Last Summer - Eleanor Friedberger
Last Summer Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Fiery Furnaces member makes her solo debut of emotionally-moving experimental pop.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    100
    It straddles that difficult line between accessible and adventurous, making for a fine stopgap between Fiery Furnaces records and an excellent summer album regardless of the year.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    80
    Last Summer pulls off the impressive feat of being luxuriantly listenable while retaining Friedberger's avant-garde roots.
  3. 80
    Friedberger has a way of nearly speaking her vocals. With Last Summer, this works to her advantage.
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    Wonky, wordy, connective - a Tapestry for the Williamsburg set.[Dec. 2011, p.93]
  5. Jul 12, 2011
    79
    From an artist whose mind and appetites have always ranged so freely, such a cohesive, uncluttered document is doubly revealing.
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Its incoherence might prove a bit frustrating, but Eleanor has proved that she can do perfectly well away from her sibling.
  7. Dec 22, 2011
    40
    The highlights are outweighed by tracks such as Glitter Gold Year, a half-formed sketch of jabbing bass and meandering riffs. [Jan. 2012 p. 120]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    I love this album I love Eleanor's voice and delivery I didn't buy this album when it first came out because I couldn't make head nor tailsI love this album I love Eleanor's voice and delivery I didn't buy this album when it first came out because I couldn't make head nor tails out of the reviews I read They seemed to be positive without actually being positive if that makes any sense at all Bought it because I noticed it on several end of year lists So happy I did!! An extremely pleasant way to spend forty minutes! Catchy melodies interesting stories wonderful rhythms Perhaps to a certain extent the fact that it is low key prevented reviewers from feeling the gush necessary to giving it a sparkling review I have no such qualms It's like a garment one purchases that fits so well both physically and psychically one can't imagine how one had lived without it My only complaint would be that a few tracks seem to end to quickly I wish they had been given a little more instrumental workout especially the closing track "Early Earthquake" or maybe I just hate for the cd to end Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    This is the Pauls Boutique of the 2011. This album is not getting nearly enough attention, but over time I think it will garner more praise.This is the Pauls Boutique of the 2011. This album is not getting nearly enough attention, but over time I think it will garner more praise. Its goodness is subtle. The songs are amazing, the production is smart, warm without being too slick. Its got a real 70's vibe without trying to be overtly retro. The music and lyrics are perfectly matched. A perfect balance between the ironic and the earnest. Its a coherent album that plays very much as an album, but yet has the obvious singles (Roosevelt Island, My Mistakes). Eleanor makes indie funk and AM GOLD without it being ironic. That's pretty amazing, and the songs are narrative, not stories per se, but interesting enough for you to want ot listen and make out the lyrics. Collapse

Related Articles

  1. The Freshman 15: 2011's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2011's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 6, 2011
    Which new artists impressed critics the most in 2011? Find out inside, where we rank the 15 best-reviewed debut albums of the year.