Kid Rock

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2003
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 5 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. sean
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    1.rock n roll pain train- excellent blues song kinda of a cross between Joe Walsh And The Rolling Stones great piano play by Jimmie Bones 2.cadillac pussy w hank jr-honky tonk jazz tune ala bob seger's katmandou excellent horn play by howling diablos johnny evans 3.feel like makin love- bad company cover an improvement over the orginal but very cheesy lyrics 4.black bob-left off 1.rock n roll pain train- excellent blues song kinda of a cross between Joe Walsh And The Rolling Stones great piano play by Jimmie Bones 2.cadillac pussy w hank jr-honky tonk jazz tune ala bob seger's katmandou excellent horn play by howling diablos johnny evans 3.feel like makin love- bad company cover an improvement over the orginal but very cheesy lyrics 4.black bob-left off early mornin stoned pimp ft kenny wayne sheppard sweet blues song 5.jackson,mississippi-most popular song off the album sounds like alice n chains meets black sabbath great vocals 6.cold and empty-skynyrd type ballad,best ballad on the album 7.intro-lone rap song too short but great 8.rock n roll-song is dope he was stupid for not making this a single its very stonesy and catchy 9.hillbilly stomp-very clever turning queens we will rock you into swamp funk and rapping bout being a hick ft billy gibbons 10.i am-sounds very similar to skynyrds all i can do is write about it 11.son of detroit-best song on album david a coe cover killer piano solo again 12.do it for you-great rod stewart like ballad 13.hard night for sarah-bob seger unreleashed cover great solo by kenny olson 14.run off to la-w sheryl crow much better than picture i think 15.single father-written by david a coe very simple but touching great vocal Collapse
  2. eilene
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    great album from the bluesy opener rock n roll pain train to the tearjerker single father.continuing were cocky left off on songs like picture and midnight train to memphis kid stays on the outlaw country road sprinkled with some southern boogie and only a few traces of rap best trks r the zz top flaovered son of detroit and the rolling stones flavored rock n roll 1 of the greatest songs great album from the bluesy opener rock n roll pain train to the tearjerker single father.continuing were cocky left off on songs like picture and midnight train to memphis kid stays on the outlaw country road sprinkled with some southern boogie and only a few traces of rap best trks r the zz top flaovered son of detroit and the rolling stones flavored rock n roll 1 of the greatest songs to come out in a long time Expand
  3. ShellyA
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    I loved every bit of Kid's C.D. I have them all and love them all but he keeps getting better and better!
  4. AmberC
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    I love every song on this album. It seems more emotional on some songs. Couple of them made me cry the first time I heard them! The jammin songs kick ass! Everyone should hear it!
  5. sheilal
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    i think this album has a few songs that will become classics. cold and empty is 1.
  6. AlisonB
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    This album shows his versatility as an artist. You really have to see it live to appreciate it though! Great album!
  7. traviss
    Jun 4, 2004
    10
    this is the best kid rock album ever he is my fav artist he has so much talent
  8. ReginaT
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    He rocks!!! Anyone who doesnt give this album a 10, really needs to keep his s----y opinion to themselves, this is a man with rock in his soul and he is not afraid to let everyone know. His writting is superb!!! I hated rock until Kid Rock!!!!!
  9. Teyad
    Apr 19, 2004
    7
    I liked this at first, but it gets really old real fast.
  10. sherryh
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    anything kid rock does is awesome. i;ve seen him live in concert 3 times; and the energy is unbeleivable! he is so talented to be able to do so many different kinds of music.
  11. AshleyB
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    This CD rocks! I listen to it everyday, anyone who doesn't like it must be tone deaf.
  12. RebeccaB
    Jan 29, 2004
    10
    I like every song on this CD. Kid Rock has such a great voice. The versitility he demonstrates proves he is one of the most talented artist around!
  13. DomS.
    Jan 16, 2004
    0
    I'm all for artists maturing, especially when the artist is maturing from crap, but Kid Rock is about as transparent and bloated as his Pammy's big fake boobs.
  14. amusicfan
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    great music for rednecks sporting mullet haircuts.
  15. RobertM
    Jan 5, 2004
    9
    A musically maturing Rock demonstrates his writing and vocal skills, while continuing to rock on as the Pimp of the Nation.
  16. RK
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    great cd
  17. JHen
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    This album kicks ass
  18. SeanG
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    best southern rock album ever surpassing skynyrd's second helping and the allman's eat a peach
  19. aa
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    Amazing
  20. BobTheRocker
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    This album is #$%&* awesome!! I liked Kid even back in the straight-up hip-hop days but hip-hop has become a boring cliche these days. Time to rock out again!
  21. BobTheRocker
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    This album is #$%&* awesome!! I liked Kid even back in the straight-up hip-hop days but hip-hop has become a boring cliche these days. Time to rock out again!
  22. MK
    Dec 15, 2003
    0
    Rap/rock rulz FOREVA!!!! Fook the Radiohead and their twiddly instruments!!! KIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
  23. helenj
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    The lyrics to his songs are as real as the Kid hisself, he put his heart into this one! I think the long hair redneck rock n roll son of Detroit is the Greatest!!!. He does Bad Co. Proud. Your Great Black Bob!!! Love Helen
  24. RK
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    great cd
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Blender
    40
    With this kind of self-pity, Kid Rock was better off staying shallow. [Jan 2004, p.110]
  2. It's one of the best hard-rock CDs you'll hear this year, carrying on the shitkicking tradition of Hank Williams Jr., ZZ Top, Guns n' Roses and Bad Company.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Ironically, the more Rock expresses his true self, the more generic he sounds. [28 Nov 2003, p.123]