Let's Get Out Of This Country

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Jun 6, 2006
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Mar 7, 2007
    No Mike Pavement made their career by riding the coattails of Pixies and Sonic Youth. Only their music was so watered down that it lacked emotion and depth all together. Cut Your Hair makes me want to cut my throat. If you love this album get Underachievers and you'll realize that Camera Obscura is the greatest band on the planet.
  2. MattD.
    Jun 20, 2006
    Wow! This brings back 60s girl pop in a great way.
  3. luisv
    Jul 23, 2006
    if liked the Cat Power, Belle & Sebastian last albums in addition you like Pulp you must have it'
  4. killfile
    Jun 8, 2006
    one of the best albums of the year...
  5. bartv
    Jun 18, 2006
    A peach of an album. Will surely rank among my favourites of the year.
  6. JeremyB
    Jun 21, 2006
    One of my favourite albums of the year so far. It's NOT the same as any other indie album it has a bit of something more that I can't really describe. Not all songs are brilliant, but more than half are.
  7. ChrisR
    Jun 23, 2006
    One of the year's best releases. This album is a timeless beauty and imprints infectious melody and melancholy into your soul. Driving with this music through some of Colorado's most spectacular mountainous landscapes is an ethereal experience.
  8. gstar
    Mar 19, 2007
    Extremely enjoyable, easy listening that somehow sounds unique. I love it!
  9. Darnell
    Jun 26, 2007
    Tops! This album has been in heavy rotation for almost a year now. That says a lot! Sweet, sad, longing. Great.
  10. adric
    Nov 4, 2006
    They've made some really lovely songs for this album. I've been listening to this one for a while now and I just love it!
  11. SebastianN
    Oct 27, 2006
    A marvelous album, that's all I need to say.
  12. time
    Jun 14, 2006
    Best band on the planet. Their second mastepiece in a row. Why isn't this band any more famous?
  13. WiseCon
    Jun 8, 2006
    This girl is going through some bad times with her man situation. Never before has such grief been so darn sweet, almost gleeful. Thank goodness there is a name for it...Twee o-boy is this twee or what?

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Deeply romantic and just as melancholy.
  2. Campbell's voice is a gorgeously mellifluous one, aching at the heart of Country Mile, but sweetness gets monotonous, and the album could do with more jolts of bitter energy, like Lloyd and If Looks Could Kill, to liven it up.
  3. Though they haven't changed much in the span of three terrific albums, Camera Obscura no longer recall Belle & Sebastian; they only sound like themselves.