User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StigSonsterudbraten
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    Brilliant album full of harmony and rythm that sticks to your Brain. Everything is packed in a delicate produced sound with a vocal so gently flowing on top of every song. The surprice of this Album makes it even better. Maybe I have to rate this album over the earlier ones....maybe.
  2. TomB
    Apr 10, 2009
    9
    Best album I've heard so far this year. The rare album where the second half is even better than the first - and the first half is great. Standout tracks include House of Mirrors, 10:03, Kingdom of Rust and Compulsion, but there's not a single bad track on the album. Compares favorably with all their other albums but I think is probably their best.
  3. nickw
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    Probably their best CD. only a couple of tracks are lukewarm for me and the rest are just jaw-droppingly good.
  4. LeahT
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    This album does not quite captivate like the band's first two, but it has beautiful moments of brilliance that warrant it a spectacular record regardless. Fans will not be disappointed in the growth of these lovable Mancunians and the potent, raw, emotion they imbue in their music. Doves for the win.
  5. Steve
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    Best album of the year so far. Doves are very underrated. This is probably their best.
  6. MojoP
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    At first I was going to give this record a 9, but as it went onit just kept getting better and better. Upon second listen, I was utterly convinced that Doves are in fact the greatest band and most interesting band in the world right now. There's a lot of great music out there and you can count Doves amongst it all. Highlights (not including the stunning two openers that everyone At first I was going to give this record a 9, but as it went onit just kept getting better and better. Upon second listen, I was utterly convinced that Doves are in fact the greatest band and most interesting band in the world right now. There's a lot of great music out there and you can count Doves amongst it all. Highlights (not including the stunning two openers that everyone should know by now) House of Mirrors, Compulsion and 10:03. Every song here has amazing atmospherics, melodies and musicianship. If you're tired of the loudness war and want true musical bliss, just get this record. Expand
  7. patrick
    Apr 8, 2009
    9
    Great album. I didn't hear previous albums but this is really great.
  8. TomK
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    There may not be any obvious singles on this album but the whole album fits together incredibly well. The best way to listen to it is from start to finish and and at the end you feel greatly rewarded.
  9. rick
    Apr 13, 2009
    9
    Best since Last Broadcast. Solid throughout.
  10. MasterMind
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    Amazing Album from start to finish.
  11. PedroF
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    This album is as close to perfect as I've seen since Animal Collective's "Merriweather Post Pavilion." It manages to at once be gloomy and hopeful, combining the best elements of dream-pop with those of prog-rock. The result is a sumptuous, slick album whose first seven tracks are a study in confidence, musical pluck, and the avant-garde, and whose final four are just icing on This album is as close to perfect as I've seen since Animal Collective's "Merriweather Post Pavilion." It manages to at once be gloomy and hopeful, combining the best elements of dream-pop with those of prog-rock. The result is a sumptuous, slick album whose first seven tracks are a study in confidence, musical pluck, and the avant-garde, and whose final four are just icing on the cake. An inspired, accomplished album, and Doves' greatest since the beautiful The Last Broadcast--and perhaps even superior to that. Expand
  12. ShaneM
    May 24, 2009
    9
    The most complete album I've heard since Iron & Wine's Shepherd's Dog. Their best album so far. Simply amazing.
  13. KaiserZ
    May 29, 2009
    6
    Glimpses of something more that didn't pan out is what this albumn feels like to me. Mixed in with a lot of "familiar" melodies is a couple rewarding moments but it feels more like I've been on this path before. Jetstream is a mess of a song and Compulsion is so Blondie-esque that it's distracting. Most of the albumn lacks the percussion pop of older Doves and mellows out Glimpses of something more that didn't pan out is what this albumn feels like to me. Mixed in with a lot of "familiar" melodies is a couple rewarding moments but it feels more like I've been on this path before. Jetstream is a mess of a song and Compulsion is so Blondie-esque that it's distracting. Most of the albumn lacks the percussion pop of older Doves and mellows out in areas instead of cranking it up. 10:03 and Outsiders inject some life in a Moody Blues stream of songs that don't go fast enough but at least don't drag. A hazy albumn for reflection--not inspiration. Expand
  14. JackP
    Apr 13, 2009
    9
    A complete vision of a Doves album. A proper record from start to finish without filler.
  15. JonahH
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    Feel good music for the reflective and weary.
  16. BarryJ
    May 23, 2009
    9
    An immense album of varied pace, texture and mood, full of simplky great songs and a superb, heavy sound. Definitely their best, most consistent album. It's only a shame the superb bonus track "Ship of Fools" didn't make it on.
  17. Nick
    Jun 26, 2009
    8
    Doves have not wasted their time making Kingdom Of Rust, and I haven't wasted my time listening to it.
  18. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    Reading other reviews on the day looks like I'm at odds with everyone else but here it goes....While it's not a bad album in general terms it's probably one of this bands poorest albums and a disappointment after Some Cities. It's a bit "more of the same" here without any of the memorable moments that were on their last couple of albums.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Whatever way you look at Kingdom Of Rust it’s a magnificent rock record, one which will delight the faithful and also surely see them pick up new devotees.
  2. Previous albums never quite lived up to the band's facility for knockout singles, but this one holds the attention.
  3. Kingdom of Rust is wonderfully dolorous, but when Doves rev up the tempos on tracks like 'The Outsiders,' they show they're not a total pity party.