• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 3, 2009
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 4 out of 89

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FrankieB.
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Whenever something gets critical acclaim on this site im a little bit skeptical, but i have to say that metacritics rating is completely on the money. Nirvana in my opinion is the second best alternative rock band of the 90's (Helmet i consider the best overall 90's alt rock band, my criteria putting value on how much music they influenced, the bias of how well they speak to me Whenever something gets critical acclaim on this site im a little bit skeptical, but i have to say that metacritics rating is completely on the money. Nirvana in my opinion is the second best alternative rock band of the 90's (Helmet i consider the best overall 90's alt rock band, my criteria putting value on how much music they influenced, the bias of how well they speak to me as an individual, and the inevitable bias of "how popular they were". I understand Nirvana sold over ten times as much as Helmet but for some reason to me Helmet has a little more power). The ENERGY of this disc is FUCKIN AMAZING. Prior to hearing Live At Reading, it was AWHILE before i felt genuinely invigorated by a rock album. I was actually feeling depressed about the music industry in general until i heard this cd. When i heard the frenetic energy of this music, and Kurt Kobain's agonized, quirky delivery, I felt as rebellious and pissed off as i did when i was 15, and i mean that as the highest praise i can think of. I also recognize "School" as one of the most cathartic rock anthems ever made. All the material covered on this, which is mostly from Bleach and Nevermind and a handful of tracks from In Utero, are performed at the pinnacle of cathartic intensity. Expand
  2. LukeG.
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    Amazing, that's all I can say.
  3. JoseC.
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    A Perfect Capturing of a Moment in Time in which Nirvana Captivated the World with their music, and we Forever knew no peer to Cobain.
  4. PaulS.
    Nov 26, 2009
    7
    I don't understand music critics. Why does nearly every single music album have a near perfect score? Nirvana isn't THAT good. Sure, it's an OK, but no where near the score it was given.
  5. AlexB.
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    This album really rocks! Live at Reading is a classic moment for Nirvana's fans. An amazing concert and a great album.
  6. DakotaG.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Any rock band who dreams of hitting it big must watch this concert from start to finish.
  7. Ouisch
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    This disc is amazing. I (along with probably every other Nirvana fan in the world) have been listening to bootlegs of this show for years. What they did with the sound quality on this CD release is incredible. Sure there are some hiccups (the manipulated crowd noises/the cutting of onstage banter), but these were obviously done to make the CD flow better (and in the case of the banter, This disc is amazing. I (along with probably every other Nirvana fan in the world) have been listening to bootlegs of this show for years. What they did with the sound quality on this CD release is incredible. Sure there are some hiccups (the manipulated crowd noises/the cutting of onstage banter), but these were obviously done to make the CD flow better (and in the case of the banter, chop down the set enough to make it fit on one CD). This is the best "official" live release they've ever put out (miles beyond Muddy Banks of the Wishkah), and leagues beyond all the previous bootlegs I've heard of the show. If they can give the '94 Rome show the same treatment, I'll be a very happy fan. Expand
  8. AndrewM.
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    All i can say is amazing! There is definitely something special about this show. It sounds better than ever and the video quality is great. The band rocks with an intensity that continues right through until the end. Kurt's voice sounds awesome, and it boggles my mind how it can last through 25 songs and sound just as great on the last song as it did on the first. The bass is full All i can say is amazing! There is definitely something special about this show. It sounds better than ever and the video quality is great. The band rocks with an intensity that continues right through until the end. Kurt's voice sounds awesome, and it boggles my mind how it can last through 25 songs and sound just as great on the last song as it did on the first. The bass is full and clear, very solid playing from Krist. And Dave looks like he's really enjoying himself as he pounds out the beats and fills with power and precision. The guitar sound is massive as well. Kurt avoids playing the solos note for note like the album version, ( Save Come As You Are) opting instead to play as dissonant and random as he possibly can . Pretty cool light show during the solos as well. Very tight rhythm playing from kurt as well. Check this dvd out! You won't be disappointed. Expand
  9. Erik
    Nov 7, 2009
    9
    Great concert with excellent audio! Must have for fans.
  10. DJ248
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    At there peak Nirvana ruled the airwaves along with the arenas. I was lucky enough to see them live at the Michigan State Fair Grounds. They made a cement floored animal born sound like the Abbey road recording studio. Mean and Raw. Thanks for the memories.
  11. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am devastated. I can't believe how heartless your former working place was. When I look at the people walking in and out of the offices, it's laughable to me that it would be you who lost her job. Technically, I'm an atheist, but I chant at a Buddhist church because I'm an aspiring writer and I need to achieve balance. You are in my quasi-prayers, but you're in my mind anyway, pretty much everyday for the past four years. I hope you caught it early. My hand shakes as I write this, because you're so beautiful. I wish I was the person who would nurse you back to health. You have to stay away from red meat; you have to eat a lot of fruits and vegetable, and grains. It's easy for a vegan like me; I hope it's easy for you. I hope you work with a nice group of people who are supportive and have good hearts. That's not the impression I get when I look at the cranky people from the other half of the merger, who snub me, even though I'm probably twice as smart as them, and you're probably twice as smart as me, which makes them idiots, I guess. Please live! And if we ever see each other on the street, please wave! Because I... Expand
  12. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I've watched Reading for many years on the tv and been a few times, but I've never witnessed a band take their headline spot and blow the minds of thousands of observers like Nirvana at Reading in 1992. This CD is essential listening for any fan of rock music in general.
  13. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    I'm not really one for live albums to be honest but this is one that's really worth having and is a must have if your a Nirvana fan. Where the sound quality isn't always up to scratch on their "Muddy Banks" live record, it's top quality here. Cobains vocals are as clean as you could hope for as well. Tracks from Nevermind dominate the setlist but you've got the best tracks from Bleach onI'm not really one for live albums to be honest but this is one that's really worth having and is a must have if your a Nirvana fan. Where the sound quality isn't always up to scratch on their "Muddy Banks" live record, it's top quality here. Cobains vocals are as clean as you could hope for as well. Tracks from Nevermind dominate the setlist but you've got the best tracks from Bleach on there as well as the few from In Utero that were around at the time. Its a great snapshot of the bands live energy for those who (will) never get to see them in the flesh. Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I like Nirvana . Me parecen bastante buenos y me gusta ser un verdadero fan de la banda, tambien defendio sus valores y los admiro mucho tambien en ese sentido
  15. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    I wasnt alive when Nirvana was around and when they ended. But after hearing my dad listen to there albums when i was 5-6 i fell in love with them. This is a classic album enough said
  16. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    A brilliant live album from a brilliant band. Personally I find with most recorded live performances the quality isn't that great, but Nirvana is an amazing band both in the studio and live and this album reveals that. A must have for fans.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Live at Reading presents the band at its post-Nevermind peak. Watching Kurt Cobain radiate so much life is bound to trigger some tears.
  2. Reading is a far cry from pop-chart fodder. And while the jarring howl of Cobain's Fender and his gravelly delivery may alienate the more nonchalant corners of their fanbase, these ferocious renditions will be a godsend to the dyed-in-the-wool Nirvana following.
  3. 90
    Nirvana's headlining gig at the 1992 Reading Festival looms infamously large because of (a) that amazingly creepy photo of Kurt getting wheeled onto the stage looking like Norman Bates' mother, and (b) the show was a mind-blower--sloppy indie rock as stadium-filling psychedelic punk.