Jama Ko - Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni Ba
Jama Ko Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third release for Bassekou Kouyate introduces a new group of ngoni players and was co-produced with Howard Bilerman.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Two melodies reach back centuries. Strong-voiced frontwoman Amy Sacko delivers the word. And although the ngoni is a mere lute, Kouyate gets more noises you want to hear out of his strings than any two jam-band hotshots you can name.
  2. 100
    Kouyate's electrification of his ngoni lute is just as effective a sign of resistance: fed through a wah-wah pedal, his serpentine, fleet-fingered lead lines gain a fresh, assertive power on songs.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    Although political in nature, the feel of the record is unabashedly joyful and if Jama ko doesn't form part of your summer listening, you are missing out on something very special.
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    An album for anybody who likes rock music to sound angry about something. [Mar 2013, p.89]
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    80
    Ngoni Ba was already remarkable for its plucked, pointillist modal grooves, and on Jama Ko, its passionate defense of Malian culture makes the music even sharper.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    The n’gonis are always upfront, but this is also an album of stunning vocals.
  7. May 29, 2013
    70
    Jama Ko is, for twelve of its thirteen songs, political in the best way, using a deeply focused aesthetic both to engage with and as a momentary escape from the social environment which produced it.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    3
    For fans only. Like probably 99+% of metacritic users I know nothing about this style of music, so i cant tell if these guys are the rollingFor fans only. Like probably 99+% of metacritic users I know nothing about this style of music, so i cant tell if these guys are the rolling stones or the milli vanilli of the genre. but for the most part, while the music is pretty in parts, i found the vocals annoying to unlistenable. i try to keep my mind open, but this album did not whet my appetite in wanting to explore African music. Why do critics always swoon over anything that's international or a re-issue? Collapse

Related Articles

  1. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.
  2. This Month's Best New Albums: April 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: April 2013 Image
    Published: May 1, 2013
    An unusually large group of albums received strong reviews last month, including new albums from The Knife, Kurt Vile, Ghostface Killah, James Blake, and several African artists. Get the full list inside, and listen to many of the featured albums.