Lonerism - Tame Impala
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 174

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    Felt embraced and transported to a thousand different worlds while listening to this remarkable piece of art; and all these scenarios were nothing but oblivion, fluorescent and (mostly) perfectly flawless.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Se tem uma banda que vale a pena ouvir hoje, essa banda é Tame Impala. Com influencias de bandas dos anos 60 e até em bandas mais novas, os australianos levam o ouvinte as profundezas psicodélicas com musicas que se distorcem na sua mente e se transformam em alucinógenos fazendo você sair completamente do mundo em que vive. Lonerism consegue ser melhor que seu antecessor e ainda se torna um dos melhores discos de 2012 com facilidade. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Musical genius Kevin Parker has once again crafted a spectacular arrangement of songs, even better than those on Innerspeaker. Here, the sounds of the '60s and '70s are brought back once again and amped up to fit the modern era in a way only he could achieve. I don't think there is a bad song on this album, and if you're a fan of neo-psychedelic music with a huge sound, you likely won't, either.
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    The Beatles. The 60s. Psychedelia. Summer. It's an album that reminds me of all these beautiful things. Magnificent music, thanks to impeccable instrument work, particularly guitar and drums. The lyrics resonated with me on a personal level. The vocals are terrific. Kevin Parker's voice is one of the best I've heard in a long time.

    Perhaps no album released in the last decade has evoked
    such colorful imagery in my mind, and i love albums that do so. I've listened to this album when it was released back in 2012, and I've been in love with it ever since.

    11 out of 10; for the rare album that transcends the realm of sound. A true classic; one which i hope people will remember decades from now, as I'm sure i will.
    Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    You know when you start listening to an album, and you start loving it, and you feel like you've heard it before, because it simply sounds that good. Like it was a part of you that was missing. This is that album, for me. Give it a chance. Listen to the album from the beginning, through the end. It's exciting, innovative, and with its classic 60's and 70's rock vibe, instantly fun. It flows perfectly from start to finish, and by the time it's done you'll wish it wasn't. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    8
    Steeped in psychedelia, Lonerism reminds you of the past while at the same time sounding very much of the here and now. It's one of the better records of recent years and while the record has an undeniable pop sensibility, it's well left of the middle. Lonerism always remind me of something (Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds often)and I mean this in the best possible way. Tame Impala are not about recycling whats gone before but more like putting what gone before in a washing machine and spinning it about a couple of hundred times. If the Beatles and Pink Floyd had an illegitimate love child, it's name might well have been Tame Impala.

    The album drifts into existence slowly as the dream "Be Above It" comes along and builds steadily. The album builds from here using a collection of heavy bass, fuzzy guitars, solid percussion and piano with a dreamy Lennonesque vocal leading proceedings. The track "Elephant" sound like one of the heavier sessions from the White album while my favourite track from the album "Feels Like We Only Go Backwards" is indie pop at its best. Great record, close to being a 9 out of 10 and could grow into one in time.
    Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    [9.0] Tame Impala provides a certain imagery that no other band can give, and does what all psychedelic records should do: capture the essence of a dream. It can be said about many other bands, but Tame Impala isn't as repetitive or simple as other bands of their kind. They're consistently solid, and very often outstanding.
  8. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    Didn't sound too special at a first listen, but as I listened to the album more, it really grew on me, one of my favorite albums of the decade for sure, Innerspeaker is also great.
  9. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    A wonderful album; a refreshing throwback to the psychedelia art rock of the mid late 60s while not feeling overly nostalgic, it feels fresh and new. Fantastic guitar riff driven psychedelia dominate the heavily layered productions; very experimentally produced music that doesn't go over your head but feels like there is more than meets the ear on the first listen. Apocalypse Dreams, Keep on Lying and Endors Toi stick out to me as the standout tracks, but the entire album is fantastic. Kevin Parker is an incredible composer and I can't wait for what he's going to do next. I will say though that I think his side project, Melody's Echo Chamber with his girlfriend Melody Prochet, builds and improves upon this sound; it's honestly a better album, if at the very least it's equal. If you like Tame Impala and Lonerism you must check out Melody's Echo Chamber, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Taking Kevin Parker's attention to detail to its logical extreme, Tame Impala's sophomore album was nearly dismissed as Same Impala, a near-identical composite of what made 2010's Innerspeaker such a delight: fuzzy guitar tones, analog synths and the classic dry drum sound. Here, he blows the sound up and continues his streak of writing inescapably catchy verses. The snaking vocal lines of "Elephant", "Feels Like We Only Go Backwards" and "Why Won't They Talk To Me" are better than most pop bands could ever come up with, and of course the sounds are pure bliss at high volume. In a year when a lot of rock bands looked to the past for inspiration, few managed to capture the sound and feel quite as convincingly as these Aussies did. Expand
  11. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Simply put, this is one of the best albums I've ever heard. A near-perfect combination of technical mastery and emotional impact. Expansive, immersive, and yet somehow it remains focused. A perfect 10.
  12. May 9, 2013
    9
    This album makes me hopeful that bands like Tame Impala have a chance to bring psychedelic rock that enchants your mind. The tunes on this album each have their own feeling to them but are consistent enough to fit on the same album. Great stuff!!!
  13. Apr 4, 2013
    5
    Overrated from begin to the end
  14. Feb 6, 2013
    6
    I find the amount of overwhelming praise for this album absolutely ridiculous. It has some obvious, glaring flaws which I will show you. Let's get into it. The whole thing SOUNDS great (wonderful production and choice of everything, really) BUT the song structures are often weak and the melodies are pretty mediocre at points. When you break down the songs themselves they often are very blase and repetitive. Some songs even putter out in the middle and just cruise to the endpoint. Like he just didn't know where to go with the song and just said it, I'll just extend the current part for 2-3 minutes and add in a couple solos. They won't notice'. Some entire songs are like that. When you get past all the gorgeous sounds there's not an awful lot of meat on these bones. I will say that 'apocalypse dreams' and 'elephant' are wonderful. 'Gotta be above it' is great too. The rest is ok but it's too repetitive to last for me.

    Now I'm going to talk about random songs

    'Mind Mischief' is pretty good. It relies heavily on effects and studio trickery like many of the other songs but it definitely works on this one. The melodies are good too and the song itself 'travels' just enough to satisfy. Don't think I'll be coming back to it that often but it's good.

    'Music to Walk Home By' could have been immense. I can easily see how this song could have just launched into a whole 'nother dimension but it doesn't really travel far. It's still ok to good but again, repetitive (without very strong melodies to fancy it up).

    'Why won't they talk to me' is SO ****ing annoying. How many times do we really need to hear the chorus ffs (it's not that amazing to begin with) and if he is going to reach a 'cathartic' moment of realization by saying "But I don't even care about it anyway. I wouldn't listen to a word any of them say. They just talk about themselves all day. One day Ill be a star and they'll be sorry" then he shouldn't ruin that moment by relegating back to the chorus which makes it seem like he doesn't really believe what he just said. For listeners relating to his experience this could have been therapeutic but instead it just wallows in self-pity and shallow fantasies of revenge.

    'Feels like we only go Backwards' is the biggest mistake here. They took what could have been an amazing song (with the addition of a part or 2) and just REPEAT THE out of the chorus. That is basically the whole song. It sounds gorgeous and has strong melodies so it is still 'good' though it wears out its welcome quicker because of the overbearing repetition.

    'Keep on lying' is like they took 5 seconds of music and just looped it, threw on some OK guitar and organ solos/drones and called it a song.

    Anything I didn't mention is pretty much OK to 'blah'. I'd give it a 6 based on the strength of the better songs.

    I hear some people throwing around the word masterpiece which is just ridiculous. Something like 'Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots' or even the Ruby Suns 'Sea Lion' is much closer to a psych-pop masterpiece than this.
    Expand
  15. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Created an account just to review this wonderful piece of art. Incredibly fresh and in my opinion the best album of 2012. Keep up the good work.
  16. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    9
    The sound of this album is psychedelic, well produced, but totally sprawling in its sonic ambitions. Though it is a sound over substance kind of album, Lonerism is epic in its soundscape. There is nothing like it out today. Of 11 actual full songs: 10 are at least respectable; of those, 8 are good; and of those, six are excellent. WIth that said, I almost always listen to the entire album. This is a complete album and fully realized. This is one of the top 3 albums released in 2012 and will probably be a classic. Expand
  17. Jan 29, 2013
    7
    Per pura casualità, ho ascoltato questo disco in contemporanea con la lettura degli ultimi capitoli di
  18. Jan 2, 2013
    5
    I've listened to the album about 4 times now. I find Lonerism repetitive and flat, save for two songs (Elephant, Why Won't They Talk to Me). I loved TI's previous album for its diversity of sound within the confines of its retro style. However, Lonerism feels like a band focusing on an even smaller sound stage; preferring only hollow reverb, trippy organ, and hookless plodding through each similar sounding track. There is no confidence in this outing, only random shooting in the hopes that they will hit something. Still, you should check out "Elephant" and "Why Won't They Talk to Me". These are 2 solid songs with good hooks. Unfortunately the latter overstays it's welcome after the first 2 and half minutes. Expand
  19. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    Lonerism or loner??? Definitely one of the best albums of 2012. Tracks to listen: Elephant, Led Zeppelin (a bonus track) and Beverly Laurel (another bonus track).
  20. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Lonerism deals with much of the 70's psychedelic era and transforms issues that we may have going on today into a melty substance of addiction and a need to know basis. Showing what the album brings to the table definitely encourages it to be spread around like gossip. Good album.
  21. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    Reverb is a dangerous thing to dabble in. Tame Impala has found an interesting sound that doesn't just dabble in reverb, it's dead-in-the-water drenched with it. The life in some very good songwriting and catchy guitar riffs is almost drained by it. Props for sticking with a general aesthetic, guys, but sometimes it's more interesting to hear what the hell you're actually doing.
  22. Dec 21, 2012
    5
    The universal acclaim this album is receiving can only be justified in light of the fact that professional critics often miss the boat on debut LPs and don't want to be caught with their pants down on the follow-up. 'Lonerism' is ponderous, repetitious, and defined by an almost total lack of harmonic development. With a bass-line cribbed from Spacehog's 1996 hit 'In the Meantime, 'Feels Like We Only Go Backwards' is the only song on the album that doesn't chase its own melodic tail for five minutes before departing as blandly as it arrived.

    In 2010, "Innerspeaker's' Magical Mystery Tour-era Beatles sound was welcome respite from an increasingly facile indie scene, but that album's edge and emotional depth is almost completely absent from 'Lonerism' -with crushing guitars being replaced by the droll sounds of phased synths and vaguely pointless lyrics.
    Expand
  23. Dec 17, 2012
    5
    I wanted to love this album like the critics seem to, but it really did nothing for me. All the songs are meandering, lacking strong melody, and they all sound the same. I guess I just don't get it.
  24. Dec 16, 2012
    6
    It's not as fascinating as their debut album, but that doesn't change their enchanting style. Whoever says something like there's nothing like Pink Floyd anymore needs to listen to these guys. Alas, they don't crow with good lyrics and the tunes all sound pretty similar. Innerspeaker was better, in this release everything sounds so analogical. Regardless, their style is great and I enjoyed the atmosphere of Lonerism. Expand
  25. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. Expand
  26. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Probably one of the albums of the year. NME has named it album of the year. It's got diferent sounds and styles, this is psychedelic music at its best. Also check their bonus tracks "Led Zeppelin" and "Beverly Laurel".
  27. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi
    Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by
    The rest of the songs avoid.... I was hoping for this cd to be amazing instead I struggled with it.
  28. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Simply put, this is an amazing record. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. I recently saw the animated video for "Elephants" online...very cool. I can't wait to hear what Kevin Parker comes up with next.
  29. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Finally this website puts this on here. Great album, easily better than 'Innerspeaker' and one of the best of 2012. I wouldn't call it perfect, but it's close enough.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    80
    The titles and lyrics form a kind of manifesto of loneliness, elevating self-doubt and even insecurity into badges of honour. He struggles but, with the music growing all around him like a protective cushion, we only hear the sound of a deep, blissful sigh.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    91
    The band's latest, Lonerism, digs even deeper into those themes and sounds [early-'70s psychedelia, proto-metal, and British pop], and pulls out a masterful collage.
  3. 80
    Tame Impala saves itself from mere revivalism with 21st-century self-consciousness and, tucked amid the swirl and buzz, touching confessions of insecurity.