Lex Hives - The Hives
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    I will just say it. This is the best record The Hives have ever put forth. I have listened to it literally on repeat all day and I still cannot pick a favorite track. The Swedes deliver the tunes on this one folks. This will be a shorter review as they have just rendered me speechless. The two Josh Homme-produced bonus tracks are totally worth buying the deluxe edition too. ZOMG SOoooI will just say it. This is the best record The Hives have ever put forth. I have listened to it literally on repeat all day and I still cannot pick a favorite track. The Swedes deliver the tunes on this one folks. This will be a shorter review as they have just rendered me speechless. The two Josh Homme-produced bonus tracks are totally worth buying the deluxe edition too. ZOMG SOooo bombastically fantastic (snagged that last phrase from a Crave review/ sorry but no other description does it justice). Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    "Lex Hives" is a collection of songs that will coerce you to willingly jump off a Zeppelin you just impulsively rented and commit death-defying scissor kicks mid-air during your lunch break. Book a physiotherapist or get a doctor's appointment now because you will be arm-windmilling your way through life in grateful hysterics, and I'm pretty certain The Hives would like you to attend their"Lex Hives" is a collection of songs that will coerce you to willingly jump off a Zeppelin you just impulsively rented and commit death-defying scissor kicks mid-air during your lunch break. Book a physiotherapist or get a doctor's appointment now because you will be arm-windmilling your way through life in grateful hysterics, and I'm pretty certain The Hives would like you to attend their next live show with your imaginary health bar filled at 100% so they have the task in reducing it to 0.01%. The extra is so you can get home - they look after you. This band feeds off energy and noise, and this album is a courtesy reminder of how much you should appreciate the existence of The Hives.

    The tracks all mould together nicely, but you can easily distinguish each one from another. Third track "1000 Answers" just screams 'come and get me' with a sound that would easily fit in with their third stunner "Tyrannosaurus Hives" (2004). With a soulful breath of experimentation in "Without the Money," and a return to swift, pulsating guitars in "These Spectacles Reveal The Nostalgics," they cleverly conclude with the catchy, horn-enhanced "Midnight Shifter". There is a vast degree of ferociousness unleashed during track 6 of this masterpiece "Patrolling Days." It is the lengthiest song on "Lex Hives," however it gradually carries itself as a powerful anthem which accumulates the bombarding roars of all the instruments along with Howlin' Pelle Almqvist's unheeding bellows of liberation to birth a gluttonous monster developed from a substantial punk diet.

    The Hives deserve all the accolade they can get from their self-produced, self-funded 5th album. Breaking free from Interscope's clutches was always going to be a good move from anyone's perspective. After almost two decades together with the same band members, this band really understands that they don't need to drastically change their sound to appease anyone. From the moment Chris Dangerous hits the drums during the opening track, the mood of the entire album is set - leave no sweat glands unstimulated; it's time to rock 'n' roll.

    There is also a really good reason to get the deluxe version because the Josh Homme produced bonus tracks add a generous touch of spice to The Hives' expanding catalogue. It's a 10 from me for the deluxe version. Welcome to the family, "Lex Hives."
    Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    The Hives have alwasy been a percussive band, and this album seems to take giant steps toward explorations in melody. It's a bold and improtant adventure for a band as old as the hives to undertake, but it's not what the Hives do best. This may be the record that ages best of all the hives catalogue, but on first impression, it's underwhelming. I'd give it a seven as a stand alone record,The Hives have alwasy been a percussive band, and this album seems to take giant steps toward explorations in melody. It's a bold and improtant adventure for a band as old as the hives to undertake, but it's not what the Hives do best. This may be the record that ages best of all the hives catalogue, but on first impression, it's underwhelming. I'd give it a seven as a stand alone record, but rate it higher as an addition to the existing Hives catalogue. (those old songs still exist, and a record just remaking those would be uninspired and boring.) Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2012
    6
    Undoubtedly, the great advantage of Sweden's The Hives since the great "Veni Vidi Vicious" is a Pelle Almqvist's vocal and airy, expressive and exuberant style of play. A similar style there is presented on the album "Lex Hives" but this kind of playing works out until band presents present more subdued arrangement. Unfortunately, most of the compositions on the album ("My Time Is Coming",Undoubtedly, the great advantage of Sweden's The Hives since the great "Veni Vidi Vicious" is a Pelle Almqvist's vocal and airy, expressive and exuberant style of play. A similar style there is presented on the album "Lex Hives" but this kind of playing works out until band presents present more subdued arrangement. Unfortunately, most of the compositions on the album ("My Time Is Coming", "Patrolling Days") are a pure punk songs, where you can't hear potential, and the songs seems only average. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    The Hives new album Lex Hives is a return to form! It packs many punches! Instead of reinventing their sound they go back into their own catalog and borrow material. Which isn't a bad thing. When they tried to reinvent their sound with Pharrell Williams (i'm gonna say it - i HATE Pharrell's style) on their last album, 2007's The Black and White Album it felt equally inspired and cheesy.The Hives new album Lex Hives is a return to form! It packs many punches! Instead of reinventing their sound they go back into their own catalog and borrow material. Which isn't a bad thing. When they tried to reinvent their sound with Pharrell Williams (i'm gonna say it - i HATE Pharrell's style) on their last album, 2007's The Black and White Album it felt equally inspired and cheesy. Even though it sounds familiar in sonic structure, the new album offers many new tricks. Including the overwhelmingly positive 1000 Answers. I Want More sounds like an early 80's arena rock song soaked over night in punk rock juices! If you have ever liked the band in the past you will no doubt enjoy Lex Hives! The first half catches on more effectively but the second half doesn't lose focus this time around - it's a punk revival and i loved it! (8 out of 10) Key Tracks: Go Right Ahead, 1000 Answers, I Want More, Take Back The Toys, These Spectacles Reveal The Nostalgics Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    Lex Hives returns the Hives to what they do best - a blistering half hour of the charging punk inspired garage rock that made the world fall in love with them in the first place. Tracks like Patrolling Days and Take Back the Toys are right up there with Hate to Say I Told You So and Tick Tick Boom as some of the best songs in the band's catalogue. Lex Hives wisely abandons theLex Hives returns the Hives to what they do best - a blistering half hour of the charging punk inspired garage rock that made the world fall in love with them in the first place. Tracks like Patrolling Days and Take Back the Toys are right up there with Hate to Say I Told You So and Tick Tick Boom as some of the best songs in the band's catalogue. Lex Hives wisely abandons the schizophrenic production of The Black and White Album to produce the first truly Hives sounding album since 2004's Tyrannosaurus Hives. No doubt, Lex Hives has it's low points - Go Right Ahead and Wait A Minute are nothing special, however the rest of the album is pure ear candy. These Spectacles Reveal the Nostolgics, If I Had A Cent, and 1000 Answers capture the band's live energy the best way any recorded track possibly can and could both could fit comfortably on fan favorites Veni Vidi Vicious and Tyrannosaurus Hives. Album opener Come On! is a minute long surging statement that sets the tone for the rest of the album while simultaneously paying homage to past album openers Well, Well, Well and Abra Cadaver.

    With the Vines virtually useless, the Strokes currently stuck in the 80's, and the White Stripes disbanded, the Hives are the true champions of 2002's garage rock revival movement... and Lex Hives serves as the glorious compilation album of all the band's strengths. It doesn't matter that many critics aren't regarding Lex Hives for the triumphant album it is. The Hives have always been a smart band and are having the last laugh as Lex Hives is a fan pleaser that should re-establish the band's relevance in North America while energizing their fans to the level of excitement obtained in 2002 when the band broke out in the States. Lex Hives is really that good.
    Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    Lex Hives fizzes with the energy of a debut album, the quintet emphatically back to doing what they do best. [Jul 2012, p.103]
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    50
    They're an insipid, uninspired mess right now, but the Hives aren't done as much as they are confused.
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    Dynamic, packed with vim and hooks. [Jul 2012, p.83]