• Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Jun 4, 2013
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 290

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    It's so refreshing to hear Josh Homme's main band record some new music after his recent troubles in the hospital and depressions and whatnot. But how does this new record hold up to the genius they've released before? Well, it matches nearly perfectly in quality to classics like "Songs for the Deaf" and "Lullabies to Paralyze", but strangely stands as its own record. It's more mellow andIt's so refreshing to hear Josh Homme's main band record some new music after his recent troubles in the hospital and depressions and whatnot. But how does this new record hold up to the genius they've released before? Well, it matches nearly perfectly in quality to classics like "Songs for the Deaf" and "Lullabies to Paralyze", but strangely stands as its own record. It's more mellow and heartfelt than previous releases, yet still provides some decent headbangers along the ride. If you're a fan, it's definitely worth checking out. If you're not, it's still definitely worth checking out. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    While it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like Clockwork abound. From the haunted house monster stomp of the album's opener "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the arena rock bravado of "Fairweather Friends", to the melodic melancholy of the eponymous album closer, it is some of JHo and Company's most adventurousWhile it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like Clockwork abound. From the haunted house monster stomp of the album's opener "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the arena rock bravado of "Fairweather Friends", to the melodic melancholy of the eponymous album closer, it is some of JHo and Company's most adventurous work to date. And yet, never at any point did I wonder if it was QOTSA. A triumph. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This is actually a really solid and varied album. I liked 'Era Vulgaris' but found myself skipping nearly half of the songs on it. For me, '...Like Clockwork' is one of those albums you need to listen to in its entirety rather than a song at a time.
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    The genre-bending, rule breaking band of misfits is back and bigger than ever. With a 6 year gap between their last album Era Vulgaris, a new Queens of the Stone Age album was at the top of my wish list. They didn't disappoint either! Every track comes at you in full swing. They entrance, mystify, disturb, and even stimulate you. With ...Like Clockwork, Queens of the Stone Age bring aThe genre-bending, rule breaking band of misfits is back and bigger than ever. With a 6 year gap between their last album Era Vulgaris, a new Queens of the Stone Age album was at the top of my wish list. They didn't disappoint either! Every track comes at you in full swing. They entrance, mystify, disturb, and even stimulate you. With ...Like Clockwork, Queens of the Stone Age bring a splash of reality to what real rock music is. No more of this garbage Nickelback and Mariana's Trench.

    From the first riff, I know that this would be a special occurrence. As I proceeded, weaving between simplicity and complexity, I realized that I was in a psychedelic heaven. With no detectable flaws, this album provides the perfect blend of psychedelic rock and metal. "Keep Your Eyes Peeled" is the ultimate opener for the album. It starts out quiet, like the calm before the storm, and then suddenly, you are whisked away by the heart-pounding thuds of drums and bass. After this dreary and oddly hypnotic first track, "I Sat By The Ocean" shows off the radio-friendly capabilities of QOTSA. After all these years, they can still put together an upbeat, soon to be on the radio song. Slowing down the tempo again, the band returns you to where they left off in the trippy journey. In a Pink Floyd-esque fashion, QOTSA take the opportunity to explore the ways of synthetics in "The Vampyre of Time and Memory". Alongside brain-melting guitar solos is the light whir of a synthesizer. The next two tracks, "If I Had A Tail" and "My God Is The Sun", are both songs more than qualified to be radio hits in no time. With comedic lyrics and strange themes, this obscure duo goes together better than peanut butter and jelly. As we venture into the second half of the album, it's as if there is a darkness that has filled the songs. On "Kalopsia", Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails helps out the gang by providing his magnificent voice and musical talent to create (what may be) QOTSA's darkest odysseys. Continuing with the dark trend, "Fairweather Friends" and "Smooth Sailing" sound upbeat enough, but still have and eerie undertone. The songs make you feel a plethora of emotions all at once. All you can do is sit there, wondering what the hell is going on. It sounds like they're having a good time, but at the same time, it sounds like the world is about to end. On "I Appear Missing", the album's magnum opus, the spellbinding guitar melodies combined with Josh Homme's unique vocals are what really take the cake. Finally, on "...Like Clockwork", QOTSA leave with a calming acoustic song, accompanied by piano and echoes of bass. They know that the album is over. They know that this fictional world is coming to an end. All they can do now is reassure the audience that everything will be alright. Or maybe the opposite.

    From start to finish, the album blew me away. Each track offered something different and unique. Also, I believe that this album has some of the most creative and well-written lyrics of all time. The messages are well established and the execution by Josh Homme is the icing on the cake.

    Overall, the album is flawless. I have listened to it numerous times and find nothing wrong with it. Beautiful lyrics, catchy rhythms, and addictive vocals; what more could you want?
    Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    First few listens, did not like this album at all... It's a grower though, and I'd put it up with their best albums. There are some really slow moments on the album that I REALLY didn't like at first, but after multiple listens, I find myself liking those tracks the most. Josh Homme sounds better than he ever has before with his vocals.

    I highly recommend this album, I almost gave up on
    First few listens, did not like this album at all... It's a grower though, and I'd put it up with their best albums. There are some really slow moments on the album that I REALLY didn't like at first, but after multiple listens, I find myself liking those tracks the most. Josh Homme sounds better than he ever has before with his vocals.

    I highly recommend this album, I almost gave up on it after a few listens... don't make the mistake I almost made, stick with it!
    Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    ...Like Clockwork... The title itself holds so much meaning. After surviving his surgery, Homme goes on a very dangerous, sloppy road as he leads his music into a beautiful mix of neo-psychedelia and easy stoner rock. Gathering his friend he creates yet another masterpiece in QOTSA's discography. What Homme was really missing during his previous two albums was a company of dear friends and...Like Clockwork... The title itself holds so much meaning. After surviving his surgery, Homme goes on a very dangerous, sloppy road as he leads his music into a beautiful mix of neo-psychedelia and easy stoner rock. Gathering his friend he creates yet another masterpiece in QOTSA's discography. What Homme was really missing during his previous two albums was a company of dear friends and with them joining him the album became even more self-centred. The album shows the emotional side of modern day legends. The result is an Album Of The Year material. It may be less straight-forward that "Songs For The Deaf" or "Rated R" and little less stylish than "Queens Of The Stone Age" but that doesn't mean that the album can go below excellent mark. The album itself is more pop-like in songs like "Vampyre Of Time And Memories" and "...Like Clockwork" but Josh wanted to do an album not centered on "Heavy" but "Dark" sound, which I think they did very, very well. I salute to you, Queens. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    While I don't think this is the best QOTSA ever, it is a refreshingly new sound. It was a risky move that QUOTSA pulled off brilliantly. The slow to fast mix in this album is incredible. Almost all of the songs have taken their place in my heart. This is true rock, welcome back!
  8. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Penso que só pessoas minimamente inteligentes e honestas, deveriam cotar um álbum dos QotSA. Tenho lido alguns reviews de certos magazines, que me fazem rir. Fazem comparações completamente rídiculas e imbecis, um exemplo bem evidente este magazine Under The Radar. Só um asno pode escrever um artigo destes, "The guitars are more or less grungy, but some of those indie-rock rhythms, withPenso que só pessoas minimamente inteligentes e honestas, deveriam cotar um álbum dos QotSA. Tenho lido alguns reviews de certos magazines, que me fazem rir. Fazem comparações completamente rídiculas e imbecis, um exemplo bem evidente este magazine Under The Radar. Só um asno pode escrever um artigo destes, "The guitars are more or less grungy, but some of those indie-rock rhythms, with distortion-lite effects, sound a bit like Franz Ferdinand. Not necessarily a bad thing—they're pretty and chiming, and the straight-up lead riffs are often infectious. But this is Queens of the Stone Age, man."
    Josh Homme anda a ouvir Franz Ferdinand!!! AHAHHAHAA leiam este artigo que de partir o coco a rir, Os media são o quê?
    Expand
  9. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    This is definitely one of the greatest albums made for years, it has no "greatest song", every single song is a hit, and the more you listen to it, the more it grows on you.
    Queens of the Stone Age has a completely unique feel to it, and this album, as well as "Era Vulgaris" are perfect examples of this, which is why it deserves a 10/10. This album is perfect!
  10. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Never in my life have I followed an album so closely, prior to its release and been so satisfied. This album delivers on every track, which is some feat, considering the very varying genres going around on the album and within some tracks. Homme sounds better than ever and same can be said, for what can only be described as the "army" of guitars present on this album, mixed to perfection.Never in my life have I followed an album so closely, prior to its release and been so satisfied. This album delivers on every track, which is some feat, considering the very varying genres going around on the album and within some tracks. Homme sounds better than ever and same can be said, for what can only be described as the "army" of guitars present on this album, mixed to perfection. I feel every song on this album, has at some point, had its turn of being my favourite track and at this point I still struggle to choose my favourite, proving the genius of this album and how that genius should be savoured so. My one criticism with the album would be the track ordering, a very minor thing I realise, however I can't help but feel "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the wrong choice for the opener. Such choices as "Smooth Sailing", "I Sat By The Ocean" or even the end of "If I Had a Tail", into "My God is the Sun", I feel would have set the album up better. However, the fact that the tremendous and massive sounding ending of "I Appear Missing", is not the album closer, is the sorest choice made on the entire album. However, you take all these songs individually and I would struggle greatly not to give the majority of them 10/10, which is the most important thing. Considering the age and progression of this never disappointing band, this album only seems like the perfect thing for QOTSA to have created. I know I will still be happily listening to this album from to start to finish many, many years from now, and I know I will not be alone when I am. Expand
  11. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    The new album is weird, but the best kind of weird. After the luke warm Era Vulgaris, I didn't expect too much from Like Clockwork but, being a fan since the self titled, I picked up a copy. The entire album is so different from anything the band has put out and, for me, is a breath of fresh air. Granted, there are still 2 tracks that have that driving robot/desert rock the band is knownThe new album is weird, but the best kind of weird. After the luke warm Era Vulgaris, I didn't expect too much from Like Clockwork but, being a fan since the self titled, I picked up a copy. The entire album is so different from anything the band has put out and, for me, is a breath of fresh air. Granted, there are still 2 tracks that have that driving robot/desert rock the band is known for, but the rest of the songs have a more laid back approach. The vocal melody lines and meandering guitar riffs weave together, stack, and dissolve(not always in that order) into a competent record. Although I could have used a few more crunchy fast paced tunes, the album conjures feelings of wanderlust and melancholy that beg for a late night drive. Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    It's a good album, but the influence of Elton John is very present over the entire album which makes it sound like QotSA went indie, another band drenched in reverb for no good reason. Still a good album overall, just missing the UMPH they used to have and exchanged it for melodious guitars là Them Crooked Vultures. However this will scare away old fans (except the fanboys who are justIt's a good album, but the influence of Elton John is very present over the entire album which makes it sound like QotSA went indie, another band drenched in reverb for no good reason. Still a good album overall, just missing the UMPH they used to have and exchanged it for melodious guitars là Them Crooked Vultures. However this will scare away old fans (except the fanboys who are just tossing 10's), only the future can tell if it's a change for the better. Expand
  13. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    The best QOSTA album since Songs for the Deaf. ...Like Clockwork is from start to finish a very good album, with only two tracks that I didn't particularly care for (If I Had a Tail and Smooth Sailing). Much more focused than Era Vulgaris and doesn't suffer from a second half drag like Lullabies to Paralyze (with the exception of Long Slow Goodbye and I Never Came). I'll admit to beingThe best QOSTA album since Songs for the Deaf. ...Like Clockwork is from start to finish a very good album, with only two tracks that I didn't particularly care for (If I Had a Tail and Smooth Sailing). Much more focused than Era Vulgaris and doesn't suffer from a second half drag like Lullabies to Paralyze (with the exception of Long Slow Goodbye and I Never Came). I'll admit to being nervous as to how Trent Reznor and Elton John would fit into the overall production. However; Kalopsia and Fairweather friends are thus far my favorite tracks on the album. A definite must for QOSTA fans or just fans of eclectic rock. Expand
  14. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    Its been years since I have enjoyed a album or project that has involved Josh Homme, Not since 2002’s Song For The Deaf everything he seemed to touch in the 00’s with a few exceptions seemed to decisively average like his endless amount of albums produced as The Desert Sessions or simply a rich mans vanity project such as Them Crooked Vultures which came and went leaving no real lastingIts been years since I have enjoyed a album or project that has involved Josh Homme, Not since 2002’s Song For The Deaf everything he seemed to touch in the 00’s with a few exceptions seemed to decisively average like his endless amount of albums produced as The Desert Sessions or simply a rich mans vanity project such as Them Crooked Vultures which came and went leaving no real lasting impression other than the worst almost Download Festival headliner ever.

    With their sixth album …Like Clockwork Queens seem to have refound their groove. The first track Keep Your Eyes Peeled has a down tuned slow paced groove not too dissimilar to Hommes early work in Kyuss and the returning Dave Grohl on drums hammers a powerful back beat to drive home the tracks stoner groove. The second track and most likely single I sat by the Ocean is a anthem that can easily be imagined being played on a sunny day on the main stage at a festival, even if it does have the same riff as Coffee and TV by Blur.

    The album is packed with guest artists, from Trent Reznor who appears on the track Kalopsia adding a haunting piano piece at the start of the track adding a huge amount of atmosphere before a huge sounding riff kicks in and the track goes into a standard Queens’s song. This doesn’t come close to the amount of guest stars on If I Had a tail which features Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys, Mark Lanegan of Screaming Trees and most surprisingly former Queens of the Stone Age bassist Nick Oliveri. This is the most indie track on the album and see’s the guest stars providing backing vocals on the tracks chorus, they are difficult to hear until the ending of the track and seem to have been added simply for the sake of Josh Homme putting his friends on a track.

    This is a real return to form for Queens, it may not be up there with the groups first three albums but it is certainly the best album that Josh has done in a very long time, delivering in the killer riffs and catchy chrous’s that have seemed to have been missing from recent Queens of The Stone Age albums.
    Expand
  15. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    Great rock music. I haven't listened to any of their albums before this. I'm an idiot, i know. I'm looking forward to rectify that mistake. I do hope their older work has the same blend of loud and calm.
  16. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Just listened to the vinyl LP. So good, and it sounds amazing. What's odd is that it's meant to be played at 45 RPM, and I've never seen that on an LP before, (they're usually 35 RPM). Just a quirky note. I fell like they might have done it on purpose to screw with people, or not, I don't know the absolute specifics of what goes into pressing an album. Whatever, the music is great, havingJust listened to the vinyl LP. So good, and it sounds amazing. What's odd is that it's meant to be played at 45 RPM, and I've never seen that on an LP before, (they're usually 35 RPM). Just a quirky note. I fell like they might have done it on purpose to screw with people, or not, I don't know the absolute specifics of what goes into pressing an album. Whatever, the music is great, having a cohesive theme, yet every song has its own distinct sound. It's hard to pick favourites, but "My God is the Sun," "Fair-weather Friends" and "I Sat by the Ocean" are exuberant. The title track is a quiet, introspective, unique track that greatly closes the album. I get some hints of The Who and Supertramp in here, although it's mostly just the warped genius of Queens of the Stone Age. Another definitive, exemplary album from a band that just keeps getting better. Expand
  17. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    Being a long time listener of the band, I was happy to say it was similar in all the right ways, different in all the right ways, and generally just a great album. However, my viewpoint would be biased as I have enjoyed all their efforts to date. So good to have a new album turn out well for us!
  18. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    http://bit.ly/1b6f6g1 The collaborators on this album never really take the forefront or take over the track they're on (besides Alex Turner). What they do is assist the true stars, Queens of the Stone Age. What Queens have managed to do is create one of the best albums of the last 10 years and evolve as a band. What is even more astounding is that they didn't need to flood it with effectshttp://bit.ly/1b6f6g1 The collaborators on this album never really take the forefront or take over the track they're on (besides Alex Turner). What they do is assist the true stars, Queens of the Stone Age. What Queens have managed to do is create one of the best albums of the last 10 years and evolve as a band. What is even more astounding is that they didn't need to flood it with effects or overproduce it. It proves that the old fashioned way of making music is still alive and that you can make amazing albums doing it that way. The hype this album has received is just. Expand
  19. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    It's dark, it's deep, and it's twisted, but isn't that the point? Every QOTSA album has a different feel, but this one seems to strike a different chord. (no pun intended) There's something really honest about the way these songs are arranged that make them feel very basic, giving a much needed vibe of stripped down, untamed music, something they've always excelled in. The album's titleIt's dark, it's deep, and it's twisted, but isn't that the point? Every QOTSA album has a different feel, but this one seems to strike a different chord. (no pun intended) There's something really honest about the way these songs are arranged that make them feel very basic, giving a much needed vibe of stripped down, untamed music, something they've always excelled in. The album's title track "...Like Clockwork" was a real highlight/climactic ending to a well rounded album, opening up Homme's softer, humbler, and more sensitive side. They, once again, have strongly impressed me with their music, as well as their growth in musical style.

    Due to my personal taste when it comes to their vast collection of songs, I would have given this album a 9. (I actually prefer Era Vulgaris) However, this album, from a larger standpoint, is much more than any of the others because it gives a sense that they have given their audience their heart and soul, asking them to listen, to share with them, the feelings they stir inside.

    For that, I give them a 10.
    Expand
  20. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    Back to their best
    For the first time in about a decade a QOTSA record has gotten me properly excited. Like Clockwork starts a tad unsure of itself with "Keep You Eyes Peeled", a track you could hardly say demands your attention and a curious way to begin proceedings. It represents the only questionable track on the album. From here on in we are treated to diamond after diamond.
    Like
    Back to their best
    For the first time in about a decade a QOTSA record has gotten me properly excited. Like Clockwork starts a tad unsure of itself with "Keep You Eyes Peeled", a track you could hardly say demands your attention and a curious way to begin proceedings. It represents the only questionable track on the album. From here on in we are treated to diamond after diamond.
    Like Clockwork gets better as it progresses on and I would argue that the record peaks in the middle with the amazing trilogy of If I Had a Tail, My God Is the Sun and Kalopsia. My God Is the Sun has that classic QOTSA sound and is representative of the overall record with the band back to their best, delivering what they failed to truly produce on their last couple of albums. This sequence of blockbuster rockers is complete with Kalopsia and while I think this is where the album hits its peak, that's not to say things really dip from here. It's all relative and Like Clockwork maintains the intensity to the literal death. Excellent stuff.
    Expand
  21. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best albums Josh Homme has put his name on. On the same level as Rated R and Songs for the Deaf. If I had a tail is wonderfully catchy arena rock type stuff. Most of the melodies stick and don't wear thin like on Era Vulgaris.
  22. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    ...Like Clockwork proves that Queens of the Stone Age are still one of the most fascinating bands in rock today. It may very well be the band's best record since Songs for the Deaf. Powered by crunchy guitar riffs and haunting vocal harmonies, supplemented by piano and vintage synths, the album is both seductive and sinister. The darker, more introspective lyrics (inspired by frontman Josh...Like Clockwork proves that Queens of the Stone Age are still one of the most fascinating bands in rock today. It may very well be the band's best record since Songs for the Deaf. Powered by crunchy guitar riffs and haunting vocal harmonies, supplemented by piano and vintage synths, the album is both seductive and sinister. The darker, more introspective lyrics (inspired by frontman Josh Homme's depression and other recent tumult) add to the mysterious nature of the music. As with previous QOTSA albums, this one features an array of collaborators, including former band members Nick Oliveri and Mark Lanegan, Dave Grohl (who plays drums on half of the songs), Elton John, Trent Reznor, and Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys. Most of the collaborators reside in the background, enhancing the songs rather than dominating at the front. There's more diversity among the ten songs on the album, which sets it apart from the past couple QOTSA albums. All in all, ...Like Clockwork is one of the best albums of the year, and we have Josh Homme and his friends to thank for this wonderful gift. Expand
  23. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    If Songs for the Deaf was the definitive record of QOTSA as a collaborative project born in the desert sessions, ...Like Clockwork is the definitive record of QOTSA as Josh Homme's band. Quite possibly the best (and certainly the most focused) album of their career, and a strong AOTY contender in an impossibly good year for music.
  24. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    This is the first QOTSA album I've heard in full & it's a fantastic first impression that lives up to the hype. If I had to describe this album in one word, it would be “cool”. Every aspect, from the guitar riffs to the grooves to Josh Homme's voice & delivery, has this attitude-filled charm to it that's just irresistible. I think a track-by-track analysis is the best way I can talk aboutThis is the first QOTSA album I've heard in full & it's a fantastic first impression that lives up to the hype. If I had to describe this album in one word, it would be “cool”. Every aspect, from the guitar riffs to the grooves to Josh Homme's voice & delivery, has this attitude-filled charm to it that's just irresistible. I think a track-by-track analysis is the best way I can talk about this album, since it's really one where pretty much every song has something worth noting about it.

    I hear the term “desert rock” thrown around a lot with this band, and I find that sound no more accurate on this album than in the opener “Keep Your Eyes Peeled”. It has this trudging rhythmic groove that basically sounds like being stuck in Death Valley for over 3 hours with no water or transportation, a vibe that's enhanced by the vague but moody lyrics. “I Sat by the Ocean” is a great straightforward rock song with simple, catchy riffs & nice touches of falsetto. I've heard from some people that this is one of QOTSA's more diverse albums, and with songs like “The Vampyre of Time and Memory” that's very easy to believe. It's a piano-led track that builds beautifully over the course of it, first with these cool little synth textures & then gradually the rock instrumentation. The lyrics are also some of the best on the album, talking about loss of identity & searching for your purpose in life in a pretty effective way. My favorite song here is “If I Had a Tail”, another fantastic mid-tempo alt-rock tune with infectious melodies all around & nicely reserved guitars in the verses that explode perfectly in the chorus & bridge, complimented with a good lyrical theme bashing general society's materialist/hedonist mentality. The first half finishes with “My God is the Sun”, which was a great choice for the lead single, a driving rocker that grabs you with the riffs within seconds & will definitely attract the demographic I was in who's only familiar with the older hits.

    “Kalopsia” goes in a refreshingly laid-back direction with a nice psychedelic atmosphere in the verses that transitions smoothly into more of a hard rock style toward the end. “Fairweather Friends” is another major highlight. Nearly all of this album's many collaborators sing backing vocals on this song. Admittedly though, my only thing close to a gripe on this album is that I would've liked if such a star-studded guest list had a bigger role than barely audible contributions you probably wouldn't notice if you didn't hear about it from somewhere else. Elton John is the exception, since he plays piano here too & his backing vocals provide a nice echo in the chorus, but still. That being said, the song's still really great, and ends on a random & hilarious note that I still crack up at on the 6th listen. “Smooth Sailing” has an awesomely sleazy groove with over-the-top flamboyant falsetto vocals & some awesome lines. “I Appear Missing” is another really good one but honestly doesn't have many traits I haven't already talked about as far as I can tell. The album ends with the title track, which takes another drastic turn as a vulnerable piano ballad that follows the same introspective lyrical style as “The Vampyre of Time and Memory”, though to me it's done in a more emotional way here.

    ...Like Clockwork consistently shows off memorable, well-thought-out & surprisingly diverse material. Normally albums that get as much hype as this got disappoint at least some people, but I've honestly heard few, if any, negative thoughts about it as a whole. I'll make it a goal to listen to some more QOTSA in the near future.

    Top 5 tracks: If I Had a Tail, Fairweather Friends, The Vampyre of Time and Memory, I Sat by the Ocean, Smooth Sailing
    Score: 91/100
    My review-based Facebook page: That Non-Elitist Music Fan
    Expand
  25. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    Best queens album in years, yes i enjoyed El Vagus or what ever its called but this new entire just feels so unique and the tracks are so moody, 9/10, gets a bit repetitive yet because of key tracks, my fav track being the last it deserves more like a Solid 9.8/10, so should probably round to a 10 but because of the repetitiveness and the fact that users are rating so high i gives it a 9
  26. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Not quite as good as the albums "from the good old days", but an appropriate comeback. QotSA have taken on a heavier, almost progressive-like direction in their music while still retaining their edginess.
  27. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    6 years is a long time to wait for a new albums, every second has been worth it as we're treated to an essential QotSA album that's excellent from beginning to end. Every track shines, from the crunchy rock opener that is "Keep Your Eyes Peeled" to the beautifully melodic "Kalopsia" that morphs into a belting rock song with amazing power chords that just sound so damn good together. There6 years is a long time to wait for a new albums, every second has been worth it as we're treated to an essential QotSA album that's excellent from beginning to end. Every track shines, from the crunchy rock opener that is "Keep Your Eyes Peeled" to the beautifully melodic "Kalopsia" that morphs into a belting rock song with amazing power chords that just sound so damn good together. There isn't a bad song on the entire album, every track to it's own degree is unique and is a superb song. If you're a Queens fan, while this is a little darker and a smidgen different than their previous albums, it deserves your attention and you'll love all ten songs, and have a tough time choosing a favorite. If you're a fan of rock I can't recommend anything more than this treasure, from Homme's grand, signature vocals, Dave Grohl's excellent drumming, a little bit of Elton John and Trent Reznor, and the rest of the band it's easily one of the best albums I've heard in a long time. It's Rock and Roll/Alternative at it's finest and it's one hell of a record. Expand
  28. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    These guys are back and better than ever So many highlights on this album top to bottom. Easily one of the best albums so far in 2013. Josh Homme has elevated his music to a different level.
  29. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Going to keep it short, this is a really good album. Its one of those that grows on you the more you listen. Personally really liking "if I had a tail". Probably going to be one of the better albums of the year, welcome back guys you have been missed.
  30. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Just finishing up my second listen and from top to bottom, every track is enjoyable. This is first time I can say that about a QOTSA album (though they have all been better than average at worst). In fact, I don't say that about many albums very often they all seem to have a clunker or two in the mix, at least as far as my tastes are concerned. But I am struggling to find that here andJust finishing up my second listen and from top to bottom, every track is enjoyable. This is first time I can say that about a QOTSA album (though they have all been better than average at worst). In fact, I don't say that about many albums very often they all seem to have a clunker or two in the mix, at least as far as my tastes are concerned. But I am struggling to find that here and that is an amazing feat for an album in this age. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. 90
    Their rejuvenating effects make this the most rounded and melodic QOTSA album in a decade, a triumph snatched from the mortuary doors. [Summer 2013, p.88]
  2. 90
    It’s the kind of album we critics tritely refer to as a return to form but with the massively remarkable beast that ...Like Clockwork royally is, never has the phrase been more fitting.
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    35
    Queens Of The Stone Age lumbers its way through a series of increasingly skronky, sludge-by-numbers jams and sound. [No. 100, p.57]