Jarvis - Jarvis Cocker
Jarvis Image

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pulp frontman Jarvis Cocker makes his solo debut with this 14-song disc (which includes recent single "Running The World" as a secret bonus track).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. A stunning collection of songs, in the grand Brit-pop tradition.
  2. The main difference between Jarvis and Pulp's final album, We Love Life, is that the new record feels far less portentous, and more brightly poppy.
  3. This is the record Pulp could/should have made as a sequel to the seminal Different Class.
  4. Cocker's caustic observations cut deepest when married to hummable tunes.
  5. "Jarvis" is a collection of 13 individual songs, rather than an album with cohesive impact.
  6. 60
    [The first half is] all dismayingly unconvincing and lacklustre in execution... Then something changes.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    Jarvis manages to cover the entire spectrum of human emotion in 13 tracks of pure genius. The brilliance of his lyrical wizardry knows no bounds whatsoever. Beautiful, a modern masterpiece. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    A strong solo effort from the Pulp frontman. More than half of it is top quality. The lyrical cleverness Jarvis is loved for is present throughout and it's full of melody. There are a couple of tracks that we could have done without that seem to miss the touch of other band members, but these are rare enough. Don't let him waste your time,Heavy Weather,Tonight, Black Magic all rank up with Pulps better moments, The most annoying thing is the the 25 minute gap to get to the hidden track, the brilliant Running the World. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews