Jamie Lidell

  • Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Feb 19, 2013
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    As ever, there are great songs here, underpinned by sharp, imaginative production.... The problem is that Lidell doesn't go far enough.
  2. The Wire
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    His arch over-emoting robs his songs of any sense of genuine feeling. [Feb 2013, p.60]
  3. The most frustrating thing about these eleven songs is that it sounds as if Lidell is shackled by the aesthetic, and it’s totally self-imposed. He’s capable of more.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    He does it [copying Prince and Roger Troutman] well, at times, but he usually makes you want to YouTube up the originals.
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    56
    The shame of it is that somewhere in here there's an album that could've done more to revive the mostly moribund idea of 80s pop tropes in contemporary music.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    60
    As enjoyable as it all is though, it’s hard to escape the lingering feeling that Lidell is best when balancing his desire to mine the rich seam of electronic music’s past with a more innovative perspective.
  7. 60
    There's often a mismatch of temperament between the most brutally juddering of Lidell's quacking synth grooves and the floaty, unanchored manner of his vocal lines.
  8. Q Magazine
    Feb 13, 2013
    60
    His music, colorful and entertaining as it is here, has yet to supply a definitive answer. [Mar 2013, p.98]
  9. Feb 13, 2013
    60
    Ultimately where Jamie Lidell falls down is its lack of originality or sense of emotional honesty.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    At first glance, you can see that people judge under the influence of reviewers.

    8.0 is my rating REASON blaming Something, Big Love and
    At first glance, you can see that people judge under the influence of reviewers.

    8.0 is my rating REASON blaming Something, Big Love and I'm Selfish is the perfect songs and I hope that the next album will be maintained in this style.

    Compass was a prelude to this album ALTERNATIVE R B is like most of his copyrighted style that not everyone will like it.

    I recommend this album as much as possible.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Yes, R&B is a big thing nowadays. Some people don't realize that you can be a little creative and funky in this genre. Jamie Lidell has fusedYes, R&B is a big thing nowadays. Some people don't realize that you can be a little creative and funky in this genre. Jamie Lidell has fused R&B, funk, and electronic music to create this musical masterpiece. Sure, the songs are a bit out of the ordinary, but I think that's just what we need. Today's music is all the same crap over and over with a different beat. This is new, this is fresh, this is awesome. The highlights are: "I'm Selfish", "What A Shame", "You Naked", and "Blaming Something". Full Review »