It's Not Me, It's You

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Feb 10, 2009
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 134

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RodrigoM
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    One of the best pop albums in many years. Love Lily Allen!
  2. AdriánC
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    From Everyone's At It to He Wasn't There, Allen shows she isn't just a rebel gaining press and fans for her polemic songs. Twelve songs in which she talks about the problem our society is dealing with (racism, drugs, religion), and of course a lot of love and family stories in which we can see not only how Lily has grown as an artist, but as a person. I wasn't sure From Everyone's At It to He Wasn't There, Allen shows she isn't just a rebel gaining press and fans for her polemic songs. Twelve songs in which she talks about the problem our society is dealing with (racism, drugs, religion), and of course a lot of love and family stories in which we can see not only how Lily has grown as an artist, but as a person. I wasn't sure what the result of her new electronic sound would be, but my doubts completely disappeared since I heard it. Probably the best album of the year. Expand
  3. MickeyM
    May 3, 2009
    0
    Lily Allen's talentlessness as a singer is only outshone by her amazing ability to write boring, lame, cringeworthy lyrics. No matter how sarcastically they are delivered, lines of the calibre of 'you're just a racist who can't tie my laces' cannot be considered clever. The production is pedestrian, but it is still the only thing that makes Allen's songs Lily Allen's talentlessness as a singer is only outshone by her amazing ability to write boring, lame, cringeworthy lyrics. No matter how sarcastically they are delivered, lines of the calibre of 'you're just a racist who can't tie my laces' cannot be considered clever. The production is pedestrian, but it is still the only thing that makes Allen's songs close to being listenable by distracting you slightly from her insufferable, vacuous personality. All the positive reviews she receives and the general widespread approval she gets from all areas of the media makes me think she is some kind of huge in-joke. An in-joke that is neither funny nor clever. Expand
  4. Phil
    May 8, 2009
    0
    Nice little showcase of Lily Allen's lack of talent as both a vocalist and a songwriter, as well as her irritating personality, or persona, whichever it is. The unimaginative production job is actually the only thing that makes her droning remotely listenable. What really amazes me is how anyone can call the lyrics clever or funny. 'You're just some racist who can't Nice little showcase of Lily Allen's lack of talent as both a vocalist and a songwriter, as well as her irritating personality, or persona, whichever it is. The unimaginative production job is actually the only thing that makes her droning remotely listenable. What really amazes me is how anyone can call the lyrics clever or funny. 'You're just some racist who can't tie my laces' among other gems is the standard of poetic art we are looking at here. Allen's dull, poorly expressed world view does not "define the times". Sadly, the fact she is seen as an artist, on the other hand, does. This album is inane, boring and totally devoid of heart or creativity. No album deserves a zero more than this one. Expand
  5. ClifC
    Mar 17, 2009
    7
    A bit disappointed by this album. I was waiting for more. Still funny and catchy though. Standout tracks: "The Fear" & "Fuck You".
  6. Layne
    May 14, 2009
    0
    Lily Allen is a talentless waste of space, and proves it beyond all doubt with this horrendous effort.
  7. BradleyS
    Feb 11, 2009
    1
    So disappointing! Now, she's no better than the clones she inspired. What the hell happened?!
  8. danj
    Jun 23, 2009
    8
    A few months prior to the release of this record lily allen was a pop star who was hosting a poorly recived chat show and arguing with elton john. but then realesed the fear a song that proved that she had sense after all. The tracks that stand out out are the ones that showcase her new philosofical style such as the anti-drug everyones at it, the fear and the god name checking him. she A few months prior to the release of this record lily allen was a pop star who was hosting a poorly recived chat show and arguing with elton john. but then realesed the fear a song that proved that she had sense after all. The tracks that stand out out are the ones that showcase her new philosofical style such as the anti-drug everyones at it, the fear and the god name checking him. she evan manages an anti bnp anthem in the form of fuck you outshining her debut, this album will give you second thoughts about her for sure. Expand
  9. sydneys
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    The best album since britneys circus, i love lilly very, very creative: 10/10! Go Lilly!!
  10. Anonymous
    May 19, 2009
    9
    Not quite as good as Alright, Still, but it's something rare nowdays: electropop with funny, well-written, @$$-kicking social commentary. Her voice still sounds amazing and the tracks are so catchy that you'll remember them for weeks after hearing them once. Best tracks are: The Fear, F**k You, Everyone's At It, Chinese, and He Wasn't There.
  11. cesard
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    Very mature cd, with smart lyrics ans sounds. its one of the best pop cds made in the last 2 years, lily is the proof that you dont have to be perfect to be good. i love her attitude. Go Lily!!
  12. metime
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    This album is even better than the last!!!
  13. Delspencerdeltorro
    Mar 1, 2009
    7
    It's a different direction than her frst album took, but it's still definitely Lily! It doesn't have quite as many standouts as Alright, Still, and it's got a few more boring spots, but overall it's great. MY favourite tracks are "Chinese" and "Fuck You"
  14. JoshuaB
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    Absolutely funny and clever. Must buy.
  15. Meister
    Jun 30, 2009
    8
    Pedestrian production? Check. An in-joke that is neither funny nor clever? Check. Cringeworthy lyrics? Check. Well, guys, call it the most potently self-deprecating and self-aggrandizing pop statement ever made. Oh, and the vacuous personality? Exactly the appeal. It must be part of the irony.
  16. SteveT
    Jul 5, 2009
    9
    Many of the songs on this album are topical tongue-in cheek compositions by Lily, some people will just not geddit - maybe you have to live in England to fully appreciate the humour, much of the language is everyday chav-talk used by kids in Lily's home country - overall a very good collection of songs, including some very catchy hit singles, and a more satisfying album than her Many of the songs on this album are topical tongue-in cheek compositions by Lily, some people will just not geddit - maybe you have to live in England to fully appreciate the humour, much of the language is everyday chav-talk used by kids in Lily's home country - overall a very good collection of songs, including some very catchy hit singles, and a more satisfying album than her first, The production is top notch on my vinyl copy, though there is a proliferation of faulty copies in the UK. Expand
  17. JessieW.
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    I don't know how anybody could give this album less than perfect, because it is sweetly crafted, perfect pop music in it's finest form. I've had the luxury of receiving this album a week early and have already worn the album out from overuse. Extremely catchy, and an obvious display of Lily Allen's talent and songcraft.
  18. RyanE
    Feb 12, 2009
    8
    It's alright, good pop album. Was after something kinda different and i like it. Good beats and clever lyrics, better than alright still in my opinion.
  19. AustinC
    Jun 8, 2009
    9
    Lily Allen has never been on my artists to watch list, but that's all changed with this album. The tracks are catchy and fun. Something missing from today's overly-produced generic pop. Allen brings some real treats with this album. "Everyone's At It" is a catchy little tune about the problems of drugs and how everyone abuses them. This lyrically standout song features Lily Allen has never been on my artists to watch list, but that's all changed with this album. The tracks are catchy and fun. Something missing from today's overly-produced generic pop. Allen brings some real treats with this album. "Everyone's At It" is a catchy little tune about the problems of drugs and how everyone abuses them. This lyrically standout song features addictive tunes and even includes Allen playing the xylophone, a lost art in pop music. Other songs talk about arrogant exes, girls freaked out with age, clingy lovers, going back home to mother, restarting old relationships that never should of ended, and other things other artists wouldn't dare touch. Much like in the critically acclaimed song, "Fuck You" (originally titled "Guess Who Batman"). The track is a slap in the face to racists and originally began as an attack on George W. Bush. While very 'hit you with something your not expecting' lyrics, "Fuck You" also featured a very nice nursery rhyme instrumental, which only adds to shock of the song. It's no wonder this album put her a step ahead of others in the game we call the music industry. Expand
  20. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Ms. Allen (or as she would rather be called nowadays, Ms. Rose-Cooper) made a serious transition from her sassy debut "Alright, Still" to "It's Not Me, It's You" - while some of that old bratty attitude is still there, she's 100% more mature than ever.
  21. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    "It's Not Me, It's You" is a new step of Lily Allen from ska-pop to electro-pop. The album retains its catchy nursery rhymes sound but it does not fit well on the techno sound. The production is perfect, it sounds really good. It still retains non-mainstream pop sounds but it sounds boring rather than fun. Overall, the album is good and buy-worthy. :)
  22. Jul 26, 2011
    7
    Damn good album. To quote one of the songs **** you" to the haters. Several catchy pop songs, and several social/political commentary songs that are actually fun and enjoyable rather than being preachy. Not amazing, but well worth having in your library.
  23. Sep 13, 2011
    5
    Though I think the music is a much more interesting in Lily's first album, this one has some catchy melodies that will be in your head all day long, such as "22", "The Fear" and"Who'd Have Known". It shows a more sensitive Lily, but there are still some songs in which the ironic Lily comes out.
  24. Dec 29, 2014
    6
    The Lily Allen sound is ever present on 'It's Not Me, It's You.' But with it comes more mature songwriting and an album worth spending some time with. It occasionally falters, but makes up for it with 'The Fear' and '22.'
  25. Feb 27, 2016
    9
    9/10 - "It's Not Me, It's You is a wonderful record, and, better than that, a pop album brave enough to have a go at defining the times" - Observer Music Monthly
  26. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    This is a big change for Lily Allen, and whilst she doesn't have the bittersweet raggae vibe anymore, the new flow is awesome and all tracks are worth a listen and this album is worth buying.
  27. May 7, 2013
    10
    I love every single song. It captures the essence of a whole generation. Love, friendship, drugs, parties, heartbreak, all mixed in a blend that comes out perfect. Lily shines in every track, and Greg Kurtin did his best job to date producing this album (in my humble opinion).
  28. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    "It's Not Me, It's you is good, but not as good as "Alright, Still". You can only hear Lily's voice so much before she sounds really annoying. The best track is "Everyone's At It".
  29. May 21, 2014
    9
    Ms. Allen's evolution from her sassy debut to a consistent and mature attitude presented in "It's Not Me, It's You" unveils itself in melodic consistence, fun and ironic lyrics and rich vocal quality in its entirety.
  30. Sep 8, 2014
    9
    Grande album de Lily Allen! O seu melhor até hoje, nos quesitos letras, ritmos, ou melhor, tudo. Everyone's At It, The Fear e Not Fair são fantásticas, assim como as outras. Não mereceu o fracasso.
  31. Aug 25, 2015
    10
    One of the strongest releases of the 21st century. Definitely the best album of Lily's career so far. She has sharp wit, fresh electropop sound and clever lyrics. It's a classic and is a definite pop staple. Everyone deserves to be enlightened by this flawless album at least once in their life.
  32. Dec 26, 2015
    10
    It's Not Me, It's You é, para mim, um dos melhores álbuns pop que já existiram. Sério, as letras, a instrumental, a voz doce da Lily, tudo é perfeito nesse álbum.
  33. Jan 18, 2017
    10
    Lily Allen is a lyrical genius and this album shows that beautifully. Every song on this album is iconic and relatable. 'The Fear' is one of the most iconic songs ever released. QUEEN
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Even if the new album can be cheaply on-the-nose and opportunistic at times, it's hard to root against Lily Allen.
  2. It's Not Me, It's You is far from perfect, but it sounds fantastic.
  3. 80
    She offsets an assault of cheekiness with confessions so intimate, they could have been drafted during an A.A. meeting.