    My favourite slipknot album. seems to convey the common theme of not wanting to become apart of common member of society. for example, in new abortion "zeros and ones are everything, execute me". the shape "seperate, i've lost my only way". and the title track iowa, "I take your second digit with me... love...
    You are my first". second digit meaning the digit that makes you yourself and first meaning you're apart of the zeros and ones. That's my interpretation anyways. Many people think it's about love or something. I do think Everything ends deals with the end of a relationship though. the only song i dislike on the album i am hated (which is ironic because that may make this review hated) because of the vocal presentation in the verses. the chorus is pretty good though. overall my favourite slipknot album and with tracks like People = **** left behind and disasterpiece its hard to argue that this isn't slipknots finest work.
    Expand
  70. Apr 18, 2016
    10
    Arguably nu-metal's finest offering. It's the darkest, heaviest and by far the scariest album I've heard from the genre, and Slipknot's greatest album by far. It invites you in swiftly with its shout-along lyrics, catchiness, and tortured demeanour, which shines through especially on "Gently" "Skin Ticket" and the 15-minute title track. It's simply timeless.
  71. Jul 29, 2016
    10
    **** all the critics and **** calling this album an effort to scare mom and dad. This is a masterpiece of a metal album. This is Slipknots greatest. There is no rest for the listener and while listening Corey Taylor, the singer, he lets you in on some of his inner secrets and pains giving an emotional and disturbing feel to the album. 10 out of 10
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. 70
    Iowa boldly follows up, notching maximum body blows in its unyielding production, while maintaining an odd grandeur in its professed pain and anguish, its struggle for individualism.
  2. After too many calls for the end of humanity and playing the Satan card a few times, all the yelling becomes little more than a humorless joke.
  3. 'Iowa' is a fantastic metal record, ferocious and inventive, but their rage is that of psychotic adolescents rather than reasoning adults. You'll love it!