La Cucaracha

  • Record Label: Rounder
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2007
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LennyF.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    I wasn't convinced the first or second time. Or even the third. But keep listening. La Cucaracha contains the best playing ever recorded by Ween. The band is tight, Deaner is in wicked form, bass and percussion are are tasty as hell. Every track is more than worthy of an honored place in the Ween canon. If you were ever a fan this is a must-have. Don't let anyone convince you I wasn't convinced the first or second time. Or even the third. But keep listening. La Cucaracha contains the best playing ever recorded by Ween. The band is tight, Deaner is in wicked form, bass and percussion are are tasty as hell. Every track is more than worthy of an honored place in the Ween canon. If you were ever a fan this is a must-have. Don't let anyone convince you that they've lost a step. Quite the opposite, they just keep getting better. Expand
  2. Giterdone
    Nov 2, 2007
    4
    This is by far the worst Ween album to date...I used to love these guys, but what the hell happened? no humor, crappy production, weak songs...no where near the highs of White Pepper or Quebec. major letdown. Time to pack it in boys.
  3. DavidG.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Grows on you like a fungus
  4. RogerC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Like Chocolate & Cheese (1994) and The Mollusc (1997), a genuine high point of human culture. Makes plain the vacuity of the vast majority of popular music. Mesmerizing.
  5. Tooter
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Easy to get into and doesn't fade. I am very pleased with this album.
  6. DavidB.
    Feb 20, 2008
    9
    It took a couple of spins before it hit me, this is an original record. Ive been a fan since the beginning and I think it's their best record yet. How many bands can be purely creative after so many years?
  7. DouglasS.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    WEEN~The greatest band of all time.
  8. RasL.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    Awesome Sound.
  9. TheDude
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Loved it from the first listen. Gotta love the overused vocoder in Spirit Walker. I laughed my ass off!
  10. AntF.
    Feb 12, 2008
    8
    I hope the reviewers from NME and Spin are working for free, because their "expert" opinions aren't worth a dime. Ween have always been misunderstood, and thankfully by mainstreamers. They are the type of band that exist on parody but somehow come away sounding original and progressive. Yes, they are all over the joint, but that makes their stuff all the more interesting. Bottom I hope the reviewers from NME and Spin are working for free, because their "expert" opinions aren't worth a dime. Ween have always been misunderstood, and thankfully by mainstreamers. They are the type of band that exist on parody but somehow come away sounding original and progressive. Yes, they are all over the joint, but that makes their stuff all the more interesting. Bottom line.....If you don't see how Mollusk could be a classic, then don't call yourself a music fan. Expand
  11. JasonP
    Jun 9, 2008
    2
    I'm a huge long, long time fan and i don't think it's time to pack it in. They take chances and when you do that you're not going to please everyone. I personally hate the record...i think it's horrible.
  12. AndrewB.
    Dec 4, 2007
    7
    Although this is not the best Ween album, it is a pretty solid release by the boys from New Hoope, Pa. I think Ween decided to go back to brown, if you know what I mean... La Cucaracha is a lot less melodic than the past two studio albums (White Pepper & Quebec) but still contains the eclectic styles, humor, darkness and tenderness that Ween fans have come to love. I would give this a 7.5 Although this is not the best Ween album, it is a pretty solid release by the boys from New Hoope, Pa. I think Ween decided to go back to brown, if you know what I mean... La Cucaracha is a lot less melodic than the past two studio albums (White Pepper & Quebec) but still contains the eclectic styles, humor, darkness and tenderness that Ween fans have come to love. I would give this a 7.5 or a 7.75 if I could but I guess I will settle w/ giving the album a 7. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    Everything they've done since C&C has been solid, but i think this is a significant step down in quality from all of these records. just not nearly as innovative or interesting as I'd expect from the brothers ween.
  14. treyb.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Long Live The Boognish!!!!!
  15. Sep 8, 2010
    5
    Not as good as The Friends EP, but still excellent. Wiggles between genres faster than ever, from cheerful disco pop to frantic, over produced country to corny love songs. The only low point is the annoying 'Blue Balloon', which lags after awhile. Double soaked in island love, with a hint of rock and party fun. One of Ween's best studio album yet, and hopefully it'll only get better.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. La Cucaracha is the sound of Ween cutting loose, reveling in the lower budget and expectations an indie label brings, and playing music that simply sounds good.
  2. Ween fans have come to expect the unexpected from this act, but even diehards will be thrilled by the sheer musical schizophrenia of La Cucaracha.
  3. On La Cucaracha, possibly out of a debt to realism, the duo has mostly chosen material founded on notions of placidity (or, in the case of "Friends", erased much of the original color), purposefully disallowing their own music its previous vitality.