• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Aug 26, 2008
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 60
  2. Negative: 4 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LukeB.
    Aug 27, 2008
    Album Is Straight Classic - and the defining track is "angel" ft common, which will go down on history.
  2. PaulH.
    Aug 26, 2008
    Classic album, one of the best gangsta rap albums ever made. You get that Cali feeling and so much more.
  3. Juan
    Aug 26, 2008
    The West coast is back. State of Emergency is dropping the Cali Tracks. LAX Files keeps Games style on the front. This album be hot son.
  4. GusN.
    Aug 27, 2008
    Near classic album. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10 is at times excessive namedropping
  5. NateN.
    Aug 28, 2008
    I got this cd tuesday and cant stop listening to me the best track is LAX files and people bring up the nba name dropping name dropping to me is the names not meaning nothing but he uses similies to describe the names and all the songs are good.
  6. BeauG.
    Sep 19, 2008
    There are alot of hatters out there. game does a solid job on this album. I haven't taken LAX out of the cd deck in my car for 5 days now.
  7. ImrazK.
    Aug 27, 2008
    For the fans of west coast rap, lyricism and not selling out to be commercial this man is undeniable
  8. Homerr.
    Aug 28, 2008
    Lax is the best cd That THE Game has put out his reviews seem to be weak cause the world is into the love and club songs now. Keep it gangsta.
  9. Feb 4, 2012
    Great album and guests. who knew Nas & Common would be on the album. This album is worth listening to and buying. Game keep making more classics and bring back the West coast (Im from the east coast)
  10. Apr 22, 2015
    Yet another near-perfect West Coast gangsta rap album by Game, who manages to keep up with his sharpness, aggressiveness and style on the mic. Even with the departure of Dre and 50 as producers, the beats are still dope as ever and the original Cali sound is still blaring through your headphones.
  11. WillP
    Sep 3, 2008
    A solid album, I don't see what beef everyone has with this album. Maybe it isn't as inspired as his previous two albums, but it is definitely worth buying at least to bump for fun. If you get pleasure from an album, that's all you can ask for, and these stuck up critics can go EAT A DICK.
  12. JimF.
    Aug 29, 2008
    Unfortunately, not as good as the previous albums--something missing. My Life is the star, while plenty of dogs and many mediocre tracks. Overall, compared to Kanye, Common, and Lupe the gansta act is played out. Not enough originality for my liking.
  13. PatrickC.
    Aug 27, 2008
    I give him 2 for spelling his name correctly. Honestly: this must be some kind of record for name-dropping. This is among the least relevant and most derivative of any album this year, regardless of genre. GAME OVER.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Add the "Jam on It" sample producer Nottz lays on "Ya Heard," the sultry backing track Scott Storch designed for "Let Us Live," and a superstar guest list that's a mile long, and this scattershot album is easy to recommend despite its flaws.
  2. The Game goes surprisingly mellow in comparison to his first two efforts.
  3. Problem is, much of this record is just Game keeping up with the Joneses: everything you'd expect from a 2008 rap album is here (Lil' Wayne guest spot; boring, '80s-styled Kanye track), and the stuff that makes him unique seems harder than ever to get at.