Lonerism

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Lonerism Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Perth, Australian band led by Kevin Parker was co-produce with Dave Fridmann.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    It feels digital, alien, the sound of modern machines going wrong. All this is underpinned by genuinely great songwriting
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    This album is incredibly intriguing and was executed beautifully.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Themes of isolation and solipsism unfold musically as much as lyrically. Produced with help from Flaming Lips go-to guy Dave Fridmann, Lonerism surprises with layers of detail.
  4. 80
    Tame Impala saves itself from mere revivalism with 21st-century self-consciousness and, tucked amid the swirl and buzz, touching confessions of insecurity.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    ["Be Above It"] sets the tone for an album that follows closely in the sonic footsteps of its predecessor while occupying a more streamlined headspace.
  6. 70
    The melodies are clearer, pushed up in the mix, given agency by their immediacy. The psych bits have earned an assured swagger, spiraling out from the center of songs.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave youIncredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    At first I thought this album was a bit overrated, because we've had some great neo-psychedelia in the past, and the fans tend to compare thisAt first I thought this album was a bit overrated, because we've had some great neo-psychedelia in the past, and the fans tend to compare this with 'The Dark Side of the Moon' and 'Sgt. Pepper's', even insinuating 'Lonerism' could be better. While (of course) Tame Impala has nothing on Pink Floyd or The Beatles, this album surely has taken neo-psychedelia to a next level. Using a similar harmonic sound as The Flaming Lips, the synth sounds probably made The Chemical Brothers and Ratatat very jealous. Combined with the genius instrumentation and the great songwriting and vocals this album is a classic that will not be forgotten. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Probably one of the albums of the year. NME has named it album of the year. It's got diferent sounds and styles, this is psychedelic music atProbably one of the albums of the year. NME has named it album of the year. It's got diferent sounds and styles, this is psychedelic music at its best. Also check their bonus tracks "Led Zeppelin" and "Beverly Laurel". Collapse
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Taking Kevin Parker's attention to detail to its logical extreme, Tame Impala's sophomore album was nearly dismissed as Same Impala, aTaking Kevin Parker's attention to detail to its logical extreme, Tame Impala's sophomore album was nearly dismissed as Same Impala, a near-identical composite of what made 2010's Innerspeaker such a delight: fuzzy guitar tones, analog synths and the classic dry drum sound. Here, he blows the sound up and continues his streak of writing inescapably catchy verses. The snaking vocal lines of "Elephant", "Feels Like We Only Go Backwards" and "Why Won't They Talk To Me" are better than most pop bands could ever come up with, and of course the sounds are pure bliss at high volume. In a year when a lot of rock bands looked to the past for inspiration, few managed to capture the sound and feel quite as convincingly as these Aussies did. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Finally this website puts this on here. Great album, easily better than 'Innerspeaker' and one of the best of 2012. I wouldn't call itFinally this website puts this on here. Great album, easily better than 'Innerspeaker' and one of the best of 2012. I wouldn't call it perfect, but it's close enough. Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2015
    9
    Rich, lavish, eclectic and fresh. More powerful than the 'inner speaker' album delivering Pink Floyd ambience with at times Lennon-like vocalsRich, lavish, eclectic and fresh. More powerful than the 'inner speaker' album delivering Pink Floyd ambience with at times Lennon-like vocals and a sprinkling of T-Rex, all wrapped up in a modern synth rock blanket of luscious sound. A fabulous album from these Aussie lads that will touch upon all avid music lovers around the world. Highly recommended. Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by The rest of the songs avoid.... I was
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi
    Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by
    The rest of the songs avoid.... I was hoping for this cd to be amazing instead I struggled with it.
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.