Life In Cartoon Motion

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 92
  2. Negative: 16 out of 92

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OrlandoC
    Mar 28, 2007
    9
    How can you not have fun listening to this album? It makes you tap your feet sing along its absolutely fabulous. Fun fun funI love him!
  2. Alex
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Damn good pop album
  3. BradH
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    While some may write it off as glam pop tripe, I see it as a young 23 year old musician experimenting with his range. This was only his first album, and if he can keep building, then he will have an impressive career. Even Queen's debut album was rather dull at times, and look how they turned out. I think Mika was just experimenting here, and once he gets more experience with While some may write it off as glam pop tripe, I see it as a young 23 year old musician experimenting with his range. This was only his first album, and if he can keep building, then he will have an impressive career. Even Queen's debut album was rather dull at times, and look how they turned out. I think Mika was just experimenting here, and once he gets more experience with crafting songs and lyrics, he will be putting his talents to greater use. I predict great things from him in the future. Expand
  4. MiekeK
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    Finally new talent! Bonus track is amazing.
  5. JamesB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    I really liked it! It's something you either love or hate, obviously.
  6. ToniS.r
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    he is fantastically talented and i would be the first to defend him on this album... pure talent and originality.
  7. LeviY
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    fricken rocks
  8. EdT
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    This is an inventive, infectious work. Enjoy it!
  9. vasilis
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    how critics can be so stupid? shame on you drowned in sound... or should i say drowned in daftness?
  10. Anna
    Apr 27, 2007
    7
    Cut the guy a break. It's supposed to be a POP record and it IS a pop record! I'm not a huge fan of pop music, but for what it is, it's a pretty good record. It's catchy, upbeat, and fun. In other words, exactly what pop music is supposed to be! Some of the tracks are splendid, and others don't work very well. But hey, lots of albums are like that. Don't call Cut the guy a break. It's supposed to be a POP record and it IS a pop record! I'm not a huge fan of pop music, but for what it is, it's a pretty good record. It's catchy, upbeat, and fun. In other words, exactly what pop music is supposed to be! Some of the tracks are splendid, and others don't work very well. But hey, lots of albums are like that. Don't call it crap just because it's not what you would listen to. Look at it objectively. Expand
  11. Amanda
    Apr 6, 2007
    7
    Lots of fun - swell pop album with very memorable, playable singles. Need to live with it longer, but I like it!
  12. Sam
    May 2, 2007
    10
    I don't understand how critics dislike it for being "bouncy." It's pop music. GLAM pop music. And it's fun. And no, I don't think it sacrifices musical quality for "fun," the way Avril Lavigne's pop rock anthem "Girlfriend" does. The songs on this album still have worth in the lyrics and the melody, and the fact that so many of them are so upbeat is what makes it I don't understand how critics dislike it for being "bouncy." It's pop music. GLAM pop music. And it's fun. And no, I don't think it sacrifices musical quality for "fun," the way Avril Lavigne's pop rock anthem "Girlfriend" does. The songs on this album still have worth in the lyrics and the melody, and the fact that so many of them are so upbeat is what makes it enjoyable to listen to. Favorites are "Love Today" and "Lollipop." And the beautiful album art is a bonus. Expand
  13. b-t-k
    May 4, 2007
    10
    Mika's rating is far too low - it just goes to show reviews and reviewers are rubbish - this album is being better received in Europe and is probably one of those albums that is ahead of its time regarding North American audiences; however, I predict we will look back at this album as the years pass by as a classic on the same level as some of Queens albums . . . even if it is more Mika's rating is far too low - it just goes to show reviews and reviewers are rubbish - this album is being better received in Europe and is probably one of those albums that is ahead of its time regarding North American audiences; however, I predict we will look back at this album as the years pass by as a classic on the same level as some of Queens albums . . . even if it is more transperant in its gayness Expand
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jul 15, 2007
    7
    the album is not all that bad if you prepare yourself before hand and don't expect much. then again it's easy to see why he is likely to be a one hit wonder featuring songs with weak lyrics, or that struggle to convey a proper message. there are some decent tracks though, relax take it easy, grace kelly, erase and ring ring. other than that though, i couldn't see myself the album is not all that bad if you prepare yourself before hand and don't expect much. then again it's easy to see why he is likely to be a one hit wonder featuring songs with weak lyrics, or that struggle to convey a proper message. there are some decent tracks though, relax take it easy, grace kelly, erase and ring ring. other than that though, i couldn't see myself listening to this on repeat. Expand
  15. StevenCampbell
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    This album is one of the best I have ever spent my money on! Money Well Spent!!
  16. AyshL.
    Aug 9, 2008
    8
    Amazing.
  17. JohnC
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    its really creative and different!
  18. Mandelweb
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of the year so far...and one of the strongest debuts I've heard. If you like catchy, giddy pop, get this album now!
  19. MichaelH
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    fun, happy, life affirming. GREAT.
  20. PondC
    Apr 17, 2007
    8
    Variety of voices from this young man, makes me feel like a combination of Robbie Williams, Freddy Mercury, Scissor Sister could be able to create an admired modern contempory Pop Songs
  21. rolleg
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    A strange, campy and sometimes fun record. A strange mix (and inspirations) of Queen, Freddy Mercury, Cure and so many other influences... I sometimes hate mysely for liking many of the tracks, but I guess, that is the point!
  22. DeeN
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    Fav. album of 2007 so far. Awesome running music to put on MP3 players.
  23. HaupiaF
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    This CD is totally awesome! Mika makes want to just jump out of my seat and start dancing. This CD is absolutely jumpin'!
  24. mika's#1fanm.
    May 19, 2007
    10
    whoooooooa it was awsome!!! 10 out of 10
  25. hiuh
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    lmao this album was awesome fuck reviewers, they gave potc 3 a 2 satr rating. Yet its probably the best film of the yr XD
  26. TimothyA.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    Innovative, witty, and a great voice. Reminds me of Mr Mercury in places.
  27. StrepsiB.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    Excellent pop, true a couple boring bits, but that's far more killer and less filler than most. One of the few albums I play and do NOT shuffle. The album of summer 2007
  28. Regan
    Feb 4, 2008
    8
    Grace Kelly hooked me in although it took a few listens for the others to sink in. Now I love the whole CD - it's feel-good, nightclub, dance dance dance fun. Can't wait to see where Mika goes from here.
  29. JaredC.
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Jumpy, catchy, and certainly an album to dance to. Mika shows us a new version of family jazz, and it will get you hooked.
  30. WillF.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Awesomely catchy pop. In a time when it seems a good pop song is hard to find, Mika brings with him fun, accolade gems.
  31. iieeeDavies
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    Genius! Freddie Mercury is smiling in his grave! Mika is a world wonder, i feel sorry for anyone who doesn't get it. have a glass a wine, strip down to as little clothes possible for comfort (try totally naked) and dance around your living room to it! :) ...i'm shocked if you don't love it then!?
  32. juba
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    Great, fun, summer rock out CD. Perfect for driving and singing!
  33. GuidoS.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. Has the guts to experiment and serve us with round sounds. Fun. Invites to enjoy life without caring much for heavy adultness. Hope he has the mind and soul to keep going and creating more albums.
  34. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    Long ago that I've heard so much happiness in one album. Mika has got such a stunning voice and the sweet bop along rhythm make a really enjoyable album. No matter if he sings about a family man turning gay, how beautiful big girls are or .......... it's just nice to listen to. I have to admit, lyrically it's no big deal and the music is pretty simple sometimes but hey: this album justLong ago that I've heard so much happiness in one album. Mika has got such a stunning voice and the sweet bop along rhythm make a really enjoyable album. No matter if he sings about a family man turning gay, how beautiful big girls are or .......... it's just nice to listen to. I have to admit, lyrically it's no big deal and the music is pretty simple sometimes but hey: this album just makes me feel good! 9 points out of 10 for that! Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. There’s some great stuff here – specifically Relax, Take It Easy’s sublime falsetto hook - but elsewhere buoyant pop is sunk by relentless vocal mugging and production which wears its influences much too heavily.
  2. 80
    That it doesn't dissolve into kitsch and comedy is a tribute to Mika's gifts. [Apr 2007, p.118]
  3. The suspicion that Mika might have major talent under the plagiarism and cynicism is what makes "Life In Cartoon Motion" so remarkably unlovely.