Lonerism - Tame Impala
Lonerism Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Perth, Australian band led by Kevin Parker was co-produce with Dave Fridmann.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    It feels digital, alien, the sound of modern machines going wrong. All this is underpinned by genuinely great songwriting
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Tame Impala prove far more exciting because, by maximizing the use of the available technology, they tap into the progressive and experimental spirit of psychedelic rock, and not just the sound.
  3. Overall, Tame Impala have created a steady sophomore album.
  4. 80
    Tame Impala saves itself from mere revivalism with 21st-century self-consciousness and, tucked amid the swirl and buzz, touching confessions of insecurity.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    ["Be Above It"] sets the tone for an album that follows closely in the sonic footsteps of its predecessor while occupying a more streamlined headspace.
  6. 70
    The melodies are clearer, pushed up in the mix, given agency by their immediacy. The psych bits have earned an assured swagger, spiraling out from the center of songs.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave youIncredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    Absolutely the album of 2012, maybe even better than Kendricks GKMC. Innerspeaker had some pretty weak tracks and the production wasn't quiteAbsolutely the album of 2012, maybe even better than Kendricks GKMC. Innerspeaker had some pretty weak tracks and the production wasn't quite as good as it is here. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Probably one of the albums of the year. NME has named it album of the year. It's got diferent sounds and styles, this is psychedelic music atProbably one of the albums of the year. NME has named it album of the year. It's got diferent sounds and styles, this is psychedelic music at its best. Also check their bonus tracks "Led Zeppelin" and "Beverly Laurel". Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    [9.0] Tame Impala provides a certain imagery that no other band can give, and does what all psychedelic records should do: capture the essence[9.0] Tame Impala provides a certain imagery that no other band can give, and does what all psychedelic records should do: capture the essence of a dream. It can be said about many other bands, but Tame Impala isn't as repetitive or simple as other bands of their kind. They're consistently solid, and very often outstanding. Expand
  5. May 9, 2013
    9
    This album makes me hopeful that bands like Tame Impala have a chance to bring psychedelic rock that enchants your mind. The tunes on thisThis album makes me hopeful that bands like Tame Impala have a chance to bring psychedelic rock that enchants your mind. The tunes on this album each have their own feeling to them but are consistent enough to fit on the same album. Great stuff!!! Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2014
    8
    Lonerism is an improvement to InnerSpeaker because of one thing: vocals. On the band's debut, the lyrics were forcefully shoved into theLonerism is an improvement to InnerSpeaker because of one thing: vocals. On the band's debut, the lyrics were forcefully shoved into the music, but on Lonerism, the vocals work much better. The production continues to be great, but some songs get slightly difficult to listen to, such as Apocalypse Dreams, which only continues to build and build on the same simple groove with no real reward for listening through the six-minute song. Overall, it's a great album, though. Favorite track: Elephant Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by The rest of the songs avoid.... I was
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi
    Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by
    The rest of the songs avoid.... I was hoping for this cd to be amazing instead I struggled with it.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.