London Zoo

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 77
  2. Negative: 23 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeG
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    I put this album on to read to, but immediately had an urge to dance. Solid sounds from start to finish.
  2. AlanR.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Totally underrated. More!
  3. FilmoreH.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Makes No Doubt's "Rock Steady" look like the banal pop turd it is. The Bug owns 2008.
  4. GuyH
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    This is the grower of the year for me so far. At first it sounds like a collection of stand alone tracks but give it time and you suddenly realise that it is a very scary document to the current state of urban insanity that surrounds many of us. There is something undeniably seductive about the feeling you get in your gut of impending danger, violence and chaos and 'The Bug' This is the grower of the year for me so far. At first it sounds like a collection of stand alone tracks but give it time and you suddenly realise that it is a very scary document to the current state of urban insanity that surrounds many of us. There is something undeniably seductive about the feeling you get in your gut of impending danger, violence and chaos and 'The Bug' taps into that. You almost welcome the apocalypse - bring it on! Expand
  5. AaronB.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece. Incredibly creative.
  6. EricC.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    The sound of the backlash is deafening. I can already see the angry user reviews from people who aren't in to dubstep, but who bought this anyway because it's one of the top albums of the year. It happened to Burial and ambient albums from Field and Stars of the Lid. It will happen again.
  7. CailyD.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Judging from what they play in clubs these days, I'd say this album is tremendously underrated. I've never felt more like dancing than when this album is on. I can't explain it.
  8. AnthonyC.
    Sep 13, 2008
    8
    Slightly overrated. still excellent, though.
  9. OlaoluJ.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    People will call it overrated and employ as much hyperbole as those they decry simply because it's hip to do so. Ultimately, London Zoo still remains an excellent entry into the dubstep (or whatever sub-genre you want to place it in) genre, with its great mix of lyricism and bass-heavy energy. It's personally the only album released this year that I've had this much fun People will call it overrated and employ as much hyperbole as those they decry simply because it's hip to do so. Ultimately, London Zoo still remains an excellent entry into the dubstep (or whatever sub-genre you want to place it in) genre, with its great mix of lyricism and bass-heavy energy. It's personally the only album released this year that I've had this much fun listening to. If you don't like dubstep at all then why bother reviewing this album? Expand
  10. WesM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    8
    Uniformly strong if not consistently groundbreaking dancehall.
  11. MrA
    Sep 8, 2008
    9
    The energy of this album is fantastic, I get lost in the textures, awesome!
  12. OllieH
    Mar 11, 2009
    9
    Outstanding. The production is second to none and the vocals are innovative. I have to warn anyone listening to this though, it isn't easy listening; the production is very bass-heavy and the vocalists' performances are very obnoxious at times (in terms of ego, tone and swagger). It's successful for the same reasons Wu-Tang Clan's 36 Chambers was: they're both Outstanding. The production is second to none and the vocals are innovative. I have to warn anyone listening to this though, it isn't easy listening; the production is very bass-heavy and the vocalists' performances are very obnoxious at times (in terms of ego, tone and swagger). It's successful for the same reasons Wu-Tang Clan's 36 Chambers was: they're both intentionally gritty, have amazing production, and are driven by strong and diverse vocalists. Skeng and Poison Dart are the two best tracks. Expand
  13. michaelR
    Aug 1, 2009
    9
    The songs on this album have an amazing abilty to pump me up. It helps me in the gym.
  14. MattH
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, unrelentingly dark and - somehow - fun. "London Zoo" is a masterpiece of menacing beats, gloomy atmospherics and talented guest vocalists.
  15. BrandoS.
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    The vocals took a bit to get used to, but gradually i fell for the album. the music is great and even better if you have a good stereo to crank it up. it's a grower not a shower.
  16. ElliottM
    Sep 13, 2008
    9
    Ditto Eric C.
  17. AndreaD.
    Sep 25, 2008
    8
    I've listen for the first time the dubstep and this genre has impresse me very positively! Basses are incredible on all the cd! Skeng, Angry, Judgment get 10/10, Warning , Fuckaz, Jah War 8/10, all the others 7/10..then... all the cd get an 8.. A particular mantion to the song Skang.. the rap on this song is amazing!
  18. May 2, 2011
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. The songs are innovative and interesting, but most of all, they contain a whole f**kload of energy. And I mean ALL of them. Some, like "Angry", are energizing in just a plain agressive, let-it-all-out style, while others, like "Skeng" or "Poison Dart" (which is, by the way, one of the very few true diamonds in this music style, in my opinion), are sophisticated andAn absolute masterpiece. The songs are innovative and interesting, but most of all, they contain a whole f**kload of energy. And I mean ALL of them. Some, like "Angry", are energizing in just a plain agressive, let-it-all-out style, while others, like "Skeng" or "Poison Dart" (which is, by the way, one of the very few true diamonds in this music style, in my opinion), are sophisticated and complicated compositions, not only appealing to the wild parts of our natures, but also the more civilized ones.
    And, of course, if you want to upset your neighbours just enough to move to a different country, buy yourself a decent sub to go with the record.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The cumulative effect--somewhere around being lifted into the heavens by sunrays--is at odds with the continuous black clouds that come before. Yet it’s a necessary chink of light to conclude a journey so oppressive you may just forget to breathe through its duration.
  2. Considering the host of absolutely killer tracks, London Zoo might just be Kevin Martin's finest album, which is astounding considering the man has been making music for two decades.
  3. London Zoo provides the perfect showcase for its colourful menagerie of MCs and singers. And the Bug's no-nonsense clank and grind production fosters a rare intensity of focus on this album's higher purpose, which is to take the eloquence of Linton Kwesi Johnson and Michael Smith's Eighties dub-poetry, and blast it into digital hyperspace.