User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2012
    9
    An amazing record!!!Deep, soullful and full of fragile and beautiful songs!!Welldone Norah for growing with your music and spreading your beautiful harmonic wings!!!
  2. May 2, 2012
    10
    Thanks Danger Mouse and Norah for this refreshing album. I like happy pills ,little broken hearts, say goodbye,all a dream, and also the extra track is great . thanks Norah Jones
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    The Album of the Year winner is back and better than ever. This album has to be her best and will form a legacy on its own. Norah Jones was gone for a long time but she didnt leave us hanging with this album.
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    Norah Jones's fifth album is far her best one- even better than Come Away With Me. The production of Danger Mouse lived up the expectations, and that combined to Jones' sweet voice and beautiful lyrics makes the album shines. It is full with romance and the feeling of lost, and manages to keep it not boring. Best songs are surely "Say Goodbye" and "Out On The Road".
  5. May 7, 2012
    8
    Check out our full review at Manik Music: http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/nora-jones-little-broken-hearts/

    In 2002, Norah Jones released her debut album, Come Away With Me. It ended up selling a whopping 22 million copies, netting her several Grammys, and solidifying her as one of the emerging â
  6. May 5, 2012
    8
    This album is really good. There are some fillers, stand-out tracks, and some are just... okay, but the album is amazing as a whole. I love it. I wish she'd go back to her roots though.
  7. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Corações partidos sempre rendem grandes músicas e ás vezes grandes álbuns. Dou dois exemplos apenas: Jagged Little Pill da Alanis e 21 da Adele. Esses dois são apenas dois mais recentes que eu lembrei assim de bate e pronto. Agora nesse mesmo hall podemos citar a cantora Norah Jones com o lançamento do seu quarto álbum Little BrokenCorações partidos sempre rendem grandes músicas e ás vezes grandes álbuns. Dou dois exemplos apenas: Jagged Little Pill da Alanis e 21 da Adele. Esses dois são apenas dois mais recentes que eu lembrei assim de bate e pronto. Agora nesse mesmo hall podemos citar a cantora Norah Jones com o lançamento do seu quarto álbum Little Broken Hearts. Porém, o resultado é mais que apenas um álbum sobre um coração partido. É um álbum sobre uma cantora encontrando sua maturidade artística.

    A dona de Don't Know Why traz á tona uma nova sonoridade para seu "piano/jazz": algo meio eletrônico/indie pop com uma alma sombria e bittersweet. O coração partido de Norah se mostra nas belas composições que permeiam todo álbum. Mantendo o estilo minimalista que a fez famosa só que agora com um peso libertador nas costas. Ao que parece a decepção amorosa fez com que ele se abrisse como compositora e a deixou liberar seus sentimentos mais obscuros como ciúmes, raiva e pessimismo com a vida de uma forma geral. A sonoridade de Norah está completamente diferente. Em busca de algo que a melhor em sua nova fase, ela explorou um som mais alternativo ao deixar uma pegada mais indie eletropop a contaminasse. A emoção vem de forma mais difícil. Você não viajar de primeira nas canções de Little Broken Hearts. Diferente das melodias aconchegantes, aqui ela faz seu ouvinte deitar em um colchão mais duro que demorar até acertar o "prumo" da coluna. Mesmo mantendo a delicada voz, os efeitos que acompanham os vocais de Norah têm a função de deixar mais estéril e distante a voz dela como uma quase espectadora da própria tristeza. Adora a dor imprensa em She's 22 onde Norah fala abertamente em ser traída. A bela Good Morning, que abre o álbum, tem uma produção instrumental belíssima. Little Broken Hearts tem algo de trilha para filme de David Lynch que assusta e cativa ainda mais que é a melhor composição do álbum. E por fim no topo do álbum está Happy Pills (resenha a seguir), mesmo um pouco deslocada no álbum, é impressionante. Depois de tudo isso só me resta a dizer: Norah Jones, muito bem vinda ao hall dos (pequenos) corações quebrados.
    Expand
  8. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Norah Jones decided to go for a more electric way with the help of Brian Burton, the album is such a pleasant piece charged with soul and feeling, most of the tracks talk about different ways to broke a heart or to be brokenhearted; my favorite She's 22 and Miriam :)
  9. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Another Norah Jones album, another masterpiece, another broken heart. In evil moments, i wish Norah's heart never be rebuild, so we can listen more and more good albuns like that. My favourite song is "4 broken hearts", listen it and get addicted !
  10. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    Maybe someone would say these songs and Norah are full of saddened and melancholy and you wouldn't like it, but if you listen to this more carefully maybe you will find that Norah is great vocalist. The songs are beautify arranged and the lyrics are smart and give to think.
  11. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Norah has changed her sound in just the slightest, and it's only noticeable in a few songs, but it's refreshing. She realized maybe she need to surprise people, and I think she will. Little Broken Hearts is a different kind of masterpiece.
  12. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    I am a male who strongly favors music with a beautiful female voice. As such, I have always liked Norah Jones singing. But with the album, "Little Broken Hearts." I have reached a totally new appreciation for her. It crept up on me. I liked "She's 22" right off because it hit real close to home. You hear a woman, still obviously in love, ask her ex forlornly whether the 22 year oldI am a male who strongly favors music with a beautiful female voice. As such, I have always liked Norah Jones singing. But with the album, "Little Broken Hearts." I have reached a totally new appreciation for her. It crept up on me. I liked "She's 22" right off because it hit real close to home. You hear a woman, still obviously in love, ask her ex forlornly whether the 22 year old he's now with "does she make you happy." Norah used to put her mouth close to the microphone and let her beautiful voice be heard with fairly standard musical accompaniment. With this album, she allows her voice to be the lead instrument in wonderfully stylized songs with a new mix of electronic music, cello, and steel guitar, all of which establish the mood for each song. "Take It Back" is a wonderful example of this new Norah Jones as her voice melds with a melody but does not dominate by any means. "Miriam" tells the story of a woman wronged and the lyrics haunted me from the first listening. Long after falling in love with this song, I found the video on YouTube. It is nothing short of Music Video Art. I hope Norah Jones continues to follow this new career path. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Jul 12, 2012
    78
    Jones takes a gothic turn with "Miriam," a soaring, surreal account of a romantic rival's murder. Like so much of ... Little Broken Hearts, it kills.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    20
    It's one boringly pedestrian plod after another. [Jun 2012, p.104]
  3. May 21, 2012
    40
    Danger Mouse's presence-and underperformance-on Little Broken Hearts turns what might otherwise just be another safe but bullshit-free Norah Jones album into an especially underwhelming affair.