User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Intimate, hurtful and achingly beautiful. A truly excellent album, that needs a open heart to listen to it. It engages the listener in a personal journey. The sound is grainy, but sometimes has clear electric beats that accompany it greatly.
  2. ChristianP.
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    This is a really strong album. I enjoy it more than the Deerhunter album. The vocals are lovely and the music is hauntingly beautiful -- I suppose I had low expectations, but this is a solid album.
  3. NHarpham
    Feb 24, 2008
    9
    Cryptograms snuck up on me and beat me over the back of my head. I had no idea how powerful that album would be, in fact I didn't like it the first few times through. Most top tier albums are that way for me. So I can happily say that while I don't like this a lot on initial listen, I didn't like most of my all-time faves on initial listen. But there is just enough there to Cryptograms snuck up on me and beat me over the back of my head. I had no idea how powerful that album would be, in fact I didn't like it the first few times through. Most top tier albums are that way for me. So I can happily say that while I don't like this a lot on initial listen, I didn't like most of my all-time faves on initial listen. But there is just enough there to keep me coming back again. So many great albums aren't instantly likable. The albums that are instantly likable usually have a short shelf life. I'm really excited to unlock the secrets here. Expand
  4. HügoT.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Step into the world of boundless imagination. As the Album plays, you can feel as it pours through the whole body. Slowly like a dope dream. Its a magical down tempo. All lies in its playfulness, which is the key how to get along with the sound full of psychedelia and experimentality.
  5. AndyL.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    It's ambience with a touch of playfullness, genius.
  6. AntonS.
    Feb 23, 2008
    9
    Wonderful and unusual!
  7. PaulC.
    Feb 23, 2008
    6
    Certain types of music tend to be overvalued on metacritic (see The Field, Burial, etc.). The new album from Atlas Sound falls into this category. Listening to this album is a forgettable experience. It's not that it's bad--there are moments that are quite pleasant--it's just that none of the music stands out in anyway. I kept waiting for a song on this album to really Certain types of music tend to be overvalued on metacritic (see The Field, Burial, etc.). The new album from Atlas Sound falls into this category. Listening to this album is a forgettable experience. It's not that it's bad--there are moments that are quite pleasant--it's just that none of the music stands out in anyway. I kept waiting for a song on this album to really break out but it never did. I'm sure I'll listen to this album a few more times, but will I be listening to it in June? Not likely, and if an album has a shelf-life of a couple months in rotation, well frankly, that's not worth an 80+ rating in my book. Expand
  8. DavidR.
    Feb 23, 2008
    5
    The best album of the year? Doesn't Delusions of Inadequacy know it's early February? If anybody deserves an 'album of the year' honor this early it's the sweater-wearing afropop punks Vampire Weekend.
  9. AdamE.
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    Near perfect record, I think. Great pop songs, so delicate, beautifully lo-fi, lots of hiss and ambient noise. Very decadent. Fits in nicely with the Velvet Underground/Sonic Youth/My Bloody Valentine tradition (as many have mentioned). It's also hard to ignore some of the parts that are reminiscent of the no-wave scene. One influence that I think has been overlooked is the quieter, Near perfect record, I think. Great pop songs, so delicate, beautifully lo-fi, lots of hiss and ambient noise. Very decadent. Fits in nicely with the Velvet Underground/Sonic Youth/My Bloody Valentine tradition (as many have mentioned). It's also hard to ignore some of the parts that are reminiscent of the no-wave scene. One influence that I think has been overlooked is the quieter, earlier, more sublime Pumpkins stuff. Deerhunter's great, but Atlas Sound is better. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Under The Radar
    60
    At times, it's as moody and transporting as great film music, but, fat too often, these songs never materialize into anything more substantial than vapor. [Winter 2008, p.80]
  2. 90
    Cold and sweet all at once while perched atop a reef of moody Krautrock, Let the Blind Lead has a progression that melts more than it floats.
  3. The music married to these wonderful lyrics is touching, gorgeous and stunning and there is no doubt in my mind that Atlas Sound has created, arguably, the best album of the year.