...Like Clockwork - Queens of the Stone Age
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 258

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    Brilliant. The best album of 2013. It is Josh Homme pulling out his best moves, and creating a vivid example of musicianship and pure rock. Queens of the Stone Age (more powerful than ever), and a great group of collaborators (from best friend Dave Grohl to the one and only Sir Elton John), prove that rock is not only not dead, is more alive than ever. Is an album that combines a great production with a strong variety of sounds and thoughts that at times you can't believe it's the guys that created songs like Song for the Dead or Go With The Flow. Of course we don't lose the feeling that's Josh Homme and company, it has a strange remembrance of Rated R, and with songs like Keep Your Eyes Peeled and My God is The Sun, you know it's the hard-rockers we love. I Appear Missing is just pure glory.

    Is arguably Queens best work (Song for The Deaf is hard to beat, and Rated R is just excellent), but it is a very very good album, that by the time you reach ...Like Clockwork (a beautiful melody by the way, the least "Queens" song in the album), you are left only wanting for more.
    Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    Once again the Queens of the Stone age deliver another good album and continue to impress. Several guest musicians are featured in ....Like Clockwork but nothing sounds recycled. Just an overall good album.
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Perfect from start to finish. In my opinion the very best of 2013. "Fairweather Friends", "I Appear Missing", and "Like Clockwork" are all tracks that will be memorable for a long time. This could go down as a modern classic
  4. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    Back to their best
    For the first time in about a decade a QOTSA record has gotten me properly excited. Like Clockwork starts a tad unsure of itself with "Keep You Eyes Peeled", a track you could hardly say demands your attention and a curious way to begin proceedings. It represents the only questionable track on the album. From here on in we are treated to diamond after diamond.
    Like
    Clockwork gets better as it progresses on and I would argue that the record peaks in the middle with the amazing trilogy of If I Had a Tail, My God Is the Sun and Kalopsia. My God Is the Sun has that classic QOTSA sound and is representative of the overall record with the band back to their best, delivering what they failed to truly produce on their last couple of albums. This sequence of blockbuster rockers is complete with Kalopsia and while I think this is where the album hits its peak, that's not to say things really dip from here. It's all relative and Like Clockwork maintains the intensity to the literal death. Excellent stuff. Expand
  5. May 20, 2014
    10
    this album is a classic i have bought it twice one on cd and one on record thats how much i love this it is there best work since songs for the deaf 10/10
  6. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This summer, Queens of the Stone Age returned from the desert with their first album after a six year hiatus, the magnificent ...Like Clockwork. The themes of their most diverse album were majorly influenced by Josh Homme's depressing, months-long stay in a hospital, recovering from MRSA. As Homme says in the penultimate track, "I Appear Missing", "pieces were taken from me, or dare I say, given away."
    The album is not only the band's most experimental work yet - aside from, maybe, Era Vulgaris - it is also by far their most emotional. The album has this strange eerie feel, which is expressed especially in the album's companion 15-minute music video.
    The album has too many guest appearances to count, including Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys, and Dave Grohl (you know, Dave Grohl). Fans of QotSA's Songs For The Deaf from 2003 may need to take a few listens to adapt to the sound of this album, but it's hard not to see that the album's title track is one of the most beautiful songs Homme has ever written, and "My God Is The Sun"'s bassline during the verse is absolute perfection. The lyrics in "The Vampyre of Time and Memory" are purposefully misleading, and delivered brilliantly: "I speak, I breathe. I'm incomplete. I'm alive. Hooray! You're wrong again, 'cause I feel no love."
    The album is incredible, absolutely worth taking the time to listen to from beginning to end. It's been my personal favorite album since I first heard it, and who knows? Maybe you'll share my opinion.
    Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This is indeed what we can call a bold album. There's character and tenderness in it. A master piece that mixes brilliant song writing, production and incredible musicianship.
  8. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    http://bit.ly/1b6f6g1 The collaborators on this album never really take the forefront or take over the track they're on (besides Alex Turner). What they do is assist the true stars, Queens of the Stone Age. What Queens have managed to do is create one of the best albums of the last 10 years and evolve as a band. What is even more astounding is that they didn't need to flood it with effects or overproduce it. It proves that the old fashioned way of making music is still alive and that you can make amazing albums doing it that way. The hype this album has received is just. Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    Great rock music. I haven't listened to any of their albums before this. I'm an idiot, i know. I'm looking forward to rectify that mistake. I do hope their older work has the same blend of loud and calm.
  10. Dec 17, 2013
    5
    Overcooked production kills what could have been a good album, almost unbeareable to listen to more than a couple songs at once. Whats the point of printing vinyls again whith this kind of mastering?
  11. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    I'm a fan. I have listened to these guys since rated R. After era vulgaris and some mediocre super group experimentation, I kinda thought Qotsa was doomed. I was wrong. Like clock work is good. I'm going to be listening to it for years to come(supposing I live for years to come). It's not everyone's cup of tea, but give it a try if you enjoy something that doesn't fit into the boring mold of aggressive rock. take a dash of crunchy groove mix well with surreal imagery, pepper with arrogance, whip in some humility, and top with mystery; repeat as needed and enjoy. Expand
  12. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    ASS_N_TREBLE IS AN IDIOT! AND IS BECAUSE OF THESE IDIOTS THAT I GIVE NOTE MAXIMUM
    this idiot has done here more negative votes for this album, it's not just this, and the funny thing is that it has no further comment other albums.
    Não brinquem, quem são vocês para fazerem uma revisão de um artista seus idiotas...são artista? compõem música? são inteligentes o suficiente para estarem aqui
    a dar pontuação, são estudiosos nesta matéria. Só sabem ouvir o que os media querem e depois fazem critica de coisas que não percebem... há por aqui muito atrasado mental a fazer revisão (ass_n_treble......), gostava de conhecer esse calhorda E OS OUTROS PESSOALMENTE, a minha psicopatia vem ao de cima, com este tipo de gente. Não constroem nada apenas destroem e incendeiam, adorava ter esses calhordas minha frente, reduzia-os a uma massa de carne e sangue.. Daqui a 10 ANOS veremos quem são os VERDADEIROS CLÁSSICOS. Expand
  13. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    This album is so desperate for an identity by featuring a multitude of guest musicians, but it leaves a very disjointed, schizophrenic feeling that just never accomplishes anything worthwhile. Outside of "My God Is The Sun" (thanks for the first single, giving me the impression the whole album would sound that way), nothing on this brick is listenable.

    So you were hospitalized. The
    album is as boring as the inspiration for the tracks. The upsetting part is that if there weren't complications with his surgery, we would have had a second Them Crooked Vultures album. I feel robbed.

    Josh Homme can't steer the ship by himself. He's great guitarist but an average singer, and benefits much from his celebrity friends to flesh out songs. However, too many cooks ruined the stew here.

    One good song. Skip this terrible album.
    Expand
  14. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    This is the first QOTSA album I've heard in full & it's a fantastic first impression that lives up to the hype. If I had to describe this album in one word, it would be “cool”. Every aspect, from the guitar riffs to the grooves to Josh Homme's voice & delivery, has this attitude-filled charm to it that's just irresistible. I think a track-by-track analysis is the best way I can talk about this album, since it's really one where pretty much every song has something worth noting about it.

    I hear the term “desert rock” thrown around a lot with this band, and I find that sound no more accurate on this album than in the opener “Keep Your Eyes Peeled”. It has this trudging rhythmic groove that basically sounds like being stuck in Death Valley for over 3 hours with no water or transportation, a vibe that's enhanced by the vague but moody lyrics. “I Sat by the Ocean” is a great straightforward rock song with simple, catchy riffs & nice touches of falsetto. I've heard from some people that this is one of QOTSA's more diverse albums, and with songs like “The Vampyre of Time and Memory” that's very easy to believe. It's a piano-led track that builds beautifully over the course of it, first with these cool little synth textures & then gradually the rock instrumentation. The lyrics are also some of the best on the album, talking about loss of identity & searching for your purpose in life in a pretty effective way. My favorite song here is “If I Had a Tail”, another fantastic mid-tempo alt-rock tune with infectious melodies all around & nicely reserved guitars in the verses that explode perfectly in the chorus & bridge, complimented with a good lyrical theme bashing general society's materialist/hedonist mentality. The first half finishes with “My God is the Sun”, which was a great choice for the lead single, a driving rocker that grabs you with the riffs within seconds & will definitely attract the demographic I was in who's only familiar with the older hits.

    “Kalopsia” goes in a refreshingly laid-back direction with a nice psychedelic atmosphere in the verses that transitions smoothly into more of a hard rock style toward the end. “Fairweather Friends” is another major highlight. Nearly all of this album's many collaborators sing backing vocals on this song. Admittedly though, my only thing close to a gripe on this album is that I would've liked if such a star-studded guest list had a bigger role than barely audible contributions you probably wouldn't notice if you didn't hear about it from somewhere else. Elton John is the exception, since he plays piano here too & his backing vocals provide a nice echo in the chorus, but still. That being said, the song's still really great, and ends on a random & hilarious note that I still crack up at on the 6th listen. “Smooth Sailing” has an awesomely sleazy groove with over-the-top flamboyant falsetto vocals & some awesome lines. “I Appear Missing” is another really good one but honestly doesn't have many traits I haven't already talked about as far as I can tell. The album ends with the title track, which takes another drastic turn as a vulnerable piano ballad that follows the same introspective lyrical style as “The Vampyre of Time and Memory”, though to me it's done in a more emotional way here.

    ...Like Clockwork consistently shows off memorable, well-thought-out & surprisingly diverse material. Normally albums that get as much hype as this got disappoint at least some people, but I've honestly heard few, if any, negative thoughts about it as a whole. I'll make it a goal to listen to some more QOTSA in the near future.

    Top 5 tracks: If I Had a Tail, Fairweather Friends, The Vampyre of Time and Memory, I Sat by the Ocean, Smooth Sailing
    Score: 91/100
    My review-based Facebook page: That Non-Elitist Music Fan
    Expand
  15. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Very nearly a 10, I'd been waiting 6 years for this album and couldn't have asked for better. It's not on the same level as Songs for the Deaf, Rated R or their Self-titled (then again, what is) however it lived up to the hype that I built up over the years I waited. If I Had a Tail is a personal favourite, but every song on the album is great.
  16. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    I'm not really a big fan of the band, but this album is solid; as expected from a band as prolific as them. "My God Is the Sun" has this unique sound that makes me want to repeat it over and over again.
  17. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Love this cd just like Arctic Monkey's AM, I was happy to enjoy a few pure rock cd releases this year. This cd hooked me from the start and I enjoyed every track. Love that they are from Palm Desert as well, since I am also a desert dweller, not too far away from them, in Las Vegas!
  18. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This is QOTSA's finest album, and is superior even to Songs for the Deaf. Some of the songs on this record ("I Appear Missing" in particular) border on true genius, and I do not use that word lightly. On this focused, cohesive and brilliant record, QOTSA musters all their strengths, rallies all their most talented friends (Trent Reznor, Mark Lanegan, Dave Grohl etc.), and taps into a deeper well of emotion than they ever have before. Although the record is vital and powerful, the snide arrogance of youth that propelled great albums like Songs for the Deaf has been replaced by maturity and insight, which has honed the band down to a sharp edge. Gone are the superfluous "joke songs" that distracted listeners from the greatness of their past albums. There is not one bad song on this record. It has been polished and chiseled down to a flawless diamond. This album has more emotional power than anything QOTSA has done before. It seems Homme was truly changed by his near-death experience, but he must not have been clinically dead on the table for very long, because he doesn't seem to have lost a single brain cell. His lyrics are more clever and insightful than ever before, and his riffs are more complex and intricately layered. This record proves that QOTSA keeps getting better and better with age. Homme has produced his greatest work at the age of forty, a truly admirable accomplishment for a rock musician. Although the last song promises "It's all downhill from here," it seems QOTSA have begun a new era in their own career, and in some ways it seems they are just getting started. Expand
  19. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    This is a very good rock album and may very well be the rock album of the year. Not only is the rock intense, but many of the songs contain catchy hooks and solos. I especially love the solo of I Sat by The Ocean. Would definitely recommend this album.
  20. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    With ...Like Clockwork, QOTSA delivers their most energetic, cohesive, focused and now, their most memorable LP to date. The band poured their blood (figuratively) sweat, and tears into this and through the smart and well balanced musicianship and instrumentation it's felt and heard. The balance between rock anthems and ballads remain fair and true, even Homme's vocals become more emotional here as he shows a more soft side, which takes guts to do in the music scene. Lyrically and thematically, the album tackles themes of abandonment, loss and heartache with a dark and menacing approach, helping ...Like Clockwork become more appealing to practically anybody. It's an immersive album that comes alive instantly after hitting play, and its effect upon listeners will cause repercussions that will bounce around the head for months. It takes audacity, time (6 years to be exact), and patience to make a strong, sharp and engaging album like this. The band tend to become liberal with this sound that they have on this LP however this sound rarely lingers as MOR (middle-of-road) material by QOTSA standards even dealing a gentle tune here and then. Primarily, this is a fantastic record and QOTSA show that even after being broken and torn, they still can rock beyond standards set up for them long ago. *Kyuss would be so proud. On the verge of being forgotten after a six year hiatus, QOTSA deliver a relentless, brutal and tenacious record that forces you to keep them in the recesses of your brain. Expand
  21. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    Queens of the Stone Age’s sound is unique and instantly recognisable, and ‘…Like Clockwork’ fulfills everything that their band name suggests, subverting the premise of hard rock with pretty melody. Homme sings in his finest falsetto at many points throughout the record, adding to that lighter feel that the album strives towards. Simon Neil of Biffy Clyro praised the queens for their ability to make hard rock sound sexy, and damn sexy it is. ‘…Like Clockwork’ is the culmination of everything Josh Homme, the sole continuous member of his own band, set out to do. The crap filter has been maxed out on this album, as Homme produces the most beautifully crafted grimy rock we’ve ever heard. Expand
  22. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    Best queens album in years, yes i enjoyed El Vagus or what ever its called but this new entire just feels so unique and the tracks are so moody, 9/10, gets a bit repetitive yet because of key tracks, my fav track being the last it deserves more like a Solid 9.8/10, so should probably round to a 10 but because of the repetitiveness and the fact that users are rating so high i gives it a 9
  23. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    One of the better rock albums this year. Manages to successfully blend classic rock with catchy hooks. Diverse yet it still works together as an album. Even the more traditionally structured songs on this album deliver.
  24. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    For the first few months, I wasn't too keen on this album, thinking it was only too short, not hard enough, lacking any change in direction like Era Vulgaris, etc. But then I wen't to their ...LC concert in Toronto, and then leaving, I realized just how DAMN GOOD this album is.

    It's a culmination of all the previous sounds and styles Homme and co. created to get to this point (even his
    days at Them Crooked Vultures can be recgnized with some of the more upbeat tunes), with the emotion and soul that hasn't been present in any of the 6 albums. At first I was wishing that there were more songs, but I've also come to realize that all 10 songs are wonderfully crafted, produced, and written.

    Not much else I can say, except this is one of my 3-4 candidates for album of the year, and is proudly my new favourite QotSA album! Definitely worth the 6 year wait or a 4 year wait, if you like TCV.
    Expand
  25. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Never in my life have I followed an album so closely, prior to its release and been so satisfied. This album delivers on every track, which is some feat, considering the very varying genres going around on the album and within some tracks. Homme sounds better than ever and same can be said, for what can only be described as the "army" of guitars present on this album, mixed to perfection. I feel every song on this album, has at some point, had its turn of being my favourite track and at this point I still struggle to choose my favourite, proving the genius of this album and how that genius should be savoured so. My one criticism with the album would be the track ordering, a very minor thing I realise, however I can't help but feel "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the wrong choice for the opener. Such choices as "Smooth Sailing", "I Sat By The Ocean" or even the end of "If I Had a Tail", into "My God is the Sun", I feel would have set the album up better. However, the fact that the tremendous and massive sounding ending of "I Appear Missing", is not the album closer, is the sorest choice made on the entire album. However, you take all these songs individually and I would struggle greatly not to give the majority of them 10/10, which is the most important thing. Considering the age and progression of this never disappointing band, this album only seems like the perfect thing for QOTSA to have created. I know I will still be happily listening to this album from to start to finish many, many years from now, and I know I will not be alone when I am. Expand
  26. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    har fan inte hört så här jävla krallig rock musik på jävligt länge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  27. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    ...Like Clockwork is unmistakeably QOTSA while being quite unlike any of their previous albums. Josh Homme's vocals and his distinct brand of unusual songwriting are familiar threads running through Like Clockwork's tracks. However, Like Clockwork seems to transcend genre altogether with its stunning tapestries of strange sounds that morph like a sonic kaleidoscope. The layered complexity at times is staggering and impressive from a songwriting perspective- and the song structures challenge the listener to resist the urge to predict where the ride is headed. But if you hold on tight, you'll be taken on a strange journey to what feels like a true musical frontier. Expand
  28. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    In an era of musical blight, Queens of the Stone Age have released a masterpiece with ...Like Clockwork. Multi-dimensional as it is layered, Josh Homme is in the prime of his musical evolution; even with old friends Dave Grohl and Nick Oliveri on board, it's Homme who steals the show with his dark and satisfyingly harmonizing delivery of his trademark antediluvian lyrics. ...Like Clockwork is so profoundly and perfectly composed you feel yourself in the room every time you listen, wanting more. Expand
  29. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    Best album of this decade. It's a different alubm, i'd say. This time Josh gets more sentimental on the music. The best album since Songs for the Deaf.
  30. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    You can tell Homme's time with Them Crooked Vultures has had an influence on this album, with a larger presence of slow ballads and stripped down, slow-paced rock music than ever before on a QOTSA record. Lyrically it explores the dark times Josh had after his routine knee surgery didn't go to plan, and is probably the humblest-sounding QOTSA record yet as a result. There are still plenty of riffs and more typical Queens songs such as I Sat By the Ocean, and Smooth Sailing with it's funky dance sensibility and crunching riff could easily have come off of Era Vulgaris. The only thing lacking is that QOTSA swagger and weirdness that we have loved for over a decade. Expand
  31. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    This is definitely one of the greatest albums made for years, it has no "greatest song", every single song is a hit, and the more you listen to it, the more it grows on you.
    Queens of the Stone Age has a completely unique feel to it, and this album, as well as "Era Vulgaris" are perfect examples of this, which is why it deserves a 10/10. This album is perfect!
  32. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    [9.1] Queens of the Stone Age always had a few songs that impressed me, but I never did like an entire album of their's. It's certainly somewhat more mellow than their usual work, but it delivers some badass tracks that may be some of their best. *Resubmitted score 9.1*
  33. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    A strong contender for album of the year. A representation of everything that QOTSA is, was and will be in the future All of the characters are present for this storytelling epic. Lanegan is back, so is Oliveri. The one thing that this album lacks is a 'bang-your-head-and-scream-along' track like 'Millionaire' or 'Tension Head' or 'Quick And To The Pointless' from previous albums. What you get instead is the bluesy, introspective QOTSA reminiscent of 'Mosquito Song' or 'Song For The Deaf', and references to older material like 'Mexicola', 'Turning The Screw' and 'Avon'. The ultimate 'we're still here and still relevant' album. If you only buy one album this year, this should be the one though the replay value is off the charts, in an era where most artists put two listenable songs on an album. Expand
  34. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    35/100 Magnet?
    O Sistema está corrompido meus amigos.
    Automaticamente a Review deste álbum está adulterada. Vocês acreditam nos Media? Acreditam num critico de um magazine?
    Dinheiro fala mais alto meus amigos, e a corrupção não existe só na politica ou no desporto ela está em todo o lado, o ramo da música está MINADO. As grandes editoras já minaram há muitos, muitos anos o mercado. uma
    GUERRA para conseguirem lucrar milhões, o CAPITALISMO está em todo o lado, e o ramo da música uma pequena peça desta gigantesca máquina. O que vende milhões já se sabe o que não necessário fazer uma grande ginástica mental para perceber.
    Eu gosto de apreciar música (sou bastante ecléctico, mais quase impossível). Mas sobretudo gosto de apreciar inteligência, e muito bom humor, nas pessoas.
    É por isso que aprecio tanto Joshua Michael Homme. Ele a encarnação desses dois elementos, e como excelente músico que mais os excelentes músicos que o rodeiam,só pode sair dali coisa boa.
    NA REALIDADE O QUE O ROCK N ROLL PRECISA de PESSOAS como JOSH HOMME. Felizmente quem o está a leva o Homme para o topo não são os media, são verdadeiros músicos meus caros amigos....
    Expand
  35. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    MAGNET 35/100!? LOL. Daqui a 10 anos, saberei definitivamente a dimensão deste álbum, e dos seus antecessores. Este número e o número que está na média deste review está completamente adulterado. A INVEJA muito má conselheira, por isso "Os cães ladram e a caravana passa...".
    Não simpatizo com os media, Sei que o mundo está minado por corrupção, e o ramo da música não excepção. As
    excepção. As grandes editoras compram os media, e facilmente convencem o público, Quem pensa e consegue ler o meio que o rodeia, apercebe-se, que tudo na realidade não passa de uma ilusão.
    Infelizmente este mundo uma alienação, e os alienados acabarão por fazer com que o sistema corrupto vença...E o que eu estou a ver acontecer neste preciso local!!!
    Expand
  36. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    First few listens, did not like this album at all... It's a grower though, and I'd put it up with their best albums. There are some really slow moments on the album that I REALLY didn't like at first, but after multiple listens, I find myself liking those tracks the most. Josh Homme sounds better than he ever has before with his vocals.

    I highly recommend this album, I almost gave up on
    it after a few listens... don't make the mistake I almost made, stick with it! Expand
  37. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Queens of the Stone Age with ...Like Clockwork blows us out of the water. It is a combination of all of their previous records in one, yet still retaining a distinct sound. It feels like the correct natural progression, it doesn't feel forced. And with guest appearances from Nick Olivier and Mark Lanegan, albeit on backing vocals, there is still that old Queens vibe.

    Opener, "Keep Your
    Eyes Peeled" has a meaty bass line and Joey Castillo's solid drumming that featured on the last two albums keeps the song going, and I think that Dave Grohl's drumming does hold more energy, but I think they can both play drums for Queens well, they both bring something different to the band's overall sound.

    "The Vampyre of Time and Money", is the the first of the slower songs on the album. The band have done it before with "Make it Wit Chu", but these seem more emotional. Rated R featured slower songs breaking the album up nicely from the energy of such songs like "Quick and to the Pointless" and with these ballads, I feel like the band are doing the same thing. "The Vampyre..." is a really good song, with guitar work sounding like Pink Floyd and the synths in the background just meld everything together in a soothing blend of liquid QOTSA.

    "If I had A Tail", gets itself in my head again and again because it is so catchy. The grooves that the drums and the bass have together work really well on this song, and the Desert Rock feel on this song and throughout the album is like Songs for the Deaf. With Olivier and Lanegan on backing vocals the chorus has a really meaty feel to it, which is a bit lost on this album soundwise, the reason why some compared "My God Is The Sun" to a Them Crooked Vultures song.

    And then of course we get to "My God Is The Sun", half way into the album, and we are breezing through with Michael Shuman's powerful Bass playing propels this song into a heavy and loud torment of wonder. "Kalopsia" is quiet and feels like it can drag in the verses until the chorus' screech into life gouging your eyes out to make sure you don't drift off into "the land of the nightmares".

    "Fairweather Friends" follows along with "Smooth Sailing", bringing a slightly funkier side to band, but there is still that definite Hard Rock sound to both of them. And then, the penultimate track on our sixth adventure through the desert is "I Appear Missing". It is a true Queens of the Stone Age masterpiece. The whole song is epic and unbelievable. It follows suit in other QOTSA songs such as "You Can't Quit Me Baby", "I Think I Lost My Headache" and "A Song for the Dead". We are in old school territory here in terms of song construction. Half of the song is an incredible emotional journey of strength from every band member before going into a complex rhythmic section and then into the solo that just is so very good. It wails and plays around with the fabric of air. It manipulates your senses ins ecstasy.

    But, it doesn't end. "...Like Clockwork" ends the album. And the band end the album quietly, but with energy and a brooding bass line to fit. It feels like the end to and epic journey, because it is. The band have improved on their past two albums and made a very good album. This is up there with Rated R, and maybe just ahead of Songs for the Deaf. People will be listening to this, they will be loving this just as we do with their earlier work, for years to come. The only issues I have, is that sometimes it struggles to hold itself in the slower songs, Josh's voice doesn't do as well as in the louder powerful songs, but I can live with that. I can live with this album, I can live with it for decades.

    Rated R, Songs for the Deaf, ...Like Clockwork.
    Expand
  38. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    Being a long time listener of the band, I was happy to say it was similar in all the right ways, different in all the right ways, and generally just a great album. However, my viewpoint would be biased as I have enjoyed all their efforts to date. So good to have a new album turn out well for us!
  39. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Penso que só pessoas minimamente inteligentes e honestas, deveriam cotar um álbum dos QotSA. Tenho lido alguns reviews de certos magazines, que me fazem rir. Fazem comparações completamente rídiculas e imbecis, um exemplo bem evidente este magazine Under The Radar. Só um asno pode escrever um artigo destes, "The guitars are more or less grungy, but some of those indie-rock rhythms, with distortion-lite effects, sound a bit like Franz Ferdinand. Not necessarily a bad thing—they're pretty and chiming, and the straight-up lead riffs are often infectious. But this is Queens of the Stone Age, man."
    Josh Homme anda a ouvir Franz Ferdinand!!! AHAHHAHAA leiam este artigo que de partir o coco a rir, Os media são o quê?
    Expand
  40. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    Thank God Josh Homme is back. I've been missing some good rock for a long time. I mean QOTSA are still able to produce an album which stands out for greatness and originality of sound, whereas many bands especially this year had fun in imitating past genres, though with superb results like Endless Boogie. Hence, Josh Homme has still something witty to say thus making Like Clockwork the best rock album of the year. I believe we could all agree to this. Expand
  41. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    After listening to this album for the first time, I found myself completely obsessed with it. I find myself constantly listening to it over and over again, immersed in its excellence. ...Like Clockwork, in a way, sounds to me like Lullabies to Paralyze should have sounded. At times it is the classic hard rock you expect from the Queens of the Stone Age, and at other times it slows down, allowing the band to really display their vocal strength in a way they have not quite done yet. While I love every song on the album, the true go-to song here is definitely "I Appear Missing", a song that so well done that it stands as one of my all time favorite QotSA songs. All in all, this is a must buy album. It's not quite as amazing as, say, Rated R or Songs for the Deaf, but it stands as the one of the bands most ambitious and outstanding achievements to date.

    9.3/10
    Expand
  42. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    I'm not very good fan of Queens of the Stone Age because the only album that I liked most was "Lullabies to Paralyze", and that my brother showed me what was our favorite, but for me, this album has increased my taste for this band. Like Clockwork, an album that takes everything the band has done, mix it with some pop and again with a lot of guests that give another twist to the band's music without changing their style.
    As guests are the former Queens, Dave Grohl, Nick Oliveri and Mark Lanegan. Then there is Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys, Trent Reznor, Jake Shears of Scissor Sisters and surprise to me, Elton John.
    The album starts with "Keep Your Eyes Peeled" low hypnotic hard rock. "I Sat by the Ocean" still sounds like Queens of the Stone Age in his role not as heavy songs. Next is "The Vampyre of Time and Memory" has been the ones I liked the album, shows the evolution of the draft Homme And to continue another shifty, "If I Had a Tail", a good song.
    "My God Is the Sun", in the vein of the last deliveries of the group. The most experimental song is "Kalopsia" where Trent Reznor collaborates who also appears in "Fairweather Friends" with Elton John, which make it a true masterpiece, as Jonah said. "Smooth Sailing" and "I Appear Missing" round out the album with my favorite, Like Clockwork a ballad very high manufacturing.
    You may not love it so much, but anger discovering such high quality that have the songs from this album.
    With this album, it is now difficult to say which came to make the best of the year, do not think is this, because I still like more "RAM" by Daft Punk, but definitely, this will be on the list.
    Expand
  43. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    While I don't think this is the best QOTSA ever, it is a refreshingly new sound. It was a risky move that QUOTSA pulled off brilliantly. The slow to fast mix in this album is incredible. Almost all of the songs have taken their place in my heart. This is true rock, welcome back!
  44. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Let me just say that this album is amazing down to the core. This is rock like I have not heard in a while. QOTSA have done good this time around. I will be disapointed if this album is not at the very least nominated for Album of the Year. This album is a classic.
  45. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    ...Like Clockwork proves that Queens of the Stone Age are still one of the most fascinating bands in rock today. It may very well be the band's best record since Songs for the Deaf. Powered by crunchy guitar riffs and haunting vocal harmonies, supplemented by piano and vintage synths, the album is both seductive and sinister. The darker, more introspective lyrics (inspired by frontman Josh Homme's depression and other recent tumult) add to the mysterious nature of the music. As with previous QOTSA albums, this one features an array of collaborators, including former band members Nick Oliveri and Mark Lanegan, Dave Grohl (who plays drums on half of the songs), Elton John, Trent Reznor, and Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys. Most of the collaborators reside in the background, enhancing the songs rather than dominating at the front. There's more diversity among the ten songs on the album, which sets it apart from the past couple QOTSA albums. All in all, ...Like Clockwork is one of the best albums of the year, and we have Josh Homme and his friends to thank for this wonderful gift. Expand
  46. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "This is like a funeral in the desert" someone already said. I can't disagree but I can say it was a great ceremony. This is my favorite album so far. Expand
  47. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    So far so good, QotSA have delivered a lot of titles, some famous (Little Sister, Go with the Flow, Make it With Chu), some unknown (You think i ain't worth a dollar[...]) but all of them were good. But this album, man this album is almost perfect The overture with "Keep your eyes peeled" is not well chosen, but the rest of the album is just a pure pleasure to your ears. With some dancing titles like "Smooth Sailing" or "Salt by the Ocean", some angry one like "My god is the sun" or "If I Had a tail" and beautiful ballads like "The Vampire of time and memories" this album is, so far, one of the best 2013's album !
    The only regret i have is that this album could have been more "constructed" if only the order of some titles could have been change while the transitions are perfect once the 4th title reach.
    A must have for everyone who love good music and a masterpiece for QotSA's Fans
    Expand
  48. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Brilliant album from Queens of the stone age, the only criticism i could offer is that its only 10 songs long, but that wouldn't be a problem if every song wasn't fantastic. The album manages to be completely different from anything that they have done before but remain classic Queens.
  49. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    If deeply-affecting personal experiences produce music this good, then Josh Homme should have near-death experiences more often. Imagine the trademark QotSA sonic boom flavored with hints of Bowie and Nine Inch Nails while indulging in Pink Floyd or Radiohead-style experimentation...all distilled down into a compact (~45 minutes) package that gets better with each listen.
  50. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    It's dark, it's deep, and it's twisted, but isn't that the point? Every QOTSA album has a different feel, but this one seems to strike a different chord. (no pun intended) There's something really honest about the way these songs are arranged that make them feel very basic, giving a much needed vibe of stripped down, untamed music, something they've always excelled in. The album's title track "...Like Clockwork" was a real highlight/climactic ending to a well rounded album, opening up Homme's softer, humbler, and more sensitive side. They, once again, have strongly impressed me with their music, as well as their growth in musical style.

    Due to my personal taste when it comes to their vast collection of songs, I would have given this album a 9. (I actually prefer Era Vulgaris) However, this album, from a larger standpoint, is much more than any of the others because it gives a sense that they have given their audience their heart and soul, asking them to listen, to share with them, the feelings they stir inside.

    For that, I give them a 10.
    Expand
  51. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    What to even say? This record is like a gut punch in every way that music ought to be. Catchy as all get out and lyrical depth beyond any prior QOTSA release or anything in recent memory. Current frontrunner for album of the year, no exaggeration, IMHO.
  52. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    I'm a fan of Queens of The Stone Age their album Songs Of the Deaf and Rated R are some of my favorite albums, but their last 2 albums have been disappointing even though i did enjoy some of the singles of the albums. This is in my opinion a brings back a lot of elements that made the band popular including hard guitar riffs and great vocals by Josh Homme and sharp song writing, but it also brings some new elements like slower songs and new tempos through certain songs. If you're a fan of Queens of The Stone Age pick it up it while in my opinion it doesn't reach the greatness that was Songs of The Deaf, its still a great album. Expand
  53. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Not quite as good as the albums "from the good old days", but an appropriate comeback. QotSA have taken on a heavier, almost progressive-like direction in their music while still retaining their edginess.
  54. Jun 6, 2013
    6
    Pretty good album overall, it starts a bit slowly but it picks up and goes to its apex with “Smooth Sailing” which is a really solid song, one of their best in my opinion.
  55. Jun 5, 2013
    5
    Too many jerky tempo changes and slow rhythms bog this album down. When it does start to sound like vintage Queens it lacks the gusto, fuzz, and dimension, the reckless abandon. It's still unique in it's old Homme way and the is ever-present, it just seems stripped down and lonesome instead of heart-pumping and creepy. I Appear Missing is the gem here.
  56. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Just finishing up my second listen and from top to bottom, every track is enjoyable. This is first time I can say that about a QOTSA album (though they have all been better than average at worst). In fact, I don't say that about many albums very often they all seem to have a clunker or two in the mix, at least as far as my tastes are concerned. But I am struggling to find that here and that is an amazing feat for an album in this age. Expand
  57. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    The new album is weird, but the best kind of weird. After the luke warm Era Vulgaris, I didn't expect too much from Like Clockwork but, being a fan since the self titled, I picked up a copy. The entire album is so different from anything the band has put out and, for me, is a breath of fresh air. Granted, there are still 2 tracks that have that driving robot/desert rock the band is known for, but the rest of the songs have a more laid back approach. The vocal melody lines and meandering guitar riffs weave together, stack, and dissolve(not always in that order) into a competent record. Although I could have used a few more crunchy fast paced tunes, the album conjures feelings of wanderlust and melancholy that beg for a late night drive. Expand
  58. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    The best QOSTA album since Songs for the Deaf. ...Like Clockwork is from start to finish a very good album, with only two tracks that I didn't particularly care for (If I Had a Tail and Smooth Sailing). Much more focused than Era Vulgaris and doesn't suffer from a second half drag like Lullabies to Paralyze (with the exception of Long Slow Goodbye and I Never Came). I'll admit to being nervous as to how Trent Reznor and Elton John would fit into the overall production. However; Kalopsia and Fairweather friends are thus far my favorite tracks on the album. A definite must for QOSTA fans or just fans of eclectic rock. Expand
  59. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best albums Josh Homme has put his name on. On the same level as Rated R and Songs for the Deaf. If I had a tail is wonderfully catchy arena rock type stuff. Most of the melodies stick and don't wear thin like on Era Vulgaris.
  60. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Going to keep it short, this is a really good album. Its one of those that grows on you the more you listen. Personally really liking "if I had a tail". Probably going to be one of the better albums of the year, welcome back guys you have been missed.
  61. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    6 years is a long time to wait for a new albums, every second has been worth it as we're treated to an essential QotSA album that's excellent from beginning to end. Every track shines, from the crunchy rock opener that is "Keep Your Eyes Peeled" to the beautifully melodic "Kalopsia" that morphs into a belting rock song with amazing power chords that just sound so damn good together. There isn't a bad song on the entire album, every track to it's own degree is unique and is a superb song. If you're a Queens fan, while this is a little darker and a smidgen different than their previous albums, it deserves your attention and you'll love all ten songs, and have a tough time choosing a favorite. If you're a fan of rock I can't recommend anything more than this treasure, from Homme's grand, signature vocals, Dave Grohl's excellent drumming, a little bit of Elton John and Trent Reznor, and the rest of the band it's easily one of the best albums I've heard in a long time. It's Rock and Roll/Alternative at it's finest and it's one hell of a record. Expand
  62. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Just listened to the vinyl LP. So good, and it sounds amazing. What's odd is that it's meant to be played at 45 RPM, and I've never seen that on an LP before, (they're usually 35 RPM). Just a quirky note. I fell like they might have done it on purpose to screw with people, or not, I don't know the absolute specifics of what goes into pressing an album. Whatever, the music is great, having a cohesive theme, yet every song has its own distinct sound. It's hard to pick favourites, but "My God is the Sun," "Fair-weather Friends" and "I Sat by the Ocean" are exuberant. The title track is a quiet, introspective, unique track that greatly closes the album. I get some hints of The Who and Supertramp in here, although it's mostly just the warped genius of Queens of the Stone Age. Another definitive, exemplary album from a band that just keeps getting better. Expand
  63. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    These guys are back and better than ever So many highlights on this album top to bottom. Easily one of the best albums so far in 2013. Josh Homme has elevated his music to a different level.
  64. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    The genre-bending, rule breaking band of misfits is back and bigger than ever. With a 6 year gap between their last album Era Vulgaris, a new Queens of the Stone Age album was at the top of my wish list. They didn't disappoint either! Every track comes at you in full swing. They entrance, mystify, disturb, and even stimulate you. With ...Like Clockwork, Queens of the Stone Age bring a splash of reality to what real rock music is. No more of this garbage Nickelback and Mariana's Trench.

    From the first riff, I know that this would be a special occurrence. As I proceeded, weaving between simplicity and complexity, I realized that I was in a psychedelic heaven. With no detectable flaws, this album provides the perfect blend of psychedelic rock and metal. "Keep Your Eyes Peeled" is the ultimate opener for the album. It starts out quiet, like the calm before the storm, and then suddenly, you are whisked away by the heart-pounding thuds of drums and bass. After this dreary and oddly hypnotic first track, "I Sat By The Ocean" shows off the radio-friendly capabilities of QOTSA. After all these years, they can still put together an upbeat, soon to be on the radio song. Slowing down the tempo again, the band returns you to where they left off in the trippy journey. In a Pink Floyd-esque fashion, QOTSA take the opportunity to explore the ways of synthetics in "The Vampyre of Time and Memory". Alongside brain-melting guitar solos is the light whir of a synthesizer. The next two tracks, "If I Had A Tail" and "My God Is The Sun", are both songs more than qualified to be radio hits in no time. With comedic lyrics and strange themes, this obscure duo goes together better than peanut butter and jelly. As we venture into the second half of the album, it's as if there is a darkness that has filled the songs. On "Kalopsia", Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails helps out the gang by providing his magnificent voice and musical talent to create (what may be) QOTSA's darkest odysseys. Continuing with the dark trend, "Fairweather Friends" and "Smooth Sailing" sound upbeat enough, but still have and eerie undertone. The songs make you feel a plethora of emotions all at once. All you can do is sit there, wondering what the hell is going on. It sounds like they're having a good time, but at the same time, it sounds like the world is about to end. On "I Appear Missing", the album's magnum opus, the spellbinding guitar melodies combined with Josh Homme's unique vocals are what really take the cake. Finally, on "...Like Clockwork", QOTSA leave with a calming acoustic song, accompanied by piano and echoes of bass. They know that the album is over. They know that this fictional world is coming to an end. All they can do now is reassure the audience that everything will be alright. Or maybe the opposite.

    From start to finish, the album blew me away. Each track offered something different and unique. Also, I believe that this album has some of the most creative and well-written lyrics of all time. The messages are well established and the execution by Josh Homme is the icing on the cake.

    Overall, the album is flawless. I have listened to it numerous times and find nothing wrong with it. Beautiful lyrics, catchy rhythms, and addictive vocals; what more could you want?
    Expand
  65. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    While it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like Clockwork abound. From the haunted house monster stomp of the album's opener "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the arena rock bravado of "Fairweather Friends", to the melodic melancholy of the eponymous album closer, it is some of JHo and Company's most adventurous work to date. And yet, never at any point did I wonder if it was QOTSA. A triumph. Collapse
  66. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    It's a good album, but the influence of Elton John is very present over the entire album which makes it sound like QotSA went indie, another band drenched in reverb for no good reason. Still a good album overall, just missing the UMPH they used to have and exchanged it for melodious guitars là Them Crooked Vultures. However this will scare away old fans (except the fanboys who are just tossing 10's), only the future can tell if it's a change for the better. Expand
  67. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This is actually a really solid and varied album. I liked 'Era Vulgaris' but found myself skipping nearly half of the songs on it. For me, '...Like Clockwork' is one of those albums you need to listen to in its entirety rather than a song at a time.
  68. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    If Songs for the Deaf was the definitive record of QOTSA as a collaborative project born in the desert sessions, ...Like Clockwork is the definitive record of QOTSA as Josh Homme's band. Quite possibly the best (and certainly the most focused) album of their career, and a strong AOTY contender in an impossibly good year for music.
  69. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    Its been years since I have enjoyed a album or project that has involved Josh Homme, Not since 2002’s Song For The Deaf everything he seemed to touch in the 00’s with a few exceptions seemed to decisively average like his endless amount of albums produced as The Desert Sessions or simply a rich mans vanity project such as Them Crooked Vultures which came and went leaving no real lasting impression other than the worst almost Download Festival headliner ever.

    With their sixth album …Like Clockwork Queens seem to have refound their groove. The first track Keep Your Eyes Peeled has a down tuned slow paced groove not too dissimilar to Hommes early work in Kyuss and the returning Dave Grohl on drums hammers a powerful back beat to drive home the tracks stoner groove. The second track and most likely single I sat by the Ocean is a anthem that can easily be imagined being played on a sunny day on the main stage at a festival, even if it does have the same riff as Coffee and TV by Blur.

    The album is packed with guest artists, from Trent Reznor who appears on the track Kalopsia adding a haunting piano piece at the start of the track adding a huge amount of atmosphere before a huge sounding riff kicks in and the track goes into a standard Queens’s song. This doesn’t come close to the amount of guest stars on If I Had a tail which features Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys, Mark Lanegan of Screaming Trees and most surprisingly former Queens of the Stone Age bassist Nick Oliveri. This is the most indie track on the album and see’s the guest stars providing backing vocals on the tracks chorus, they are difficult to hear until the ending of the track and seem to have been added simply for the sake of Josh Homme putting his friends on a track.

    This is a real return to form for Queens, it may not be up there with the groups first three albums but it is certainly the best album that Josh has done in a very long time, delivering in the killer riffs and catchy chrous’s that have seemed to have been missing from recent Queens of The Stone Age albums.
    Expand
  70. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums I've ever heard! Every song is so great, I have to listen to the album completely. Never have I had an experience similar to this, where I liked all the songs on the album. And the journey this album takes you on, is simply astounding! I could listen to this album hours and hours, day for day. Defenitely a 10/10! LISTEN IT!
  71. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    ...Like Clockwork... The title itself holds so much meaning. After surviving his surgery, Homme goes on a very dangerous, sloppy road as he leads his music into a beautiful mix of neo-psychedelia and easy stoner rock. Gathering his friend he creates yet another masterpiece in QOTSA's discography. What Homme was really missing during his previous two albums was a company of dear friends and with them joining him the album became even more self-centred. The album shows the emotional side of modern day legends. The result is an Album Of The Year material. It may be less straight-forward that "Songs For The Deaf" or "Rated R" and little less stylish than "Queens Of The Stone Age" but that doesn't mean that the album can go below excellent mark. The album itself is more pop-like in songs like "Vampyre Of Time And Memories" and "...Like Clockwork" but Josh wanted to do an album not centered on "Heavy" but "Dark" sound, which I think they did very, very well. I salute to you, Queens. Expand
  72. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    It's so refreshing to hear Josh Homme's main band record some new music after his recent troubles in the hospital and depressions and whatnot. But how does this new record hold up to the genius they've released before? Well, it matches nearly perfectly in quality to classics like "Songs for the Deaf" and "Lullabies to Paralyze", but strangely stands as its own record. It's more mellow and heartfelt than previous releases, yet still provides some decent headbangers along the ride. If you're a fan, it's definitely worth checking out. If you're not, it's still definitely worth checking out. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. 90
    Their rejuvenating effects make this the most rounded and melodic QOTSA album in a decade, a triumph snatched from the mortuary doors. [Summer 2013, p.88]
  2. 90
    It’s the kind of album we critics tritely refer to as a return to form but with the massively remarkable beast that ...Like Clockwork royally is, never has the phrase been more fitting.
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    35
    Queens Of The Stone Age lumbers its way through a series of increasingly skronky, sludge-by-numbers jams and sound. [No. 100, p.57]