Just Who I Am: Poets & Pirates

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2007
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 4 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StephanieS.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    The new cd is awesome. I can't stop listening to it! Kenny's voice is amazing and every song grabs you and makes you listen to the story.
  2. Luke
    Sep 26, 2007
    0
    This is indulgent hillbilly music. Sounds like he's singing out of his gills. it must be that tight-jeaned charisma that got him the record deal.
  3. RobinB.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    Just shows how diverse Kenny can be and how he's still down home and remembers where he came from. Otherwise, he wouldn't have been able to help write these songs. He's staying humble and real.
  4. sharonr.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    I loved it!!!!
  5. NickM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    7
    pretty good......although i do think that "wild ride" was done MUCH better by Diwght Yoakam, i do think that overall this cd was decent.......not great, but decent....certainly enjoyable
  6. Matt
    Sep 24, 2007
    3
    Don't pay any mind to the recording company stooges in the "USER ratings" section who give this one phony "10"s pretending to be normal people....this album is not only far from perfect, it's actually not very good at all.
  7. RyanM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    This is a great album and I really like it, even though I am only 15. And you assh*les who rate it low because you don't like country should drop f*cking dead.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Just Who I Am just manages from sinking into adult contemporary murk, even if it's hard to shake the feeling that Chesney is spending too much time acting how his audience expects him to be instead of just being who he is.
  2. Chesney gets better with age. There are radio hits here: 'Never Wanted Nothing More' has already hit No. 1 and second single 'Don't Blink' is off to a fast start, but there's depth, too.
  3. Blender
    60
    It feels like a record assembled by a focus group. [Oct 2007, p.107]