• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 8, 2011
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 112
  2. Negative: 23 out of 112

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    Not his best album by far, but still a relatively good album compared to everything else out there. Words I Never Said and All Black Everything are the best songs; The Show Goes On is good for a chart-topper. MDMA is horrid, however; he messes up every song he is on.
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a longtime Lupe fan, it's difficult to express just how disappointed I am with this album. Let's start with the most obvious; the production is utter crap. These beats are god awful. Waiting for this album for 3 and 1/2 years, I expected an album that would outshine even the transcendent The Cool from 2007, not an uninspired mix of generic electro beats and shallow lyrics, by Lupe's standards.
    Atlantic tried to make a billboard rap star with this album. Fortunately, it will never work. Not with this formula. Lupe tells in all his interview about how he was pressured to Dumb it Down on this album. Atlantic didn't want the unconventional, beautiful beats, or the deep, inspiring lyricism from Food & Liquor and The Cool that melted the rap scene like golden tears from the sun.
    I read a review that describes the majority of the songs as Lupe being a guest on his own album. This is spot on. Longtime fans can see that Lupe still has the gift, but its clear that for some reason he is holding back from digging too deep. Whereas The Cool had entire songs devoted to issues like child soldiers, afterlife, even healthy eating, we see the "conscious" songs on Lasers tiptoe over controversial subjects, one line at a time, never getting too sophisticated for radio rap fans to understand, never forcing you to think critically or to sit down and analyze his words.
    The hypocrisy of course is Lupe's own dogma under fire. Read the Lasers maxim, and try to pretend like this album adheres to it.
    There are a few redeeming, bittersweet moments on Lasers, namely All Black Everything, Till I Get There, and Beautiful Lasers. And in fact, if this were Lupe's first album, I probably would have given it 2.5 stars, but Lupe can do so much better. He WILL do better, if he works out his problems with Atlantic.
    Instead of copping Lasers, my advice would be to listen to the awesome material Lupe has dropped since The Cool, such as the Enemy of the State mixtape, SLR, Shining Down, Fire, & What U Want, and just wait until Lupe's next album. After all, he claims he has enough material to release another album, and hopes to do so by the end of the year. That's highly believable having absorbed this pile.

    FNF UP
    Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2011
    1
    This album is in no way comparable to his first two albums. As well as his beats sounding like they belong on a Ke$ha album, his once lyrical genius has been dumbed-down to the same standard as Taio Cruz.
    Perhaps the only chance at redemption is All Black Everything, commanding the same respect as any song off his last two albums, but it is not enough to stop this album and possibly Lupe
    This album is in no way comparable to his first two albums. As well as his beats sounding like they belong on a Ke$ha album, his once lyrical genius has been dumbed-down to the same standard as Taio Cruz.
    Perhaps the only chance at redemption is All Black Everything, commanding the same respect as any song off his last two albums, but it is not enough to stop this album and possibly Lupe himself dropping out of the league of hip-hop's greats and into that of any other over produced, under educated rapper.
    At one point in this album Lupe says "Failure's my last name, Never's my first one." We now know that as well as a sell out he is a liar.
    Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2011
    1
    Lupe's latest effort is not even in the same realm as his previous two LPs. The production is pop-y, mainstream, wrought with auto-tune. Lupe's notable lyrical genius is also lacking on most tracks. Soundtrakk (who produced most of Food and Liqueur, as well as The Cool) is sorely missed. Atlantic and Lupe really screwed this one up with delays and the tracks they picked to be on the record.
  5. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    The album isn't as good as Lupe's previous efforts The Cool or Food and Liquor, that doesn't mean it isn't a good album, i think this is easily the best and most inspired rap album put out this decade, and is the best I have heard in 4 years, despite some of the production the album is top notch and the lyrically Lupe should be in everyone's top 5 after hearing his 3 major record label releases
  6. NJR
    Mar 8, 2011
    5
    Anything above 60 is just too high for this awful piece of work. The production sounds like it would be more suited to Kesha or Flo Rida, Lupe is really un focused for the majority of the LP, All Black Everything & Words I Never Said being the only two exeptions and the later was completely destroyed by awful production! Lupe can blame Atlantic all he wants but nobody forced him to releaseAnything above 60 is just too high for this awful piece of work. The production sounds like it would be more suited to Kesha or Flo Rida, Lupe is really un focused for the majority of the LP, All Black Everything & Words I Never Said being the only two exeptions and the later was completely destroyed by awful production! Lupe can blame Atlantic all he wants but nobody forced him to release this and it's his name on the cover at the end of the day, this has seriously tarnished his otherwise brilliant career. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2011
    5
    Disappointed after only recently becoming a Lupe Fiasco fan and buying his first two records. I really like The Show Goes On and Words I Never Said, but apart from these there really aren't any other standout tracks to ride home about. And by the sounds of Lupe Fiasco's attitude towards this album, it doesn't sound like his heart was in it.
  8. Mar 14, 2011
    0
    I've never been able to skip a single Lupe track before, but now that's changed. Where do I even begin? This third LP is full of lazy, generic sounding dial-it-in electro production. "Break the Chain" sounds like throw away trance music slowed down. Where is Soundtrakk!? Where is Matthew Santos? These guests are awful. I don't know who Skylar Grey is but her voice makes me want to breakI've never been able to skip a single Lupe track before, but now that's changed. Where do I even begin? This third LP is full of lazy, generic sounding dial-it-in electro production. "Break the Chain" sounds like throw away trance music slowed down. Where is Soundtrakk!? Where is Matthew Santos? These guests are awful. I don't know who Skylar Grey is but her voice makes me want to break things....so I did just that and snapped the CD in half and threw it in the garbage where it belongs. e p i c fail Expand
  9. Mar 14, 2011
    3
    Lupe Fiascos Lasers really hard to judge when what Lupe can do. If you have heard" Food and Liquor" or "The Cool" you would expect much more than what Lasers is. If you know who Lupe Fiasco is (who haven't after "Touch the Sky") then you would think that Lasers i a HUUUUUUGE letdown. But if you never heard of him it's a album that's worthy of 8-9-10 maybe, but when the label ties his handsLupe Fiascos Lasers really hard to judge when what Lupe can do. If you have heard" Food and Liquor" or "The Cool" you would expect much more than what Lasers is. If you know who Lupe Fiasco is (who haven't after "Touch the Sky") then you would think that Lasers i a HUUUUUUGE letdown. But if you never heard of him it's a album that's worthy of 8-9-10 maybe, but when the label ties his hands as much as they have, (They even told him not to get to lyrical on "The Show Goes On", a song they gave him themselves) it pulls him down. 5.0 stars overall, 1 to the label but 10 to Lupes lyric Expand
  10. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Sure, it's a bit more "mainstream" than Lupe's usual works of art but is this really a bad thing? Every song on the album still has Lupe's lyrical genius and silky smooth flow, People overreact like Lupe never had pop choruses in his songs before. Critics seem to be afraid to say that they like the album simply because people already labeled it mainstream and they're just afraid they'llSure, it's a bit more "mainstream" than Lupe's usual works of art but is this really a bad thing? Every song on the album still has Lupe's lyrical genius and silky smooth flow, People overreact like Lupe never had pop choruses in his songs before. Critics seem to be afraid to say that they like the album simply because people already labeled it mainstream and they're just afraid they'll lose their credibility, The highlights are Letting Go and Beautiful Lasers which are incredibly emotional ballads. Even the low point, I dont wanna care right now, although lacking substance, is very catchy and addictive. Even Lupe's worst songs are better and more intelligent than any other song released in the rap market. People, stop being so narrow-minded. You gave Kanye's new album a 90 and all did was autotune how much he wanted to have sex with a bird. - ash Expand
  11. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Honestly, I can't understand all the negativity around this album. This is seriously the best album I've heard in a long time. Yeah it's obviously not as good as Lupe's first two, but I'm pretty sure that would be close to impossible to achieve! Still a fantastic album and definitely worth a listen. My personal favorites are "Words I Never Said" and "Out Of My Head".
  12. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    The only reason people are saying the album is bad is because Lupe didnt get to pick all the songs that were on here. I kno atlantic records screwed him over. But the truth of the matter is that all the songs on the Album are made by Lupe. And they are all great. There are about 4 or 5 tracks that are extremely exceptional. Words I Never Said, The Show Goes On, All Black Everything, andThe only reason people are saying the album is bad is because Lupe didnt get to pick all the songs that were on here. I kno atlantic records screwed him over. But the truth of the matter is that all the songs on the Album are made by Lupe. And they are all great. There are about 4 or 5 tracks that are extremely exceptional. Words I Never Said, The Show Goes On, All Black Everything, and Beutiful Lasers. All i am saying is that this is a very good album and i dont get how Kanyes newest album is getting better ratings then Lasers. Buy Lasers if u r a true Lupe fan support him its great!! Expand
  13. Mar 8, 2011
    3
    Lupe Fiasco's LASERS is a long step down from his previous works. In his interviews he spoke of how Atlantic had a large hand in the direction and sound of this album. Gone are the producers he built a great rapport with like Soundtrakk and instead we get a crew of no name producers that don't mesh with Lupe Fiasco's style or message. Rife with excessive auto-tune use and generic pop rockLupe Fiasco's LASERS is a long step down from his previous works. In his interviews he spoke of how Atlantic had a large hand in the direction and sound of this album. Gone are the producers he built a great rapport with like Soundtrakk and instead we get a crew of no name producers that don't mesh with Lupe Fiasco's style or message. Rife with excessive auto-tune use and generic pop rock and electro production, this album sounds like a dime a dozen top 40 record with no identity. The hooks that Lupe is backed with are obnoxious, mindless and overbearing and diminish any serious message Lupe may have been trying to send. Even lyrically, Lupe Fiasco does not shine, his word play and poetic elements are usually very basic and uncreative. Clearly he acquiesced when he was asked by Atlantic to dumb down his lyrics and style. There are a few tracks that are not hampered by overproduction and blaring hooks that desperately scream "play me on the radio". All Black Everything and Till I Get There have a more classic sound that sounds more compatible to Lupe Fiasco's style. Often however, Lupe sounds disinterested in his role and is not at all engaging. Lupe Fiasco in his interviews stated that he didn't enjoy making the album, why would he expect us to enjoy listening to it? Expand
  14. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Lasers is an excellent album, but for a Lupe Fiasco album, it may disappoint some loyal fans. This album is mostly being criticized because of it's more mainstream sound; the production and the pop-ish, autotuned hooks is the source. Yeah, I miss the genius production of Soundtrakk from his previous albums (Food & Liquor and The Cool) too, however that doesn't mean this albums productionLasers is an excellent album, but for a Lupe Fiasco album, it may disappoint some loyal fans. This album is mostly being criticized because of it's more mainstream sound; the production and the pop-ish, autotuned hooks is the source. Yeah, I miss the genius production of Soundtrakk from his previous albums (Food & Liquor and The Cool) too, however that doesn't mean this albums production is horrible which is just as good in my opinion ("Coming Up" might have my favorite production on the album). Some of the hooks are pretty bad, especially the generic Trey Songz hook on "Out of My Head" and the unnecessary auto-tune on some of 'em. The lyrics, are another story. The lyrics are still very intelligent, very Lupe, and overshadow the faults on most of the tracks. So, this is still an amazing album but some long time Lupe fans may be disappointed in the albums new sound. Expand
  15. Mar 8, 2011
    6
    Stuck in record label limbo for over a year, Lupe Fiasco's third album, Lasers, has finally been released. Lupe himself doesn't particularly like Lasers, but I was excited to finally be able to hear a new full-length release from him. Unfortunately, the album fails to live up to his previous two albums. Lasers starts well enough with the first three tracks being some of the album's best.Stuck in record label limbo for over a year, Lupe Fiasco's third album, Lasers, has finally been released. Lupe himself doesn't particularly like Lasers, but I was excited to finally be able to hear a new full-length release from him. Unfortunately, the album fails to live up to his previous two albums. Lasers starts well enough with the first three tracks being some of the album's best. The music goes downhill from there, though. The middle block of songs just sound way overproduced with auto-tune and synth noises in abundance. In some ways, this release reminds me of B.o.B.'s The Adventures of Bobby Ray in that it pairs a talented MC with a bunch of pop music and flavor-of-month featured artists in order to make it more accessible. Luckily, the album rebounds slightly towards the end with "All Black Everything" and "Never Forget You". Three and half years and countless delays later, Lasers is an okay album but is a complete letdown mostly because we know that Lupe is capable of so much more. http://www.neato-music.com Expand
  16. Mar 10, 2011
    6
    Some excellent songs like ABE and Letting Go. But the production is too harsh such as in TSGO and State Run Radio, and the hooks are very hit and miss. Lyrically Lupe is still very good, but not on par to F&L, and at times he seems very bored. Still some like-able tracks keep it above average.
  17. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    This is a great album. This album has something from every music listener. It might not be as lyrical as his previous album but the lyrics are still top notch. This is a must buy.
  18. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Yes the vehicle is more commercial than the previous efforts but listen to the message. Lupe's message is one of hope and despair. If you're not feelin' it you're not listening.
  19. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    Lasers isn't a horrible as some are making it seem. It's actually good but definitely not Lupe Fiasco's style. As Lupe said on multiple occasions Atlantic kept putting there hands in the mix forcing him to switch up songs and choruses. Which lead to an album that isn't very Lupe. But there are some songs that you can tell are all Lupe such All Black Everything,The Show Goes On, & Words ILasers isn't a horrible as some are making it seem. It's actually good but definitely not Lupe Fiasco's style. As Lupe said on multiple occasions Atlantic kept putting there hands in the mix forcing him to switch up songs and choruses. Which lead to an album that isn't very Lupe. But there are some songs that you can tell are all Lupe such All Black Everything,The Show Goes On, & Words I Should Have Never Said.It sucks because when you hear these songs they give a glimpse on what what Lasers could have been.Like I said the rest of the album isn't horrible but it's not this artist. So before you blame Lupe or call him a sell out, look up the details on the long & tedious road Lupe went down to get this album out. Lasers started off as the next awesome album for Lupe but ended up a road block. So for all the Lupe fans that are saying he sold out or didn't care that false. It's like if you create something but for the next couple of years people keep altering your work and adding their own details, of course it's going to look like your heart was not in it. Mostly because your true work was diminished. Atlantic basically made the album for him. But the good thing is Lasers is finally out and Lupe can work on his next project. Which hopefully is all him. Expand
  20. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    People are completely overreacting to this album. Every single song, regardless of how "poppy or mainstream" people claim they sound, the lyrics are still more relevant, intelligent, and smoother than any rap song I've heard any other artist produce. If we didnt know who Lupe was or give him such high standards, this album would win the Grammys. Sure, its the weakest of the three butPeople are completely overreacting to this album. Every single song, regardless of how "poppy or mainstream" people claim they sound, the lyrics are still more relevant, intelligent, and smoother than any rap song I've heard any other artist produce. If we didnt know who Lupe was or give him such high standards, this album would win the Grammys. Sure, its the weakest of the three but people shouldnt blast it just to feel more accepted by the "underground indie kids" Expand
  21. Mar 17, 2011
    0
    Lupe's latest effort is not even in the same realm as his previous two LPs. The production is pop-y, mainstream, wrought with auto-tune. Lupe's notable lyrical genius is also lacking on most tracks. Soundtrakk (who produced most of Food and Liqueur, as well as The Cool) is sorely missed. Atlantic and Lupe really screwed this one up with delays and the tracks they picked to be on the record.
  22. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    Great album. I haven't heard his older stuff but this album got me into him and i like it a lot. It is a bit mainstream but is has a great feel to the music and the lyrics has meaning unlike crappy lil wayne
  23. Mar 12, 2011
    5
    I am disappointed of Lupe. His did not deliver his best on this album. The production was horrible and the guest stars was boring. I know that he can do better than is. "Food & Liquor" and "The Cool" was awesome, but this album, no! The only track that was good was "All Black Everything". I hope he takes his time on his next album and focuses.
  24. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    Although the production is for the most part bad, the album still has amazing lyrics, so if you can look past the poor production its a great album, just focus on the lyrics instead of the beats. Truly a great album
  25. Mar 8, 2011
    5
    Lupe Fiasco's "Lasers" has been on the delay for three years due to problems concerning the music distributor. Judging by Lupe Fiasco's live performances, mixtapes, and past studio albums the hype behind this album is high; this is because Lupe Fiasco is a conscious rapper in the 21st Century who is so versatile, original, and intellectually gifted. I was moderately disappointed when I gotLupe Fiasco's "Lasers" has been on the delay for three years due to problems concerning the music distributor. Judging by Lupe Fiasco's live performances, mixtapes, and past studio albums the hype behind this album is high; this is because Lupe Fiasco is a conscious rapper in the 21st Century who is so versatile, original, and intellectually gifted. I was moderately disappointed when I got a chance to listen to this album after I preordered. It all seems this album released due to bare compromise how there were only three to four songs that kept the original theme that Lupe shared with the fans years ago. "State Run Radio", "Words I Never Said", "All Black Everything", and "Letting Go" are those tracks that share the theme the fans were looking for. The rest of the album is plain ole' mainline POP which serve no purpose to listen to if you're wanting to listen to Lupe, period. Let's hope that Lupe Fiasco gets out of his contract with Atlantic Records and finally go independent because they screwed him over big time. Expand
  26. Mar 12, 2011
    5
    This album reminds me of how Eminem released Relapse, it was rushed and it showed. Well, Lasers may have been rushed since the album was finished way before release. The Auto-tune used in this album is so unnecessary and the beats drown out most thought that Lupe's lyrics usually leave you with. I feel like I could listen to Lupe's 2 Previous Studio albums and recognize a clear purpose,This album reminds me of how Eminem released Relapse, it was rushed and it showed. Well, Lasers may have been rushed since the album was finished way before release. The Auto-tune used in this album is so unnecessary and the beats drown out most thought that Lupe's lyrics usually leave you with. I feel like I could listen to Lupe's 2 Previous Studio albums and recognize a clear purpose, I'm not sure this album has one. The Manifesto and this ALBUM are like polar opposites and the few breaks between horrible choruses are the only time Lupe stands out for better (All Black Everything) and for worse (Til I Get There). I bought this album and after listening I realized why it was on sale. I will support this album cause I would have paid for Enemy Of the State: A Love Story or if SLR was on iTunes. Every artist in this era seems to have an auto-tuned covered album bleeding with murdered creativity and oozing conformity, I see this as Lupe's. Hopefully he can bounce back like Em did on Recovery. This Album isn't L.ove A.lways S.hines E.very time R.emember 2 S.mile.... its just Lasers. Expand
  27. Mar 17, 2011
    0
    Lupe Fiasco's LASERS is a long step down from his previous works. In his interviews he spoke of how Atlantic had a large hand in the direction and sound of this album. Gone are the producers he built a great rapport with like Soundtrakk and instead we get a crew of no name producers that don't mesh with Lupe Fiasco's style or message. Rife with excessive auto-tune use and generic pop rock â
  28. Mar 17, 2011
    0
    I've never been able to skip a single Lupe track before, but now that's changed. Where do I even begin? This third LP is full of lazy, generic sounding dial-it-in electro production. "Break the Chain" sounds like throw away trance music slowed down. Where is Soundtrakk!? Where is Matthew Santos? These guests are awful. I don't know who Skylar Grey is but her voice makes me want to break th
  29. Mar 17, 2011
    0
    Lupe's latest effort is not even in the same realm as his previous two LPs. The production is pop-y, mainstream, wrought with auto-tune. Lupe's notable lyrical genius is also lacking on most tracks. Soundtrakk (who produced most of Food and Liqueur, as well as The Cool) is sorely missed. Atlantic and Lupe really screwed this one up with delays and the tracks they picked to be on the record.
  30. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    Anything above 60 is just too high for this awful piece of work. The production sounds like it would be more suited to Kesha or Flo Rida, Lupe is really un focused for the majority of the LP, All Black Everything & Words I Never Said being the only two exeptions and the later was completely destroyed by awful production! Lupe can blame Atlantic all he wants but nobody forced him to release
  31. Mar 21, 2011
    0
    I am really disappointed with this album. The lyrics are decent but nothing on par with his first two albums. Production is just horrible. The one song i truly loved was all black everything. That was about it
  32. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    Lupe Fiasco had the hip-hop world in his grasp with the release of his first two albums, the ecstatic "Food & Liquor" and the lyrically monumental "The Cool". After years of silence, album changes, and teasers, the much anticipated "Lasers" finally came out. Has he created a triangle or immaculate records? Well, no. "Lasers" does not live up to (incredibly overblown) expectations. However,Lupe Fiasco had the hip-hop world in his grasp with the release of his first two albums, the ecstatic "Food & Liquor" and the lyrically monumental "The Cool". After years of silence, album changes, and teasers, the much anticipated "Lasers" finally came out. Has he created a triangle or immaculate records? Well, no. "Lasers" does not live up to (incredibly overblown) expectations. However, it's still an enjoyable album. Lyrically, Lu's dumbed it down (oh irony!), but his message is still clear and straight-forward, easily enough for mainstream audiences to grasp. Some gems on the album, "Till I Get There" or "Coming Up", are very old-skool Lupe; reassuring lyrics laid over a wavy beat. To keep the anarchy-theme in order, "Words I Never Said" and "All Black Everything" may be the most politically charged songs on here, the former screaming profinity at the state of the world while the latter viewed from the perspective of a racially-profiled dream. It's all very compelling, really. However, the weak spots on the album make their way up too often. "Out Of My Head", "State Run Radio" and "I Don't Wanna Care Right Now", thanks to some particularly distracting choruses, are very hard to get into, while "Break The Chain" or "Beautiful Lasers" could've been amazing if not worked on a bit more. Overall, it's a decent effort. However, Lupe seriously needs to reconsider ditching Atlantic and getting back to his roots. You can accept "Lasers" for it's good points (great messages) or let the bad overpower it (production isn't well suited, and featured artists take the spotlight). Right now, you either love this album or hate it. Only time will tell if "Lasers" beams, or flickers into black. Collapse
  33. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    This album is no comparison with either of his previous albums. It has been destroyed by electro-beats designed for radio listeners, and lupe's weak lyrics. In fact the only reason this album scored 5 is because of a few amazing tracks hidden in the album, Namely Words I Never Said, and All Black Everything. the fact lupe stated he hated his own album, and that atlantic records made itThis album is no comparison with either of his previous albums. It has been destroyed by electro-beats designed for radio listeners, and lupe's weak lyrics. In fact the only reason this album scored 5 is because of a few amazing tracks hidden in the album, Namely Words I Never Said, and All Black Everything. the fact lupe stated he hated his own album, and that atlantic records made it hard for him to release it redeems this half-baked project a little. However this is not lupe's best work and much of what made him great is very absent.

    Lupe's Comments on Lasers:
    http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/news/id.14228/title.lupe-fiasco-explains-how-compromise-affected-lasers

    http://www.complex.com/music/2011/02/interview-lupe-fiasco-hates-lasers
    Expand
  34. Jun 4, 2011
    5
    First of all a big **** you to Atlantic Records for controlling this record. This is what happens when a Corporate Company controls an Album and this is why the skill of Mainstream Hip Hop is declining. Hip Hop used to be about expression now all these Executives are ruining it. Words I never said, All Black Everything were decent, but I want to imagine what would of happened if AtlanticFirst of all a big **** you to Atlantic Records for controlling this record. This is what happens when a Corporate Company controls an Album and this is why the skill of Mainstream Hip Hop is declining. Hip Hop used to be about expression now all these Executives are ruining it. Words I never said, All Black Everything were decent, but I want to imagine what would of happened if Atlantic Records DIDN'T interfere. Expand
  35. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    Yes, it's disappointing but people need to stop and accept the album for what it is: a solid pop album. The limited background that I have on the process that went into making this album makes it that much more interesting. I must say that the album drags a little bit in the middle, though. Download "Words I Never Said" and "All Black Everything."
  36. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    food & liquor > lasers > the cool.

    No idea why people are hating this album, took a couple of listens to get into, but now its in my regular playlist.
  37. Jul 2, 2011
    7
    Unfortunately, Lupe didn't seem to have as much creative control over this album, and it definitely showed. Compared to his previous albums, Lasers maintains the same lyricist we all know as Lupe Fiasco, but the songs, beats, featured artist, and hooks for the most part felt... forced. Most fans of Fiasco have stuck with him throughout his entire career, considering the fact that it hasUnfortunately, Lupe didn't seem to have as much creative control over this album, and it definitely showed. Compared to his previous albums, Lasers maintains the same lyricist we all know as Lupe Fiasco, but the songs, beats, featured artist, and hooks for the most part felt... forced. Most fans of Fiasco have stuck with him throughout his entire career, considering the fact that it has only spanned 3 albums. While Lasers isn't horrible, it isn't what most expected of him. With the constant "mainstream sounding" beats and hooks, the album didn't seem like the same Lupe we've all grown to know and love. While this album isn't bad... it could be better. And that "better" album most likely will be his next album: Food & Liquor 2. Expand
  38. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    I hate when rappers rap about Politics. But Lupe made a great point on what the U.S. is doing today. This album is good but I dont wanna care right now i didnt like. But the overall the album is good
  39. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    it's not horrible. some songs are actually good, especially the singles. all black everything could be the best song lupe every did. while some songs are just blah
  40. Jun 20, 2013
    4
    Lasers is a weak album from such a talented artist as Lupe. His messages are still here, so his lyrics are great, but the beats just do not work at all. They sound like beats that you will hear on a Kidz Bop CD. "Letting Go", "Words I Never Said", "The Show Goes On", and "All Black Everything" are the few songs that you need.
  41. Jun 14, 2013
    2
    I was actually shocked by how bad this thing was. The only good track is "Things I Never Said" and everything else ranges from weak to just plain awful. Commercial pop-rap at it's worst. The iTunes bonus tracks, "I'm Beamin" and "Shining Down", which I initially thought were going to be on the actual album, were actually pretty solid tracks....which makes how terrible the final version ofI was actually shocked by how bad this thing was. The only good track is "Things I Never Said" and everything else ranges from weak to just plain awful. Commercial pop-rap at it's worst. The iTunes bonus tracks, "I'm Beamin" and "Shining Down", which I initially thought were going to be on the actual album, were actually pretty solid tracks....which makes how terrible the final version of this album was even more perplexing Expand
  42. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    Some don't like this album, and I can see why. Lasers does try to delve into mainstream. However, it doesn't go to far and retains Lupe's trademark lyricism. Second to food and liquor 2
  43. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    Lupe seems to have accepted that Lasers is not the masterpiece he originally set out to make and is prepared to move on. Maybe we should follow his lead.
  2. 40
    Save for the brief reprieves of the barbed, anti-everything 'Words I Never Said' and the historical rewrite of 'All Black Everything', Lasers walks a fine line between conscious hip-hop and sleepwalking.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    So the political nails are hidden deeply enough in the candy that sometimes it's hard to tell whether the juxtaposition is truly bracingly subversive or oddly self-defeating. Depending on your mood or disposition, maybe it's neither, either or both. A musical Rorschach test if there ever was one.