User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 99
  2. Negative: 16 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OtisDriftwood
    Aug 3, 2007
    3
    really really bland. it actually made me wince at parts too from his annoying falsetto voice. It's also very overproduced.
  2. OrlandoC
    Mar 28, 2007
    9
    How can you not have fun listening to this album? It makes you tap your feet sing along its absolutely fabulous. Fun fun funI love him!
  3. Alex
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Damn good pop album
  4. BradH
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    While some may write it off as glam pop tripe, I see it as a young 23 year old musician experimenting with his range. This was only his first album, and if he can keep building, then he will have an impressive career. Even Queen's debut album was rather dull at times, and look how they turned out. I think Mika was just experimenting here, and once he gets more experience with While some may write it off as glam pop tripe, I see it as a young 23 year old musician experimenting with his range. This was only his first album, and if he can keep building, then he will have an impressive career. Even Queen's debut album was rather dull at times, and look how they turned out. I think Mika was just experimenting here, and once he gets more experience with crafting songs and lyrics, he will be putting his talents to greater use. I predict great things from him in the future. Expand
  5. MiekeK
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    Finally new talent! Bonus track is amazing.
  6. matth.
    May 29, 2007
    0
    first off, its not clever to sing in a high pitch whine that only dogs and bats can hear. second, if ur gonna ask everyone why dont u love me? or indeed like me?, expect everyone to call u an insecure fool. please dont make another record
  7. JosephG
    Jun 1, 2007
    2
    This album was trying in the extreme, I have to say. For a few moments, it's fun, but after more than a couple minutes, the thick production becomes overwhelming, the business of the mix becomes annoying (and I love things with busy songs, look at Broken Social Scene to see it done right), and everything just comes off as an unsuccesful attempt to show off. All the obnoxiously This album was trying in the extreme, I have to say. For a few moments, it's fun, but after more than a couple minutes, the thick production becomes overwhelming, the business of the mix becomes annoying (and I love things with busy songs, look at Broken Social Scene to see it done right), and everything just comes off as an unsuccesful attempt to show off. All the obnoxiously obvious influences here put Mika to shame. Expand
  8. JamesB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    I really liked it! It's something you either love or hate, obviously.
  9. ToniS.r
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    he is fantastically talented and i would be the first to defend him on this album... pure talent and originality.
  10. DecklinW
    Mar 28, 2007
    2
    |The reviewers got it pretty right with this album. Pretentious pop rubbish.
  11. LeviY
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    fricken rocks
  12. EdT
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    This is an inventive, infectious work. Enjoy it!
  13. F.Mercury
    Apr 19, 2007
    0
    Braindead fodder perfect for a "My Super Sweet 16" marathon.
  14. vasilis
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    how critics can be so stupid? shame on you drowned in sound... or should i say drowned in daftness?
  15. Anna
    Apr 27, 2007
    7
    Cut the guy a break. It's supposed to be a POP record and it IS a pop record! I'm not a huge fan of pop music, but for what it is, it's a pretty good record. It's catchy, upbeat, and fun. In other words, exactly what pop music is supposed to be! Some of the tracks are splendid, and others don't work very well. But hey, lots of albums are like that. Don't call Cut the guy a break. It's supposed to be a POP record and it IS a pop record! I'm not a huge fan of pop music, but for what it is, it's a pretty good record. It's catchy, upbeat, and fun. In other words, exactly what pop music is supposed to be! Some of the tracks are splendid, and others don't work very well. But hey, lots of albums are like that. Don't call it crap just because it's not what you would listen to. Look at it objectively. Expand
  16. Amanda
    Apr 6, 2007
    7
    Lots of fun - swell pop album with very memorable, playable singles. Need to live with it longer, but I like it!
  17. Sam
    May 2, 2007
    10
    I don't understand how critics dislike it for being "bouncy." It's pop music. GLAM pop music. And it's fun. And no, I don't think it sacrifices musical quality for "fun," the way Avril Lavigne's pop rock anthem "Girlfriend" does. The songs on this album still have worth in the lyrics and the melody, and the fact that so many of them are so upbeat is what makes it I don't understand how critics dislike it for being "bouncy." It's pop music. GLAM pop music. And it's fun. And no, I don't think it sacrifices musical quality for "fun," the way Avril Lavigne's pop rock anthem "Girlfriend" does. The songs on this album still have worth in the lyrics and the melody, and the fact that so many of them are so upbeat is what makes it enjoyable to listen to. Favorites are "Love Today" and "Lollipop." And the beautiful album art is a bonus. Expand
  18. b-t-k
    May 4, 2007
    10
    Mika's rating is far too low - it just goes to show reviews and reviewers are rubbish - this album is being better received in Europe and is probably one of those albums that is ahead of its time regarding North American audiences; however, I predict we will look back at this album as the years pass by as a classic on the same level as some of Queens albums . . . even if it is more Mika's rating is far too low - it just goes to show reviews and reviewers are rubbish - this album is being better received in Europe and is probably one of those albums that is ahead of its time regarding North American audiences; however, I predict we will look back at this album as the years pass by as a classic on the same level as some of Queens albums . . . even if it is more transperant in its gayness Expand
  19. KateB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    2
    No, just no. Don't buy this. Don't encourage him.
  20. [Anonymous]
    Jul 15, 2007
    7
    the album is not all that bad if you prepare yourself before hand and don't expect much. then again it's easy to see why he is likely to be a one hit wonder featuring songs with weak lyrics, or that struggle to convey a proper message. there are some decent tracks though, relax take it easy, grace kelly, erase and ring ring. other than that though, i couldn't see myself the album is not all that bad if you prepare yourself before hand and don't expect much. then again it's easy to see why he is likely to be a one hit wonder featuring songs with weak lyrics, or that struggle to convey a proper message. there are some decent tracks though, relax take it easy, grace kelly, erase and ring ring. other than that though, i couldn't see myself listening to this on repeat. Expand
  21. StevenCampbell
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    This album is one of the best I have ever spent my money on! Money Well Spent!!
  22. AyshL.
    Aug 9, 2008
    8
    Amazing.
  23. JohnC
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    its really creative and different!
  24. Mandelweb
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of the year so far...and one of the strongest debuts I've heard. If you like catchy, giddy pop, get this album now!
  25. BeanO
    Apr 12, 2007
    2
    Derivative, camp and uninventive. Avoid
  26. MattL
    Apr 16, 2007
    0
    Rubbish
  27. MichaelH
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    fun, happy, life affirming. GREAT.
  28. matth
    Apr 17, 2007
    1
    crap.
  29. PondC
    Apr 17, 2007
    8
    Variety of voices from this young man, makes me feel like a combination of Robbie Williams, Freddy Mercury, Scissor Sister could be able to create an admired modern contempory Pop Songs
  30. JeremyF
    Apr 19, 2007
    0
    shame on him. this album is... ahhh... just a musical disgrace.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. There’s some great stuff here – specifically Relax, Take It Easy’s sublime falsetto hook - but elsewhere buoyant pop is sunk by relentless vocal mugging and production which wears its influences much too heavily.
  2. 80
    That it doesn't dissolve into kitsch and comedy is a tribute to Mika's gifts. [Apr 2007, p.118]
  3. The suspicion that Mika might have major talent under the plagiarism and cynicism is what makes "Life In Cartoon Motion" so remarkably unlovely.