Joyful Rebellion

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 2 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. nickb
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    this is one of the best albums ive ever listened too. Usally i dont like rap, but i loved this album!!!!!!
  2. JonC
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Remarkably diverse, you will be stunned by K-Os. Often times you'll forget you're listening to songs by the same artist. From true folk songs to hip-hop's best beats, this album signifies the emergence of a musical virtuoso who defies genre labeling. Also, how does Crabbuckit, the Juno winner for best Canadian pop song of the year (over other crappy but well known nominees Remarkably diverse, you will be stunned by K-Os. Often times you'll forget you're listening to songs by the same artist. From true folk songs to hip-hop's best beats, this album signifies the emergence of a musical virtuoso who defies genre labeling. Also, how does Crabbuckit, the Juno winner for best Canadian pop song of the year (over other crappy but well known nominees like Shania Twain and Avril Lavignenot get a single play on top 40 radio in the U.S.? Expand
  3. CM
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    K-OS second album "Joyful Rebellion" is as underrated as TV On the Radio's "Dear Science" is overrated. Songs like "Crucial", "Man I used to be", "Crabbuckit" and especially "The Love Song" are, in its essence, instant classics that could rival OutKast's best recordings. The question is, why is everyone listening to the Black Eyed Peas instead of the K-OS?
  4. Spongeee
    Oct 26, 2004
    9
    This is an overal well done album. The lyrics can hit some medium points but the production and music taste are amazing. This is one CD that knows how to jam, flow, and teach at the same time. K-OS is making a place for himself...with his own style.
  5. jfray
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    Great F-ckin album!!!
  6. DanO
    Jan 20, 2005
    9
    This is one of the best rap albums of the year. Crabbukkit, The Man I Used to Be my favortive songs on the album.
  7. AonghusS
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    I will not say much about this album as it has to be heard to be fully apreciated.A word of warning it is one seriously addictive album. Every Song a top notch example of K-Os' amazing talents. Not only an album but an insight into K-Os many theories on life and matters.Most definately a classic to put in the rack along with Illmatic, Ready to Die etc. Mixing genres like child play I will not say much about this album as it has to be heard to be fully apreciated.A word of warning it is one seriously addictive album. Every Song a top notch example of K-Os' amazing talents. Not only an album but an insight into K-Os many theories on life and matters.Most definately a classic to put in the rack along with Illmatic, Ready to Die etc. Mixing genres like child play K-Os Really has created a masterpiece her. I cannot praise it enough. Expand
  8. SorenaR
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    I just got this album and i have been listening to it none-stop ever since i got it this morning. It's totally unique and I love it's style. K-OS is definately going places if he continues to produce such great music. And just for the record i'm not even a big fan of hip-hop, but I am a music lover and i can appriciate good music. Thanx K-OS!!!
  9. MikeP
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    One of the few hip-hop albums that I have heard latley that doesn't have any "filler" tracks. Each song has something to offer. Give it a listen and I think you'll agree
  10. MichaelG.
    Jul 27, 2006
    9
    K-os is one of the few hip-hop artists that I truly enjoy listening to. I like how he combines hip-hop,rock, and other genres together. K-os truely has a unique sound.
  11. RajithV
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Kos has created an album that creatively and intelligently expands hip hop, and gives the audience what it wants. With hits such as Crabbuckit and Neutroniks, the man himself is revolutionizing hip hop to a tee, and making other 'rappers' choke.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Urb
    80
    A schizophrenic journey into the mind of a man who clearly embraces myriad genres. [Oct 2004, p.103]
  2. Rolling Stone
    60
    Gives alt-rap humanism a good name. [28 Oct 2004, p.103]
  3. A blueprint for where hip hop should be headed.