User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 87
  2. Negative: 6 out of 87

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    This is really unlike anything you ever listened to, even if you are not a fan of R&B (like me) you are probably going to enjoy this just from an artistic and interesting point of view. Check it out!
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Oh my!!! What a beautiful album. This will definitely compete with Frank Ocean's - Channel Orange for best R&B album of the year. Production is awesome and songs are well written and sang. I feel R&B could be making an amazing come back!
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    Very smooth and strong at the same time. It's the true R&B that was (how we could see) lost a long time ago. Kaleidoscope Dream is great from de beginning until the end.
  4. N10
    Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Maybe the year's most pleasurable album. The songwriting is really good and vocally Miguel is amazing, and as a producer he works very well. Have heard about this guy for some months, and you can't deny that Miguel has talent, as an artist he's amazing and really creative. Have played this all day long since it's release, it's still as good as it were the first time, or even better. Entertained from beginning to end, the production fits Miguel's very dreamy voice perfectly.
    One of the best releases this year, it's truely a strong year for R&B. Miguel has a wonderful voice that few has, and from a artistic view you better check this dude out. Unlike everything that's released this year.
    Recommend this strongly!
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    Kaleidoscope Dream is a delightful turn of events after the low-key debut All I Want Is You. Instead of pursuing his efforts as a modern R&B star, Miguel pursued a more indie path channeling classic R&B and alternative rock on his sophomore. Despite there being some poor songwriting moments, Miguel manages to craft one of 2012's best releases of the year along with Frank Ocean's channel ORANGE. There is much replay value, and nearly every song has replay value. Even How Many Drinks, which reeks suspiciously of The-Dream's brand of contemporary R&B, is extremely catchy and enjoyable. Overall, Kaleidoscope Dream is one of the must-have records of 2012 and should be purchased if you are a fan of good music. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    Solid album all in all. Very strong year for RnB with this release, channel ORANGE & the Trilogy next month. Miguel's production was also very good, only dislike was the Eminem sample. favorite song is "Candles In The Sun.
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    Smooth cuts, laying it down for more upcoming R&B artists to follow! I would rate "Adorn" as my favorite on the album, feeling the beats from the start and finishing it off wanting to hear what else this album had in store.
  8. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the entire album. It really captivates his artistic intention and participation in R&B music to the extent where we are audibly stimulated by trance like harmonies, sultry beats and lyrics. The title song, kaleidoscopic dream, is one of my favourites from his sophomore album because of the marriage with the instruments, lyrics and vocals. 'Body limb like piano keys, allow me to evoke' is just an example of his clever metaphors that is shown throughout. I urge you guys to listen to this album, though I'm not a great fan of the 'radio friendly' term, I do think this album fits nicely on the border of that which I think is good. If I had to choose between Kaleidoscope Dream or Channel Orange, I would definitely pick the former hands down. Favourite song: Kaleidoscope Dream Best Instrumentation: Adorn Most played: Adorn
    Most fun: is mine
    Expand
  9. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. On this album, Miguel embodies the idea of the singer as musician in a way that few other american singers do, and that puts him in a class above most singers of popular music. As for numbers: 9 out of 11 total songs are good and no fewer than 5 are undeniably excellent songs (even if it is not your cup of tea). There is nothing that sounds like this album out. This was a coup. The sung melodies are outstanding, catchy, and seem effortless for most of the album except the song "The Thrill", which is meticulously sung and sonically challenging. This is a masterfully crafted album and a huge statement that the new generation of R&B acts are joining the popular music conversation of today. Collapse
  10. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    All of these new R&B artists don't have the same soul feeling like early Stevie Wonder or Anita Baker. None of them have any stand out hits . I feel a certain weakness in their R&B where there should be solid hits. I have a yearning to want to like this music, but they are coming up just a bit short. Sorry...
  11. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    Despite tracks like "P**** is Mine" and "Candles in the Sun", the entire album is great. The highlights are "Use Me", "Never Look Back" and the smash-song and single "Adorn".
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. He's major now, and musically, this locks in top to bottom.
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    90
    He, like his album, works best in its woozier, hushed moments.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    On his impressive second album, the LA-born R&B auteur offers fresh options for mainstream urban pop. [Jan 2013, p.110]